Didnt see a thread for this so thought I'd start one.
I know its early but pre season is pish and Im bored so thought I would try and start up some form of discussion.
Im thinkin about both Peterhead to win the 3rd and Brechin to win the 2nd, probably put a bit on the single for each and a bit on a double of both.
Anyway, take it away...
Ante Post
The season ahead
Rate Topic:

Posted 12 June 2011 - 18:30
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Dumbarton
Posted 12 June 2011 - 18:38
- My Team:Cowdenbeath
- Euro 2012:England
Peterhead and Brechin double for me. Peterhead have signed a couple of decent 2nd division players - McBain and Redman that i kbow of -added to bits of existing quality. If they keep the likes of Sharp, Bavidge(getting on now) and Donald they have a good core of a team.
Brechin have so many offensive options its unreal and there is no stand out in the division. Both teams coming down will struggle due to finance issues. Forfar won't have as good a season IMO so it's Brechin and East Fife to shoot it out with Airdrie perhaps having something to say signings dependent.
No real value in the 1st. May have an each way double on Stenny and Morton.
Brechin have so many offensive options its unreal and there is no stand out in the division. Both teams coming down will struggle due to finance issues. Forfar won't have as good a season IMO so it's Brechin and East Fife to shoot it out with Airdrie perhaps having something to say signings dependent.
No real value in the 1st. May have an each way double on Stenny and Morton.
Posted 13 June 2011 - 00:04
- My Team:Clyde
Celtic, Man United, Barcelona to win both la liga And champions league. Not put anything on yet but that's probably what I'll go for unless there's some huge transfers.
Posted 13 June 2011 - 04:45
- My Team:Other
- Gamertag:Twitter @Hey_Sidney
Chelsea, Celtic, Porto, Ac Milan & Marseille....Leagues.
Dependent on Chelsea Manager its between them n Barcelona for CL....
same as kieran tho . . .all about transfers
Dependent on Chelsea Manager its between them n Barcelona for CL....
same as kieran tho . . .all about transfers
You Make Your Own Luck
Posted 14 June 2011 - 11:08
- My Team:Dumbarton
May have to reconsider the Peterhead for the 3rd, Alloa have made some impressive signings and are rumoured to have the same budget as last season which was one of the best in the 2nd division.
Posted 15 June 2011 - 17:55
Pretty much as others have said already, it's Brechin and Alloa/Peterhead for me.
Probably a double, or might treble it up with Man Utd too.
To choose between Alloa and Peterhead depends on the rest of the signings, but if McAllister signs for Peterhead (as much as 'one man doesn't make a team' etc), they'll be very, very hard to stop.
Probably a double, or might treble it up with Man Utd too.
To choose between Alloa and Peterhead depends on the rest of the signings, but if McAllister signs for Peterhead (as much as 'one man doesn't make a team' etc), they'll be very, very hard to stop.
R.I.P Gordon Lennon
1983 - 2009
1983 - 2009
Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:30
- My Team:Partick Thistle
I can't see past Alloa and Brechin even at this early stage. I've stuck a 100 quid double on them at 3/1 and 5/2.
FUK UP ... DONT PANIC WAT R U TALKIN ABOUT ... WE JUST LOST TO A SHITE 3RD DIVISON TEAM
Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:34
- My Team:Cowdenbeath
Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:44
- My Team:Partick Thistle
The signings they have made so far are a huge cry from what the rest of their league will bring in. One, Cawley was pretty prolific in the third, McCord turned down offers from quite a few teams in the 1st and 2nd division. Peterhead may well push them, but the rest of that league looks pretty poor in terms of quality and the money these teams will pay. I nearly even forgot Hartley will still probably play.
FUK UP ... DONT PANIC WAT R U TALKIN ABOUT ... WE JUST LOST TO A SHITE 3RD DIVISON TEAM
Posted 23 June 2011 - 11:06
- My Team:Berwick Rangers
Backed Man U last year on the basis that 11/4 was too big for a two horse race, this time around Chelsea are about the same price and I think possibly better value. I like the look of the new manager and they still have a better squad than Man U for me, plus they are obviously going to add to it. so tempted to get on early before price comes down.
Posted 23 June 2011 - 13:36
- My Team:Stranraer
Latino Lover, on 23 June 2011 - 11:06, said:
Backed Man U last year on the basis that 11/4 was too big for a two horse race, this time around Chelsea are about the same price and I think possibly better value. I like the look of the new manager and they still have a better squad than Man U for me, plus they are obviously going to add to it. so tempted to get on early before price comes down.
At this time the PL could be a tough 3 horse race with Chelsea and 2 Manchester's however Chelsea’s 1st 3 games in August I think are Stoke away, West Brom home and Norwich home - PP doing 11/4 on the to be top at end of August and VC 6/1 on AVB Manager of Month - invested in both
Torres 10/1 top scorer E/W top 4 1/4 odds also appeals - may wait to assess transfer activity though reckon Torres will be 1st choice mainstay next season regardless and AVB far more attack minded by all accounts
Posted 27 June 2011 - 12:56
- My Team:Ross County
- Gamertag:GCarlos9
Peterhead will be a very good shout to win the Third next season. I might even dabble on County e/w as well. Although they have a chance to win the league, I think we will have too many games called off in the Winter to go on and win the league. Games are called off earlier to avoid us travelling or our opposition travelling. It creates a backlog that needs you to be injury and suspension free come March and April.
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.
Posted 27 June 2011 - 16:41
Pretty chuffed with myself!!!
Took 7/2 for Peterheid on saturday and the price is in freefall!!!!
They have splashed the cash and will take a hell of a beating in this league.
Bet placed was: Brechin 11/4 Peterhead 7/2 £40 double
Peterhead 7/2 £60 single
Hopefully get the chance to lay them later in the season!
Took 7/2 for Peterheid on saturday and the price is in freefall!!!!
They have splashed the cash and will take a hell of a beating in this league.
Bet placed was: Brechin 11/4 Peterhead 7/2 £40 double
Peterhead 7/2 £60 single
Hopefully get the chance to lay them later in the season!
Colin Hardie is a bearded clam!!!
Posted 05 July 2011 - 14:02
- My Team:Queen of the South
- Gamertag:CammyQOS
Can anybody point me in the direction of the First Division handicap market? With us being underestimated at 40/1 to win the league by most bookies I would hope they are being equally generous with the handicaps.
Posted 05 July 2011 - 14:16
- My Team:Dunfermline
- Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
- Gamertag:GordieBoy80(PS3)
Posted 05 July 2011 - 14:27
- My Team:Queen of the South
- Gamertag:CammyQOS
Posted 05 July 2011 - 14:28
- My Team:Heart of Midlothian
I was very curious about the bets in the third division this season. To me, I can see past any of queens park, peterhead or annan winning the league outright, so I took a look at the odds on bet 365.
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
If I was to put £75 on between the I calculated that if I was to put on the following
£35.10 on Peterhead @ 15/8 = £100.91
£14.10 on Queens Park @ 6s = £98.70
£25.80 on Alloa @ 5/2 = £90.30
At a minimum of £25 quid profit should alloa win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
If I was to put £75 on between the I calculated that if I was to put on the following
At a minimum of £25 quid profit should alloa win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Posted 05 July 2011 - 16:17
- Euro 2012:Spain
the jambo-rocker, on 05 July 2011 - 14:28, said:
I was very curious about the bets in the third division this season. To me, I can see past any of queens park, peterhead or annan winning the league outright, so I took a look at the odds on bet 365.
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Thoughts?
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Thoughts?
My dad done the same at Wimbledon actually. The only three he thought that would have any chance of winning were Nadal, Federer and Djokovic. Nadal was favourite at 2/1, Federer 5/2 and Djokovic 10/3 or something like that. Anyway it worked out if you put the same amount on each of they three, if Nadal won you'd break even and if one of the other two won you'd be in profit. Turns out Djokovic (the 'outsider' if you like of they 3 going by the prices) won it.
Anyway, that's the top three I'd have too, although (pedantry), you said Annan initially instead of Alloa.
Personally I think Peterhead will win the league.
We are a team, of fame and fortune.
Posted 06 July 2011 - 13:34
- My Team:Greenock Morton
Still looking for stuff on the handicaps, as palmy was looking for earlier.
Have to say I'm being more and more drawn towards Morton as value, certainly each way, unless the odds have shortened considerably in the last month. We're building a strong squad in a weak league. What's the best prices now?
Posted 06 July 2011 - 13:38
- Euro 2012:Spain
vikingTON, on 06 July 2011 - 13:34, said:
Still looking for stuff on the handicaps, as palmy was looking for earlier.
16/1 is the highest on offer with most bookmakers.
I cannot believe Dundee are favourites. Have they got any players?
We are a team, of fame and fortune.
Posted 06 July 2011 - 14:23
- My Team:Greenock Morton
C. Muir, on 06 July 2011 - 13:38, said:
16/1 is the highest on offer with most bookmakers.
They'll probably have the best first choice defence in the league, but have no cover, an average midfield and need a Junior diddy and over-30 unfit has-beens like Milne and Bayne to score their goals.
They'll probably be somewhere in midtable, but presume bookies need to cover the fan money and the average punter looking at last season and thinking they're a shoo-in.
There's value in ourselves each-way and maybe Ross County outright. Queens or even Ayr if there are handicaps as it will be a tight league. Anyone who chooses Falkirk may as well hand their money straight to a junkie.
This post has been edited by vikingTON: 06 July 2011 - 14:24
Posted 06 July 2011 - 14:54
I'll be waiting til after the first game of the season to place my bet. After I watched Dunfermline stroll past us on Day One last time out I plunged on them.
Div One will be a really hard one to call this season - I think Dundee will win it at the moment, but it's a collection of absolute shit.
Also, Falkirk won't do as badly as people seem to think. We will finish top half. I'll happily bet on that.
Div One will be a really hard one to call this season - I think Dundee will win it at the moment, but it's a collection of absolute shit.
Also, Falkirk won't do as badly as people seem to think. We will finish top half. I'll happily bet on that.
Posted 06 July 2011 - 15:16
- My Team:Ayr United
- Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
At a minimum of £15 quid profit should alloa win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
At a minimum of £15 quid profit should alloa win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Just put £100 x (8/23) on Peterhead
£100 x (1/7) on Queens Park
£100 x (2/7) on Alloa
Posted 06 July 2011 - 15:25
- My Team:Berwick Rangers
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Thoughts?
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Thoughts?
You could make £15.00 a lot easier and quicker by opening new account and/or looking hard for arbs.
Posted 06 July 2011 - 21:55
- My Team:Stenhousemuir
I was very curious about the bets in the third division this season. To me, I can see past any of queens park, peterhead or annan winning the league outright, so I took a look at the odds on bet 365
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Plans r mine 4 half 7 2 8. Beved then oot to toon at half 11 whos comein? win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Peterhead 15/8
Alloa 5/2
Queens Park 6/1
Plans r mine 4 half 7 2 8. Beved then oot to toon at half 11 whos comein? win the league. Obviously this can be better calculated between the lot, but I think this could be a very decent tip to make some cash of the 3rd division this year.
Thoughts?
Why would you wait a full season for such a paltry return?
That's of course if one of those three win the league Annan are probably more likely than QP but difficult to see past Alloa or Peterhead I would agree.
This is my territory be on your way...
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 25 2012 20:31
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board