Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Back to Back Super League Champions - The Pie Shop

• (277 Pages) +
  • Last »

Back to Back Super League Champions Bo'ness United 2011-12 Rate Topic: ****- 7 Votes

User is online   Jambo'ness 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Bo'ness United
As suggested earlier, now that another glorious season has ended, it's time for a new thread for the forthcoming season.

Throughout the year, we will be inviting professional therapists to give advice to those on the wrong side of the flints, on how to deal with their obsession with the Champions and prepare them to deal with 3 in a row!

Let the fun commence!;)
The One season wonders, who made history in the second season

User is offline   monkeyblair 

• P&B's OWN KING OF THE MOUNTAINS
  • Group: Platinum Members

Jambo, on 10 June 2011 - 06:55, said:

As suggested earlier, now that another glorious season has ended, it's time for a new thread for the forthcoming season.

Throughout the year, we will be inviting professional therapists to give advice to those on the wrong side of the flints, on how to deal with their obsession with the Champions and prepare them to deal with 3 in a row!

Let the fun commence!;)

Jambo, I have to say I am slightly disappointed at the name of our thread for next season. :(

As the author of this year's one, perhaps you should have just changed the name and kept the old one.

Should have said something to you last night.
NEXT GAME -

User is online   Jambo'ness 

• First Division Sub

monkeyblair, on 10 June 2011 - 07:32, said:

Jambo, I have to say I am slightly disappointed at the name of our thread for next season. :(

As the author of this year's one, perhaps you should have just changed the name and kept the old one.

Should have said something to you last night.

I am open to suggestions to amend the title. Just wanted to emphasise our achievement in the current one.8)
The One season wonders, who made history in the second season

User is offline   4everblue 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:boness4ever

Jambo, on 10 June 2011 - 09:43, said:

I am open to suggestions to amend the title. Just wanted to emphasise our achievement in the current one.8)

how about the history making 2 in a row east champions thread?

User is offline   monkeyblair 

• P&B's OWN KING OF THE MOUNTAINS
  • Group: Platinum Members
See what I mean - three posts in 10 hours.

Change it to something very similar to the last one.

Length is everything! :lol:
NEXT GAME -

User is offline   caij1980 

• Third Division Apprentice
Quick off the blocks!

User is offline   RobM 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other
Really can't see you managing it again next season boys, leaky defence there and little heart for the big gemmes.

User is offline   straight_driver 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Linlithgow Rose
As requested in the previous thread, here's some clips from the Rose v Bonnyrigg game (first half and second half) and just to balance it out, highlights of last nights Fife & Lothians Cup Final.
For more videos, visit my YouTube Channel at GordonDuff's YouTube Channel

straight_driver, on 10 June 2011 - 19:43, said:

As requested in the previous thread, here's some clips from the Rose v Bonnyrigg game (first half and second half) and just to balance it out, highlights of last nights Fife & Lothians Cup Final.

Well done! Not only are you the first Rose guy on the thread but you have managed to give us some joy and pain all in the one post :D :(

User is offline   boness4life 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

monkeyblair, on 10 June 2011 - 16:40, said:

See what I mean - three posts in 10 hours.

Change it to something very similar to the last one.

Length is everything! :lol:
:lol: :lol:

aye because you are the biggest cock on p and b :lol: :lol:

User is offline   HTG 

• Golden Shoe Winner

boness4life, on 10 June 2011 - 21:25, said:

:lol: :lol:

aye because you are the biggest cock on p and b :lol: :lol:

Did he make you gag??

User is offline   Tynieness 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

HTG, on 10 June 2011 - 21:29, said:

Did he make you gag??

my goodness have you been watching a boxset of carry on films sir :D

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostHTG, on 10 June 2011 - 21:29, said:

Did he make you gag??

whit u oan aboot ya dumpling
and i dont like title of this thread - its no obviouis enough

View PostRobM, on 10 June 2011 - 19:36, said:

Really can't see you managing it again next season boys, leaky defence there and little heart for the big gemmes.

Is this not a post from last season?

User is online   aidan-bufc 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Twitter = @aidanmcl93 (follow me!).
hmm, who cares what the title is :) 168 pages will take some beaten and as long as the linlithgow lads keep up their obsession with us it should be straight forward :D!

View Postjuniornews, on 07 July 2011 - 19:34, said:

Who gives a monkeys who boness sign. They quite simply will not pose any threat to linlithgow this season. We have taken a squad who finished three points adrift and improved it all round. Boness have taken a league winning side and ripped it apart on the back of one mans whims. Top 5 at best for boness this year

BU's unbeaten vs the Rose. 2011/12

User is offline   Deanburn Dave 

• Third Division Reserve
Have to confess initially I wasn't keen on the name for the thread for next season but now it's growing on me.
Like others I heard that Faddy was planning to keep himself fit over the summer and play in the league cup and then as and when required. I reckon the idea is to give the manager a few weeks to trial a few strikers and secure a new no 9.
There will be loads of changes to the squad I am sure and one of the biggest factors will be unwanted seniors. There are loads of them waiting to see if they are wanted back on the books come next season and many will be disappointed and then looking for a high profile, successful and well supported junior club like the BUs.

Last season I thought many of the teams we played against were more solid than us across the middle. I am not being critical of Shirra and Hay when I say this as they are great in the middle. What I mean is that other sides played with 4 men staying fairly compact in midfield and we tended to have our wide midfielders (Donnelly, Plenderleith, McLaren and Walker) pushing on at every opportunity. Exciting to watch when things go well but dodgy if we lose possession. Next season the competition will be fiercer with all the sides wanting to put us in our place and I think we need a midfielder with a bit of a presence to ensure we can win the midfield battle. A solid 3 in midfield with 2 wide and a big no 9 is what I would want to see next season.........4-5-1 when defending switching to 4-3-3 when we have the ball.

There will be loads of twists and turns before the first ball is kicked in anger in the new season. BU fans keep the faith and next year let's make it Three in a Row.

User is online   aidan-bufc 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Twitter = @aidanmcl93 (follow me!).

View PostDeanburn Dave, on 11 June 2011 - 19:19, said:

Have to confess initially I wasn't keen on the name for the thread for next season but now it's growing on me.
Like others I heard that Faddy was planning to keep himself fit over the summer and play in the league cup and then as and when required. I reckon the idea is to give the manager a few weeks to trial a few strikers and secure a new no 9.
There will be loads of changes to the squad I am sure and one of the biggest factors will be unwanted seniors. There are loads of them waiting to see if they are wanted back on the books come next season and many will be disappointed and then looking for a high profile, successful and well supported junior club like the BUs.

Last season I thought many of the teams we played against were more solid than us across the middle. I am not being critical of Shirra and Hay when I say this as they are great in the middle. What I mean is that other sides played with 4 men staying fairly compact in midfield and we tended to have our wide midfielders (Donnelly, Plenderleith, McLaren and Walker) pushing on at every opportunity. Exciting to watch when things go well but dodgy if we lose possession. Next season the competition will be fiercer with all the sides wanting to put us in our place and I think we need a midfielder with a bit of a presence to ensure we can win the midfield battle. A solid 3 in midfield with 2 wide and a big no 9 is what I would want to see next season.........4-5-1 when defending switching to 4-3-3 when we have the ball.

There will be loads of twists and turns before the first ball is kicked in anger in the new season. BU fans keep the faith and next year let's make it Three in a Row.

cant wait to see the signings in the summer, if we keep Roger Duffin, Andy Shirra and bring in a decent striker (for me Coyne) then i would be very confident about retaining the title and any improvements on the squad would be great :)

would also like to see Gribben back at Bo'ness although he reminds me of Nicky Walker when they play as when their both on form the are great to watch and almost unstoppable but when not at their best they are very frustrating!

View Postjuniornews, on 07 July 2011 - 19:34, said:

Who gives a monkeys who boness sign. They quite simply will not pose any threat to linlithgow this season. We have taken a squad who finished three points adrift and improved it all round. Boness have taken a league winning side and ripped it apart on the back of one mans whims. Top 5 at best for boness this year

BU's unbeaten vs the Rose. 2011/12

User is offline   lithgierose 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postaidan-bufc, on 12 June 2011 - 01:02, said:

cant wait to see the signings in the summer, if we keep Roger Duffin, Andy Shirra and bring in a decent striker (for me Coyne) then i would be very confident about retaining the title and any improvements on the squad would be great :)

would also like to see Gribben back at Bo'ness although he reminds me of Nicky Walker when they play as when their both on form the are great to watch and almost unstoppable but when not at their best they are very frustrating!

Hamilton

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
need two strikers a wide man a midfielder and a goalie to win a pile of silverware next year

get shot of mclaren. fraser, and longmuir/baillie who are both bollocks and contribute to important losses with their regular lapses of judgement

User is offline   twoinarow 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postaidan-bufc, on 12 June 2011 - 01:02, said:

the coyne rumour was floating about prestonfield on thursday night again just like last year but can't see why he would leave the rose

User is online   boheesian 

• Third Division Superstar

View Posttwoinarow, on 12 June 2011 - 09:24, said:

the coyne rumour was floating about prestonfield on thursday night again just like last year but can't see why he would leave the rose

It isn't a rumour. Mr Roy would rather keep him and not play him than sell.

User is offline   roseyposey 

• Third Division Regular
Coyne has a year and a half left on his contract
why would we sell him to our biggest rivals ??

even if we keep him to the end of his contract and he moves elsewhere we would get the minimum retention fee of £3000
so Boness's ridiculous offer wouldnt even warrent a discussion

Add that to the fact the player does not want to go to Boness !!
65 - 02 - 07 - 10

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postboheesian, on 12 June 2011 - 09:30, said:

It isn't a rumour. Mr Roy would rather keep him and not play him than sell.

thought mr roy had retired. could coyne go senior i thought he could easily but looking at him on thursday he gets ball passed to his feet he's good but he wont run for it, heard manson a couple of times calling him a lazy b*****d

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postroseyposey, on 12 June 2011 - 09:39, said:

Coyne has a year and a half left on his contract
why would we sell him to our biggest rivals ??

even if we keep him to the end of his contract and he moves elsewhere we would get the minimum retention fee of £3000
so Boness's ridiculous offer wouldnt even warrent a discussion

Add that to the fact the player does not want to go to Boness !!

thats what i heard last year he wont go to bo'ness. erm bo'ness's ridiculous offer wouldn't even warrent a discussion. so there has been an offer has there?

This post has been edited by twoinarow: 12 June 2011 - 09:44

User is online   boheesian 

• Third Division Superstar
Who's going? Who's staying ? Where do we need replacements ? Who would we like ? It's the Johnny Nash thing - more questions than answers.

Oh! Boness4life none of this let's get rid of the management. This is a post that's meant to constructive not destructive.

IMO. we need a Left-back, Possibly 2 mid-fielders and 2 strikers. Baillie had a howler with the Rose's first goal but overall he's been ok. Graeme Guy has looked ok and might be a good addition with a pre-season under his belt. Jonathan Cooper hasn't had a run of games but doesn't look like he has anything to offer. Likewise Martin Ure, John Fraser looked good early season but tapered off towards the end possibly due to working down south. We need players who are capable of changing games for us.

Who are the players we need?

• (277 Pages) +
  • Last »

3 User(s) are reading this topic
1 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

1. Mabawsa Ritchie