Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: South Select - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

South Select If there was such a thing, Who would yours be...

User is offline   Jack-JmJ 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Queen of the South
This topic seems to come up most years and since its went a bit quiet on here, what would yours be for the 10/11 season?

User is offline   Walking Tall 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers
1. Shaun Hutchison
2. Scott Wilby (Right Back)
3. Sam Warren (Left Back)
4. Liam Patterson (Centre Back)
5. Jack Nixon (Centre Back)
6. Danny Dunglinson (Centre Mid)
7. James Baty (Centre Mid)
8. Johnny Nicol (Right Mid)
9. Craig Rudd (Striker)
10. Andrew Donley (Striker)
11. Colin Carnochan (Left Mid)

Subs.
Vinnie Parker
Phil Middlemass
Scott Milligan
Richie Maxwell
Craig Ferguson

Before I get slated for the first XI being made up entirely from Saints and Threave, let me say that it isn't thumbing anybodies nose because there are a lot of really fine players, especially from the Wigtownshire clubs that I don't get a chance to see very often like Cooksley, Erskine, Miller, Whorlow, Jones, Cluckie, Lulu and the wee keeper at Newton to name but a few. I think wee Scott Milligan is pure quality, no doubt about that, but I had no room for him because in my head, Ruddy and Dolly would be the ultimate partnership. As a front pair, they have everything between them. They'd compliment each other. Two quality naturally left sided players in Coco and Sam with real pace and the pair of them will run all day. For me wee Johnny Nic has been absolutely superb this season and deserves a place because Saints faltered badly when he got injured, and Wilby does exactly what it says on the tin. You know you're getting the best full back in the league. Baty and Dunga speak for themselves and if anyone who raises an eyebrow at Jack Nixons inclusion at the back obviously didn't see many of Saints' last dozen or so games. The choice of keeper might be contentious possibly, and I rate Vinnie very highly but , son, you've got to learn to behave if your going to play in my team..........

This post has been edited by Walking Tall: 18 May 2011 - 11:00

Adams, McLellan, Grieve, Bryan, Roy, Smith, McGowan, Herring, Riddell, True, Oakes.

Scottish Qualifying Cup Winners (South) 1972.

User is offline   dumfries toon 

• PipPipPip
1. Parker
2. Wilby rb
3. Whorlow lb
4. Nixon cb
5. M.Bell cb
6. Cameron rm
7. Baty cm
8 Dunga cm
9. Dolly st
10.Rudd st
11. Warren lm

Players that would miss out who include a mention for having impressed me when I've watched them. Miller (Heston & Stranraer 1s)
Redpath Milly paul weir lulu and thom from the Crichton

User is offline   creetown17 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland
sowhy does the south not have a select team? have they ever had one?

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View Postcreetown17, on 18 May 2011 - 20:59, said:

Back in the 1970s and 1980s, IIRC?

Tbh, it's a rare thing now anyway. The SFL one died-off in the 1980s... the HFL stopped after 2007-08 when the Scotland Semi-Pro side was dropped... the SPL has never had one. The EOSFL is going still, playing SFL club sides / the Scottish Unis and Scottish Amateurs / and they played England last May. The Juniors are still going too: they play ties every 2nd year in the "Quadrangular Tournament" v the Isle of Man, Northern Irish Intermediates and Irish Juniors.

User is offline   beaver 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Annan Athletic
1. Wright
2. Wilby rb
3. Geordie lb
4. Ritchie maxwell cb
5. Cluckie cb
6. Cameron rm
7. Baty cm
8 Dunga cm
9. Dolly st
10.Milly st
11. Warren lm

Subs: Parker, Curtis Wilson, Glen Mitchel, Miller, Paul Mc Cloyment

User is offline   south west 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostWalking Tall, on 18 May 2011 - 10:40, said:

1. Shaun Hutchison
2. Scott Wilby (Right Back)
3. Sam Warren (Left Back)
4. Liam Patterson (Centre Back)
5. Jack Nixon (Centre Back)
6. Danny Dunglinson (Centre Mid)
7. James Baty (Centre Mid)
8. Johnny Nicol (Right Mid)
9. Craig Rudd (Striker)
10. Andrew Donley (Striker)
11. Colin Carnochan (Left Mid)

Subs.
Vinnie Parker
Phil Middlemass
Scott Milligan
Richie Maxwell
Craig Ferguson

Before I get slated for the first XI being made up entirely from Saints and Threave, let me say that it isn't thumbing anybodies nose because there are a lot of really fine players, especially from the Wigtownshire clubs that I don't get a chance to see very often like Cooksley, Erskine, Miller, Whorlow, Jones, Cluckie, Lulu and the wee keeper at Newton to name but a few. I think wee Scott Milligan is pure quality, no doubt about that, but I had no room for him because in my head, Ruddy and Dolly would be the ultimate partnership. As a front pair, they have everything between them. They'd compliment each other. Two quality naturally left sided players in Coco and Sam with real pace and the pair of them will run all day. For me wee Johnny Nic has been absolutely superb this season and deserves a place because Saints faltered badly when he got injured, and Wilby does exactly what it says on the tin. You know you're getting the best full back in the league. Baty and Dunga speak for themselves and if anyone who raises an eyebrow at Jack Nixons inclusion at the back obviously didn't see many of Saints' last dozen or so games. The choice of keeper might be contentious possibly, and I rate Vinnie very highly but , son, you've got to learn to behave if your going to play in my team..........

am no football manager dont want to be either but if i was manager o any oh big 3 teams ad try sigh jonny fisher from newton boy been a stand out all season

User is offline   HHH 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postsouth west, on 20 May 2011 - 20:01, said:

am no football manager dont want to be either but if i was manager o any oh big 3 teams ad try sigh jonny fisher from newton boy been a stand out all season

Aye, when he manages to stay on the park! He seems to get sent off a few times in a season

User is offline   info 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostHHH, on 21 May 2011 - 04:53, said:

Aye, when he manages to stay on the park! He seems to get sent off a few times in a season

I don't know what you base that remark on .He was sent of at Preston in the Scottish Cup 02/10/10 and that was it as far as I can make out!

User is offline   gibraltar 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postsouth west, on 20 May 2011 - 20:01, said:

If any of the big three are interested , please take this boy , he can play for approx 30mins a game , can,t pass the ball , runs with the ball until somebody takes it of him & spends most of the game on his backside , but he does score the odd spectacular goal , but you are correct you are no football manager.

User is offline   locharinn 

• PipPipPip
Surely big Housty from Creetown should be in wi a shout as Centre Half???

User is offline   Nutz 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
What about Hestons keeper? The boy has been class all year

User is offline   dumfries toon 

• PipPipPip
Having seen the Heston goalie, a couple of times. He looks the part....... Then watched him in cup final and would say he was at fault for at least 5 of the 6 goals. Good goalie tho..

User is offline   Hestonboy 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
To be fair he was only really at fault for 2/3 at most. But thats about the only time this season he's been like that, just a shame it was in the final. Best keeper in the league in my eyes!

User is offline   CherryKitKat 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostHestonboy, on 25 May 2011 - 19:30, said:

To be fair he was only really at fault for 2/3 at most. But thats about the only time this season he's been like that, just a shame it was in the final. Best keeper in the league in my eyes!

The boy's got potential, and maybe one day he will be the best keeper in the league, but at the moment i think you need to settle.

User is offline   wolverine 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
parker- GK

wilby-RB.....adamson, paterson- CB......mcgeorge- LB

cameron- RM....miller, baty- CM.....warren-LM

milly, boyd- ST

not to sure of any player west of castle douglas, thats my reason for having none of them in my team.

User is offline   Walking Tall 

• PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

View Postwolverine, on 06 July 2011 - 13:46, said:

parker- GK

wilby-RB.....adamson, paterson- CB......mcgeorge- LB

cameron- RM....miller, baty- CM.....warren-LM

milly, boyd- ST

not to sure of any player west of castle douglas, thats my reason for having none of them in my team.

You can't have a south select with no Saints players because it's against the forum rules. You sir, could not pick clinkers out of your arsehole, never mind a football team!! Invest in a satnav and get out and about a bit more. It's brilliant over here, we've all got our own rocking chairs and a banjo each and everything............
Adams, McLellan, Grieve, Bryan, Roy, Smith, McGowan, Herring, Riddell, True, Oakes.

Scottish Qualifying Cup Winners (South) 1972.

User is offline   dave the rave 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
  • Gamertag:spectrum 128k

View Postcreetown17, on 18 May 2011 - 20:59, said:

is the boy paul cook i think it is still playin? he used to play for dalbeattie star when they were in the eos league always seemed to score against us when we played them :angry:

User is offline   Stu 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View Postdave the rave, on 08 July 2011 - 18:36, said:

is the boy paul cook i think it is still playin? he used to play for dalbeattie star when they were in the eos league always seemed to score against us when we played them :angry:

Yup, plays for Threave Rovers.

User is offline   south super star 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostJack-JmJ, on 18 May 2011 - 02:19, said:

This topic seems to come up most years and since its went a bit quiet on here, what would yours be for the 10/11 season?

how about coming up with a 'south select' made up of one player from each club? name your starting eleven, the remaining two on bench, and for your remaining three subs you can pick no more than 1more player from any club!! happy thinking, i will post my team shortly when i have thot of it!!!!!!

User is offline   south super star 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Postsouth super star, on 22 July 2011 - 17:20, said:

how about coming up with a 'south select' made up of one player from each club? name your starting eleven, the remaining two on bench, and for your remaining three subs you can pick no more than 1more player from any club!! happy thinking, i will post my team shortly when i have thot of it!!!!!!

3 4 3

GK. JACK JOHNSTONE (ABBEY VALE) GOOD YOUNG GOALIE
CB. KEITH HOUSTON (CREETOWN) EXPERIANCE
RCB. SCOTT WILBY (THREAVE) MORE OF A RIGHT BACK BUT COULD NOT LEAVE HIM OUT
LCB. LEE TRUE (CRICHTON) EXPERIANCE
RM. PAUL WEIR (NITHSDALE) MORE CM BUT GOOD PLAYER
LM. FISH (BALD HEAD) (NEWTON STEWART) THINK HE A STRIKER BUT HE RAPID
CM. STEVIE MILLER (HESTON) SHOULD BE PLAYING WITH A BETTER TEAM
CM. IAN MILLER (STRANREAR) TIDY PLAYER
CF. SCOTT MILLIGAN (DABEATTIE) GOALS!!!!!!!! !!!
CF.ALAN MURDOCH(WIGTOWN) GOALS!!!!!!!!
CF. CRAIG RUDD(ST CUTHBERTS) GOALS!!!!!!!

SUB 1. SHAUN HUTCHISON ( ST CUTHBERTS) LEAGUES BEST KEEPER
SUB2. ALLY SLOAN(MIDS) STILL GOT IT
SUB 3. ??????????? (FLEET STAR) SORRY DONT REALLY NO ANY PLAYERS FROM HERE
SUB 4.JAMES BATY (THREAVE) TOSS UP BETWEEN HIM OR WILBY BEING STARTER FOR THREAVE, WENT WITH DEFENDER
SUB 5. JORDI (DALBEATTIE) ONLY REASON NOT STARTING IS BECAUSE MILLY IS

THERE IS MY SELECTION FOR NOW. COULD PROBABLY HAVE CHANGED A LOT BUT MY MIND WENT BLANK. I DO NOT NO TO MANY PLAYERS BEYOND KIRKUDBRIGHT.

User is offline   Jimmy MCcabe 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Stranraer
Miller is now at Wigtown

Page 1 of 1