Border Amateur Best Players In your opinion

User is offline   Bumblebee 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
I have came back to reside in the borders - location top secret, and I am keen to take in games to keep me entertained at the weekends and save me from going shopping with my wife!

Who are the main players these days?

When I used to play a few years ago, Colin Smith at Leithen Rovers was probably the best midfielder I have played against, tenacious/dirty some would say, had a keen eye for goal! Is he still around?

Kev Mathieson at Gala was also a top player, is he still playing?

User is offline   The Woolshed 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Selkirk
Dougie Brydon at Duns

User is offline   Eye Valley 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostBumblebee, on 04 March 2011 - 14:19, said:

I have came back to reside in the borders - location top secret, and I am keen to take in games to keep me entertained at the weekends and save me from going shopping with my wife!

Who are the main players these days?

When I used to play a few years ago, Colin Smith at Leithen Rovers was probably the best midfielder I have played against, tenacious/dirty some would say, had a keen eye for goal! Is he still around?

Kev Mathieson at Gala was also a top player, is he still playing?

My guess would be Peebles....

User is offline   The Jed-i-Master 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Kyle Finlayson
Let the force be with you, young Skywalker

User is offline   kickingking 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
The boy Hastie fae west Barnes is a great player as is the big boy up top, ca mind his name but his touch is something else, maybe chovie can help me out here!

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
The goalkeeper fae Chirnside colts ain't bad either!:P

User is offline   The Jed-i-Master 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postkickingking, on 04 March 2011 - 19:44, said:

The goalkeeper fae Chirnside colts ain't bad either!:P

Your boy McMath is doing no too bad KK, and what about the boy Burton??
Let the force be with you, young Skywalker

User is offline   turbo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Mcmath has been by far the best player in league last few seasons the boy called shorty that rovers got from vale as well as gk Wilson and smith all top players in div A

User is offline   ????? 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
a pick of some of the best from the top clubs that i've seen would have to be:
Alan 'speedy' McMath at leithen rovers - can win games on his own (and leagues for that matter)
Dougie Brydon of duns is decent too, can blow hot and cold tho (from what ive seen)
Craig Pinons of Gala Rovers - on his day is unplayable but again, very inconsistent
Deano from Pencaitland is a good wee forward - very tricky to play. very good with the ball at feet

User is offline   Carpetmunch89 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Rangers

View PostThe Jed-i-Master, on 04 March 2011 - 19:05, said:

Kyle Finlayson

Ha ha surprise anchorman aint on to argue :)

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Aye speedy is on fire the now, will struggle to hold onto him. He's at 36 goals in 18 games just now! Smithy ia our club captain and I agree with bumble bees comments regarding him. A lot of good players in league as the lads have pointed out, a border select side wud b good playing against east select.....hmmm, food vfor thought!

User is offline   theoneandonly 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postturbo, on 04 March 2011 - 20:01, said:

Mcmath has been by far the best player in league last few seasons the boy called shorty that rovers got from vale as well as gk Wilson and smith all top players in div A

Very good player but "by far the best player in league last few seasons" steady on. When Steven Shennan was at Chirnside last 5 seasons scored over 150 goals from midfield like McMath has pace to burn. All about oppinions mate but only about a handfull of very very top players eg; Smithy, McMath. big Brydon, Shennan, J Turner (when he felt like it!)and the lad Jules or something that played for Pencaitland a few years back and Hastie in my oppinion.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Hastie without doubt the best striker the bafl has ever seen. I've seen his trophy cabinet......;)

User is offline   gogoman19 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Vale of Leithen
Judging by the amount of Motm awards shortreed at the rovers has had he's got to be the best in the league ;-)

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:PSN Heedly77

View Postkickingking, on 05 March 2011 - 08:29, said:

Hastie without doubt the best striker the bafl has ever seen. I've seen his trophy cabinet......;)

Paul 'Willow' Wilson when he was at Duns....you couldnt get near him, the lad had everything.

User is offline   theoneandonly 

• PipPipPip

View PostHEED, on 05 March 2011 - 11:53, said:

Paul 'Willow' Wilson when he was at Duns....you couldnt get near him, the lad had everything.

Yer right HEED he was gid. EVERYTHING ................ think again dont think he had a BRAIN :D :D .

User is offline   THE GOBLIN OF LOS PALACIOS 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Other
I could name a good few from the past but going on what i've seen the last few seasons the lads smith hastie and tosh from leithen stand out at chirnside a couple of seasons back a few caught my eye obviously shennan and turner and also the 2 lads in midfield not sure there names tho?at duns this season big brydon there young fullback?and young lad in midfield have looked good also seen west barns a couple of times good centre forward and a very good midfielder also the lad livvy at gordon looked the part last season but seems a bit injury prone?One thing that has surprised me is the standard of goalkeepers none really have impressed me but the greenlaw goalie looked good when i saw him last season once again don,t know his name!anyone help me out with soime of the names?

User is offline   Comeback King 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostTHE GOBLIN OF LOS PALACIOS, on 06 March 2011 - 18:51, said:

I could name a good few from the past but going on what i've seen the last few seasons the lads smith hastie and tosh from leithen stand out at chirnside a couple of seasons back a few caught my eye obviously shennan and turner and also the 2 lads in midfield not sure there names tho?at duns this season big brydon there young fullback?and young lad in midfield have looked good also seen west barns a couple of times good centre forward and a very good midfielder also the lad livvy at gordon looked the part last season but seems a bit injury prone?One thing that has surprised me is the standard of goalkeepers none really have impressed me but the greenlaw goalie looked good when i saw him last season once again don,t know his name!anyone help me out with soime of the names?

not sure who the chirnside midfield would've been,possibly ponder And morrison or stuart. greenlaw keeper will be catlin,obviously you have lummy at duns this year who is a gid keeper.

User is offline   THE GOBLIN OF LOS PALACIOS 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostComeback King, on 06 March 2011 - 19:55, said:

not sure who the chirnside midfield would've been,possibly ponder And morrison or stuart. greenlaw keeper will be catlin,obviously you have lummy at duns this year who is a gid keeper.

Cheers Comeback King do you play for chirnside?Yes the duns goalie looked pretty safe when i saw him but wasn't tested much due to duns dominating the game i saw but he didn't seem to keen on corners?who's your pick of who you've played with?

User is offline   Comeback King 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostTHE GOBLIN OF LOS PALACIOS, on 06 March 2011 - 21:00, said:

Cheers Comeback King do you play for chirnside?Yes the duns goalie looked pretty safe when i saw him but wasn't tested much due to duns dominating the game i saw but he didn't seem to keen on corners?who's your pick of who you've played with?

Yip played for them about 7 years ago then never played footie for about 5 years, though i'd get back into footie by reffing but only had a season doing that as i got the football bug back and started playing again last season for Chirnside. No sure if thats just coincidence that Chirnside went through a gid spell in the years i wasn't playing?

Of recent times you have the ones mentioned before, Jocky(when he's in the mood but is getting slower now) and Shennan, big Doug at Duns,Pinnons was stand out last year when we played Gala Rovers, Buckets at Pencaitland is a good player. You'll probably find the top 4 or 5 teams just now will have a couple players you could throw into this discussion and thats why they are up at the top. Having reffed 2 years ago i saw a few other teams playing and i think there are also some good players in the B league who could step up and won't be out of their depth in the A division and may even come into this bracket of best players.

So what club are involved with then Goblin?

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target

View Posttheoneandonly, on 05 March 2011 - 18:01, said:

Yer right HEED he was gid. EVERYTHING ................ think again dont think he had a BRAIN :D :D .

Never a truer word spoken!! :lol:

User is offline   i p squint 

• PipPipPip

View PostHEED, on 05 March 2011 - 11:53, said:

a toss up between tubbsy at kelso thistle & jamie wright at jed legion both total class :D

This post has been edited by i p squint: 07 March 2011 - 09:16

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target

View Posti p squint, on 07 March 2011 - 09:14, said:

a toss up between tubbsy at kelso thistle & jamie wright at jed legion both total class :D

:blink:

User is offline   wrighty291089 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Posti p squint, on 07 March 2011 - 09:14, said:

getting a wee bit sic o ur wee sarcastic comments reidy, is the fact i have a decent head of hair that bothers you? or that im over 5ft 3? ave never claimed to b the best player or whatever but you always have a wee dig whenever some1 brings up my name, cock

User is offline   Am footy 

• Third Division Signing Target
Qaulity that's one thing about riedy to be fair u cud never accuse him of being big headed

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »