AFL 2011
Posted 19 February 2011 - 12:07
We have even done a dream team on the AFL site to try and get more interest and competitive when we watch games on ESPN.
Are there any other fans of the sport out there and what are your views for the coming season?
I'm so pissed of with SPL football that AFL might be my new interest for Saturday afternoons. I'll Sky plus the games and watch them in the afternoon with some VBs and toast and vegemite!
Posted 19 February 2011 - 12:20
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Stranraer
The St Kilda schoolgirl saga has been hillarious for the past few months. Latest is that she has managed to bang Nick Reiwoldts manager then gone to the press! Great entertainment.
I love how a 17 year old bogan has turned St Kilda into a laughing stock. Only in Melbourne.
This post has been edited by Papad: 19 February 2011 - 12:26
Posted 19 February 2011 - 13:11
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Queen of the South
Come on Doggies, can't wait to see how we go come Round 1.
Posted 19 February 2011 - 13:25
Posted 19 February 2011 - 14:35
- My Team:Aberdeen
- Euro 2012:Denmark
Hope St Kilda can come back another year, few of the youngsters looked pretty good in the first round of the NAB cup, pity they couldn't see it out though against Essendon.
Collingwood really are the worst choice of team to pick though.
Posted 19 February 2011 - 16:19
jmothecat, on 19 February 2011 - 14:35, said:
Hope St Kilda can come back another year, few of the youngsters looked pretty good in the first round of the NAB cup, pity they couldn't see it out though against Essendon.
Collingwood really are the worst choice of team to pick though.
why are collingwood so bad in your opinion? They seemed to play well last season and have some very decent players.
Posted 19 February 2011 - 19:04
mainstandsilentmob,
on 19 February 2011 - 16:19, said:
They are currently the best team in terms of players, just like the Old Firm are the best two teams in the SPL in terms of players...
Posted 19 February 2011 - 20:03
jmothecat, on 19 February 2011 - 19:04, said:
ah so it could be a bit of jealousy on your part. If i've studied correctly its not that long ago that collingwood were pretty poor and have a tradition of blowing big chances- the colliwobbles. Thats the sort of rollercoaster ride i'm used to. And as i say the black and white stripes win it for me. They don't seem very popular in oz though-lots of claims of being criminals and bogans!
Posted 19 February 2011 - 20:08
mainstandsilentmob,
on 19 February 2011 - 20:03, said:
Well no, not jealousy, yes on the bogans and criminal part. Sort of imagine everything you don't like about the Old Firm outwith the sectarianism and fact they are good at football.
Collingwood have the worst and most arrogant fans. It has nothing to do with them currently being good, even when they are bad they are still by far the most hated team in the league. This year is St Kilda's year anyway.
This post has been edited by jmothecat: 19 February 2011 - 20:09
Posted 19 February 2011 - 20:19
jmothecat, on 19 February 2011 - 20:08, said:
Collingwood have the worst and most arrogant fans. It has nothing to do with them currently being good, even when they are bad they are still by far the most hated team in the league. This year is St Kilda's year anyway.
hmmm you are making me think but once you've picked your team you are stuck with them. For some reason i hate geelong and western bulldogs but don't mind sydney or essendon. All this from following one season! I bow down to your superior knowledge as you sound like an actual aussie. How seriously do you take the dreamteam stuff as it seems a serious business, my brother and i have choosen ours already. Perhaps too soon as we should have checked out the nab cup. You don't know any way of watching it in the uk do you?
Posted 19 February 2011 - 20:34
mainstandsilentmob,
on 19 February 2011 - 20:19, said:
Loyalty is a good way to go. I'm not an Aussie but I lived in Melbourne for a while. Got really into AFL as I couldn't get into the 'soccer' over there. Came home a couple of years ago but I'd caught the bug.
The Dreamteam is fun, though I've not bothered this year. You doing the official one on the AFL site?
http://www.aussiesport.tv/ has all the games up though it is delayed. You pay about £30 a year and get access to every game, usually up a couple of days late. Quite good to watch if you avoid the score elsewhere and it means you don't have to stay up until the middle of the night to watch it. Omnisport.tv has select games up from time to time live. That's more expensive and only really worth doing on a match to match basis.
ESPN has a few games up. Last year it seemed like almost every game involved either Collingwood or St Kilda so being a Collingwood supporter will set you right.
A few bars show games as well, in Glasgow I think Walkabout shows a few games. In Edinburgh Walkabout and Oz Bar show games fairly regularly. Usually games on tv but occasionally they 'acquire' other games.
There is also the option of illegally downloading games, not that I would ever suggest doing such a thing.
Posted 19 February 2011 - 22:05
Posted 19 February 2011 - 23:44
mainstandsilentmob,
on 19 February 2011 - 22:05, said:
I'd probably recommend the Aussie sports tv package if you don't mind paying the price. Fairly decent coverage and includes the NAB cup games. Quite convenient that you can watch them when you please as well.
Not that the NAB cup is particularly interesting other than seeing the younger players come through. St Kilda vs Essendon was marginally interesting due to Essendon equalising with the last kick but I'm a little sick of St Kilda draws!
First Grand Final was fantastic to watch, though I sat there at 9am in a pub a little bit drunk thinking 'f**k, I've got to get up at 4am again next week'.
Posted 20 February 2011 - 12:30
jmothecat, on 19 February 2011 - 23:44, said:
I couldn't believe NIck Maxwell wanted extra time after the 1st final, St Kilda had been so strong in the 2nd half i feel sure they would have gone on to win. Makes Heath Shaw's smother on Nick Reiwoldt even more important (if that happened in the 1st final) or Maxwell punching a sure goal for a behind. Its that sort of thing that makes the game so exciting. And the fact there is a salary cap so that teams can't totally dominate like the old firm here. Still looking forward to Collingwood being strong again this year! Is that the sort of glory hunting comment you'd expect from a Collingwood fan? Always good to know if I'm picking up the right traditions. My sister may be moving to Melbourne so looking to visit and coincide with some games as I'd like to sample the live event - and enjoy some Tooheys while I do so.
Posted 21 February 2011 - 05:11
mainstandsilentmob,
on 20 February 2011 - 12:30, said:
Is that the sort of glory hunting comment you'd expect from a Collingwood fan? Always good to know if I'm picking up the right traditions. My sister may be moving to Melbourne so looking to visit and coincide with some games as I'd like to sample the live event - and enjoy some Tooheys while I do so.
If you have a mullet, no teeth, like dressing in a tracksuit. like beating your wife and have a southern cross tatoo then you will fit right in amoungst Collingwoods support. Seriously, there are a lot of mulleted Pies fans. A LOT!!
If you tried to order Tooheys you'd be laughed at. It's an NSW beer. For Collingwood, Victoria Bitter (VB) would be for you. It's available in Aldi.Lidl in the UK too. It's rank!
Posted 21 February 2011 - 13:31
Papad, on 21 February 2011 - 05:11, said:
No to all the requirements above for me I'm afraid but I'll still be supporting the magpies. Maybe I'll be at the vanguard of a 'new' nicer breed of Collingwood fan.
On the VB issue, I like it but would prefer a Tooheys or a Hahn premium. Used to quite like Carlton Cold but it seems not to be the same anymore. Crown is quite nice too and I don't mind James Boags. I'm also a fan on Kiwi beers. Actually I'm pretty much ambibeerstrous althoug Tennents is pish and I'll not be drinking it as long as they sponsor the old firm.
Posted 22 February 2011 - 10:06
Posted 22 February 2011 - 21:31
- My Team:Falkirk
mainstandsilentmob,
on 21 February 2011 - 13:31, said:
On the VB issue, I like it but would prefer a Tooheys or a Hahn premium. Used to quite like Carlton Cold but it seems not to be the same anymore. Crown is quite nice too and I don't mind James Boags. I'm also a fan on Kiwi beers. Actually I'm pretty much ambibeerstrous althoug Tennents is pish and I'll not be drinking it as long as they sponsor the old firm.
Haven't seen Boags here in years.
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Posted 22 February 2011 - 21:52
kiddy, on 22 February 2011 - 21:31, said:
They sell it in Peckhams and a few bars in Edinburgh.
Probably my favourite of the Australian beers, one thing I couldn't get into when I stayed there was the beer but it seemed like Carlton Draught, VB and Melbourne Bitter was all most places sold.
Posted 22 February 2011 - 23:54
jmothecat, on 22 February 2011 - 21:52, said:
Probably my favourite of the Australian beers, one thing I couldn't get into when I stayed there was the beer but it seemed like Carlton Draught, VB and Melbourne Bitter was all most places sold.
Agree. Boags Premium is the best. A lot of bars here stock micro brewery beers which has really taken off in the past few years. There's always Coopers which is a decent alternative to VB, Draught etc in most pubs.
Posted 23 February 2011 - 22:37
- My Team:Falkirk
Papad, on 22 February 2011 - 23:54, said:
I can mind picking it up in Haddows in G/mouth eons ago, but they never got it back in. Had relations over a few years later who had never heard of it, but it comes out of Tasmania apparently.
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Posted 24 February 2011 - 12:07
Posted 24 February 2011 - 13:12
Posted 25 February 2011 - 14:39
NAB cup is looking surprisingly entertaining this year. Looking forward to the St Kilda game against Geelong.
Delete Post
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 25 2012 12:04
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd

Sign In »
Register Now!