The Falkirk FC Thread ...for all things related to FFC. Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Ned Nederlander 

• Golden Shower Winner
  • My Team:Falkirk
Bullen must have the best agent in the business btw - two year, bumper deal to start with then a rolling contract at the back of it :o

And for what ?
Scottish Football Fans - Sent to Coventry by Doncaster.

User is offline   Marshmallo 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Pedro would be a good signing but I can just see the way it would strike me being very similar to Keane signing for Celtic last season, just a way of the BoD trying to placate the fans. Regardless of if we sign Pedro or not Pressley should still be sacked ASAP.
Posted Image

User is offline   LovaMan Bairn 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Euro 2012:Greece
Who the f**k gave Alex Smith any sort of contract! :angry:
Oh Steven Pressley, Steven Pressley has magnificent shoes. Oh have you seen them, they're such impressive Brown Brogues!

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:krisFFC

View PostLovaMan Bairn, on 19 January 2011 - 17:56, said:

Who the f**k gave Alex Smith any sort of contract! :angry:

Our fantastic Chairman of course. The tit.

Edit: No one has been able to answer my earlier question about what Smith actually does at the club. Any guesses?

This post has been edited by kris_FFC: 19 January 2011 - 18:00

Falkirk FC Scorers 2011/2012:
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   Marshmallo 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postkris_FFC, on 19 January 2011 - 17:57, said:

Our fantastic Chairman of course. The tit.

Edit: No one has been able to answer my earlier question about what Smith actually does at the club. Any guesses?

His official job title is assistant manager is it not?
Posted Image

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

View PostMarshmallo, on 19 January 2011 - 18:41, said:

His official job title is assistant manager is it not?

Officially, I guess it is. But does he actually do anything? I've always imagined Bullen as being the main AM so to speak, so what is the point in Smith? A waste of a wage, and another that's on a fucking rolling contract.
Farid El Alagui (28), Kallum Higginbotham (8), Darren Dods (8), Mark Millar (8), Blair Alston (6), Craig Sibbald (4), David Weatherston (4), OWN GOAL (3), Jay Fulton (3), Murray Wallace (2), Rhys Bennett (1), Ally Graham (1), Kieran Duffie (1), Willie Gibson (1), Tam Scobbie (1).

User is offline   KiwiDB 

• International Playboy
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View PostRuss, on 19 January 2011 - 16:15, said:

Yeah there's no reason why we couldn't. The only reason could have been that he wouldn't want to do that encase he gets injured but if he's willing to play in a bounce game then he might be up for it.

Although we should just sign him permanently rather than play him as a trialist. We know how he plays, he has nothing to prove to anyone at Falkirk and he's available for free. If we still need to get rid off more people to free up the wages even with Marr and Deuchar away then I'd suggest we start with Alex Smith and our new 'Head of Commercial Affairs' what a useless c**t he seems to be so far.

And you know this for a fact? :rolleyes:
play·boy (plPosted Image boi)n. A man who is devoted to the pursuit of pleasurable activities.

User is offline   ffcsam 

• Risk game winner and ginger moustache wearer!!!
Smith is not on the payroll at Falkirk. I found that out today.
He is doing it for nowt.
And confusion running wildI hold treasures for you to findRelease of tensions unknownMind works the fingers to the bone

User is offline   ditots 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:PS3 - MightyBairn

View Postkris_FFC, on 19 January 2011 - 01:28, said:

Raith fans have a popular thread running where they can discuss all things Raith without the need for various different threads, so with there seemingly being a lot to discuss with us right now, it seems a good idea to make one for ourselves to keep any discussions in a single thread.

If you want to discuss the board, management, stadium, transfers, players...or anything else relating to the club, let's try and keep it in here.

:)

Good idea, I'm fed up with all things related to Falkirk being spread across various threads.:rolleyes:
@BigBairn8

User is offline   ditots 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:PS3 - MightyBairn

View Postffcsam, on 19 January 2011 - 20:16, said:

He is doing it for nowt.

Nice of him. Posted Image
I would love to do the job (what ever it is). Save me buying a season ticket.

This won't go down well with most of the fans on here but I'm glad Deuchar has gone. I never rated him from the start. A few guys have made the point that we don't play the right style of football for him. I presume this means that we are trying to pass ball through the middle for the strikers to run on to which may be true. But on the odd occasion when we have crossed the ball into the box he has missed a too many sitters. There was at least two occasions on that shambles of a game on Saturday when he should have at least forced a save out of the keeper. For all the St Johnstone fans on this forum that rave about him, I ask them have they seen him this season? If they had they would have been shocked at the how much pace he has lost. He was never the fastest but FFS its as if his legs have been cut off and put back on the wrong way round.

As for Mark Millar he is OK but I wish he would practice his shooting from the edge of the box. The amount of times he has punted the ball into row Z is beyond a joke. He is almost as bad as what Lima was. Spend a little more time on the training ground and a little less time in the hairdressers, Mark.

While I'm on a role I wish the "fans" that boo the players after the first misplaced pass would keep quiet. Personaly I'm there to SUPPORT the team. If they aren't puting in the effort I'll be booing the loudest but if they've had a couple of bad touches then the last thing they need for their confidence is the crowd on their back.

Rant over :angry:

This post has been edited by ditots: 19 January 2011 - 20:51

@BigBairn8

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

He is doing it for nowt.

Braw. Hopefully someone tells him to get to f**k then.

User is offline   ffcsam 

View Postkris_FFC, on 19 January 2011 - 20:29, said:

Braw. Hopefully someone tells him to get to f**k then.

Did someone from the club contact you today?
And confusion running wildI hold treasures for you to findRelease of tensions unknownMind works the fingers to the bone

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • My Team:Dunfermline
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2
I'm surprised at Higginbottom, when we played you in the first game of the season he was by far your best player, beating players for fun, maybe a bit baw greedy but the potential was there.
Aye, Good luck in life.

User is offline   Jabawalky 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
If Pressley is on a rolling contract, then there is nothing to stop the board giving him his notice now. That in turn would make his position pretty untenable, with the knowledge that he is no longer wanted by the club. Chances are he would negotiate a settlement (working out at much less than a years wages). Even if he doesn't take the hint, it would mean he can see out the season and get the elbow in the summer with only 6-8 months on the contract.

But lets look at the facts. So far we only have the Daily Record's word that he is on a rolling contract. Doesn't seem like the sort of contract a club our size would give out. Could the Record have got it wrong. :unsure:

There is something we're all forgetting though. We might go up to Dundee, get a win and head off on an amazing run culminating in a win at EEP on the last day of the season to win the league. :lol:

Bring on the trumpets!

User is offline   Russ 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostGrant228, on 19 January 2011 - 20:39, said:

I'm surprised at Higginbottom, when we played you in the first game of the season he was by far your best player, beating players for fun, maybe a bit baw greedy but the potential was there.

He looked brilliant in pre-season and then like you say in the first game of the season he looked like he was going to be a great signing. Since then though he's been fucking woeful. He tries far, far, far too much, his end product is a joke and he has no strength whatsoever so just gets brushed off the ball far too easily. He infuriates me more than anyone else in our squad.
R.I.P Craig Gowans - 08/07/2005

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

View Postditots, on 19 January 2011 - 20:25, said:

This won't go down well with most of the fans on here but I'm glad Deuchar has gone. I never rated him from the start.

Really? You've never mentioned it before. :P

User is offline   MrDust 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostH_B, on 19 January 2011 - 12:20, said:

I also agree on Deuchar. It's no coincidence he scores everywhere else.

In fact, with the current shambles of a forward line, he'd still have been worth keeping around. He's probably never going to be fit enough to play more than 20 minutes at Div One level though training part time.

I think you said before that on paper it was a good signing, but we aint direct enough for him. I have never seen a Scottish club play so direct and at high tempo like St Johnstone did last season, long throws from either side into the box, wide players who can whip a dangerous ball in and with numbers in the box to support when doing the previous.

Ross County away we were more direct and for me was his best game, it was ugly(ish) to watch but County couldnt cope with him. I think his only real other contribution was to win the penalty against a Dundee team who were shiting it, also toa note that his 3 goals have all come late on and laid on a plate for him by either Flynn or Higgenbotham, we were never ever gonna go direct when we have so many sand dancers in the squad, so I know Kenny wont be happy leaving as a failure again, but he will enjoy his football at Livvy

Anyway target men have never worked at Falkirk

View PostThe Hero of the Day, on 19 January 2011 - 12:38, said:

I couldn't care if Bullen was a nice guy to be honest. It's the results on the park that matters. When was the last time you heard Falkirk fans boo our their own team onto the park for the second half?

The walking Deatheater that is Old Man Smith; I sat near the home dugout in the main stand last season and the guy is a complete joke. Contributes nothing tactically...nifact he contributes nothing. Whether it was May in charge or Pressley not once did I see him in conversation with either May or Pressley.

That is total pish, christ Smith was taking more of hands on role of the team at points under May and Elvis does talk to Smith not constantly but on many occasions throughout a game.

I am convinced tho that it was the board that started this management tripod with May, Elvis and Smith, later to be Bullen in for May. I doubt that May wouldve wanted Smith as no2 or even Elvis,I would even suggest ditto with Elvis

View PostMarshmallo, on 19 January 2011 - 13:59, said:

Absolutely. I'm maybe just forgetting how bad it was under Eddie May but it was more bearable than just now because Eddie seemed like an honest hard working guy who was out of his depth. Pressley is an arrogant w**k as well as a complete incompetent.

I think you are.....the manager who signed a fine bunch of players, 3 out the 12 could be regarded as a success, with one of that three picking up after May left.....not to forget he resigned the vast majority of our current players....

Brian McLean
Mark Twaddle
Enoch Showunmi
Ryan Flynn
Alex MacDonald
Danijel Marceta
Colin Healy
Toufik Zerara
Vitor Lima
Pedro Moutinho
Pele Pele
Kjartan Finnbogason

He is doing it for nowt.

Was that post him being bankrupt ???

It was never gonna be an easy task whoever was the manager this season, Inverness were fortunate last season that they went down as a decent team, Rooney found the where the goals were, found a gem in Johnny Hayes of which have came of the rails in SPL when he was recently injured, that and a solid experienced defence.

We have a strikeforce which will be lucky if one or more of them will get double figures as they are lucky if they stay fit long enough, we havent found any gems and our defence isnt experienced or tight, that and so many of our players have went backwards this season.

I am not sticking up for Elvis, but its seems like many think its a matter of waving a magic wand but of course the buck does fall with Elvis, wanky formations, sticking by BOB, not beating Fifes 1 or 2 and Dundee have been his downfall...

Wh
National Shite Day.....

"...there's a man with a mullet going mad with a mallet in Millets..." Half man Half Biscuit from CSI Ambleside

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB

View PostMrDust, on 19 January 2011 - 22:06, said:

I think you said before that on paper it was a good signing,

He's the only one of Pressley's signings I won't criticise. The rest have been shite.

I think you are.....the manager who signed a fine bunch of players, 3 out the 12 could be regarded as a success,

I'd go with 4. It wasn't May's fault Pele got injured. He was OK.

I'd give him McLean, Flynn, Pedro and Pele as successes.

To be fair, thats a better precentage than Pressley has managed this season. I think he's batting at Error - Can't divide by zero%.

Inverness were fortunate last season that they went down as a decent team,

Meh. They went down with a decent manager - that's the difference. And they went down with a manager that genuinely did turn things around for them even in the SPL.

Butcher's record, after inheriting the shambles Brewster left him (5 wins, 5 draws and 5 defeats), was better than Pressley's last season. That's partly because he is a very able, competent manager. Not a clueless joker.

I am not sticking up for Elvis, but its seems like many think its a matter of waving a magic wand

I don't think anyone thinks that. What people think is that a better manager than Pressley would be getting better results, with the same players.

This has already been evidenced this season by Craig Brown immediately turning the shambles of Mark McGhee's reign around and Barry Smith immediately showing Jism and Dodds what they should have been achieving with the Dundee squad.

Pressley is a dreadful manager. Very very poor. I sussed him early on. He may go on to do a Paul Lambert and recover from this to do great things later - I wouldn't put a penny on it though.

• Golden Shower Winner

View PostJabawalky, on 19 January 2011 - 20:42, said:

But lets look at the facts. So far we only have the Daily Record's word that he is on a rolling contract. Doesn't seem like the sort of contract a club our size would give out. Could the Record have got it wrong. :unsure:

According to the link Smith was also given a rolling contract yet that has been doubted by a poster on here !?

User is offline   ffcsam 

Good news happening shortly folks :) .

User is offline   Rugster 

• #10 - Legend
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View Postffcsam, on 20 January 2011 - 14:59, said:

You can't say that and leave us hanging!!! A hint at least FFS!!
RIP Craig Gowans - 1988-2005 #37

I bet it's warm in California

User is offline   Kris. 

• Damnesia.

View Postffcsam, on 20 January 2011 - 14:59, said:

Spill the beans...

User is offline   King Of Tonga 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Gamertag:Please buy me an Xbox
Half price buns at Greggs?

Falkirk F.C - European Veterans

• Golden Shower Winner

View Postkris_FFC, on 20 January 2011 - 15:05, said:

Spill the beans...

Pressley's gone

to Greggs !

User is offline   H_B 

• Vamos GB
Pedro signing?

• (131 Pages) +
  • Last »

2 User(s) are reading this topic