Strathspey Thistle FC Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   satnav 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Rothes
Strong rumours around that the Jags players are NOT happy! Noises are being made about their Manager (and Chairman) Donly MacLeod who is quoted in the P&J : “The players are doing their best but we just aren’t good enough. They are giving their all but it’s not enough.”. They are also saying that training is really terrible. Anyone hear anything?

User is online   Jimmy Shaker 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Lossiemouth
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postsatnav, on 03 December 2010 - 13:18, said:

Strong rumours around that the Jags players are NOT happy! Noises are being made about their Manager (and Chairman) Donly MacLeod who is quoted in the P&J : “The players are doing their best but we just aren’t good enough. They are giving their all but it’s not enough.”. They are also saying that training is really terrible. Anyone hear anything?

Nothing on FitbaNorth.com about it, you might wanna throw that up over there and see whats said.

User is offline   Strathspey 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Ross County

View Postsatnav, on 03 December 2010 - 13:18, said:

Strong rumours around that the Jags players are NOT happy! Noises are being made about their Manager (and Chairman) Donly MacLeod who is quoted in the P&J : "The players are doing their best but we just aren't good enough. They are giving their all but it's not enough.". They are also saying that training is really terrible. Anyone hear anything?

Aye, Donly's stating the obvious but where do they go from here? Donly's not the only coach so if this rumour is true something is fundamentally wrong with the whole set up.

The Macleods' are an important part of Strathspey Thistle have no doubt, but sometimes you have to take a step back and try a different approach.

I firmly support the principal of Grantown and District having a team in the HFL - it would be nice if it had a team having a wee bit of success! For christs sake I used to have bragging rights over a Lossie loon at my work - then the Strathie Jags joined the league!!

User is online   LongTimeLurker 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostStrathspey, on 03 December 2010 - 20:17, said:

Aye, Donly's stating the obvious but where do they go from here? Donly's not the only coach so if this rumour is true something is fundamentally wrong with the whole set up....

Do they use local players and train in Grantown or is the team very much Inverness based in terms of training? As long as the money's there to make it worth people's time I would have thought the latter approach would be the key to success.

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip
Obviously I'm looking from the outside in but I've gone to see the Jags a few times and they really do lack any real shape to their game. They seem to have two coaches plus the manager but it is obvious from listening to the rants DURING games that they do not have any experience at this level. I also believe that ALL three, or their businesses, are financial sponsors to the club but this is NOT healthy. Every club needs good people about it and I'm sure these guys have the club at heart but but there is absolutely no way they are gonig to progress under the current set up. I've seen Nicky Walker there nearly every time I've been and I believe he is the goalkeeping coach. Why not give him the coaches job - he certainly doesn't lack experience and he will have plenty contacts. Change is needed for the Club to attract better players and if training/coaching is as bad as most of the boys say, it is needed NOW. I'm sure the guys in situ at present have a role to play but EXPERIENCE is what is needed.

• SPL Regular
Surely the last thing a Rothes fan is Strathspey getting their act together.

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip

View PostJimmy Shaker, on 07 December 2010 - 18:15, said:

Surely the last thing a Rothes fan is Strathspey getting their act together.

Daft I know but I was always a Rothes fan before the Jags got into the league, the Speyside thing I suppose. However, the Jags are now closer to home so you never know! All I want is a good side to go and watch!

• SPL Regular

View Postsatnav, on 07 December 2010 - 20:05, said:

Daft I know but I was always a Rothes fan before the Jags got into the league, the Speyside thing I suppose. However, the Jags are now closer to home so you never know! All I want is a good side to go and watch!

I suppose if it keeps you away fromt he god awful reek of Rothes it's got to be a good thing.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Things coming together off the pitch for the Strathie Jags ; http://www.strathspe...r_approval.html

Any news from "on" the pitch?

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip

View PostStrathspey, on 17 December 2010 - 23:55, said:

Things coming together off the pitch for the Strathie Jags ; http://www.strathspe...r_approval.html

Naw. Things seem to have gone quiet, The plain facts are that Donly, Brian and Colin have absolutely NO experience at this level (and it shows) and I doubt if any of them have any coaching qualifications to talk about. A good few of the players have the ability but the TEAM needs coaching of a better standard. I'm sure Donly would/is a good chairman and the other two boys would probably do a job at youth level but the club needs to bring in a coach with EXPERIENCE and the sooner the better!

User is offline   strathspey thistle 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Strathspey Thistle

View Postsatnav, on 21 December 2010 - 17:05, said:

Naw. Things seem to have gone quiet, The plain facts are that Donly, Brian and Colin have absolutely NO experience at this level (and it shows) and I doubt if any of them have any coaching qualifications to talk about. A good few of the players have the ability but the TEAM needs coaching of a better standard. I'm sure Donly would/is a good chairman and the other two boys would probably do a job at youth level but the club needs to bring in a coach with EXPERIENCE and the sooner the better!

i cant speak for dnly,but i know brian and colin have done coaching badges,at the youth academy in dingwall,not sure what level
NEED A WEBSITE BUSINESS OR PERSONAL? NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL, GIVE ME A SHOUT.

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postsatnav, on 21 December 2010 - 17:05, said:

Your probably right about the experienced coach (manager), but a couple of seasons in the HFL will be an ongoing learning"experience" for the existing coaches. But I've no doubt Donly is well aware of the weaknesses in his set-up both on and off the park - a measure of the man is how he approaches the coming weeks and months (if we see any football played between now and May!!)

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip

View Poststrathspey thistle, on 22 December 2010 - 18:14, said:

i cant speak for dnly,but i know brian and colin have done coaching badges,at the youth academy in dingwall,not sure what level

Yeh, but I believe they were youth coaching certificates which are not examined as I have done these myself a number of years ago. Playing experience in the HFL or above is what is needed, not stuff out of a coaching manual. The club needs someone who has done it at this level, not juniors or welfare/amateur. An experienced coach is what these players need and Brian and Colin could learn from him.

View Postsatnav, on 22 December 2010 - 22:23, said:

Yeh, but I believe they were youth coaching certificates which are not examined as I have done these myself a number of years ago. Playing experience in the HFL or above is what is needed, not stuff out of a coaching manual. The club needs someone who has done it at this level, not juniors or welfare/amateur. An experienced coach is what these players need and Brian and Colin could learn from him.

nope they werent youth badges were full badges
NEED A WEBSITE BUSINESS OR PERSONAL? NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL, GIVE ME A SHOUT.

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip

View Poststrathspey thistle, on 23 December 2010 - 20:27, said:

nope they werent youth badges were full badges

Oh well, at least they are trying

This post has been edited by satnav: 23 December 2010 - 21:23

User is offline   fitbafan 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
just because they are financial sponsors of the jags does not mean they have payed to be on the coaching staff.
but i agree the club will not progress under the current set up. However i do feel it's time Donly Mcleod stepped away from the team affairs and allowed the two coaches to get on with the job in hand. i understand that both Brian and Colin have played HFL or equivalent south of the border and are both very knowledgeable and capable coaches.
i have also been to a few of the game's this term and the jags have played some very good stuff at times and appear to be better organised than last season. The few players that have joined this season like the Big centre back and the winger from Inverness have been good edition's and the points tally so far is better than at this stage last year so why all the doom and gloom.
Nicky Walker has his own business interest's and i understand was approached previously by Donly about being more involved but declined because of his business commitments.
Having spoken to some of the player's, the issue with the training was not that it was BAD or of poor quality but, the player's were unhappy with comments in the P&J made by Donly.
They train twice a week and always get good turnouts i think, and have some very good youngster's coming through.
The club has approached several players about joining the club but it appears never get any joy, why is that...?i hear only Donly speaks to targets so is there a pattern.....?
Maybe if the two coaches became Manager and assistant they would be more likely to attract new talent to the club and begin to take the team onwards and upwards, and allow Donly to take the Club to the next level as a respected Chairman.

View Postfitbafan, on 03 January 2011 - 22:51, said:

Big centre back and the winger from Inverness have been good edition's

gary sutherland and simon hill

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip
Just read the SHFL website review on the team/club. I think Brian Ritchie is very level headed in what he says but it will be a really hard slog if he doesn't get some experience in on the coaching and playing side. I really don't want to keep harping on about the lack of experienced coaches becuase I'm sure these guys are giving everything the've got and probably more but surely they can get big Nicky Walker in and about the place to pass on his experience. Everyone would learn from him, Managers, coaches and players. With regard to players, from what I've seen, it is important to keep those with experience who have played HFL for some time as the younger guys will learn from them and you never know, maybe in time the club will achieve its ambition of an all local set up. I hope they find some form soon and the two games a week should soon get rid of their lack of game time but they will all need a lot of help along the way and a full squad to pick from. Keep the heads up guys and good luck for the rest of the season

View Postsatnav, on 10 February 2011 - 20:24, said:

I'm sure these guys are giving everything the've got and probably more but surely they can get big Nicky Walker in and about the place to pass on his experience. Everyone would learn from him, Managers, coaches and players. With regard to players, from what I've seen, it is important to keep those with experience who have played HFL for some time as the younger guys will learn from them and you never know, maybe in time the club will achieve its ambition of an all local set up. I hope they find some form soon and the two games a week should soon get rid of their lack of game time but they will all need a lot of help along the way and a full squad to pick from. Keep the heads up guys and good luck for the rest of the season

iam sure its been said before but Nicky is to busy with his business to concentrate fully on the club.but his g/k coaching is rubbing off,that was noticeable with chris bowles last season.
as for experienced hfl players the club have tried numerous times,but the position there in no-0ne wants to commit,it only take 1 then a few more will come,until then the locals are the only way to go,and some of them are pretty decent players,just need a bit of experience alongside them

User is offline   Charles Darwin Esq 

• Third Division Reserve
  • View gallery
  • My Team:Livingston
Is Gordy MacDonald still on the Jags' books?
Style over swag: the Natural Selection

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip
See Ricky Wardrop has been placed on transfer list by Forres. Is he not from/live in the Grantown area? If he is, I wonder if the jags will be making the BIG offer. I believe he was the Mechanicstop scorer with 16 last year

This post has been edited by satnav: 17 February 2011 - 14:44

User is offline   Stu 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren

View PostStrathspey, on 17 December 2010 - 23:55, said:

As someone who used to visit Grantown at least once a year for holidays, I'm interested to hear they may be going for full SFA membership sometime in the future. Are they still using that pitch beside the school pitches at the golf course? Is there going to be enough room for the relevant facilities required by the SFA? And if the locals are up in arms about the installation of a fence, how on earth did they get approval for the floodlighting and nice wee stand I see they have on thir website?

User is offline   satnav 

• PipPipPip
I can't believe how bad we were against Clach. Defensively we were very poor but I would give pass marks to Horsburgh who seemed to be the only one that new what he was doing. Our wide men certainly were not box to box players nor did they give us any out ball option and our 3 in the middle didn't get into the game ( probably because they were up against better players). Unfortunately we didn't pose any threat up front but the service these guys get is poor to say the least. Negative I know but there doesn't seem to be any light at the end of the tunnel and some of our guys look as tho they are struggling fitness wise. I think we play Fort William next week so lets hope we can get 3 points as on this form I don't see where we are going to get any other points from

View Postsatnav, on 22 February 2011 - 19:44, said:

I can't believe how bad we were against Clach. Defensively we were very poor but I would give pass marks to Horsburgh who seemed to be the only one that new what he was doing. Our wide men certainly were not box to box players nor did they give us any out ball option and our 3 in the middle didn't get into the game ( probably because they were up against better players). Unfortunately we didn't pose any threat up front but the service these guys get is poor to say the least. Negative I know but there doesn't seem to be any light at the end of the tunnel and some of our guys look as tho they are struggling fitness wise. I think we play Fort William next week so lets hope we can get 3 points as on this form I don't see where we are going to get any other points from
Totally disagree i feel we werent to bad v Clach,just lacked a striker,thought Horse and Tulloch were the 2 standouts,ok we lack goals 1 in 4 games,but that is being addressed tonight by bringing in the striker we have playing as a trialist tonight,i reckon we,ll beat Fort next tuesday no problems,and satnav what with the we? thought you were a rothes fan

View PostStu, on 17 February 2011 - 15:49, said:

As someone who used to visit Grantown at least once a year for holidays, I'm interested to hear they may be going for full SFA membership sometime in the future. Are they still using that pitch beside the school pitches at the golf course? Is there going to be enough room for the relevant facilities required by the SFA? And if the locals are up in arms about the installation of a fence, how on earth did they get approval for the floodlighting and nice wee stand I see they have on thir website?

we have plenty of room,the fence around the ground should start soon,and the other things to get in as a member

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »