Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: E-Chat Quick Question Thread - The Pie Shop

• (30 Pages) +
  • Last »

E-Chat Quick Question Thread Bring Joy to the Community Rate Topic: **--- 3 Votes

User is offline   Thumper 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostvikingTON, on 03 November 2010 - 15:40, said:

Oh I wasn't going to, I went into a computer place today and the guy mumbled something about how they couldn't fix it as it would be connected to the motherboard. Not willing to argue the point when I have zilch knowledge about computers but I did sense he might have been fobbing me off because his English was limited.

So it can possibly be repaired without a return?

If you're out of warranty and willing to give a screwdriver a go then download the service manual for your model (Acers are normally pretty easy to find) and take your time. It should just be a case of getting the keyboard assembly off and then pushing the sockets back into place.

User is offline   jay_7 

• Sailing the seven proxies
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:EnRJay

View Postendieinreekie, on 04 November 2010 - 10:38, said:

Out of interest, what kind of processor and/or graphics card should I be looking for, which would allow me to play FM and other strategy type games?

To be honest if it's games you want to play, you're better with a desktop. The amount of money you'd need to part with to have a laptop capable of playing graphics intensive games is ridiculous.
Posted Image

User is online   endieinreekie 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Montrose

View Postjay_7, on 06 November 2010 - 00:26, said:

To be honest if it's games you want to play, you're better with a desktop. The amount of money you'd need to part with to have a laptop capable of playing graphics intensive games is ridiculous.

Cheers dude, will have a good look round to see what best meets our needs

I've punched before.

User is offline   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
When sitting idle my wee mouse cursor shows the blue swirly thing at uniform periods as if it's running something every 5 seconds or so. It will swirl for a second then be normal then repeat it again every 5 seconds.

What does this mean?
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

• SPL Superstar

View PostFife Saint, on 08 November 2010 - 22:41, said:

When sitting idle my wee mouse cursor shows the blue swirly thing at uniform periods as if it's running something every 5 seconds or so. It will swirl for a second then be normal then repeat it again every 5 seconds.

What does this mean?

It means there's I/O activity. It could be anything from scanning for viruses to defragmenting the disk to indexing your files to make searches quicker to sending all your passwords to some Russian gangsters. No way of knowing without more details.

User is offline   Lichtieforlife 

• My hero.
  • My Team:Arbroath
How do I find out how much memory I'm using on my HTC Wildfire?
I defeated the..

Captain of the Hairy Beavers AND Badger in the Rye, and P&B Survivor Game One AND Survivor Game Two WINNER

User is offline   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

View PostLichtieforlife, on 14 November 2010 - 11:05, said:

How do I find out how much memory I'm using on my HTC Wildfire?

There is an app called file manager, it's quite easy to use and tells you all that. There is also an option under setttings, go to SD card and phone storage and it should tell you there.
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

User is offline   Spiders For Life 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:QPcg
I'm needing to get Microsoft office and I know that student discounts are avaialble so when I plugged it into google it came up with This and This . The professional plus one seems to have more in it for a cheaper price, is there something I'm missing or is it just a good deal? :huh:
3rd Division. Fantastic

User is offline   Spiders For Life 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:QPcg

View PostSpiders For Life, on 19 November 2010 - 16:33, said:

I'm needing to get Microsoft office and I know that student discounts are avaialble so when I plugged it into google it came up with This and This . The professional plus one seems to have more in it for a cheaper price, is there something I'm missing or is it just a good deal? :huh:

Anyone? :unsure:
3rd Division. Fantastic

User is offline   jay_7 

• Sailing the seven proxies
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:EnRJay

View PostSpiders For Life, on 21 November 2010 - 13:15, said:

Anyone? :unsure:

The only official student deal on MS Office 2010 is the Professional Academic version. I'd be wary of anyone else offering something different.
Posted Image

• SPL Superstar
Not to be That Guy Who Doesn't Answer The Question, but do you desperately need Microsoft Office? OpenOffice does a good enough job for pretty much anything except heavy use of tables or spreadsheet programming, and doesn't cost anything.

User is offline   monthejags 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
My laptop charger is humped, where's best to get a new one in Glasgow?

• SPL Superstar

View Postmonthejags, on 21 November 2010 - 20:02, said:

My laptop charger is humped, where's best to get a new one in Glasgow?

Priceless in Tradeston.

User is offline   Mybitchunderprotest 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
I'd agree with Priceless as well, for any computing needs. Give them a phone and check the website as they also do delivery.

Pricless Computing
"there's no reincarnation, you're only human once, so make yourself at home"

Tweet me @Christismybitch

• My hero.
This is for any HTC Wildfire owners: when I put my Wildfire on charge it will let out this extremely high pitched shrilling noise, it gets louder and louder the longer it's on charge. Has anyone else experianced this and if so is there any way to stop it?
I defeated the..

Captain of the Hairy Beavers AND Badger in the Rye, and P&B Survivor Game One AND Survivor Game Two WINNER

User is offline   Mik 

• My Team:Celtic

View PostLichtieforlife, on 22 November 2010 - 23:20, said:

This is for any HTC Wildfire owners: when I put my Wildfire on charge it will let out this extremely high pitched shrilling noise, it gets louder and louder the longer it's on charge. Has anyone else experianced this and if so is there any way to stop it?

Had a quick google and on the android forum to see if anyone had this problem, i've not seen anything at all so...unfortunately it sounds like it's fucked mate, take it back.

• My hero.

View PostMik, on 23 November 2010 - 07:50, said:

Had a quick google and on the android forum to see if anyone had this problem, i've not seen anything at all so...unfortunately it sounds like it's fucked mate, take it back.

I've tried it a few more times and it's actually the charger making the noise, thanks anyway though.
I defeated the..

User is offline   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
My laptop screen (compaq presario) has went very, very dark. Nowhere near bright enough to use, I can only make out a few letters here and there.

Is it buggered or can I somehow mess about with it to get it going again? Also, can you use an external monitor for a laptop? ie seeing what should be on the screen somewhere else?
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   DeeJay35 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Gamertag:PSN - DeeJay_71

View PostThree, on 26 November 2010 - 17:41, said:

My laptop screen (compaq presario) has went very, very dark. Nowhere near bright enough to use, I can only make out a few letters here and there.

Is it buggered or can I somehow mess about with it to get it going again? Also, can you use an external monitor for a laptop? ie seeing what should be on the screen somewhere else?

Check the obvious though like brightness settings, but I would take a pop at the inverter inside the screen has gone.

By all means try and external monitor that will prove its your screen.

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
If your laptop has a VGA-out port then yes, you can use an external monitor with it.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   Parscelona 

• Don't Diss The Stripes
  • My Team:Dunfermline
Firstly, i'm not the most technical guy with computers.

Now my problem is that my Sky Broadband internet connection has significantly slown down since yesterday and it's even cut off at times today. My download rate is awful as well as it's taking several minutes to download a small file. Futhermore i now can't watch videos on youtube which is strange as i've not experienced any problems until today, the videos take ages to load and when they do start, they cut out after two seconds.

I've looked online and downloaded some different security software to see if i have a virus, yet they've picked up no problems.

Can anyone help? :unsure:

This post has been edited by Parscelona: 02 December 2010 - 22:55

User is offline   forehead7 

• Oh, herro
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Gamertag:PSN: forehead7

View PostParscelona, on 02 December 2010 - 22:54, said:

Now my problem is that my Sky Broadband internet connection has significantly slown down since yesterday and it's even cut off at times today. My download rate is awful as well as it's taking several minutes to download a small file. Futhermore i now can't watch videos on youtube which is strange as i've not experienced any problems until today, the videos take ages to load and when they do start, they cut out after two seconds.

I've looked online and downloaded some different security software to see if i have a virus, yet they've picked up no problems.

When my internet gets slow, I reset the router. I don't think it's ever been as bad as you described though so it might be something that reseting can't fix.

View PostTurbo_dee, on 04 January 2012 - 09:39, said:

And that was not a good start, losing the Doctor at this stage of the game is pretty catastrophic, the Mafia will be creaming themselves after that kill. Particularly when the Doctor is as skilful a player as Forehead is.

View Postgordon the gopher, on 13 February 2012 - 13:11, said:

Aye Forehead does have an anger problem I feel

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View PostParscelona, on 02 December 2010 - 22:54, said:

Go to the Speedtest website and run a speed test. If you can, do it over a few days, ideally at different times of day and see if its consistently slow.

Are you using wifi? If so, is there anything that could be interfering with the signal. Can you see any other wireless networks around?

Oh, and try restarting your router too ;)
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

User is offline   Mik 

• My Team:Celtic
Your neighbours are piggybacking your wifi, go and punch them.

• SPL Superstar
Having done ISP technical support, you've been pointed in the right direction. First check it's nothing internal (i.e you daughter downloading movies, next door leeching your wireless). Then check the line if it's DSL (move the router to the master socket). If you're still getting problems, phone them and get BT to check the line. Be aware that in this weather you'll be lucky if it's done by March.

• (30 Pages) +
  • Last »