Anthony Watt
Is away on trial to a team in England
Rate Topic:

Posted 05 September 2010 - 19:50
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Airdrie Utd
As above, it apears young Airdrie striker Tony Watt has gone down to England to an unnamed team for a few days for a trial. He was rumoured to have been the subject of a 40k bid from Dundee last week and Liverpool were among the teams said to be looking at him.
Airdrie have him on a 2 year contract, so it could turn out to be a nice wee payday for us if he gets a move! That said, I think it's important that he keeps playing regular football and develops to fulfil his considerable potential.
Posted 05 September 2010 - 20:03
- Team:Ayr United
- Gamertag:drkfrommyspace
Nipples, on 05 September 2010 - 19:50, said:
As above, it apears young Airdrie striker Tony Watt has gone down to England to an unnamed team for a few days for a trial. He was rumoured to have been the subject of a 40k bid from Dundee last week and Liverpool were among the teams said to be looking at him.
gonna be a very good player
he already has it and has a lot of years till he reaches his "peak"
Posted 05 September 2010 - 22:31
- Gamertag:Andy AUFC1
Untrue I'm afraid no doubt he will be snapped up in time though hopefully will score a few goals this season for us
This post has been edited by Diamond93: 05 September 2010 - 22:32
<> Mon the Diamonds <>
Posted 06 September 2010 - 13:59
- Gamertag:PS3: AndersonAFC
Hope it's not true because we will need him this season but if it is true then all the best to the lad by the looks of things he has a very bright future in front of him.
Future International maybe?.
<>Paul Lovering Legend<>
Posted 06 September 2010 - 14:07
- Team:Other
Posted 06 September 2010 - 14:21
I asked him on facebook sir he said "nah it's not true" check if u want mate but for now it seems this thread is a load of pish. However no doubt he will get a big move soonish
<> Mon the Diamonds <>
Posted 06 September 2010 - 15:27
Barcelona offered £20 million today but I am sure Jimmy Boyle will turn down the offer as he is a cracking player.
Posted 06 September 2010 - 15:55
Lol smithy a thought it was brechin that offered us £20 million plus Rory mcallister
aha
<> Mon the Diamonds <>
Posted 06 September 2010 - 17:22
Diamond93, on 06 September 2010 - 14:21, said:
I asked him on facebook sir he said "nah it's not true" check if u want mate but for now it seems this thread is a load of pish. However no doubt he will get a big move soonish
Ah right, you asked him on Facebook. Must be a "load of pish" then.
If you want to go down the "I saw it on Facebook" route then you'll see that he's away down on the train to England (on a train that has wifi, apparently), that people are wishing him goodluck f and that he can't say where he's away to because "some people cant find out eh", so he's hardly going to say on his wall that he is in fact away for a trial. Ken? Facebook stalking doesn't always have the answers when it comes to this sort of thing.
Posted 06 September 2010 - 18:58
I don't stalk any1 mate just speak to him on occassions as he's a friend. Don't think he's gona lie about it ken ?? Seriously don't know how people can find the time or have the imagination to make quite frankly shit like this up. U Ken ??
<> Mon the Diamonds <>
Posted 06 September 2010 - 20:12
- Gamertag:drkfrommyspace
Posted 06 September 2010 - 20:16
itzdrk, on 06 September 2010 - 20:12, said:
no im barbie
It's such a stupid comeback but i still Lol'd.
Posted 06 September 2010 - 20:17
Super Hans, on 06 September 2010 - 20:16, said:
It's such a stupid comeback but i still Lol'd.
That'll probably be the only time that wee guy ever gets a green spot.
We will never forget you, Guido.
Posted 06 September 2010 - 22:10
- Team:Scotland
He's on trial with Liverpool.
Posted 07 September 2010 - 08:16
what happened to the lad liverpool signed from county a few seasons back?
is this not normal practice for big clubs?
P&B Legend
Posted 07 September 2010 - 08:58
I don't get it quite frankly. Has this young guy signed a contract with us or not?? If he has signed a contract how can he be away for trials with anyone?? Are there not rules against "tapping" other clubs players?
Am I missing something?
Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:24
Dont think its classed as tapping. Even though he has a contract with us, he can go on trial with another team. Great learning experience but use the example of Gary Mackay Steven to show that he should wait a couple of years.
Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:33
- Team:Dumbarton
Did this guy only come into your first team this season?
Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:35
yes he was in the under 17s last season and scored a barrow load
P&B Legend
Posted 07 September 2010 - 09:38
Scotchie, on 07 September 2010 - 08:58, said:
I don't get it quite frankly. Has this young guy signed a contract with us or not?? If he has signed a contract how can he be away for trials with anyone?? Are there not rules against "tapping" other clubs players?
Am I missing something?
It's not that unusual. As long as both teams are in agreement that he can go on trial then it's fine. Happens often.
We will never forget you, Guido.
Posted 07 September 2010 - 12:19
- Team:Dumbarton
Posted 07 September 2010 - 12:59
Bring Back Paddy Flannery, on 07 September 2010 - 12:19, said:
Just seems a bit odd that teams like Liverpool are inviting a boy on trial who has only played a handful of first team games in the 2nd division.
Why is it odd?
It happens all of the time. It's called a scouting system.
Scout: "Hey gaffer. This boy looks a good prospect"
Gaffer: "OK we'll bring him down for a wee look"
It's not as if he's going to be called into Liverpool's first team as a trialist.
You'll Never Believe Me, So Why Don't You Find Out For Yourself?
Posted 07 September 2010 - 15:02
Aufc, on 07 September 2010 - 09:24, said:
Dont think its classed as tapping. Even though he has a contract with us, he can go on trial with another team. Great learning experience but use the example of Gary Mackay Steven to show that he should wait a couple of years.
Did Mackay Steven not get a series of really bad injuries?
We hate Airdrie more than you
Posted 07 September 2010 - 15:15
Scotchie, on 07 September 2010 - 08:58, said:
Am I missing something?
If both clubs are in agreement that it's best for the player's development then there is nothing wrong with it, unless the club don't agree with it and he goes himself. We let Craig Bryson go on trial to Derby when they top of the championship but a move never came from it, but the experience of going to such a big club would have helped him. Also, last season we had Connor Stevenson (still with us) and Stevie Howarth (in Motherwell's u-19's now apparently) go on trial to Rangers for a week last season.
It happens all the time, especially younger players at small clubs going to 'bigger' teams.
edit: and I've just facebook stalked him and he is on trial with Liverpool today.
This post has been edited by GypsyTillIDie: 07 September 2010 - 15:17
What is my perfect crime? I break into Tiffany's at midnight. Do I go for the vault? No. I go for the chandelier - it's priceless. As I'm taking it down a woman catches me. She tells me to stop. It's her father's business. She's Tiffany. I say 'no'. We make love all night. In the morning the cops come and I escape in one of their uniforms. I tell her to meet me in Mexico, but I go to Canada. I don't trust her. Besides, I like the cold. Thirty years later I get a postcard. I have a son and he's the chief of police. This is where the story gets interesting: I tell Tiffany to meet me in Paris, by the Trocadero - she's been waiting for me all these years; she's never taken another lover. I don't care, I don't show up. I go to Berlin. That's where I stash the chandelier.
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: Feb 05 2012 10:16
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd