Last minute signings Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Dumbarton
Did anyone make any?

We signed Aberdeen defender Stirling Smith on loan for a whole month. Don't know much about him so anyone with any info on him feel free to share.

This post has been edited by Bring Back Paddy Flannery: 01 September 2010 - 13:23

User is offline   EdinburghLivi 

• Doing Some Damage
  • Location:For Deesign for Life and East Football's benefit, Edinburgh
  • Team:Livingston
  • Gamertag:EdinburghLivi
No ins or out at Almondvale.
Member #1 of the Iain Russell Man Crush Association (IRMCA)
Livingston's Goal Every 1.6 Games Striker

User is offline   GoTeamGaz 

• First Division Regular
  • Gamertag:GoTeamGaz

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on 01 September 2010 - 13:23, said:

Did anyone make any?

We signed Aberdeen defender Stirling Smith on loan for a whole month. Don't know much about him so anyone with any info on him feel free to share.

spoke to an Aberden fan today who thought that Smith was going straight into the first team once Foster had gone to Rangers & is now worried that they've let him go for a month ... can't be that bad!

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions

View PostBring Back Paddy Flannery, on 01 September 2010 - 13:23, said:

Did anyone make any?

The transfer window has no effect on our loaning that lad from Aberdeen, he's signed on a 28 day loan, which is under the terms of the SFL "emergency loans" rules so he could've been signed today as opposed to before the transfer deadline, it wouldn't have made any difference. The website describing it as last minute business is really just an attempt to make a one month loan signing sound a wee bit more interesting. If he does well we can extend the loan after the 28 days or we can send him back. Transfer windows only apply to clubs buying players or clubs loaning players from clubs abroad, so, basically, transfer windows have no effect on the majority of Scottish clubs. We can still sign free agents and field trialists throughout the season so long as the free agents were released by their last clubs prior to the relevant transfer window closing (basically everyone) and we can (and probably will) still take advantage of the energency loans system throughout the season.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   The Moonster 

• SPL Superstar

View PostGoTeamGaz, on 01 September 2010 - 13:44, said:

spoke to an Aberden fan today who thought that Smith was going straight into the first team once Foster had gone to Rangers & is now worried that they've let him go for a month ... can't be that bad!

Is there much point to it? Say he comes in and helps us put a stop to conceding so many goals, then he goes back to Aberdeen in a months time, we're back to where we started. We should have got him till Christmas at least.
In that dream I could hardly contain it
All my life I will wait to attain it

User is offline   ++Ammo - Airdrie++ 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Airdrie Utd
  • Gamertag:ammoairdrie

View PostThe Moonster, on 01 September 2010 - 14:29, said:

Is there much point to it? Say he comes in and helps us put a stop to conceding so many goals, then he goes back to Aberdeen in a months time, we're back to where we started. We should have got him till Christmas at least.

maybe hes only on loan to get a bit of match fitness up to go straight into the Aberdeen first team like a previous poster said.

View PostThe Moonster, on 01 September 2010 - 14:29, said:

Bloody hell! Does naebody read my posts Posted Image

It's a 28 day loan, these an be extended. The point is that the loan is put through as an emergency short term signing and then is renegotiated for a longer period after the initial month, unless in the case of the clubs not agreeing to extend after the 28 days.

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
Whats the point of an emergency 28 day loan when we don't play Stenny until 11 days into this month?

This post has been edited by the snudge: 01 September 2010 - 20:45

User is offline   itzdrk 

• umad
  • Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:drkfrommyspace

View Postthe snudge, on 01 September 2010 - 20:45, said:

Whats the point of an emergency 28 day loan when we don't play Stenny until 11 days into this month?

two of the great minds of the modern game worked this one out remember ;)

View PostMr Tee, on 01 February 2012 - 16:34, said:

Please dear god dont tell me you are referring to Lee McCulloch. If so, shut the forum, close the curtains, kiss your bairns and pull the trigger.

Posted Image

User is offline   Nipper 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:Airdrie Utd

View Postitzdrk, on 01 September 2010 - 21:09, said:

two of the great minds of the modern game worked this one out remember Posted Image

Amazing !!!!!!

User is offline   The Moonster 

• SPL Superstar

View PostSweet Pete, on 01 September 2010 - 15:12, said:

Bloody hell! Does naebody read my posts Posted Image

It's a 28 day loan, these an be extended. The point is that the loan is put through as an emergency short term signing and then is renegotiated for a longer period after the initial month, unless in the case of the clubs not agreeing to extend after the 28 days.

Geez a break you posted that while I was posting and I never realised.
In that dream I could hardly contain it
All my life I will wait to attain it

View PostThe Moonster, on 02 September 2010 - 08:27, said:

Geez a break you posted that while I was posting and I never realised.

I'll break you ma boy! Posted Image

User is offline   Cliche Guevara 

• SPL Superstar
  • Team:Ayr United

View PostSweet Pete, on 01 September 2010 - 14:27, said:

The transfer window has no effect on our loaning that lad from Aberdeen, he's signed on a 28 day loan, which is under the terms of the SFL "emergency loans" rules so he could've been signed today as opposed to before the transfer deadline, it wouldn't have made any difference. The website describing it as last minute business is really just an attempt to make a one month loan signing sound a wee bit more interesting. If he does well we can extend the loan after the 28 days or we can send him back. Transfer windows only apply to clubs buying players or clubs loaning players from clubs abroad, so, basically, transfer windows have no effect on the majority of Scottish clubs. We can still sign free agents and field trialists throughout the season so long as the free agents were released by their last clubs prior to the relevant transfer window closing (basically everyone) and we can (and probably will) still take advantage of the energency loans system throughout the season.

I think you might be wrong on that one!

During the transfer window you have the option of the conventional loan system. I'm pretty sure that emergency temporary transfers can only be conducted outwith the transfer window.

Not entirely sure, but it would seem odd that you could use the emergency system during the window - unless window transfers have to be from one window to another.
You know that Jesus was a c**t that never helped with anything that you do

View PostCliche Guevara, on 02 September 2010 - 09:58, said:

I think you might be wrong on that one!

During the transfer window you have the option of the conventional loan system. I'm pretty sure that emergency temporary transfers can only be conducted outwith the transfer window.

Not entirely sure, but it would seem odd that you could use the emergency system during the window - unless window transfers have to be from one window to another.

Could be.

Either way, we should still be able to re-negotiate the loan length after the initial month is over if both parties can agree. If they can't, or don't want / need to extend the deal, then the lad will simply play a couple of games for us and then go back to Aberdeen's youth team.

I can only assume that Chapman feels he needs a left-back at short notice and whether he stays longer or just for the month we shall see in due course.

User is offline   King Kebab 

• Do not be alarmed! This is a kindness!
  • Location:The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
  • Team:East Fife
  • Gamertag:Goldeneye for the Xbox??? I think I just came!!!
Rumour is we have signed 30 year old ex-Aberdeen Captain Phil McGuire!!!

Good one if true and if it proves to sort out our defensive frailties this season it may just provide the impetus for us to do something this year as we are strong in every other area!!!

This post has been edited by King Kebab: 02 September 2010 - 22:13

Posted Image

View PostKing Kebab, on 02 September 2010 - 17:32, said:

Good one if true and if it proves to sort out our defensive frailities this season it may just provide the impetus for us to do something this year as we are strong in every other area!!!

Wife beater.

• SPL Signing Target

View PostSweet Pete, on 02 September 2010 - 18:52, said:

Wife beater.

King Kebab has a wife?!?!?!?

User is offline   Gordon EF 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostKing Kebab, on 02 September 2010 - 17:32, said:

Good one if true and if it proves to sort out our defensive frailities this season it may just provide the impetus for us to do something this year as we are strong in every other area!!!

Potentially a great signing if he's fit and motivated. I think an experienced, decent centre back could make us serious promotion challenegers.
"Soon there will be a referendum on a whole new relationship between England and Scotland. Have a flutter on it if you like. But you don't often make money, betting against Alex Salmond!"

Michael Portillo

View PostSweet Pete, on 02 September 2010 - 18:52, said:

Wife beater.

You'll be hearing from my Lawyer!!!Posted Image
Posted Image

View Postthe snudge, on 02 September 2010 - 19:15, said:

King Kebab has a wife?!?!?!?

...and you!!!Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image

• SPL Signing Target

View PostKing Kebab, on 02 September 2010 - 22:11, said:

...and you!!!Posted Image Posted Image

Im surprised you'd have any time for a wife with all the wonders of the web you seem to discover! ;)

Page 1 of 1