• My Team:Dumbarton
Well.... someone had to start it!

User is offline   ++Ammo - Airdrie++ 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
  • Gamertag:ammoairdrie
wow knee jerk reaction or what!! keep the faith!!

User is offline   the auld son 

• Third Division Regular

View Post++Ammo - Airdrie++, on 30 August 2010 - 15:23, said:

wow knee jerk reaction or what!! keep the faith!!

Ammo ,strong rumours he is waiting for your lot to take him
After all he is an Airdrie fan born and bred :rolleyes:
How long before someone says I am tedious

User is offline   Partizan Bogheid 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postthe auld son, on 30 August 2010 - 17:26, said:

Aye, sorry to lose him ;) , but I'm sure no-one at Dumbarton would stand in his way if he decided to give Airdrie the benefit of his experience.

User is offline   bring me SON shine 

• Third Division Sub

View PostPartizan Bogheid, on 30 August 2010 - 17:59, said:

Aye, sorry to lose him Posted Image , but I'm sure no-one at Dumbarton would stand in his way if he decided to give Airdrie the benefit of his experience.

I did hear he was on shakey ground three defeats ago ! Posted Image
Play offs live on BBC Alba: 7:30pm Wednesday, 4:00pm Sunday, Mon eh Sons

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postthe auld son, on 30 August 2010 - 17:26, said:

Good luck with the 5year plan, eh?

User is offline   sons girle 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Gamertag:wii
rumours on the street that Adamson went to the board and said that chapman had lost the dressing room and if chapman stayed he would go in 2 weeks

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
My take on Chapman is that he won the league with a budget and a squad of players that it was nigh on impossible not to win it with, though he did quite well last season despite some bizarre selections/decsions. He never did anything special with Albion Rovers and pound for pound I don't think he's a particularly good manager but there are certainly worse out there.

His over confidence and stubborness seem to be his two main pitfalls.

User is offline   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain
If we didn't have Moore I'd happily have Chapman at Cappielow. A good, forward-looking manager.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   sons girle 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Gamertag:wii

View PostSwampy, on 30 August 2010 - 19:07, said:

If we didn't have Moore I'd happily have Chapman at Cappielow. A good, forward-looking manager.

I'll swap u chapman for Moore know bother

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • My Team:Brechin City
Jim Duffy's still lookin for a club ! ;)

User is offline   GoTeamGaz 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:GoTeamGaz

View PostFudge, on 30 August 2010 - 19:05, said:

My take on Chapman is that he won the league with a budget and a squad of players that it was nigh on impossible not to win it with, though he did quite well last season despite some bizarre selections/decsions. He never did anything special with Albion Rovers and pound for pound I don't think he's a particularly good manager but there are certainly worse out there.

agree, he won the league with allegedly one of the three highest in the division & went through about 40 players, last year he had a healthy budget to go straight up again, this year the finances have been reigned in & he can't just splash out on whomever will drop down to the second. In all honesty we've seen nothing other than football manager style spending your way up the leagues, this season he's had to get a team on a budget & now cannot manage them, when things go wrong he sits there with his arms folded & shouts at players to have a go at other players. Too many times the manager has tried to side himself with the fans against the team any time there's a bad result & that, IMO, will not do.

User is offline   the snudge 

• SPL Signing Target
I'd gladly take Jim Duffy!

User is offline   itzdrk 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Germany
id take chaplin off you for brian reid

you can keep chapman away tho :P
If the kids are united then we'll never be divided

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target

View Postthe snudge, on 30 August 2010 - 20:52, said:

User is offline   EK_Clyde 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde
John Brown is not doing anything now, why not go for him Posted Image

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc

Goodness me, I wouldn't wish that upon anybody....is it really that bad at Dumbarton? :lol:
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   Garrowhillclyde 

• International Regular
  • My Team:Clyde

View PostEK_Clyde, on 30 August 2010 - 21:36, said:

John Brown is not doing anything now, why not go for him Posted Image

Was thinking that myself. Dont think he'll be driving there right enough.

User is offline   Nipper 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
Kenny Black is only part time with Scotland !!!!!

User is offline   O'Kelly Isley III 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostFudge, on 30 August 2010 - 19:05, said:

Good post and largely accurate, although the championship win owed a helluva lot to Cowden's late collapse.

The potentially bad news for Sons fans however, is that he will almost certainly be in the dugout against Stenny and possibly beyond, lost dressing room or not. The club simply doesn't have the cash to pay up his contract in full, and it may have to 'negotiate' him out of the door.

One thing's for sure though. The 5-1, 4-1, 6-0 disasters have all been away from home but if things go badly pear-shaped again at home to Stenny then there will be no out of vision/earshot factor for Chapman or the Board. How ironic it would be if Ross Clark was to put the fatal pin into the balloon.
Ah don't dae Facebook or Twitter, ah jist burn wid.....

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions

Wrap that pish!

View Post'Steve, on 30 August 2010 - 21:39, said:

Goodness me, I wouldn't wish that upon anybody....is it really that bad at Dumbarton? Posted Image

No.

Our manager has not assembled a squad which compares well with the previous 2 seasons and has, seemingly, had some difficulties in motivating / organising them.

However, and personal feelings aside, we should not be looking to sack one manager who has proved himself to be egotistical and stubborn and hire another with a similar track record for stubbornness but a worse track record in management.

As for sacking Chapman, I'm not entirely sure I agree. Yes, he's proved difficult and stubborn and occasionally downright baffling but I've never been a great one for sacking folk and worry about the consequences of same.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   jon leino 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostSweet Pete, on 31 August 2010 - 08:20, said:

Wrap that pish!

No.

Our manager has not assembled a squad which compares well with the previous 2 seasons and has, seemingly, had some difficulties in motivating / organising them.

However, and personal feelings aside, we should not be looking to sack one manager who has proved himself to be egotistical and stubborn and hire another with a similar track record for stubbornness but a worse track record in management.

As for sacking Chapman, I'm not entirely sure I agree. Yes, he's proved difficult and stubborn and occasionally downright baffling but I've never been a great one for sacking folk and worry about the consequences of same.

I know myself that results have not not gone our way since the start of the Season,but listening to some of the names banded about for the Managers position ,I have heard people saying that they would like to see Paul Martin back do these people forget the result against Forfar away a few seasons ago when we were humped 6-0 and Martin stood at the dugout with a grin on his face
Jim Chapman has his critics, but what if the next guy in got the same start will he be hounded out too

User is offline   The Moonster 

• International Call Up
  • Euro 2012:Germany
It's reported that he's lost the dressing room and on Saturdays viewing I find it hard to argue against that. In my view, the last straw has got to be when he losses the dressing room. If the players aren't willing to play for him then he's got to go. Whilst I don't agree that players should act in this way, that's football and the responsibility for motivating the team lies with Jim.

A fellow Sons fan said after the final whistle on Saturday, the board either have to come out and back him, or get rid of him and I totally agree with that.
Little brown boy, the other side of the world....
He was born on a line many thousand year long, many more thousand to be
They survived on tradition, not wealth and position
Sounds pretty simple to me....

User is offline   donald 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
From what I can see he is delusional, egomaniacal and has an altogether adverse effect on the squad he has put together.

Can we do any better?

User is offline   Bring Back Paddy Flannery 

• SPL Sub
Ian Chisolm - Player/Manager.

• (3 Pages) +