Cranston Cup

User is offline   AMMOKYD 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
Anybody know if the Cranston Cup, held in Gordon has kicked off yet?
Would be a good idea if Gordon were to invite a couple of there A div neighbours like Duns and Greenlaw, see what there made of for the coming season.

User is offline   i know nowt 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostAMMOKYD, on 16 July 2010 - 02:33, said:

Anybody know if the Cranston Cup, held in Gordon has kicked off yet?
Would be a good idea if Gordon were to invite a couple of there A div neighbours like Duns and Greenlaw, see what there made of for the coming season.

Cranston cup starts on 8th August

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Euro 2012:France
  • Gamertag:PSN Heedly77

View Posti know nowt, on 16 July 2010 - 06:46, said:

The teams invited this year were Duns, Yetholm & Lauder as it has been for the last couple of years since Kelso Thislte couldn't fulfill the fixtures. I have been told that this year Duns have refused the invite as they don't want to be involved as they have aspirations to play higher grade teams and not some border amatuer pre-season cup. Posted Image

Kelso Thistle have now taken the place of Duns in the tournament. Earlston have now been placed as 1st reserve incase any team cannot fulfill their fixtures as they were one of the original teams that took part in the tournament.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Posti know nowt, on 16 July 2010 - 06:46, said:

If i know nowt, knows something, there should be some games at Gordon this weekend.
Anybody know if teams have been announced, and the schedule?

User is offline   Chovie1988 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
Not regarding this cup but.. what 4 teams are competing in the chirnside cup? I know us (West Barns) and Chirnside but anyone know the other 2?

User is offline   Am footy 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostAMMOKYD, on 06 August 2010 - 12:25, said:

If i know nowt, knows something, there should be some games at Gordon this weekend.
Anybody know if teams have been
announced, and the schedule?

Think it's Kelso thistle vs yetholm Sunday nyt followed with Gordon vs Lauder Monday nyt. Games wed and Thursday nyt with final two games saturday not sure who plays who though

User is offline   i p squint 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View PostAm footy, on 06 August 2010 - 13:21, said:

Think it's Kelso thistle vs yetholm Sunday nyt followed with Gordon vs Lauder Monday nyt. Games wed and Thursday nyt with final two games saturday not sure who plays who though

thistle v lauder on sun night,yetholm v gordon on monday,gordon v thistle wed,yetholm v lauder thurs n then yetholm v thistle on sat 12.30 ko followed by gordon v lauder

User is offline   speiro 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostChovie1988, on 06 August 2010 - 12:49, said:

Not regarding this cup but.. what 4 teams are competing in the chirnside cup? I know us (West Barns) and Chirnside but anyone know the other 2?

Us ( eyemouth ) and greenlaw! so i'm told! we have greenlaw on wed night!

User is offline   Chovie1988 

• My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View Postspeiro, on 06 August 2010 - 15:29, said:

Us ( eyemouth ) and greenlaw! so i'm told! we have greenlaw on wed night!

Cheers, aye we play on tuesday! Have any idea when the final is?

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Posti p squint, on 06 August 2010 - 14:29, said:

thistle v lauder on sun night,yetholm v gordon on monday,gordon v thistle wed,yetholm v lauder thurs n then yetholm v thistle on sat 12.30 ko followed by gordon v lauder

Cheers.

Not heard much from the Gordon camp aboot new signings (or singings). Anybody know if they have added any new guys?

User is offline   speiro 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostChovie1988, on 06 August 2010 - 18:24, said:

Cheers, aye we play on tuesday! Have any idea when the final is?

ehh think a heard it would be on the 14th or the 15th! not quite sure tbh, not long to wait to find out though Posted Image

View PostAMMOKYD, on 06 August 2010 - 20:57, said:

Cheers.

Not heard much from the Gordon camp aboot new signings (or
singings). Anybody know if they have added any new guys?

No new signings to confirm yet! George porter retired

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostAm footy, on 07 August 2010 - 00:27, said:

A must be gettin old, i remember, if its Greg,( not George) when he was signed school boys with Rangers.
Good player.

View PostAMMOKYD, on 07 August 2010 - 06:38, said:

A must be gettin old, i remember, if its Greg,( not George) when he was signed school boys with Rangers.
Good player.

Yea that's him

User is offline   hunter 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View PostHEED, on 16 July 2010 - 07:18, said:

The teams invited this year were Duns, Yetholm & Lauder as it has been for the last couple of years since Kelso Thislte couldn't fulfill the fixtures. I have been told that this year Duns have refused the invite as they don't want to be involved as they have aspirations to play higher grade teams and not some border amatuer pre-season cup. Posted Image

Kelso Thistle have now taken the place of Duns in the tournament. Earlston have now been placed as 1st reserve incase any team cannot fulfill their fixtures as they were one of the original teams that took part in the tournament.

total nonsense,the reason duns refused the invite was due to the appalling refereeing standards last pre season, infact appalling doesnt even get close to describing what went on last pre season. Duns perogitive.

Kelso thistle 2 Lauder 1! Have Kelso made signings?

User is offline   UptheA7 

• My Team:Other

View PostAm footy, on 08 August 2010 - 20:22, said:

Taking nothing away from Kelso but was it not Lauder Common Riding on Saturday, there may well have been a few hangoversPosted Image

This post has been edited by UptheA7: 09 August 2010 - 06:14

It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

User is offline   i know nowt 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostUptheA7, on 09 August 2010 - 06:14, said:

Taking nothing away from Kelso but was it not Lauder Common Riding on Saturday, there may well have been a few hangoversPosted Image

well done to the thistle lads good result Posted Image

User is offline   dave the rave 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
  • Gamertag:spectrum 128k

View Posti know nowt, on 09 August 2010 - 18:33, said:

well done to the thistle lads good result Posted Image

just bk frae watchin gordon beat yetholm 4-0 gi easy win for the gowks against a yetholm team missin a few lads.

User is offline   Arthur Dent 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View PostAm footy, on 08 August 2010 - 20:22, said:

Watched this game and Kelso seemed very good defensively, I don't see them conceding bucketloads this year. Are Lauder supposed to be fairly good because from what I saw they were nothing special.
www.ottawasenators.com

'If you're gonna play the game boy, you gotta learn to play it right'

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target

View Posthunter, on 07 August 2010 - 18:57, said:

total nonsense,the reason duns refused the invite was due to the appalling refereeing standards last pre season, infact appalling doesnt even get close to describing what went on last pre season. Duns perogitive.

Got that from quite high up in the Gordon circles mate so someone is telling porkies.....anyways, the Referee's that are used are all qualified ref's who operate in the Border Am league im sure....so does this mean that you are refusing to play in the league and cup games because of the appalling refereeing standards? Posted Image

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target

View PostAm footy, on 07 August 2010 - 00:27, said:

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

User is offline   hunter 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostHEED, on 09 August 2010 - 22:19, said:

Got that from quite high up in the Gordon circles mate so someone is telling porkies.....anyways, the Referee's that are used are all qualified ref's who operate in the Border Am league im sure....so does this mean that you are refusing to play in the league and cup games because of the appalling refereeing standards? Posted Image

when you have local referees putting some bookings and sending offs through to the sfa and being very selective with other offences,ie not putting them through to the sfa,depending on which team you play for,its called double standards.

User is offline   HEED 

• SPL Signing Target

View Posthunter, on 11 August 2010 - 05:09, said:

when you have local referees putting some bookings and sending offs through to the sfa and being very selective with other offences,ie not putting them through to the sfa,depending on which team you play for,its called double standards.

Care to elaborate a little more on this...Do you have any proof of the above? Anybody from Gordon have any comments regarding this?

If it is true then surely it has to be stamped out and sorted now, very difficult to prove though.

View PostHEED, on 11 August 2010 - 07:43, said:

Care to elaborate a little more on this...Do you have any proof of the above? Anybody from Gordon have any comments regarding this
If it is true then surely it has to be stamped out and sorted now, very difficult to prove though.

Watched the game in question last year between Gordon and Duns. First sending off centre half last man chopped down striker when threw on goal! Second red the lad in middle of midfield was fouling all game then told ref to F off. Got shown straight red then told the to F off another 3 or 4 times which led to another red card when leaving pitch. Double standards I think not sour grapes possibly

• (3 Pages) +