Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Gambling forum quick questions thread - The Pie Shop

• (24 Pages) +
  • Last »

Gambling forum quick questions thread For questions which dont merit their own topic Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Nick_BCFC 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
Thanks guys, I can't get on anything apart from this forum that includes the word gambling that's why I didn't use the Ladbrokes calc & I wasn't sure how the trixie would pay out.

User is offline   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
  • Euro 2012:England

View PostJambo Stu, on 13 August 2010 - 10:21, said:

From Here I got a profit of £43.23

Edit: I did 21/10 not 21/20- Profit would be £27.49

I got £37.35, profit of £27.35.

View PostJambo Stu, on 13 August 2010 - 10:24, said:

Or just help a brother out and do it ( wrong) like I did :P

He will never learn that way...

User is offline   Jambo Stu 

• BIG TEAM 5 wee team 1
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Italy
  • Gamertag:captainspuddles

View PostCowden til i die, on 13 August 2010 - 11:31, said:

I got £37.35, profit of £27.35.

He will never learn that way...

14p Commission for me 8)
Guapa!
BLUE MOON

User is offline   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
  • Euro 2012:England

View PostJambo Stu, on 13 August 2010 - 11:32, said:

14p Commission for me 8)

I like your style.

User is offline   blue4578 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Other

View PostJambo Stu, on 13 August 2010 - 01:43, said:

Another betting and laying question :rolleyes:

Its easier to understand though if its based on your own betting.

Basically, I've £4( Billy Big Stakes, Eh!?) on Nick Watney, mainly just for interest. He is half way through his first round, and is -2.

I got him at 60.0 and he is now at 19 and able to lay at 19.5.

What kinda of money would I A) Have to put down to make some profit and B) What kind of profit could I look at?

I will not necessarily lay it but if I can make some dosh without the drama I probably will. Does the lowness of my intial stake dramatically effect the profit margins?

Sorry if these are silly questions. :(

Yours Sincerely.

J.Stu x

If you want the same return either way, you just divide the odds you backed (60) by the odds you can lay (19.5) and multiply by the stake (£4). The odds have to be in decimal form for this.

(60/19.5)*4 = £12.31 , which means lay £12.31 @ 19.5

If he wins, you win (59*4) - (18.5*12.31) = £8.27
If he doesn't win, you win 12.31 - 4 = £8.31

The same either way, except for a few pence due to rounding.

User is offline   ChampionsElect 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Gamertag:PaulCeltic1888 (PS3)
Do Kaymer and Watson get paid out as winners (William Hill) ? Or is it outright after the play-off?
Back on the forum for first time in months, receive message from Murray-7. I reply, he deletes then replies. I reply, he deletes. Same old diddy St Mirren fans - what a life they have.

Neil Lennon - True Leader, True Celt, True Winner!

User is offline   mid-table 

• Scotia L. Jackson

View PostChampionselect, on 15 August 2010 - 23:36, said:

Do Kaymer and Watson get paid out as winners (William Hill) ? Or is it outright after the play-off?

Outright after the playoff.

View PostAd Lib, on 21 December 2011 - 17:31, said:

If they threatened to physically attack me, I would STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so. If they threatened to physically attack a young lady across the aisle I would VERY STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so and attempt to place myself between them.

User is offline   Gall09 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen's Park
Is "First player to be booked", an in-play market?

Fancy seeing the odds on Alan Smith.

This post has been edited by Gall09: 16 August 2010 - 18:42

Ludere Causa Ludendi

@Gall1985

User is offline   Jambo Stu 

• BIG TEAM 5 wee team 1
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Italy
  • Gamertag:captainspuddles

View Postblue4578, on 13 August 2010 - 21:21, said:

If you want the same return either way, you just divide the odds you backed (60) by the odds you can lay (19.5) and multiply by the stake (£4). The odds have to be in decimal form for this.

(60/19.5)*4 = £12.31 , which means lay £12.31 @ 19.5

If he wins, you win (59*4) - (18.5*12.31) = £8.27
If he doesn't win, you win 12.31 - 4 = £8.31

The same either way, except for a few pence due to rounding.

Thanks for this. Decided in my wisdom to let it run with 3 shot lead going into final round. He was as low as 7/4 going off on final round.

We all know how that went.... :lol:
Guapa!
BLUE MOON

User is offline   bairn175 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Gamertag:Bairn Assassin
Quick question for those that know the bookies rules. I have Tevez to finish as top league goalscorer for Man City in a few lines and the bets were struck before Baliotelli signed and wasn't in the market. Will the original book stand?
Posted Image

User is offline   ShakehandsTom - DFC 

• Champions!
  • My Team:Dumbarton
I'm trying to withdraw funds from Betfair, and the card I want to withdraw the money onto isn't part of my account.

I can't add another card as I already have 3 (the maximum allowed) on my account. It doesn't allow me to 'un-reigister' the card(s) either, so how would I go about both unregistering a card and adding another?

Thanks.
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

• Scotia L. Jackson

View PostShakehandsTom - DFC, on 17 August 2010 - 23:18, said:

I'm trying to withdraw funds from Betfair, and the card I want to withdraw the money onto isn't part of my account.

I can't add another card as I already have 3 (the maximum allowed) on my account. It doesn't allow me to 'un-reigister' the card(s) either, so how would I go about both unregistering a card and adding another?

Thanks.

Phone them.
A simple answer, but always the most effective one in my experience with betfair.

If they threatened to physically attack me, I would STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so. If they threatened to physically attack a young lady across the aisle I would VERY STRONGLY ADVISE them not to do so and attempt to place myself between them.

User is offline   Adam_Wee 

• World Cup Winner
  • My Team:Clyde

View Postmid-table, on 17 August 2010 - 23:27, said:

Phone them.
A simple answer, but always the most effective one in my experience with betfair.

Yep, that's what I had to do when I went to un-register a card. It's a bit of a pain in the arse though Shakey, you need to make a deposit on your new card that matches your original deposit before you are able to withdraw any cash on it.

User is offline   Theo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen
Can someone post the support email address for Victor Chandler Sports Betting, I can't get into the site at work.

User is offline   Adam_Wee 

• World Cup Winner
  • My Team:Clyde
It's a webform based email system mate, you need to go on to their site and fill out a box on the contact us page and it sends them an email from there. They also have one of those live chat things.

User is offline   Theo 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View PostAdam_Wee, on 20 August 2010 - 09:04, said:

It's a webform based email system mate, you need to go on to their site and fill out a box on the contact us page and it sends them an email from there. They also have one of those live chat things.

Cheers, I'll need to wiat until this evening in that case.

• Champions!
Around a week ago, I 'withdrew' funds from WHills but as yet, it hasn't appeared in my bank account.

Upon looking at their website, it seems that a withdrawl could be 'reversed', however, it shows that I don't have a withdrawl to reverse. :blink:

Does anyone have any similar stories with the above betting company? How am I best proceeding to get my money?

Thanks.
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

• Scotia L. Jackson

View PostShakehandsTom - DFC, on 22 August 2010 - 22:31, said:

Around a week ago, I 'withdrew' funds from WHills but as yet, it hasn't appeared in my bank account.

Upon looking at their website, it seems that a withdrawl could be 'reversed', however, it shows that I don't have a withdrawl to reverse. :blink:

Does anyone have any similar stories with the above betting company? How am I best proceeding to get my money?

Thanks.

I will give you my standard answer; phone them or have a livechat with one of their advisors (the people doing the livechat are fucking useless in my experience though).

Edit; the reverse withdrawls are more aimed at you reversing it, rather than them. It's basically a ploy so that if you have some money withdrawn, you may get tempted to reverse the withdrawl within x hours and keep betting with it. They have more chance of winning money off you, and they don't have the paperwork or fees for sending money to your bank account, or a dual transaction if you withdraw it then deposit some more money shortly thereafter.

Double Edit; I had all sorts of arseache trying to withdraw money from them a few weeks ago, they've totally changed some of their processes, they''ll probably try and get you to sign up to the bank transfer scheme, I told them to ram it.

This post has been edited by mid-table: 22 August 2010 - 22:38

• Champions!

View Postmid-table, on 22 August 2010 - 22:34, said:

I will give you my standard answer; phone them or have a livechat with one of their advisors (the people doing the livechat are fucking useless in my experience though).

Edit; the reverse withdrawls are more aimed at you reversing it, rather than them. It's basically a ploy so that if you have some money withdrawn, you may get tempted to reverse the withdrawl within x hours and keep betting with it. They have more chance of winning money off you, and they don't have the paperwork or fees for sending money to your bank account, or a dual transaction if you withdraw it then deposit some more money shortly thereafter.

Double Edit; I had all sorts of arseache trying to withdraw money from them a few weeks ago, they've totally changed some of their processes, they''ll probably try and get you to sign up to the bank transfer scheme, I told them to ram it.

Cheers for that. I'll give them a phone tomorrow.

I understand the 'reverse withdrawl' system, but it doesn't seem that's of any matter in this instance.

Ah right, so after the arseache and telling them to ram it, what happened sir? Have you had any joy in retrieving your cash?
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

• Scotia L. Jackson

View PostShakehandsTom - DFC, on 22 August 2010 - 22:43, said:

Cheers for that. I'll give them a phone tomorrow.

I understand the 'reverse withdrawl' system, but it doesn't seem that's of any matter in this instance.

Ah right, so after the arseache and telling them to ram it, what happened sir? Have you had any joy in retrieving your cash?

Yeah, I removed all my payment types apart from the one I wanted to withdraw onto, and was able to withdraw the money fine.

• Champions!

View Postmid-table, on 22 August 2010 - 23:13, said:

Yeah, I removed all my payment types apart from the one I wanted to withdraw onto, and was able to withdraw the money fine.

Cool. I only have the one method of payment, as far as I know, so will need to give them a phone tomorrow.

I'm currently 'in conversation' with their live help team, but am receiving no response after 5 minutes, to my question...

Can I ask what that 'arseache' you had was?
R.I.P Gordon Lennon

1983 - 2009

• Scotia L. Jackson
Basically, I had several payment types on file. Some of them don't allow withdrawls. On this occassion I deposited £x using my debit card (which does allow withdrawls). I then played about with it and tried to make a withdrawl to the same card.
Hills said that because I had these other payment methods on file which don't allow withdrawls I couldn't withdraw it at all, other than to do a bank transfer. I then asked if I could withdraw it in a shop, to which they said yes, but I still had to sign up to Bank Transfer. :huh: :huh:
In the end I removed the payment methods that don't allow withdrawls, and just withdrew it back to the debit card I deposited from. A simple solution but they made it as complex as possible.

User is offline   fueradejuego 

• First Division Superstar
I stuck a £5 treble on this afternoon in Ladbrokes but one of the games had already kicked off when I placed the bet - I got the kick off time wrong.

Will this still be considered a treble or revert to a double?

I have no idea if Ladbrokes allow you to bet in play?
Chalk On The Boots ---- Twitter@chalkontheboots ---- el centro campista

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion

View Postfueradejuego, on 29 August 2010 - 17:06, said:

I stuck a £5 treble on this afternoon in Ladbrokes but one of the games had already kicked off when I placed the bet - I got the kick off time wrong.

Will this still be considered a treble or revert to a double?

I have no idea if Ladbrokes allow you to bet in play?

The one that had already Kicked Off is void.

You have a double.

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

User is offline   venga1 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Stranraer
Opened an account with them a few weeks back and has no issue placing 3 pretty big singles on football matches (2 of which lost if I recall correctly).
Since then I have attempted to place 2 medium sized snooker singles and 1 small accumulator with them and on each ocassion they have refused to accept the bet instead only allowing considerable smaller stakes (eg £6-60 instead of £70, £7-60 instead of £50 and £16-6 instead of £30).

There customer service team claim their trading department reserve the right to limit stakes. Quite frustrating as they were happy to accept the football stakes which were up to 5 times as big.

Is this a common issue with Boylesports does anyone know?

• (24 Pages) +
  • Last »