Duns Title Challenge a number of big signings

User is offline   clovey 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
Ive heard that duns have signed a number of big players and will be strong contenders to win the league title this year? Any news on whos all signed? ive heard big lummy has signed but i cant see this as hes received money for years at EoS so why would? and it says hes retired on the Eos forum? in saying this, he would be an excellent signing for duns the type of player title winning teams need especially when they are apparantly aplying for EoS league next season.

User is offline   kickingking 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic

View Postclovey, on 16 June 2010 - 12:10, said:

Ive heard that duns have signed a number of big players and will be strong contenders to win the league title this year? Any news on whos all signed? ive heard big lummy has signed but i cant see this as hes received money for years at EoS so why would? and it says hes retired on the Eos forum? in saying this, he would be an excellent signing for duns the type of player title winning teams need especially when they are apparantly aplying for EoS league next season.

They will need to sign a host of top quality players to replace the ones that are suspended for the first few games of the season! Signing a number of big players is one thing, making them gel is the other!
Always a tough nut to crack are Duns, but there are a number of very good outfits in the top league - whom by all accounts are all strenghtening as well!
Makes for a good season!

User is offline   DoItNow 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

Firstly, welome to the forum clovey.....let's hope we can have a newcomer on the forum that post's sense, not like a lot of the ofther idiots that have joined.

So how's about telling us who these 'big' signings are then clovey??? If they are already signed on the dotted line then you won't need to worry about them being poached or tapped up by any other teams.

User is offline   Am footy 

• Third Division Signing Target

Ive heard that duns have signed a number of big players and will be strong contenders to win the league title this year? Any news on whos all
signed? ive heard big lummy has signed but i cant see this as hes received money for years at EoS so why would? and it says hes retired on the Eos forum? in saying this, he
would be an excellent signing for duns the type of player title winning teams need especially when they are apparantly aplying for EoS league next season.

yes heard lummy was signing! Anouther couple of rumours were Ryan burns the centre half from Greenlaw and a lad called andy who
is returning from hutchy vale! With the brydons and the other good young players thier I believe they will be their or their about come the end of the season!

User is offline   UptheA7 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Other

View PostAm footy, on 16 June 2010 - 13:48, said:

yes heard lummy was signing! Anouther couple of rumours were Ryan burns the centre half from Greenlaw and a lad called andy who
is returning from hutchy vale! With the brydons and the other good young players thier I believe they will be their or their about come the end of the season!

He was at the Duns presentation night but didn't win a prize Posted Image . A BAFA club attracting players from the EoS league - whats the attraction?Posted Image
It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

View PostUptheA7, on 16 June 2010 - 14:14, said:

He was at the Duns presentation night but didn't win a prize http://www.pieandbov...ns/default/tong ue.gif . A BAFA club attracting players from the EoS league - whats the attraction?
Posted Image

Maybe from the town/village or just want to play with their mates? Traveling to games comes into it aswell EOS league have some long distances to travel as apose to BAFA with the eception of 2 or 3 games a season

User is offline   Trotter 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostAm footy, on 16 June 2010 - 14:28, said:

Maybe from the town/village or just want to play with their mates? Traveling to games comes into it aswell EOS league have some long distances to travel as apose to BAFA with the eception of 2 or 3 games a season

Lummy is a top class keeper who would be a great asset to any team in Border Ams or EOS. Travelling from Berwick 2 Gala 3 times a week is gonna be tough. Whatever Lummy does, I wish him all the best for the future!
R.I.P Ally Lucas -24/11/2008

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers

View PostAm footy, on 16 June 2010 - 14:28, said:

Never understand this line. In the EOS First Division next season, 7 of the clubs are from the Borders or Berwick / 4 from the Lothians (2 from the city, 1 from Midlothian, 1 from East Lothian) / plus Gretna. Depending on how the BAFL AGM votes: the Border Amateur C might includes the likes of Hearts of Liddelsdale, Dunbar, Langholm, West Linton, Tweedmouth as well as the Border clubs. Plus the southerlies, like Jedburgh + Yetholm.

The Border Amateur A will include West Barns Star and Pencaitland. Now - depending where you are in the Borders (Eastern especially) it can be quicker to get up to Dunbar or Edinburgh anyway... and the BAFL has clubs outside the Borders, and big spread within it. Is travel so much less?

User is offline   Anchorman 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

I heard this was going to be the big signing....

Posted Image

User is offline   clovey 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostDoItNow, on 16 June 2010 - 13:38, said:

Firstly, welome to the forum clovey.....let's hope we can have a newcomer on the forum that post's sense, not like a lot of the ofther idiots that have joined.

So how's about telling us who these 'big' signings are then clovey??? If they are already signed on the dotted line then you won't need to worry about them being poached or tapped up by any other teams.

Well the names ive heard being linked was the young Burns from greenlaw and also lummy. I also hear they have been chasing a Mcvicar from Newtown? but added to the big ginger brydon they signed from coldstream EoS last season and another couple of boys they brought in they are looking to be a strong team. Im not sure 'UptheA7' wat the attraction is ther as they have no real facilities down their. their pitch isnt even in duns and the changing facilities dont look up to much. So it could be the manager they brought in from berwick him being an ex pro ect. Who knows.

View Postclovey, on 16 June 2010 - 19:02, said:

Well the names ive heard being linked was the young Burns from greenlaw and also lummy. I also hear they have been chasing a Mcvicar from Newtown? but added to the big ginger brydon they signed from coldstream EoS last season and another couple of boys they brought in they are looking to be a strong team. Im not sure 'UptheA7' wat the attraction is ther as they have no real facilities down their. their pitch isnt even in duns and the changing facilities dont look up to much. So it could be the manager they brought in from berwick him being an ex pro ect. Who knows.

I was thinking more what is the attraction to come(back) into BAFA football when you are playing in the EoS football and in some/most cases being paid for it albeit not a great deal in some EoS teams, sometimes just a signing on fee and cup bonus. Ok you can play with your mates and hopefully win but isn't there a sense of under achieving when you know you should be playing at a higher level? As for Duns it looks like there may be a bigger picture with rumour of "stepping up" to EoS in a year or two and other facilities in Duns have been mentioned. The difficult bit will be sustaining it all once/if it is achieved. They must have a generous sponsor or great fundraising because all that does not come cheap especially with grant funding levels about to be slashed. I am sure there is a Dinger out there with the answers.

User is offline   superdooper10 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Postclovey, on 16 June 2010 - 19:02, said:

The attraction will be the manager they brought in from berwcik, as he seems to have had funds to spend last season when he brought 'the big ginger brydon' back from coldstream. this time last year it was rumoured duns were offering money to recruit a manager and made offers to two locals who supposedly turned them down. it looks like this season, the budget is being offered to recruit a goalie, is this not something that should be looked at by the border amateur clubs when they have there AGM, as this is going against all amateur rules. if this is proved to be correct, i would think duns could be in a bit of trouble.

View Postsuperdooper10, on 16 June 2010 - 19:54, said:

The attraction will be the manager they brought in from berwcik, as he seems to have had funds to spend last season when he brought 'the big ginger brydon' back from coldstream. this time last year it was rumoured duns were offering money to recruit a manager and made offers to two locals who supposedly turned them down. it looks like this season, the budget is being offered to recruit a goalie, is this not something that should be looked at by the border amateur clubs when they have there AGM, as this is going against all amateur rules. if this is proved to be correct, i would think duns could be in a bit of trouble.

Very serious allegations Posted Image and I would imagine a very difficult thing to prove unless you can produce a player that will actually attend a meeting and say he had been offered a cash incentive other than legitimate expenses or some other evidence. The SAFA would come down like a ton of bricks on any club paying amateur players. It no doubt goes on in some amateur football leagues but what are the benefits of doing it? To win the league? It's not like an automatic entry into Europe! Would you as a genuine amateur player be happy to play for a club if someone in your team was being paid to play whilst you were paying subs to the club to play?Posted Image

User is offline   Eye Valley 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostUptheA7, on 16 June 2010 - 20:08, said:

Very serious allegations Posted Image and I would imagine a very difficult thing to prove unless you can produce a player that will actually attend a meeting and say he had been offered a cash incentive other than legitimate expenses or some other evidence. The SAFA would come down like a ton of bricks on any club paying amateur players. It no doubt goes on in some amateur football leagues but what are the benefits of doing it? To win the league? It's not like an automatic entry into Europe! Would you as a genuine amateur player be happy to play for a club if someone in your team was being paid to play whilst you were paying subs to the club to play?Posted Image

Heard through watchin the boy up in the Central Belt that Kennoway FC who got to the Scottish Cup Semis were doin a mini 'Abramovich' with some local tycoon. This Duns money thing is growing legs, but proving it-nae danger.

And another thing, Duns getting into the EOS............mmmm, it'll take more that gid ad boards tae get in. Good luck to them, but the pitch is a fail for starters. HibeeJibee will go off on 1 regarding the prerequisites.

This post has been edited by aphex twin: 16 June 2010 - 21:00

View Postaphex twin, on 16 June 2010 - 20:57, said:

Heard through watchin the boy up in the Central Belt that Kennoway FC who got to the Scottish Cup Semis were doin a mini 'Abramovich' with some local tycoon. This Duns money thing is growing legs, but proving it-nae danger.

And another thing, Duns getting into the EOS............mmmm, it'll take more that gid ad boards tae get in. Good luck to them, but the pitch is a fail for starters. Hibeejibee will go off on 1 regarding the prerequisites .

I think that is why a venue in Duns was being looked at. If I remember correctly it had something to do with the new school and facilities there being available. It wouldn't happen overnight but would be something to aim for. As I said I am sure there is someone who will know their long term plans.

User is offline   Eye Valley 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View Postsuperdooper10, on 16 June 2010 - 19:54, said:

Am flaggin that.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostUptheA7, on 16 June 2010 - 19:47, said:

As for Duns it looks like there may be a bigger picture with rumour of "stepping up" to EoS in a year or two and other facilities in Duns have been mentioned. The difficult bit will be sustaining it all once/if it is achieved. They must have a generous sponsor or great fundraising because all that does not come cheap especially with grant funding levels about to be slashed. I am sure there is a Dinger out there with the answers.

View Postaphex twin, on 16 June 2010 - 20:57, said:

And another thing, Duns getting into the EOS............mmmm, it'll take more that gid ad boards tae get in. Good luck to them, but the pitch is a fail for starters. HibeeJibee will go off on 1 regarding the prerequisites.

The old High School (which is now unused, but apparently cannot be developed for housing as it has to be employed for educational or recreational purposes, or community use) is apparently to be taken on by umbrella body SportDuns, an alliance of local clubs, including the football and rugby outfits... both of whom currently play outside the town. Their intention is to refit the existing facilities and pitches - the swimming pool and squash club are already in the midst of the complex - and base themselves from there.

It's common knowledge in the town (+ according to a rumour on Friday Sports Show, in the spring...) that Duns ultimately aspire to re-joining the EOS.

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 16 June 2010 - 21:29

Maybe the big Ginger boy got traveling expense. Every saturday Duns to the pitch in gavington and home must be at least 3 miles!!

View PostAm footy, on 16 June 2010 - 21:28, said:

Maybe the big Ginger boy got traveling expense. Every saturday Duns to the pitch in gavington and home must be at least 3 miles!!

Cannae be that keen or get that much (allegedly!), he missed the Waddell Cup Final to go rallying!

User is offline   heedthebaa 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:whitthefuck!

View PostUptheA7, on 16 June 2010 - 21:38, said:

Cannae be that keen or get that much (allegedly!), he missed the Waddell Cup Final to go rallying!
Which is one of the reasons he went back to Duns. If he was in the game for money, he wouldn't have left Coldstream
Only here for sex and danger

What a dislikeable c**t you are (only on derby day)

User is offline   DoItNow 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostUptheA7, on 16 June 2010 - 21:38, said:

That's commitment for ya!! Posted Image

User is offline   hunter 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postheedthebaa, on 16 June 2010 - 23:04, said:

Which is one of the reasons he went back to Duns. If he was in the game for money, he wouldn't have left Coldstream

and there you have it,well done heed,nail on heed :D

• 100 Scottish Caps

View Posthunter, on 17 June 2010 - 17:36, said:

and there you have it,well done heed,nail on heed :D
Cheers like mahaga :D

User is offline   hunter 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postheedthebaa, on 17 June 2010 - 17:42, said:

Cheers like mahaga :D

you the man chava :rolleyes:

• 100 Scottish Caps

View Posthunter, on 18 June 2010 - 17:51, said:

you the man chava :rolleyes:
Duns got some lowie chava, ya geein the dodes oot at gav to many lalaz chi, yiz wanna stal ya mang goozle like :D

• (2 Pages) +