David Will Memorial Match 3rd August 7.45pm vs Aberdeen Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   city paparazzi 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Brechin City

Brechin City FC will play Aberdeen FC in a memorial fixture to recognise the massive contribution former Chairman David Will made to both domestic and international football.
In a fitting trubute to Mr Will Aberdeen FC has kindly agreed to participate in this fixture.
The Club will dedicate the Trinity Road Stand to Mr Will at this fixture. Mr Will was instrumental in seeing the construction of the stand come to fruition during his time as Club Chairman. The stand was constructed by the now Aberdeen FC Chairman's company, Stewart Milne.
Mr Will rose through the ranks of world football holding the post of President of the Scottish FA before becoming Vice President of world football's governing body FIFA.

From the City website.

This post has been edited by city paparazzi: 14 June 2010 - 12:21

Official Programme Home Kit Sponsor of Craig Molloy
Part time internet stalker of Charlie King!
http://brechincity.c...?g2_itemId=4864 - Match day photos Season 2011 - 2012

• Third Division Regular

Mr David H Will CBE Memorial Match

Brechin City will play Aberdeen FC on Tuesday 3rd August, kick off 7.45 pm, in a memorial match for the late David H. Will CBE, Former Brechin City FC Chairman, SFA President and FIFA Vice President. The Trinity Road stand will be dedicated to Mr Will and the clubs new strips will be launched on the evening. The Club would hope for a healthy attendance in recognition of Mr Will's dedication and service to Brechin City, Scottish and International Football. Admission Prices £8.00 Adult £4.00 Concession

Update from the city website. Hope this game will be well attended from both, Brechin, Aberdeen and any fans wishing to pay their respects to David Will :)

User is offline   lichtie36nilhello 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Arbroath

View Postcity paparazzi, on 28 July 2010 - 16:00, said:

Update from the city website. Hope this game will be well attended from both, Brechin, Aberdeen and any fans wishing to pay their respects to David Will Posted Image

I hope it is well attended, as Mr Will was a great ambassador for football all over the world.
Champions of Division 3 2010-2011, well chuffed!

When is the last time YOUR team won at IBROX in the league verses the treble winners?!

To be called a idiot from other idiots is hardly an insult, it is just an observation from ones who know too little.

• Third Division Regular
there was a short piece with Ken Ferguson on the Grampian news this evening about the match and how we're sponsored by charities this season :)

• Third Division Regular

Manager Jim Weir looks set to ring the changes as he prepares his team for tonight’s match against Aberdeen in the David H. Will Memorial fixture.

“ The team did very well against Stenhousemuir on Saturday but it was always my intention to freshen things up a bit for this game,” said Jim.

“ I want to give David White the chance to play over 90 minutes and I also want to give a wee rest to Paul McLean who has done so well for us in recent games.”

“ Andrew Cook and Kevin Byers also need matches and I’ll also have Charlie King available again.”

Supporters are reminded that the prices for this match are : - Adults £8.00 and Concessions £4.00. Season Tickets Will Not be Valid For This Game

The Club Shop will be open and the new replica home and away strips will be on sale.

Prior to the game, the Trinity Road Stand will be dedicated to Mr Will and a plaque will be unveiled by Mrs Margaret Will.

From the city website :)

User is offline   freakstar 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
From the Daily Ranger:

Brechin City follow in footsteps of Spanish giants Barcelona with historic new strip
Aug 3 2010 By Euan McArthur

MINNOWS Brechin have joined Spanish superstars Barcelona in their own elite club.

The part-time Angus outfit have become the first senior Scottish club to carry the name of a charity, Cancer Research UK, on their jerseys.

It's the ultimate tribute to late chairman and former FIFA vice-president David Will who lost his battle with the disease last year.

Pep Guardiola's Spanish champions already have UNICEF across the front of their famous shirt.

Now Second Division Brechin, who will launch their new-look strip in tonight's home friendly with Mark McGhee's Aberdeen, have joined forces with the Nou Camp cracks ahead of the new league season.

Glebe Park chairman Ken Ferguson said: "It's nice to be talked about in the same breath as a footballing giant like Barcelona!

"Seriously though we're doing it for a very good cause because David Will contributed so much to this club over the years.

"We're hoping for a really big turnout for the Aberdeen match. It's the start of another new season and everyone is excited at the prospect."

Long-serving midfielder Charlie King hailed the move but insists the Brechin fans shouldn't expect them to turn on the style like the Nou Camp giants.

King said: "It's a great gesture as David Will was a fantastic figure at this club. It's also nice to be mentioned along the same lines as Barcelona although our supporters shouldn't expect us to be just as good as them!"

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
Looking forward to the game. Should be a strong Aberdeen side coming down which should be a good test for the players ahead of the game on Saturday.

Hoping for a good crowd too, already seen a fair number of Dons fans kicking about Brechin on my way home from work.
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   Muddy Feet 

• Third Division Apprentice
In these tight times it is a real example of how running a club within its means allows for this type of advertisement at no cost to the charity.

Great credit to all.

User is offline   blowtorch 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View Postfreakstar, on 03 August 2010 - 14:59, said:

The part-time Angus outfit have become the first senior Scottish club to carry the name of a charity, Cancer Research UK, on their jerseys.

Nice gesture - and the first Scottish club to have a charity on their shirts, well apart from Clyde FC who had the Scottish Spina Bifida Association on theirthird kit last season.

• Third Division Regular
Final result Brechin 2 - Aberdeen 2.

Mckenna and McAllister with the goals although Brechin should have got a penalty in the last minute for a blatant push on McAllister in the box. Fair result though and a good game for the fans that came to see it. 1791 in total at the Glebe. Photos to follow

User is offline   Mybitchunderprotest 

• My Team:Airdrie Utd

View Postblowtorch, on 03 August 2010 - 20:29, said:

Nice gesture - and the first Scottish club to have a charity on their shirts, well apart from Clyde FC who had the Scottish Spina Bifida Association on theirthird kit last season.

And Airdrie who for the past 2 seasons have had St. Andrews Hospice on theirs. I've already commented on the lamentably poor standard of journalism these days on the 2nd division kits thread.
"there's no reincarnation, you're only human once, so make yourself at home"

Tweet me @Christismybitch

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular
Great result and performance against what was effectively Aberdeen's strongest team. Never seen queues like it at the Glebe, stretching all the way out from the car park and along the main street. Terrific crowd, looked like over 2000 to me (just comparing to the 1600 odd at the Cowden game at the end of last season) but I guess we'll have to go with the Pap's official figure. :P

Aberdeen had the better of the first half and deservedly went ahead through a great glancing header from Fraser Fyvie. Brechin came at the Dons in the second half and deservedly levelled when Howard made a mistake which allowed McAllister to block his clearance and unselfishly laying the ball off for McKenna who made no mistake. It was a great header from McAllister himself to put City in front.

As soon as Aberdeen won the free kick in the last minute I just knew it would lead to an equaliser. Paul Hartley's delivery was spot on and Considine rose well to head home.

Really positive signs for Brechin and quite a few of our key players were rested for much of the game. Quietly confident of a result down at Ayr on Saturday.

PS: strips look excellent and if I had enough money on me I would have gone and bought one!
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   Mybitchunderprotest 

• My Team:Airdrie Utd

View Post'Steve, on 03 August 2010 - 21:41, said:

Terrific crowd, looked like over 2000 to me (just comparing to the 1600 odd at the Cowden game at the end of last season) but I guess we'll have to go with the Pap's official figure. :P

Glad to hear that you got a good response from the locals for this one.
"there's no reincarnation, you're only human once, so make yourself at home"

Tweet me @Christismybitch

• Third Division Regular
yeah it was apparently announced at the end of the match how many were attending but i was speaking to Reverend Jolly so didn't hear it. My folks were beside the steward at the Cemetery gate when they were told that figure (came from the police)

Think you may have missed out on a free pair of shorts with the away kit Steve. Actually not sure if its limited numbers or if it applies for any away kit bought. Got mine tonight and no doubt will get the home strip later but funds are tight just now as I've just booked a holiday to Vegas :D

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular

View Postcity paparazzi, on 03 August 2010 - 21:53, said:

yeah it was apparently announced at the end of the match how many were attending but i was speaking to Reverend Jolly so didn't hear it. My folks were beside the steward at the Cemetery gate when they were told that figure (came from the police)

Think you may have missed out on a free pair of shorts with the away kit Steve. Actually not sure if its limited numbers or if it applies for any away kit bought. Got mine tonight and no doubt will get the home strip later but funds are tight just now as I've just booked a holiday to Vegas :D

Aye that's why I had wanted to get one tonight so I could get the shorts as well. Will have a word with one of the guys on the Supporters Club on Saturday and see if they can keep one aside for me if there any any left.
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   punkgod 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
City looked good tonight against a strong Aberdeen side, a draw was a fair result (even though we should have had a last minute penalty) was good to see such a big crowd and i saw a lot of locals that don't usually go to the Glebe so I hope after that display it might encourage them to come back again! Roll on Saturday,

User is offline   bcfc1906 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
I think how well City played, especially in the second half, was ubderlined at the frustration at not holding on for the win. McAllister and McKenna linked up well and Booth and Moyes were both excellent. The lads were worthy of a victory by virtue of their second half display. Roll on Saturday.

• Third Division Regular

Brechin City Management Committee wish to thank the fans of the Club and Aberdeen FC supporters for turning out in such large numbers at last nights memorial game.

The Will family have asked the Club to pass on their thanks to everyone who attended and who gave so much respect to the dedication of the Trinity Road Stand in Mr Will's memory.

User is offline   'Steve 

• International Regular

View Postcity paparazzi, on 03 August 2010 - 21:53, said:

Got the away kit tonight, plenty of shorts left. :)
Oooooh Garry Brady....

Page 1 of 1