BAFA Desision Winton v Tweeddale fiasco

User is offline   AMMOKYD 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
Going by the BAFA website, it seems Winton were deducted points for not fielding a team at the end season against Tweeddale.
I think they already had points deducted previous to this, was that the case?
Is there any further punishment for next season?
Does the BAFA commitee make its final desisions known to all club secretarys?
If so, why cant they be posted on the website? (more work for Aphex, I know but i think he would love the challenge).

A lot of questions lads, and i know youve all been catchin the 5 or 6 days of summer weather you get over there,Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image but look forward to some answers.

User is offline   UptheA7 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Other

View PostAMMOKYD, on 04 June 2010 - 21:32, said:

Going by the BAFA website, it seems Winton were deducted points for not fielding a team at the end season against Tweeddale.
If so, why cant they be posted on the website? (more work for Aphex, I know but i think he would love the challenge).

A lot of questions lads, and i know youve all been catchin the 5 or 6 days of summer weather you get over there,Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image but look forward to some answers.

The minutes of each Executive meeting are sent to each club by the League Secretary. In the Winton case this was simply listed as:

Winton – fined £100, deducted 3 pts and Tweeddale Rovers awarded 3 pts. Failure to play fixture.

As it stands (and I believe it is an SAFA thing) clubs can't be punished by deducting more than the three points even in repeat offences. We have proposed a change to this rule but I don't think it will come to much.(Its aye been!).Posted Image

Why they are not posted on the website may be a legal thing - privacy and all that.

On another note I notice on the minutes that St Boswells were awarded points:

St Boswells – awarded three points following a successful protest

I would ask if they were awarded points - 1. why 2. who against 3. why were the offending team not deducted points and fined?Posted Image
It's all fun and games until someone loses an eye.

User is offline   sosung 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
[

I would ask if they were awarded points - 1. why 2. who against 3. why were the offending team not deducted points and fined?Posted Image
[/quote]
st boswells got well beat off earlston who had just signed an emergency goalkeeper because their two keepers were ruled out for rest of season due to injury. all been confirmed before game and been given the ok. For some reason st boswells awarded 3 points. Earlston kept points too :huh: . wonder what would have happened if st boswells were 3 points away from safety or promotion, in the end it didnt make a difference.

User is offline   yoursisters athletic 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
[/quote]

For some reason st boswells awarded 3 points. Earlston kept points too Posted Image .
[/quote]

That's just ridiculous. Whatever happened, there has to be a winner and a loser. A right and a wrong.

User is offline   dave the rave 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Irvine Meadow
  • Gamertag:spectrum 128k

ul no hear frae aphex the day he was mortal last ngtPosted Image

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postdave the rave, on 05 June 2010 - 12:13, said:

Must be enjoying the bowlin then. No be dayin much shaggin in that kind of state tho.Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

User is offline   Eye Valley 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Croatia

View PostUptheA7, on 05 June 2010 - 08:52, said:

The minutes of each Executive meeting are sent to each club by the League Secretary. In the Winton case this was simply listed as:

Winton – fined £100, deducted 3 pts and Tweeddale Rovers awarded 3 pts. Failure to play fixture.

As it stands (and I believe it is an SAFA thing) clubs can't be punished by deducting more than the three points even in repeat offences. We have proposed a change to this rule but I don't think it will come to much.(Its aye been!).Posted Image

Why they are not posted on the website may be a legal thing - privacy and all that.

I don't get the secys letter, I just get instructed to deduct/award points. The details could be posted on the web I suppose, maybe something worth bringing up at the AGM. I would love it if no points were deducted, but history tells you that won't happen. The awarded points thing seems bizarre. Also I presume Linton v CFC wasn't played because both teams showed up but ref didn't, and as it pans out the fixture didn't matter?

Any other suggestions would be gratefully received too.Posted Image

View Postdave the rave, on 05 June 2010 - 12:13, said:

View PostAMMOKYD, on 05 June 2010 - 12:19, said:

Must be enjoying the bowlin then. No be dayin much shaggin in that kind of state tho.Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image

Correct x 2.Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
[quote name='aphex twin' date='05 June 2010 - 06:21' timestamp='1275740489' post='4511481']
I don't get the secys letter, I just get instructed to deduct/award points. The details could be posted on the web I suppose, maybe something worth bringing up at the AGM. I would love it if no points were deducted, but history tells you that won't happen. The awarded points thing seems bizarre. Also I presume Linton v CFC wasn't played because both teams showed up but ref didn't, and as it pans out the fixture didn't matter?

Any other suggestions would be gratefully received too.Posted Image

Have to agree with you there. There seems to be enough teams wanting to join the league, maybe not the easiest thing to do, but repeat offenders need to be warned that if they persist in breaking the rules, they could face being thrown out of the league.
I know some of the teams were deducted points for fielding ineligble players, this is one thing, but not showing up for a game claiming you dont have players, is another.Posted Image

[/quote]
st boswells got well beat off earlston who had just signed an emergency goalkeeper because their two keepers were ruled out for rest of season due to injury. all been confirmed before game and been given the ok. For some reason st boswells awarded 3 points. Earlston kept points too Posted Image . wonder what would have happened if st boswells were 3 points away from safety or promotion, in the end it didnt make a difference.
[/quote]

If St Boswells protested and were awarded the points what would have happened if Linton had protested after the Cup Final? I would take it from the points award that the keeper, signed from an EoS club, had not waited the required 14 days from his release. I don't blame Earlston by all accounts they have checked the guy was ok to play but how can there be some rules for some teams and different ones for others? If the BAFA were not going to apply the 14 day rule why bother bringing it in? Why not inform all clubs that the rule was not being enforced?

User is offline   Johnny Foreigner 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Scotland

View PostAMMOKYD, on 06 June 2010 - 12:11, said:

Have to agree with you there. There seems to be enough teams wanting to join the league, maybe not the easiest thing to do, but repeat offenders need to be warned that if they persist in breaking the rules, they could face being thrown out of the league.
I know some of the teams were deducted points for fielding ineligble players, this is one thing, but not showing up for a game claiming you dont have players, is another.Posted Image

So let me get this right, it would be better for teams to field ineligible players (cheat) rather than truthfully not being able to raise a team for a midweek game at the end of the season?!!

FFS surely that can't be right! If you cannot raise a team for a midweek fixture, and you let both the Sec and the opposition know at least 24 hrs beforehand then the other team should be given the points, end of. It is unfair to then be punished in an almost identical fashion for cheating!!

I am sure most people on this forum have been in the position of having a small squad with guys working, suspended, injured etc at the end of a season, it is totally wrong to be punished so severely if this is the case IMO.
Cautious but never afraid. @WintonAms

View PostJohnny Foreigner, on 11 June 2010 - 09:19, said:

FFS surely that can't be right! If you cannot raise a team for a midweek fixture, and you let both the Sec and the opposition know at least 24 hrs beforehand then the other team should be given the points, end of. It is unfair to then be punished in an almost identical fashion for cheating!!

I am sure most people on this forum have been in the position of having a small squad with guys working, suspended, injured etc at the end of a season, it is totally wrong to be punished so severely if this is the case IMO.

Johnny, I agree with your reasoning regarding the penalties imposed however if a team defaults on a fixture they are given the opportunity to account for the unavailable players. If you have a squad of say 20 signed players the onus is on the club to prove (I think the wording used is "provides concrete evidence in writing") that 13 or 14 players were unavailable i.e. sick lines, letters from employers, etc. As far as I know suspensions don't count because that is basically the player's own fault! The smaller the squad of signed players the lower the number of players you have to prove are unavailable. Sometimes it doesn't pay to have a squad of 30 if they are not turning up for games – you are better releasing them, just remember if it's after the 31st March you can't re-sign them. The amount of the fine imposed should take the amount of notice given into consideration and the costs incurred by the opposing club.

As for playing ineligible players in my opinion there are two scenarios:
  • 1.A genuine mistake by player or Secretary over registration whether it be a late submission or failing to check the registration with the SFA(signing on a Saturday).
  • 2.A club deliberately plays a player under a false name to avoid detection of playing whilst registered with another club or playing whilst suspended.Posted Image
Any club caught breaking number 2 above deserves to be banned from the league for at least a season. The player and the club official(s) also deserve lengthy bans. Posted Image

I think that there is now a raised awareness amongst the BAFA clubs and committee regarding blatant "cheating" Posted Image and this can only make clubs more vigilant to check team lines and even take photographs given most phones have a camera built in. It doesn't take long for the Jungle drums to beat when players are not who they claim to be…………

This post has been edited by UptheA7: 11 June 2010 - 11:00

View PostUptheA7, on 11 June 2010 - 10:59, said:

When's the AGM?

View Postaphex twin, on 11 June 2010 - 11:24, said:

When's the AGM?

Thursday 17th June, I think, in the Salmon Inn, Gala, 7 pm ? I don't have the e-mail here but will confirm later today unless someone else does so before hand!

With two teams (Hearts of Liddesdale and Dunbar Utd Ams) applying to get in to the BAFA, if one or both are accepted it could mean promotion for 3 teams from the C division, with Linton Hotspur v Bowholm match outcome still to be decided Earlston might just nip in there or Gala Hotspur might get the nod to stay up, it should be an interesting meeting. Every possibility it will be 3 x 12 team leagues next season. Hope there is enough refereesPosted Image

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Adding 1 or 2 clubs would only require 1 extra ref each weekend, tbf. However... admitting 2 would push C Division up to 13 clubs (requiring 26 rounds not 22).

This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 15 June 2010 - 22:04

View PostHibeeJibee, on 15 June 2010 - 22:03, said:

Adding 1 or 2 clubs would only require 1 extra ref each weekend, tbf. However... admitting 2 would push C Division up to 13 clubs (requiring 26 rounds not 22).

I know there is one referee joining the BAFA, from the EoS I believe, this season but don't know if any are leaving/retiring. There were some problems with shortages last season.

User is offline   heedthebaa 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:whitthefuck!

View PostUptheA7, on 15 June 2010 - 22:25, said:

I know there is one referee joining the BAFA, from the EoS I believe, this season but don't know if any are leaving/retiring. There were some problems with shortages last season.
A ref was on wee davies show near the end of the season and i swore he said there had been no games cancelled due to ref shortages
Only here for sex and danger

What a dislikeable c**t you are (only on derby day)

View Postheedthebaa, on 15 June 2010 - 22:56, said:

A ref was on wee davies show near the end of the season and i swore he said there had been no games cancelled due to ref shortages

Maybe "unavailable" would have been a better word "heedtheba" I am sure there were some games where refs called off but there were no ref to replace them. However I may be wrong I remember I was.....oncePosted Image . The fact still remains possibly more teams in and the refs are not getting any younger(is anyone?) and with some of the abuse aimed at some refs on here I wouldn't blame them for walking away.

User is offline   HibeeJibee 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Andrew Rooney? is retiring from the EOS but apparently moving to BAFL football (will be good to have another ex-Senior ref in the ranks), while I had heard another ref was probably going to join too (haven't clue if has transpired). So potentially 2 more refs - but only 1 more game to cover.

Page 1 of 1