Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Cameron/Clegg and Miliband (ED)Rennie,Davidson Lamont & Salmond wa - The Pie Shop

• (251 Pages) +
  • Last »

Cameron/Clegg and Miliband (ED)Rennie,Davidson Lamont & Salmond wa My Political Musings Rate Topic: ****- 4 Votes

User is offline   capybara 

• El Capy
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
:ph34r: Well my last thread is now redundant so i am going to start another...And my first subject is Presscot..Now to be elevated to the Lords..God help us.

http://news.bbc.co.u...ics/8711821.stm

Well i thought he was dead against the place and all its Flummery.Still im sure he will feel at home..Hypocrite.

This post has been edited by capybara: 17 December 2011 - 12:09

It is impossible to go through life without trust: that is to be imprisoned in the worst cell of all, oneself. Graham Greene

Twitter @capyb1

User is offline   Ivo den Bieman 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
  • Gamertag:WHIT
The rumour is he's jockeying for position as the new treasurer of the Labour Party now Jack Dromey's an MP, and is having to give up the post. So he needs a base at Westminster to keep up his profile...

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox
Expenses again
yippeeee the season has nearly started

User is offline   Ad Lib 

• Being right all the time is ever so exhausting
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View Postdoulikefish, on 29 May 2010 - 08:49, said:

Oh great, that's just the last thing we need.

I hope for Laws' sake that his reasoning and interpretation are genuine, because I've thought very highly of him as a rising figure in this coalition.
Ad Lib: "drinking deep in the well of moral superiority" (© Willie Bain, MP for Glasgow North East) since 1991.

Nicholas William Peter Clegg said:

I need to say this – you shouldn't trust any government, actually including this one. You should not trust government – full stop. The natural inclination of government is to hoard power and information; to accrue power to itself in the name of the public good.

User is offline   Ivo den Bieman 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Montrose
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
  • Gamertag:WHIT
"er..."

sorry, it's a blatant rip off of taxpayers money and the excuse he gives is flimsier than a Reliant Robin in a crosswind.

Can't see him lasting the week. It's not credible that a man who has been fulminating so publicly about the need for cuts in public expenditure should be ripping off the taxpayer in this way, simultaneously.

Torygraph

• El Capy
He has to go, first real test for the coalition.
It is impossible to go through life without trust: that is to be imprisoned in the worst cell of all, oneself. Graham Greene

Twitter @capyb1

• El Capy
http://ukpollingreport.co.uk/blog/

Interesting stuff as Usual. Coalition doing OK. Poll on Nuclear shows a rise in support,i am not sure that that would be replicated in Scotland.

Labour leadership seems to be a bit of a one horse race. But there is time here for somebody to make a move..it is a while to conference.

Twitter @capyb1

User is offline   OldWasp 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
Interesting nugget from the commentary on the poll mentioned by Mr Capy

People were also less than happy with some of the inevitable consequences of devolving more power to local communities. Asked if NHS services should be same everywhere in Britain, 81% agreed with only 18% thinking people should be able to decide themselves how they are delivered in local areas. This is a paradox we often see in polls on devolving powers locally – ask people if they want more power devolved to local areas, they say yes. Ask if they want the services to be different in different areas – the natural conesquence of this – they say no. It isn’t just because of the unique importance of the NHS either. MORI asked the same question about recycling, and 70% still thought it should be the same everywhere in Britain, with only 29% saying people should be able to decide how it is delivered in their local areas.
Until the philosophy which hold one race

Superior and another inferior

Is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned

Everywhere is war, me say war
That until there are no longer first class

And second class citizens of any nation

Until the colour of a man's skin

Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes

Me say war

User is offline   Tryfield 

• Happy Happy fuckwit
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:EH?
The divisive wedge in this coalition is going to be Europe.

At least it will get a mention now, unlike a bullying totalitarian singular party who refuse to listen to the little people. For that reason alone, I'm glad it was a hung parliament. I'm looking forward to the debates, and with a huge slice of luck, a referendum.

• El Capy

View PostTryfield, on 29 May 2010 - 15:32, said:

The divisive wedge in this coalition is going to be Europe.

At least it will get a mention now, unlike a bullying totalitarian singular party who refuse to listen to the little people. For that reason alone, I'm glad it was a hung parliament. I'm looking forward to the debates, and with a huge slice of luck, a referendum.

Im not sure. Europe was not even on the electoral agenda(UKIP aside).Yes there are huge gaps between the Tories and the Lib Dems but it will be conveniently shunted of to the sidings ( i hope u like the rail analogy). Labour after their backsliding on a referendum are not really in a position to exploit there differences. Well not yet.

This post has been edited by capybara: 29 May 2010 - 16:13

Twitter @capyb1

User is offline   Willie Gray Ate My Hamster 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:SAS1979

View Postcapybara, on 29 May 2010 - 11:19, said:

He has to go, first real test for the coalition.

Treasury Minister David Laws resigns over expenses

User is offline   kiwififer 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Other
  • Gamertag:I'm far too old for all that shite...
I see Jack McConnell and Helen Liddle have been elevated to the house of Lords as well.

Jack's delighted to have the new role, he would balance it with his job as an MSP in Holyrood according to the beeb.

http://news.bbc.co.u...nd/10187187.stm
'The union is nature's way of stopping the Scots from ruling the world. We'd be unstoppable if we were independent.'

Irvine Welsh.

• Happy Happy fuckwit

View Postkiwififer, on 29 May 2010 - 22:48, said:

I see Jack McConnell and Helen Liddle have been elevated to the house of Lords as well.

Izat no terrible?

Cuntish, unbelievable, and where does tax money go?

What a country we live in..... where failures are made into successes. Am gub fucked... or is it "gobsmacked"?

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTryfield, on 30 May 2010 - 00:23, said:

Izat no terrible?

Cuntish, unbelievable, and where does tax money go?

What a country we live in..... where failures are made into successes. Am gub fucked... or is it "gobsmacked"?

I wonder if he will get a pay packet for sitting in the lords as well as Holyrood, can't have two wages now. Posted Image

Time to abolish the lords anyway, have the commons as the English parliment. Maybe it could be reformed into something that will deal with 'UK' matters such as foreign policy.
'The union is nature's way of stopping the Scots from ruling the world. We'd be unstoppable if we were independent.'

Irvine Welsh.

• Happy Happy fuckwit

View Postkiwififer, on 30 May 2010 - 00:47, said:

I wonder if he will get a pay packet for sitting in the lords as well as Holyrood, can't have two wages now. Posted Image

Time to abolish the lords anyway, have the commons as the English parliment. Maybe it could be reformed into something that will deal with 'UK' matters such as foreign policy.

I love your optimism Kiwi......

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTryfield, on 30 May 2010 - 00:51, said:

I love your optimism Kiwi......

Politicians are politicians the world over, they are a bunch of useless twats down here as well, pandering to a noisy 10% of the population that are desribed in the media as the 'squeeky wheel' holding the country back. Just because they arrived 800 years before Cook and promptly eat/raped the proper indigenous population, they are given special rights, access to education and health (the rest of us have to pay) I could go on for ever.

Just be thankful that you are not going to be taxed for an emission trading scheme like we are getting in a wee bit. Just what I need, more fucking taxes, VAT (GST) has just gone up, my rent is going up, interests rates are sitting at anything between 6 and 8.5%, I'm earning way less than I would be at home.

Just as well the sun shines.

Anyhoo I bet if we really wanted to, we could run the country with about 50 people. This will never happen, can't derail the gravy train and all that Posted Image

Irvine Welsh.

• Happy Happy fuckwit

View Postkiwififer, on 30 May 2010 - 01:17, said:

Politicians are politicians the world over, they are a bunch of useless twats down here as well, pandering to a noisy 10% of the population that are desribed in the media as the 'squeeky wheel' holding the country back. Just because they arrived 800 years before Cook and promptly eat/raped the proper indigenous population, they are given special rights, access to education and health (the rest of us have to pay) I could go on for ever.

Just be thankful that you are not going to be taxed for an emission trading scheme like we are getting in a wee bit. Just what I need, more fucking taxes, VAT (GST) has just gone up, my rent is going up, interests rates are sitting at anything between 6 and 8.5%, I'm earning way less than I would be at home.

Anyhoo I bet if we really wanted to, we could run the country with about 50 people. This will never happen, can't derail the gravy train and all that Posted Image

yOU'LL FEEL BETTER GETTING THAT OFF YOUR CHEST kIWI.

Edit to add, I found that capital button again. Oops.

This post has been edited by Tryfield: 30 May 2010 - 06:11

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostTryfield, on 30 May 2010 - 06:10, said:

yOU'LL FEEL BETTER GETTING THAT OFF YOUR CHEST kIWI.

Edit to add, I found that capital button again. Oops.

Yeah, there was a few things bothering me this morning Posted Image

Irvine Welsh.

User is offline   KiwiDB 

• International Playboy
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postkiwififer, on 30 May 2010 - 01:17, said:

Aye but yer leaving soon anyway :P
play·boy (plPosted Image boi)n. A man who is devoted to the pursuit of pleasurable activities.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostFrank Abagnale Jr., on 30 May 2010 - 07:25, said:

Aye but yer leaving soon anyway Posted Image

Potential to yo-yo, specially if we don't get jobs. Posted Image

although if we were yo-yoing, it would probably be Sydney for a change of scenery....

Irvine Welsh.

• El Capy
http://news.bbc.co.u...nd/10241156. stm

Aye well were there is life there is hope. Im old enough to remember the Tories in double figures in Scotland. The one nation brigade,withe the likes of Rifkind and dear old Sir Nicky Fairbairn etc and the the Thatcher wing..Forsyth/Walker etc etc. Still in the political wilderness. Just as well for PR...mind they oppose that.

Twitter @capyb1

• Golden Shoe Winner
http://www.dailymail...ddafis-son. html

Don't know where else to put this, so it goes here. Nice wee earner for Tony, special consultant to the Libyians and all that. I wonder what the record will make of it.

I also see that Scargill is fighting to hold on to his flat in London, the one that is paid for by the NUM.

http://news.bbc.co.u...re/10252397.stm

Yep, they are still spending money on Scargill's flat in London. You read it right the first time.

Irvine Welsh.

User is offline   KiwiDB 

• International Playboy
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postkiwififer, on 08 June 2010 - 05:38, said:

http://www.dailymail. ..ddafis-son.html

Don't know where else to put this, so it goes here. Nice wee earner for Tony, special consultant to the Libyians and all that. I wonder what the record will make of it.

I also see that Scargill is fighting to hold on to his flat in London, the one that is paid for by the NUM.

http://news.bbc.co.u...re/10252397.stm

Yep, they are still spending money on Scargill's flat in London. You read it right the first time.

It's not a bad life as the top man at a union is it, bottom half of the article.

http://www.dailymail...cket-line-.html

This post has been edited by Frank Abagnale Jr.: 08 June 2010 - 06:36

play·boy (plPosted Image boi)n. A man who is devoted to the pursuit of pleasurable activities.

User is offline   doulikefish 

• this isnt real,its only the internet
  • My Team:Peterhead
  • Gamertag:whats an xbox

View PostFrank Abagnale Jr., on 08 June 2010 - 06:34, said:

It's not a bad life as the top man at a union is it, bottom half of the article.

Looks not bad being on strike aswell,anyone for pimms??? :lol:
yippeeee the season has nearly started

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostFrank Abagnale Jr., on 08 June 2010 - 06:34, said:

Yep, I'm sure he got lots of 'research' done about the Asian car industry in the go-go bar named 'playskool'.Posted Image

http://www.bangkokba...a/playskool.asp - I done research on it as well, it doesn't have an assembly line making rovers....

Irvine Welsh.

• (251 Pages) +
  • Last »