St Johnstone Transfer Thread Rate Topic: ****- 7 Votes

User is offline   john1962 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

craigkillie, on 25 July 2011 - 17:08, said:

I can see where you are coming from but surely he could have settled for the signing of only one of Finnigan or Higgins if he had a number of other targets lined up. Haber was always likely to choose you over anyone else anyway, and there was a good chance of geting at least one of your other targets. We only had one striker signed up after last season, and we managed to get Heffernan fairly early, before taking Hutchinson on an extended trial. I'm happier with that approach rather than us being landed with loads of strikers who are going to be sitting in the stands.

With our goalscoring record last year we need options in case it starts to repeat itself.

User is offline   Steve McQueen 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Euro 2012:Germany

craigkillie, on 25 July 2011 - 16:05, said:

How many strikers do you need? What was the point in signing mediocrities like Higgins and Finnigan, for you then to go out and sign three better guys who are likely to keep them out of the team

I kind of agree with that. McInnes could have signed any left back a few years ago but was holding out for something better & ended up with Liam Craig there all season. Nothing to stop him doing something similar this year. Especially once the fixtures were release & we had an OF game & a week off in the 1st 3 fixtures.

He said he wants a squad where everyone wants to play but it's obvious that some players are back up already.

User is offline   The ghost of Jim Morton 

• Pipe smoker of the year 1987

andrewh, on 25 July 2011 - 16:06, said:

Ghostie I'd love to be completely wrong, but I tend to agree more or less with 101.
It's early days I know, but the Aberdeen game didn't inspire in the slightest, midfield wise.
I really hope I'm wrong, for all our sake's, but there'd be more spark in a wet box of matches.

Oh yee of no faith.. Come on now Andrew, get a fucking grip. Not like you to jump on the doom and gloom bandwagon after one game. Come back to me in 6 games and tell me what you think then. I never thought you did knee jerk..:(
"The Chutney Maker Has Spoken"

User is offline   101 Saint 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
It's not kneejerk. Plenty folk are slowly admitting that I was right all along. The Hibs game really saved Del last season. In six games time, you'll betelling us he needs time for the squad to gel or explaining how much of a loss Muzz is.... We won't, we know that Del is rubbish :-(

User is offline   The ghost of Jim Morton 

• Pipe smoker of the year 1987

101 Saint, on 25 July 2011 - 21:52, said:

It's not kneejerk. Plenty folk are slowly admitting that I was right all along. The Hibs game really saved Del last season. In six games time, you'll betelling us he needs time for the squad to gel or explaining how much of a loss Muzz is.... We won't, we know that Del is rubbish :-(

Gordy Gordy Gordy, you're now getting all mystic Meg and predicting the future..:lol:

As for you being right, it's not about right or wrong. Football is all about opinions. Being of the vintage that witnessed some of the darkest days in the history of our team, I am more realistic about Saints and my expectations are obviously much lower than yours. Top 6 for me would be a great achievement but years like 1999 only come along rarely so I will be happy with 8th-10th this season but am still hopefull we will do better than that. Difference between us is, that for me, it will be a nice bonus to finish higher than I expect. For you, having set such high demands, I fear yet another season of frustration and disappointment, with the rambling rants against the manager continuing. Mind you, you seem to get plenty enjoyment out of your evergrowing diatribes so whatever floats yer boat.

Now I give you peace so you can get started on yer rant about how pish we were against Rangers and why the manager cost us the 3 points etc etc etc.. Enjoy ;)
"The Chutney Maker Has Spoken"

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Saints have today completed the loan signing of former Dunfermline winger Willie Gibson from Crawley. 6 month loan deal with the paper work hopefully coming through before tonight game.

Any Dunfermline fan give am opinion, he got a big money move, albeit to a team with more money than sense.

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Kilmarnock
He wasn't the most popular of players when he played with Killie because he was very petulant and argued with the fans during the game. His nadir was when he chucked his shirt away after being subbed at Pittodrie.

He is a capable enough player at this level, but is incredibly inconsistent.

User is offline   Radford 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Global Moderators
Update of the Saints squad...

ST JOHNSTONE FC - FIRST TEAM SQUAD 2011/12

Goalkeepers
1. Peter Enckelman (34) - May 2012
30. Zander Clark (19) - May 2012 (On loan to Elgin City - May 2012)
15. Alan Mannus (29) - May 2012

Defenders
6. Steven Anderson (25) - May 2012
2. Dave Mackay (30) - May 2013
12. Alan Maybury (32) - May 2012
25. Mark Durnan (18) - May 2012 (On loan to Elgin City - May 2012)
3. Callum Davidson (35) - May 2012
5. Frazer Wright (31) - May 2013
18. David McCracken (29) - May 2013

Midfielders
14. Kevin Moon (24) - May 2013 (+1 year option)
10. Liam Craig (24) - May 2013
4. Jody Morris (32) - May 2012
7. Chris Millar (28) - May 2012
26. Liam Caddis (17) - May 2012 (On loan to Arbroath - May 2012)
8. Murray Davidson (23) - May 2013
20. Jamie Adams (23) - May 2012
16. David Robertson (24) - May 2013
24. Jack Compton (22) - May 2012 (On loan from Falkirk)
9. Lee Croft (26) - May 2012 (On loan from Derby County)

Forwards
28. Stephen Reynolds (19) - May 2012
27. Stevie May (18) - May 2012 (On loan to Alloa Athletic - May 2012)
17. Sean Higgins (26) - May 2013
19. Carl Finnigan (24) - May 2012
11. Cillian Sheridan (22) - May 2012 (On loan from CSKA Sofia)
23. Marcus Haber (22) - May 2012
21. Francisco Sandaza (26) - May 2012

(Ages at start of 2011/12 season)

Players In
David Robertson (Dundee United)
Sean Higgins (Dundee)
Callum Davidson (Preston North End)
Frazer Wright (Kilmarnock)
David McCracken (Brentford)
Carl Finnigan (Falkirk)
Alan Mannus (Shamrock Rovers)
Cillian Sheridan (CSKA Sofia - Loan)
Marcus Haber (WBA)
Francisco Sandaza (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Willie Gibson (Crawley Town - Loan)
-----
Jack Compton (Falkirk - Loan)
Lee Croft (Derby County - Loan)

Players Out
Danny Grainger (Heart of Midlothian)
Michael Duberry (Oxford United)
Graeme Smith (Released - St Mirren)
Kevin Rutkiewicz (Released - Dunfermline Athletic)
Cleveland Taylor (Released - Burton Albion)
Danny Invincibile (Released - Ermis Aradippou)
Peter MacDonald (Released - Morton)
Andy Jackson (Released - Morton)
Collin Samuel (Released - Luton Town)
Scott Dobie (Released)
Jordan Robertson (Released - Scunthorpe United)
Neil Duffy (Released - Peterhead)
Ryan Sullivan (Released)
Johnny Lindsay (Released - Partick Thistle)
Jack Clisby (Released)
-----
Graham Gartland (Released - Shamrock Rovers)
Willie Gibson (Crawley Town - Loan return)
Sam Parkin (Released)

UNDER 19 SQUAD

Goalkeepers
35. Craig Reid (16) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)
45. Alastair Worby (18) - May 2012 (Y1 - From Coventry City)

Defenders
40. Aiden Hendry (17) (Y2 - From Saints Youths)
31. Chris Moffat (17) (Y2 - From Saints Youths)
43. Gareth Rodger (17) (Y2 - From Hutchison Vale)
37. Ross Still (16) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)

Midfielders
29. Ricky McIntosh (18) - May 2012 (Y3 - From Saints Youths)
42. Ryan Hutchinson (18) (Y2 - From Celtic)
39. Scott Gray (17) (Y2 - From Saints Youths)
33. Andy Steeves (17) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)
44. Craig Thomson (16) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)
36. Greg Mitchell (16) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)
34. Kieran Stewart (17) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)

Forwards
41. Chris Kane (16) (Y2 - From Saints Youths)
32. Callum McConnell (16) - May 2012 (Y2 - From Rangers)
38. Alexander Gilchrist (16) (Y1 - From Saints Youths)

This post has been edited by Radford: 22 January 2012 - 21:33

Fascists against Beatson.

• Golden Shoe Winner

Jobby, on 23 July 2011 - 18:23, said:

Dougie Imrie is utter shite.

Always amusing finding an old quote too!

Interesting to see how pessimistic a lot of our fans were back in July though. Derek McInnes was true to his words after last season's semi-final and Steve Lomas has so far carried on that good work.

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant
We really do have a good squad at the moment, and I hope the manager/board are doing their utmost to get some of our important players tied down to contracts beyond summer.

I think Enckelman, Anderson, Maybury, Millar, Morris and Haber should all be offered something now, so we can try and get them settled down for the rest of the season and we'll know what we require more by the time summer comes (and what budget we'll have to work with).

I don't think we're short of much. Maybe a bit more defensive cover required as a couple of injuries and we'll be struggling, but I think the focus should be on making sure we still have this excellent squad together at the end of January.

User is offline   The Troll 

• First Division Sub
  • Euro 2012:Russia

Radford, on 22 January 2012 - 21:23, said:

Update of the Saints squad...

ST JOHNSTONE FC - FIRST TEAM SQUAD 2011/12

Goalkeepers
1. Peter Enckelman (34) - May 2012
30. Zander Clark (19) - May 2012
(On loan to Elgin City - May 2012)
15. Alan Mannus (29) - May 2012

Defenders
6. Steven Anderson (25) - May 2012
12. Alan Maybury (32) - May 2012
25. Mark Durnan (18) - May 2012 (On loan to Elgin City - May 2012)
3. Callum Davidson (35) - May 2012

Midfielders
4. Jody Morris (32) - May 2012
7. Chris Millar (28) - May 2012
26. Liam Caddis (17) - May 2012 (On loan to Arbroath - May 2012)
20. Jamie Adams (23) - May 2012

Forwards
28. Stephen Reynolds (19) - May 2012
27. Stevie May (18) - May 2012 (On loan to Alloa Athletic - May 2012)
19. Carl Finnigan (24) - May 2012
23. Marcus Haber (22) - May 2012
21. Francisco Sandaza (26) - May 2012

(Ages at start of 2011/12 season)

Think the ones highlighted will be offered new deals. Suspect Fran will reject it though. The others should sign though, have a niggling concern Jody might decide to go though
" Some of life's shadows are caused by standing in your own sunshine... "

Russia - Winners of Euro 2012! BELIEVESKI!

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Jody's got his family settled in Scotland now and I suspect if offered a new deal, he'd accept. Can't really disagree with your choices, although, I think Enks will definitely leave, with Mannus becoming number 1 if he accepts it.

• First Division Sub

Widge, on 22 January 2012 - 21:53, said:

Jody's got his family settled in Scotland now and I suspect if offered a new deal, he'd accept. Can't really disagree with your choices, although, I think Enks will definitely leave, with Mannus becoming number 1 if he accepts it.

Aye i believe he will stay, there's just something in the back of my mind saying he wont Posted Image Not sure Mannus will want to stay, would have to guarantee him that he'll be first choice next season before anyone else goes for him and i'm not sure that can be done

User is offline   craigkillie 

• Not a Mickey Mouse Cup
  • My Team:Kilmarnock

View PostSaints Bevy Squad, on 21 July 2011 - 17:36, said:

We will finish above St Jonstone - Bookmark that!

:unsure:

• First Division Sub

craigkillie, on 09 May 2012 - 10:34, said:

:unsure:

Your shocked at St Mirren fans fake bravado biting him on the arse due to his own team being shite???? Posted Image

Anyway this as good a thread as any. Any other St Johnstone fan think an attempt to sign Ross Forbes would be a good idea?

He's out of contract and I'm almost certain Murray Davidson will be away and need replaced. Kevin Moon's never really convinced me whiule Jamie Adams future still hangs in the balance. Chris Millar's never a CM either before anyone starts. Only current player I can think of would be Liam Craig. But Ross Forbes seems like exactly the type of player we need in the middle

• Golden Shoe Winner

The Troll, on 10 May 2012 - 17:35, said:

Any other St Johnstone fan think an attempt to sign Ross Forbes would be a good idea?

He's out of contract and I'm almost certain Murray Davidson will be away and need replaced.

We are faced with losing a guy that has been a fixture in the side for four seasons and our captain (in addition to Davidson if he's sold as you seem to believe), so Lomas needs to find real quality to replace them, guys that he knows are going to come in and do the business. Forbes doesn't fit that category and would be far too much of a gamble. He had a couple of good months at Motherwell a few years ago and that's it, at this level anyway.

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
Apparently in for Newcastle's Ryan Donaldson, bottom of this article.
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Hmm, a player with no senior goals to his name in 20 odd appearances. I know he's only 21 and there was a fair bit of hype about him at Newcastle I think, but unless he's an under 21 option, or is better than his stats indicate then I'm not overly fussed.

Was he not the lad Hibs had on loan, but sent away back to Toon, cause he was no good??

• Golden Shoe Winner

Widge, on 10 May 2012 - 18:10, said:

Hmm, a player with no senior goals to his name in 20 odd appearances. I know he's only 21 and there was a fair bit of hype about him at Newcastle I think, but unless he's an under 21 option, or is better than his stats indicate then I'm not overly fussed.

Was he not the lad Hibs had on loan, but sent away back to Toon, cause he was no good??

That was Phil Airey.

When you put Donaldson into Google, one of the first links is him getting into bother following a night out. Maybe Lomas is just trying to put together the ultimate squad for next year's stag week in Spain?

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

Radford, on 10 May 2012 - 18:18, said:

That was Phil Airey.

When you put Donaldson into Google, one of the first links is him getting into bother following a night out. Maybe Lomas is just trying to put together the ultimate squad for next year's stag week in Spain?

Sounds like a man for us. :rolleyes:

User is offline   7-2 

• Golden Shoe Winner
HAPPY BIRTHDAY THREAD.
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

2 years old today.

Time for a new one I'd say.

User is offline   nelsjfc 

• Third Division Regular
Get the feeling with Lomas's comments and signings since he came in, that we will be looking at maybe at youngsters that have been released from Preimership clubs. Seemed to remember we have had a few guys on trial and a bounce game against the Nike academy both with a view towards signings in the summer.

Perhaps this guy might fufil both the above and add the necessary fun to whats sure to be a explosive pre-season trip.
I believed Hibernia22.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postnelsjfc, on 10 May 2012 - 19:36, said:

Get the feeling with Lomas's comments and signings since he came in, that we will be looking at maybe at youngsters that have been released from Preimership clubs. Seemed to remember we have had a few guys on trial and a bounce game against the Nike academy both with a view towards signings in the summer.

Perhaps this guy might fufil both the above and add the necessary fun to whats sure to be a explosive pre-season trip.

Would go with those feelings too and it's something that concerns me in all honesty. The Croft signing is more encouraging but don't want us to replace all these experienced players that could potentially be leaving with kids with no experience. Mellis sounds like he'd be ideal for Marbella 2013 though.

The five players I'd be desperate for us to keep are Enckelman, Millar, Morris, May and Sandaza. You'd think there's very little hope of retaining Sandaza and worry Enckelman won't stick around with no guarantee of the number one shirt. Delay over Millar and May signing is concerning and with Morris, you get the feeling he's holding out for Bristol City? So we could lose all of them and they'd be huge losses. After that I'm not too fussed about any of the others in truth. Not to say I'd like to see them all go but far more concerned about the five named.

User is offline   nelsjfc 

• Third Division Regular

View PostRadford, on 10 May 2012 - 19:46, said:

Would go with those feelings too and it's something that concerns me in all honesty. The Croft signing is more encouraging but don't want us to replace all these experienced players that could potentially be leaving with kids with no experience. Mellis sounds like he'd be ideal for Marbella 2013 though.

The five players I'd be desperate for us to keep are Enckelman, Millar, Morris, May and Sandaza. You'd think there's very little hope of retaining Sandaza and worry Enckelman won't stick around with no guarantee of the number one shirt. Delay over Millar and May signing is concerning and with Morris, you get the feeling he's holding out for Bristol City? So we could lose all of them and they'd be huge losses. After that I'm not too fussed about any of the others in truth. Not to say I'd like to see them all go but far more concerned about the five named.

What no Michael Hart? ;)

I would like to see Morris stay, but like you I very much doubt he will be a saints player come the start the season although perhaps being settled might convince him. He turns 34 during next season though and, as important as he has been in the last 3 years, you can't imagine we will be offering a long term deal. Moon offers some sort of cover if he does go too.

Millar sounds like he is holding out for the best deal given its probably his last "big" one, and it wouldn't surprise me if other SPL teams (Hibs have been rumoured?) are interested. He would be a big loss. A big part of our survival the last few years has been a solid midfield- usually Millar-Morris-Davidson-Craig. Losing one of them would be difficult, losing three leaves a massive team rebuilding. Agreed with you over on the Rangers thread re: Enckelman>Mannus so obivously would like to keep him although budget wise Lomas might be too keen to have two keepers on first-team wages. Think Maybury deserves a deal and I'm a bit surprised in the delay in May signing a deal.

I think it is going to be a difficult summer for Lomas, probably even more difficult than last summer where it was at least pretty obvious where the problems lay. This year, depending on renewals, we may need a back-up keeper, cover at full-back, a new midfield, 1/2 wingers and to replace a 20-goal a season striker. I, too, worry about the potential signing approach, although I think Lomas has done more than enough to be given a little faith. Sandaza will be away, but if he was to stay it would make me 100% more relaxed about next season.

It's a slightly odd position to be in; having our best league finish in years and not being bothered about half the squad leaving.

Edited to add- the one advandage I see Lomas having, is the chance to build the team as he wishes

This post has been edited by nelsjfc: 10 May 2012 - 20:59

I believed Hibernia22.

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan

View PostStandFree03, on 25 July 2011 - 13:29, said:

Vernon is a better striker IMO. Don't get upset because I warned you that Sandaza is a pretty awful footballer. He is a good finisher but has skills that make Darren Mackie look world class.

I just thought I'd bring this little belter from regular saints obsessor Standfree. :lol: :lol: :lol:

• (65 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users