Fishing thread

User is offline   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone

View PostHey! Ho! Jambo!, on 30 October 2010 - 12:12, said:

For any sea anglers the cod season is kicking off. I was at Anstruther last night and while I caught 2 coalfish a few other lads landed a cod each at around the 5lb mark. The weather was rough with a good blow on so tonight should be better.

Where do I signup?
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

User is offline   ffcsam 

• Risk game winner and ginger moustache wearer!!!
  • My Team:Falkirk
Bump.
Three weeks into the new season. Anyone been out or intending doing so soon?
And confusion running wildI hold treasures for you to findRelease of tensions unknownMind works the fingers to the bone

User is offline   stevenc1991 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:PSN: toad321
Just lost the first salmon I've evr hooked on the forth :(

Caught a 2lb sea trout after and it took so hard I thought it was a salmon :(
Win or Lose, we're still the blues.

User is offline   ffcsam 

View Poststevenc1991, on 11 June 2011 - 21:19, said:

Just lost the first salmon I've evr hooked on the forth :(

Caught a 2lb sea trout after and it took so hard I thought it was a salmon :(

Ouch!!
On the plus side, a seatrout still puts up a hell of a fight.

What price was your ticket for the Forth?
And confusion running wildI hold treasures for you to findRelease of tensions unknownMind works the fingers to the bone

• Golden Shoe Winner
Caught a 2lb Sea Trout on the Tay last week. 11pm as the tide slackened, seems like a decent run of late.

I'd post a pic but I'm on my phone and it won't let me.

Attached File(s)

• Golden Shoe Winner
Ah, it did let me.

User is offline   ffcsam 

:D Nice effort

This post has been edited by ffcsam: 11 June 2011 - 21:35

• Golden Shoe Winner
Might actually have been bigger than 2, the beer bottle was empty.

User is offline   stevenc1991 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:PSN: toad321

View Postffcsam, on 11 June 2011 - 21:22, said:

Ouch!!
On the plus side, a seatrout still puts up a hell of a fight.

What price was your ticket for the Forth?

£260ish for just the Forth, like £380 if you want the teith too.

Salmon are really begginning to run, shame of the dick hurricane and then my back decides to hurt today when the water will be good :(
Win or Lose, we're still the blues.

User is offline   ffcsam 

Wee bump just before the end of the Salmon season in Denny (River Carron)
All the fish caught in this video are in a one mile stretch of water, with the last being caught less than 500 yards from my house.
Heading down on Thursday to try and get one for myself Posted Image

User is offline   bigtatties 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Petershill
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands

View Postayrunitedfw, on 07 April 2010 - 10:41, said:

Is anybody else keen fishermen like me ? Was at Coyolton yesterday for 6 hours and caught three :) Not bad. Hope to take my fishing gear to america in the summer and go fishing :)

Visited a tributary of the Mary River, Darwin, in July. Never cast a rod in my life. Caught this beaut.......a Barramundi. I wanted to put it back - but my nephew was hungry. It was tasty, though. We fished within yards of some big crocs.....

Attached File(s)

• Attached File  025.JPG (1.25MB)
    Number of downloads: 0
  • Attached File  CROC.JPG (152.77K)
    Number of downloads: 0

This post has been edited by bigtatties: 30 October 2011 - 12:20

O' wad some pow'r the Giftie gie us,
Tae see oorsel's as ithers see us,
It wad frae mony a blunder free us,
An' foolish notion........

User is offline   Blue1870 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Stranraer
I am a member of the LLAIA which for £185 for the season (feb 11th to october 31st) gives you Game Fishing on the Clyde Estuary, River Leven, Loch Lomond, River Fruin and River Endrick. Alot of water in May meant there were fish running the Endrick early on which is unusual. I caught my first ever Salmon and 8lb fish June 6th. Only 1 other fish in august (a 4lb grilse). 1 small sea trout of a 1lb. Lost several fish. So a mixed season really. Early promise and then to be honest a bit disappointing.

However I did fish the world famous River Towi near Lllandeilo, South Wales in July. Caught a 2lb and 4lb Sea Trout on my first evening on the River.

Did some sea fishing around the Stranraer (Rhins of Galloway) area first week of August. On the charter boat the Rhins Ranger out of Portpatrick. I caught an 8lb Pollack on a black firetail jelly worm spinning below cliffs above reefs. Other species were 5lb Bull Huss, Codling, Coalies, Whiting, Haddock, Doggies, Gurnards, Mackeral.

This post has been edited by Blue1870: 21 November 2011 - 17:27

• (4 Pages) +
  • « First