Alloa v Stenny Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   OldWasp 

• Third Division Reserve
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
A game we would have lost in previous seasons. It shows the team spirit to keep going - and not just settle for one point.

Dreadful game for the most part - but a great ending (if you are an Alloa fan).

Did Gormley get booked for his celebration? I saw the referee waving a card around before the restart.
Until the philosophy which hold one race

Superior and another inferior

Is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned

Everywhere is war, me say war
That until there are no longer first class

And second class citizens of any nation

Until the colour of a man's skin

Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes

Me say war

User is offline   allowafletic 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Alloa were piss poor but Stennie are not exactly Real Madrid.

The passing ability of both teams was dreadful Stennie should be at least tactically better than they were if they really wanted something out of the game as i thought they looked clueless at times especially when Alloa began to pile the pressure on in the last 10 minutes.

As for Alloa they were also clueless for the 90 minutes but smashed their way to the win in the last 2 minutes.

My summary of the game was 2 poor teams playing to a poor standard of football but i am over the moon with the result and no i am not going to agree that Stenie deserved to win because they did not for the very reasons i have highlighted.

Alloa will improve as we had so many out with injury and suspension i am afraid that the standard in the league has not been very good this season.

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009

View Postallowafletic, on 20 March 2010 - 19:02, said:

The passing ability of both teams was dreadful Stennie should be at least tactically better than they were if they really wanted something out of the game as i thought they looked clueless at times especially when Alloa began to pile the pressure on in the last 10 minutes.

As for Alloa they were also clueless for the 90 minutes but smashed their way to the win in the last 2 minutes.

My summary of the game was 2 poor teams playing to a poor standard of football but i am over the moon with the result and no i am not going to agree that Stenie deserved to win because they did not for the very reasons i have highlighted.

Alloa will improve as we had so many out with injury and suspension i am afraid that the standard in the league has not been very good this season.

Have to disagree stenny looked the more likely to win then we equalized and they just tried to hang on even more for a draw and then prunty got that great goal to win us the points.
Posted Image

User is offline   Pol 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir
  • Gamertag:PaulWilson91

I thought both teams knocked the ball about reasonably well.
Twitter: @pdw_13

User is offline   duffy.89 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

View PostPol, on 20 March 2010 - 18:05, said:

Gutted. Absolutely gutted.

Alloa did not even deserve a point today. We started really well, Crawford having a complete nightmare as per against us - I really don't see how Alloa fans can rate him anything more than poor/average. Not got a clue how he has 13 clean sheets to his name. He did take some amount of stick today and his reaction when his team scored was rather quite humorous.

Dalziel scored a soft header as Crawford came flapping out - Walker and Crawford must really hate playing againt Scott Dalziel. In the 4 of the 5 games played this season he has ran Walker ragged and made Crawford seem a poor goalie.

Again though Thomson gives the referee (who I thought done reasonably well today) a reason to send him off. My old man reckons it wasn't a sending off, booking at most but from where I was standing he kicked out at the Alloa boy and therefore deserved the consequences. McCluskey made a complete arse of the equaliser! The initial save was good but as he knew he was falling into the goal couldn't he have threw it to the side, out the park, or even over the bar rather than right to the feet of Gormley. The winner was a sickener - practically last kick of the ball.

The team played well today - Andy Stirling and Willie Lyle being the stand outs.

(Apart from the goals) Alloa never created anything and neither McCluskey or the defense had too much to deal with. Lyle and Thomson had a reasonable shift down the wings - today was the first time I have seen Willie Lyle needing a bit of a breather. Thats in no way questioning his workrate in any other game he has played for us but highlighting how much he got up and down the wing today. Pat was quite poor, his passing, finishing and fitness just wasn't there. Thomson was doing well until the sending off. "Magic" was quite magic today. Played really well - no idea why he was substituted when Scullion was breathing out his arse after an hour. Diack was poor today. Part of the first half he seemed lively down the left and whipping a few balls in but other than that he seemed disinterested, he wasn't moving for other players and was a passenger at times. Dalziel done well today, ran Walker ragged and got himself a goal, he could have had more though.

Gutted we never even got a point from this one especially that the results went our way - Clyde pumped, Arbroath pumped, East Fife pumped and Dumbarton drew. At least the Clyde and Arbroath results get us a game closer to survival.

Alloa WILL win this league now. The result today is the result champions pull of when it gets down to the nitty-gritty at the end of the season.

Love how you slate Crawford. He is one off the ain reasons Alloa are top this season and doing so well defensivly. Especially after you keep basically dropped the ball at Gormleys feet, and I think should of got a better hand to Pruntys winner....

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular
Rank rotten performance by Alloa. Worst I've seen in a while. However overjoyed to have nicked the points. Prunty's goal was pure class. For 88 mins we were all shaking our heads and muttering about how performances like this will never win us a league title. How things change in a matter of seconds.

Was great to see Dougie back. He livened us up a bit. As did the young lad that came on as sub.

Hugh Kerr was pathetic. You just don't throw your strip away like that. Can f**k off back to Sauchie if that's his attitude.

Was amazed at the sending off. Just didnt think it merited that. Penalty was a stonewall.

How in hell did Walker get MOM. Must have had relatives in hospitality. That said I think anyone would have been hard pushed to pick out an Alloa player.

This post has been edited by bsd: 20 March 2010 - 19:34

User is offline   Vespula vulgaris 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View PostPol, on 20 March 2010 - 19:08, said:

I thought both teams knocked the ball about reasonably well.

I was behind the goal at the Railway end and I thought it was a fair shout for the penalty. The big defender elbowed Prunty in the back and down he went in the box - penalty.

User is offline   Hawain1 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:gaz ASC
Must be a hard one to take for the Stenny supporters.

Don't think we deserved a draw never mind a win, Stenny were the better team for 80 minutes, this is the worst we have played all season imo.

If you don't take your chances then your always going to be vulnerable and this is what happened with Stenny today.I think we should have had a penalty when Prunty went down but it wasn't given and i thought that would be it but a goalkeeping howler( I think he wis trying to be a smart a*se when he could of just caught it ) allowed Gormley to tap in (Was loving the celebration) and a peach of a goal from Prunty.

I got punched running over to Gormley as he jumped into the crowd after Prunty's goal but i made it there so was completely worth it Posted Image .f**k aye hes a bear up close.

User is offline   duffy.89 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Alloa were very very poor today, and very lucky to come away with the win. It was robbery.

We created nothing the whole game. I Thought the pentaly shout against Prunty was a decent shout, just after the sending off.

Based on toays performance, Jaffa and Gormely arent starting players (although Gormley showed great anticipation for his goal).

The Stenny goal could of be avoided, poor play on Jaffa and DC part. We created nothing all game till the last two minutes. Like i said, Gormely done really well to follow the ball and in react quickly for the first, and when u have a plyer or Prunty's finishing abilaty, well it just goes to show what he can do. A great finish on the volley with the last kick of the ball, yet again!

All and all very poor display from Alloa, but will take the 3 points. Stenhousemuir fans have every right to feel aggreived, although without creating much themselves. Hopefully a few injuries and suspensions will clear up for next few run of games.

I assume Andy Scott will still be banned for getting a straight red?

User is offline   Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) 

• Third Division Sub
Andy Scott is available for the Stirling and Arbroath games and then banned again for the East Fife game.

Something to do with going over the points barrier, not really too up to speed with the suspension rules.
THE BEARD TO BE FEARED..........

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Don't think Gormley will start once Noble is back but apart from the Dumbarton game he has been very decent, even today i thought he done very well at holding the ball up and bringing players into the game even though we weren't very good ...

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostHawain1, on 20 March 2010 - 20:11, said:

Don't think Gormley will start once Noble is back but apart from the Dumbarton game he has been very decent, even today i thought he done very well at holding the ball up and bringing players into the game even though we weren't very good ...

Thought prunty was excellent getting the little flick ons in the 2nd half too.
Posted Image

User is offline   printer 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Daylight robbery from us today. As in all the games between the teams this season (apart from the 2-0 at Ocilview) Stenny outplayed us. More organised, stronger in the challenge, some crisp and incisive passing with Dalzeil again giving our central defenders a hard time with his movement and strength. I think even if we had been at full strength this would have been a tough game, but with so may players out we were second best for pretty much the whole game.

The sending off was stupid as it gave us a glimmer of hope which we hadn't had up 'til then. I wouldn't blame McCluskey for the equaliser, the ball was spinning over his head and all he could do was claw it out. Gormley pounced on the chance, but it was the only time he got out of first gear all day. Not in Noble's class as a target man. He has scored 2 in 3 so I suppose he is playing his part. Prunty's chance at the end was the type most players would blaze over the bar or screw wide, but again he clinically finished it. Proving to be a great signing.

What you have to say is that again we were down to the bare bones (Grant, Scott, Townsley, McClune, Welsh and Noble all missing and Bomber taken off at half-time) but again we got a result. Great to see Dougie Wilson back and looking sharp. I thought Jamie Hay did OK and young Thomson looked promising when he came on. I know Scott Walker hit a lot of poor passes and wobbled a bit defensively at times, but he never hides even when he is playing poorly and more than anyone today was at least trying to drive the team on.

Looks like McClune may be back for the Stirling game and this would be a boost. It would allow Tony Stevenson to move into midfield where his calm on the ball and ability to pick a pass could be important. We really missed John Grant today and with Bomber also looking likely to be out we will be short in the middle.

User is offline   Sevennil 

• Third Division Signing Target
Worst i've seen Alloa play in a long time today (and i was at Dumbarton!). Never looked like creating anything all game and Stenny would have been out of sight at half-time had it not been for poor finishing. Great end to the game though,especially with Stirling and Brechin both winning. We actually extended our lead at the top today,something which didn't look possible at any time during the game never mind with 2 minutes left. Would have been happy with just getting an unexpected point but to get all 3 was massive for us.

Our fluency today was non-existent and could be down to the constant chopping and changing of the line-up which has been constantly forced upon Maitland due to the injuries and suspensions we've been picking up lately. The last 15 minutes was 10-a-side after Mark Brown had to go off (another fecking injury for us!). It's not even as if we don't have strength in depth,it's just the fact that we've had SO MANY injuries this season. Suppose that's been a good bit of management in getting enough players in to combat what's happened to us. Once again it will be an interesting line-up on Tuesday,do we even have 11 fit and available players???

Unless there has been an apology from Hugh, i don't see him playing for us again after that. His substitution on Tuesday at Cowden was a tactical decision due to Andy Scotts sending off. His reaction today,although understandable from the players point of view, will have done him no favours though. Coughlin obviously had done his homework and knew our left back was our weak link and Stenny got a lot of joy from playing everything down that flank. Every goal-kick was directed in that direction without fail aswell. Hugh and Marc were not linking well and were being out-fought and out-thought constantly and Maitland simply had to change it.
I think Maitland would have left them to try and get into the game more had we not conceded though, perhaps then make a change at half-time, but the decision i feel was taken out of his hands with Dalziels goal.

The Stenny goal reminded me of the goal Prunty scored at Ochilview in the last game between the sides. Both keepers seemed to be trying to make up for mistakes by defenders on both occasions though so i wouldn't say either goal was bad goalkeeping,just finding themselves being put in a very difficult position with a snap-decision to be made.

Crawford was hilarious after our 2 goals though,i can see why a lot of opposition supporters consider him to be a bit of a numpty! I couldn't stop laughing though,what a lovely idiot we have!! Posted Image

Fair play to the Stenny fan who stuck up for DC at the equaliser though after he received some colourful pelters about being unprofessional, " we've been giving him stick all game and now you cannae handle it when he gives you it back?!"
Must have been hard to do after losing the lead at such a late stage of the game.

Let It Rain!!!

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSevennil, on 20 March 2010 - 21:05, said:

Fair play to the Stenny fan who stuck up for DC at the equaliser though after he received some colourful pelters about being unprofessional, " we've been giving him stick all game and now you cannae handle it when he gives you it back?!"
Must have been hard to do after losing the lead at such a late stage of the game.

:lol: Football fans, Can dish it out but not take it back.
Posted Image

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007

Crawford was hilarious after our 2 goals though,i can see why a lot of opposition supporters consider him to be a bit of a numpty! I couldn't stop laughing though,what a lovely idiot we have!! :lol:

What did he do? :lol:
Posted Image

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Crawford was hilarious after our 2 goals though,i can see why a lot of opposition supporters consider him to be a bit of a numpty! I couldn't stop laughing though,what a lovely idiot we have!! Posted Image

What did he actually do? I got told he was hanging from the net or something like that.Posted Image

Looks like Pencils beat me to it.

This post has been edited by Hawain1: 20 March 2010 - 21:25

User is offline   Sevennil 

View Postpencils, on 20 March 2010 - 21:21, said:

What did he do? Posted Image

View PostHawain1, on 20 March 2010 - 21:22, said:

What did he actually do? I got told he was hanging from the net or something like that.Posted Image

He had been on the receiving end of some abuse/banter for most of the 2nd half(and probably the first half too) and was constantly being berated for being a bit of a 'dodgy keeper' (like someone said earlier, i think it's Stenny he seems to keep these performances for).

Equaliser: took great care in walking very slowly back to his goals to put his water bottle back into the side netting whilst looking at all the Stenny supporters with his glove covering what must have been a very wide grin. Posted Image

Winner: if a very loud monkey ever tried to do a Spiderman impression (very badly) then that was it! Posted Image
Let It Rain!!!

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007

View PostSevennil, on 20 March 2010 - 21:31, said:

He had been on the receiving end of some abuse/banter for most of the 2nd half(and probably the first half too) and was constantly being berated for being a bit of a 'dodgy keeper' (like someone said earlier, i think it's Stenny he seems to keep these performances for).

Equaliser: took great care in walking very slowly back to his goals to put his water bottle back into the side netting whilst looking at all the Stenny supporters with his glove covering what must have been a very wide grin. Posted Image

Winner: if a very loud monkey ever tried to do a Spiderman impression (very badly) then that was it! :lol:

Good stuff. :lol:
Posted Image

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostSevennil, on 20 March 2010 - 21:31, said:

Winner: if a very loud monkey ever tried to do a Spiderman impression (very badly) then that was it! Posted Image

:lol: Legend.
Posted Image

User is offline   Waldo 

• My Team:Stenhousemuir

Get a grip. This is the Scottish 2nd division not La Liga. If you can't enjoy that game today after the way it finished then you should go and watch another team. Maybe Arsenal or Barcelona. Your team played rubbish we played well up until the the equaliser just fucking enjoy it, come on here and gloat and have a beer. If these players could pass the ball to their own team mates all the time then they wouldn't be playing for Alloa or Stenny but in the SPL....no scratch that the English Premier league or Serie A.

Do us all a favour and spend your 10 quid next time at the movies or better still hire yourself a copy of the Real Madrid vs Entracht Frankfurt European cup final and leave the rest of us to watch our crap 2nd division teams......

This post has been edited by Waldo: 20 March 2010 - 21:54

User is offline   Waspie 

• International Captain
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
An absolute travesty of a result today, we were total p*sh for 88 minutes and deserved nothing from the match. Those last 2 minutes were pretty special though :bounce2 :bounce2 .

I know we're missing a lot of key players and are tired after playing a lot of games so a disjointed performance was forgiveable but disappointed about how flat we were. Stenny were well worth their lead and should have been further ahead at half time. They will probably regret not going for a bit more in the second half when we were very much there for the taking but in fairness they looked very comfortable with the one goal lead. Well organised whereas Alloa had no inspiration at all and just couldnt see where a goal would come from.

Thankfully the Stenny goalie did us a wee favour with a couple of minutes to go by spilling Thomson's shot for Gormley to score then Prunty pops up with a cracking finish right at the end. Daylight robbery. We got out jail today but its crucial we start getting some men back in as the team lacked leaders today and wont get so lucky again. Great seeing Dougie Wilson back, very timely.
Can understand Stenny fans questioning Crawford given he hasnt done so well against them but over the season he has been inspirational.

Thought the ref got the Stenny red card wrong and that we should have had a penalty for a foul on Prunty shortly after. Maybe the Stenny TV highlights will clear those up.

One of the worst Alloa performances in a long time and one of the most memorable finishes to a game to go with it :D .

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostWaldo, on 20 March 2010 - 21:47, said:

Get a grip. This is the Scottish 2nd division not La Liga. If you can't enjoy that game today after the way it finished then you should go and watch another team. Maybe Arsenal or Barcelona. Your team played rubbish we played well up until the the equaliser just fucking enjoy it, come on here and gloat and have a beer. If these players could pass the ball to their own team mates all the time then they wouldn't be playing for Alloa or Stenny but in the SPL....no scratch that the English Premier league or Serie A.

Do us all a favour and spend your 10 quid next time at the movies or better still hire yourself a copy of the Real Madrid vs Entracht Frankfurt European cup final and leave the rest of us to watch our crap 2nd division teams......

Bit harsh as i pressume he is one of the younger alloa fans? but i see you're point we were 2nd to everything until we equalized then stenny folded pretty lucky for us, As i said earlier if we want to win the league its luck like that we have to take even if its not pretty.
Posted Image

User is offline   printer 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postnumber one wasp, on 20 March 2010 - 22:02, said:

Bit harsh as i pressume he is one of the younger alloa fans?

As opposed to an old hand like yourself numero uno? :D

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postprinter, on 20 March 2010 - 22:16, said:

As opposed to an old hand like yourself numero uno? :D

Im not old :( But i feel it when i see those lads in shorts when its -5 in winter :lol: .
Posted Image

• (6 Pages) +
  • « First