Alloa v Stenny
Rate Topic:

Posted 21 March 2010 - 15:01
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Stenhousemuir
We would never have lost that game if Thommo didn't get sent off, Alloa never even had a threatening shot on goal. We pissed all over them in the first half and should have finished the game then.
How did Scottt Walker get man of the match? He was brutal for the third time this season against us.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 15:08
- Team:Alloa Athletic
Neilly, on 21 March 2010 - 15:01, said:
How did Scottt Walker get man of the match? He was brutal for the third time this season against us.
Freeloading fatcats who have never been to a game in their life + free drink in hospitality = Alloas Man of the Match Award
Posted 21 March 2010 - 17:27
- Gamertag:StennyGoalie96
Neilly, on 21 March 2010 - 15:01, said:
We would never have lost that game if Thommo didn't get sent off, Alloa never even had a threatening shot on goal. We pissed all over them in the first half and should have finished the game then.
Scott Walker got man of the match.
It wisny that bad a game.
I would have gave it to Magic
Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:16
- Gamertag:Gaviano360
Stenny Boy, on 21 March 2010 - 17:27, said:
It wisny that bad a game.
I would have gave it to Magic
Excellent haiku.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:17
I can only echo the general concensus in that we deserved absolutely nothing from the game. In saying that, absolutely delighted with not only the result, but how it was achieved - fighting to the end.
However, if every game finished as it 'deserved', then there would be a lot of different outcomes.
Before the start, I thought that Kerr in front of McCafferty was the wrong choice. It needed someone with a bit more nous and graft to cover for, what turned out to be, McCafferty's obvious inability. It has been mentioned on the thread that he had been identified as a weakness. If other teams can see that after scouting us for one game, why can't our management see it after watching it week in week out?
To a degree, we've got away with it so far, but this situation needs sorting before we start paying for it with costly results.
As for Kerr's reaction. He probably felt he was being made the scapegoat after being subbed on Tuesday after coming on, and so early yesterday. I would imagine he's slightly embarrassed for acting so petulantly.
As I've already said, the left hand side was always going to be our achilles heel yesterday. I don't think Kerr was done any favours. Playing in front of a strong(er) left back, he'd do not so bad as he is a more constructive than destructive type of player.
We had literally no ideas yesterday. It was mainly hit and hope, rather than manufacturing opportunities. That hope was that the excellent Bryan Prunty would somehow do what he does best. Although ultimately, he did.
Stenny should, rightly, wonder why they didn't take all three points yesterday.
I saw Bomber take a knock going for a ball in the corner. For a wee while he was hobbling a bit. Hopefully he'll be alright for Tuesday.
In a bad day at the office, I thought Stevenson (although tried to be too clever at times), Bomber, Walker, Brown, Prunty and Thomson scraped pass marks.
Good to see Buisty and Dougie Wilson back too.
Aye, Crawford flapped for their goal. Aye, I thought it was a penalty and aye, Thomson deserved to go.
I didn't think Stenny had any stand-outs either, but Lyle worked tirelessly and the wee guy that went off wasn't too shabby. Collectively though, they were a lot better than us.
Thought the ref had a decent game, although the stand-side linesman was a knob.
And at least more and more Alloa fans are beginning to see what I have been saying about McCafferty all season long.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:35
- Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009
Into The Valley, on 21 March 2010 - 18:17, said:
And at least more and more Alloa fans are beginning to see what I have been saying about McCafferty all season long.
McCafferty isnt as bad as you are making out though you slaughter him week in week out we are top of the league yes hes not the best but what do you expect from a 19 year old centre back out of position? AM needs to change it but its not marc's fault so lets get behind him. Yes he was poor yesterday as were most of the team.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:44
- Gamertag:Rossc2007
number one wasp, on 21 March 2010 - 18:35, said:
Nothing personal against Marc, just he is brutal at LB. It is going to cost us a game eventually if he keeps playing there.
Maybe hes a decent CB, but one things for certain, hes not a LB and AM needs to do something.

Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:46
Assuming McCafferty was no 3, he really was tortuous. Dalziel easily won every single header against him so I'm not sure he would be much kop at centre half either.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 18:54
Posted 21 March 2010 - 19:00
Whilst I don't know if "slaughter" would be the right word, he IS as bad as I make out.
Yes, we are top of the league. Does that automatically make every player a good one?
I would suggest that we're there in spite of him, not because of.
I've said on other threads when talking about him, "cue the 19 year-old playing out of position" spin.
And I've never once said it's "marc's fault". Fact is, I'd much rather he wasn't pish. Unfortunately for us, he is!
Posted 21 March 2010 - 19:02
Into The Valley, on 21 March 2010 - 19:00, said:
Yes, we are top of the league. Does that automatically make every player a good one?
I would suggest that we're there in spite of him, not because of.
I've said on other threads when talking about him, "cue the 19 year-old playing out of position" spin.
And I've never once said it's "marc's fault". Fact is, I'd much rather he wasn't pish. Unfortunately for us, he is!
That is partly the reason though not the full reason i admit.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 19:11
beaver1, on 21 March 2010 - 18:46, said:
I'm afraid you are right. Mark has a very good attitude but he just isn't good enough and, I fear, never will be in any position. Any half decent winger skips by him with ease on the outside every time. While Allan Maitland has done a brilliant job overall this year he has failed to address this obvious weakness properly. Yes, he has been unfortunate that Welsh has been injured and now who knows what, but McCafferty is too weak to have as back up. He has been an accident waiting to happen all year and I fear if he is played there on Tuesday we may see a real car crash!
While we are on the subject of players who will never be good enough, I think Hugh Kerr is beginning to look like that. Chickens without heads come to mind.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 19:18
Francesc Fabregas, on 20 March 2010 - 22:23, said:
You are 100% correct. The only thing to point out is how many players we had out. That's a major reason we were so bad.
Excellent post.
Am I the only one who thought McCluskey could have done little else with the first goal. I think he had to deliberately drop it as otherwise he would have landed in the net with the ball.
Posted 21 March 2010 - 23:35
Posted 21 March 2010 - 23:51
bsd, on 21 March 2010 - 23:35, said:
Totally agree with this. Allan Maitland has done really well for us this season but its a bit of a joke that the left back situation still hasnt been resolved. I have a bit of sympathy in that he didnt keep Bloom till the end of the season because he thought he would have Welsh available, but since there is obviously a problem with Welsh the manager should have gone out and got somebody else on loan. McCafferty did us a wee turn for a few games at the end of last season when he was actually an improvement on the hapless Iain Campbell but its been obvious to pretty much anybody who has watched Alloa all season that he isnt good enough. Its not his fault I agree and he always give his all but Im disappointed he still hasnt learned basics like not diving in and commiting himself, even a converted centre back should see that. Surely the manager can get somebody in on loan for the rest of the season.
Posted 22 March 2010 - 07:39
number one wasp, on 21 March 2010 - 18:54, said:
So what are you saying exactly?
bsd, on 21 March 2010 - 23:35, said:
Into The Valley, on 21 March 2010 - 18:17, said:
To a degree, we've got away with it so far, but this situation needs sorting before we start paying for it with costly results.
Posted 22 March 2010 - 09:43
- Gamertag:dubyasfc
This post has been edited by dubs: 22 March 2010 - 09:43
Posted 22 March 2010 - 14:36
Into The Valley, on 22 March 2010 - 07:39, said:
Dont come on here and slaughter the kid or have a go at him at matches he needs confidence and people shouting "Marc your shite" or "maitland get the left back off next" as i heard on saturday as the guy was standing next 2 me talking to one of the stenny coaches, It doesnt do anyone any favours he is being asked to play out of position give the team some support instead of picking on someone week in week out look at the positives we won we fought till the end which we havent done in all matches.
He wasnt helped by hugh kerr in the first 30 minutes who wasnt tracking back or going to close the ball down so thats an excuse for the 1st 30 but after that he was exposed as not a left back but its up to AM to see that not for us to take it out on the player.
This post has been edited by number one wasp: 22 March 2010 - 14:38
Posted 24 March 2010 - 19:10
Posted 24 March 2010 - 19:23
- Gamertag:Gaviano360
Posted 24 March 2010 - 19:59