Greenock Morton v Airdrie United 17/3/10 Must-win... Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
  • Team:Greenock Morton
for both sides surely. It's the start of a home run for us, we have three home matches in a week and we need to be seriously looking at 7 points minimum. Airdrie really need a win or it's surely all over for them.
The onus is on ourselves to be more expansive in our play and create the chances, Airdrie sat in and held out for a draw in the final fixture last season and they'll certainly try and keep it tight.

I don't know whether Greacen returns or not, assuming he isn't I'd go:

Cuthbert
McGuffie Shimmin McGregor McKinlay
Masterton Jenkins Tidser McAllister
Russell Weatherson

though I suspect Grady will put Simmonds in and pick the other 10 players out of a top hat.

Edit: reading SD on another thread suggests that Greacen's next ban won't kick until at least Saturday, ditch McGregor and put him in.

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 14 March 2010 - 14:24

View Postweirdcal, on 01 August 2011 - 11:10, said:

when you think box office you think big and exciting

User is offline   Nocturnal Groove 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Ayr United

View PostvikingTON, on 14 March 2010 - 14:18, said:

It's the start of a home run for us, we have three home matches in a week and we need to be seriously looking at 7 points minimum.

Just to boost your confidence you have only won 2 home games so far this season :P

View PostvikingTON, on 14 March 2010 - 14:18, said:

Airdrie sat in and held out for a draw in the final fixture last season and they'll certainly try and keep it tight.

They came out fighting yesterday, so id expect them not to be sitting in for the draw against you
SPL - Killing Scottish Football Since 1998

View PostNocturnal Groove, on 14 March 2010 - 14:37, said:

Just to boost your confidence you have only won 2 home games so far this season :P

We've only played 9, and only six under Grady.

They came out fighting yesterday, so id expect them not to be sitting in for the draw against you

They were at home yesterday. In three visits to Cappielow they've scored 0 goals and conceded just 2.

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 14 March 2010 - 14:41

User is offline   Nocturnal Groove 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostvikingTON, on 14 March 2010 - 14:40, said:

We've only played 9, and only six under Grady.

Ok lets put another spin on it, out of those 9 home games you have lost 7 of them, if i were you id be wishing you never had so many home games left, cos lets face it, your home form is really bad :P
SPL - Killing Scottish Football Since 1998

User is offline   Mr.Blue 

• Third Division Sub
A must win game for us.

Would like to see us line up in an attacking 4-3-3 formation. If Greacen is out it I reckon its time fro McManus to get the boots back on as he played well alongside Dom last season.

Cuthbert

Reid Shimmin McManus Mckinlay

Masterton Jenkins Tidser

Russell Weatherson Simmonds
A' we hear is, Radio Jocky (clap-clap),
Radio Teckle (clap-clap),
Radio Jocky (clap-clap).
Radio what's new? Radioooooo! Some-c**t-still-loves-youuuuuuu! That's what eh'm talkin' aboot!

User is offline   Kitty_Boy 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:algem360 (XBL)
Big ask for a side with the division's worst home record to (more than) double their home points tally for the entire season in seven days. This with a squad that must be lacking confidence and a manager who appears to be tactically inept.

Will Airdrie be buoyed by their last gasp equaliser on Saturday and a glimpse of survival? Or will they prove that they are a poor, poor side who only raise their game against the original AUFC and are heading towards their third relegation in four years?

Having said that, if I was a Morton fan, I would be confident that my side would be at least three points clear of Ayr going into the game at the end of the month...

User is offline   Mr.Blue 

• Third Division Sub

View PostKitty_Boy, on 14 March 2010 - 14:52, said:

Big ask for a side with the division's worst home record to (more than) double their home points tally for the entire season in seven days. This with a squad that must be lacking confidence and a manager who appears to be tactically inept.

Will Airdrie be buoyed by their last gasp equaliser on Saturday and a glimpse of survival? Or will they prove that they are a poor, poor side who only raise their game against the original AUFC and are heading towards their third relegation in four years?

Having said that, if I was a Morton fan, I would be confident that my side would be at least three points clear of Ayr going into the game at the end of the month...

At the moment you would struggle to find a morton fan to agree with you
A' we hear is, Radio Jocky (clap-clap),
Radio Teckle (clap-clap),
Radio Jocky (clap-clap).
Radio what's new? Radioooooo! Some-c**t-still-loves-youuuuuuu! That's what eh'm talkin' aboot!

User is offline   P45 

• First Division Signing Target
  • Team:Partick Thistle

View PostvikingTON, on 14 March 2010 - 14:40, said:

They were at home yesterday. In three visits to Cappielow they've scored 0 goals and conceded just 2.

That's cos yous are shit!
McNamara GTF

User is offline   The Naitch 

• Since 1983...
Huge game for both sides and with games running out one that neither can really afford to lose.

It's the kind of game we need to be winning to help kickstart this run of home games we have but whether the team has any confidence left to do that is another story.

I expect Weatherson to be back in the side and, probably, Simmonds partnering him up front.

I'll, cautiously, go for a 2-1 win to our lot with a rare strike from McAlister with Weatherson sealing the points.
"To be the man, you gotta beat the man"

"Well, you get the idea with that..."

View PostKitty_Boy, on 14 March 2010 - 14:52, said:

I agree entirely with the latter, but even under Grady we took 6/6 points against Raith/Airdrie back to back.

The home/away is a myth, the only difference is:
1. We have a fantastic record at Palmerston, they have a great record at Cappielow: without that you're looking at three away wins instead of five.
2. We're yet to play the majority of our bottom half home matches.

We can lose to the likes of Inverness and Ross County home away or on the moon, I've seen the vast majority of matches and we play no better away.

View PostP45, on 14 March 2010 - 16:46, said:

That's cos yous are shit!

Shit enough to take 7 out of those 9 points?

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 14 March 2010 - 18:31

User is offline   port-ton 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Has Stewart been injured or dropped? I noticed he was on the bench on Saturday and most people seem to have Cuthbert in the teams they think we'll play this week.
Good people will do good things, bad people will do bad things, but only with religion do good people do bad things!

Ric - Forgotten but not gone.

User is offline   DomDom 

• The Genius.
Well, it's Grady we're talking about here, so my guess is it's a drop.
BOOTS TO ASSES!!!

User is offline   Dunning1874 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostDomDom, on 14 March 2010 - 21:03, said:

Well, it's Grady we're talking about here, so my guess is it's a drop.

It amazes me that he'll happily drop certain players after one bad game but persists with Alan Reid.

View PostNo8., on 01 May 2009 - 17:05, said:

Dunning is by far the most anti Rangers poster on P&B and i include Beyesmystic in that

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostDunning1874, on 14 March 2010 - 21:40, said:

It amazes me that he'll happily drop certain players after one bad game but persists with Alan Reid.

Especially when said player has been arguably our player of the season so far.
Good people will do good things, bad people will do bad things, but only with religion do good people do bad things!

View PostDunning1874, on 14 March 2010 - 21:40, said:

To be fair Stewart was pretty ropey at times in the Ayr match too, that Cuthbert probably is a better keeper means its no loss either way.

Right, Stewart is arguably player of the year, I thought you were saying that about Reid port-ton!

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 14 March 2010 - 22:17

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostvikingTON, on 14 March 2010 - 22:16, said:

To be fair Stewart was pretty ropey at times in the Ayr match too, that Cuthbert probably is a better keeper means its no loss either way.

Right, Stewart is arguably player of the year, I thought you were saying that about Reid port-ton!

Reid would struggle to be the best player called Reid at the club.

User is offline   ss..schlecht 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • Team:Airdrie Utd
Morton only need a draw from this to maintain the 8 point gap, even if they lost all their games after this we will not pick up 9 points in our remaining games Posted Image

User is offline   Monster 

• Live Forever
  • Team:Other
A draw, please. :)
Gonna take that tiger outside for a ride

User is online   Swampy 

• Problem, Unionists?
There's no reason that we shouldn't be winning this one by a significant margin.
shrim

User is online   Swampy 

• Problem, Unionists?

View PostKitty_Boy, on 15 March 2010 - 11:19, said:

There are also lots of reasons why you shouldn't be winning this by a significant margin.

Aye, but, naw, there aren't.
shrim

User is offline   Jeff Venom 

• Third Division Sub

View PostSwampy, on 15 March 2010 - 11:09, said:

There's no reason that we shouldn't be winning this one by a significant margin.

Except that if you both play the way you did against Ayr last week then Airdrie will horse Morton.

View PostJeff Venom, on 15 March 2010 - 11:39, said:

Except that if you both play the way you did against Ayr last week then Airdrie will horse Morton.

Will this be after we've missed six complete sitters in front of goal? For a dreadful side we sure did carve up your defence a hell of a lot more than Airdrie appeared to have done the other day.

User is offline   SaltyTON 

• Who you calling a jackass?!?
  • Gamertag:SaltyTON (360)

View PostThe Naitch, on 14 March 2010 - 17:15, said:

Huge game for both sides and with games running out one that neither can really afford to lose.

It's the kind of game we need to be winning to help kickstart this run of home games we have but whether the team has any confidence left to do that is another story.

I expect Weatherson to be back in the side and, probably, Simmonds partnering him up front.

I'll, cautiously, go for a 2-1 win to our lot with a rare strike from McAlister with Weatherson sealing the points.

I'd give you 5/1 on McAlister even getting a shot on target, biggest waste of a jersey in the team. At least Simmonds tries despite being shite.
Goal scorers 2011/12
Andy Jackson, Peter MacDonald 12; Paul di Giacomo 8; David O'Brien 6; Peter Weatherson, Archie Campbell 5; Michael Tidser 2; Darren McGeouch 1

User is offline   Kitty_Boy 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:algem360 (XBL)

View PostSwampy, on 15 March 2010 - 11:20, said:

Aye, but, naw, there aren't.

James Grady's tactics
Donovan Simmons finishing
Seven defeats in nine
Eight goals at home
An Airdrie team with nothing to lose
Kenny Black's penguin dance*

...are all reasons why you shouldn't be winning by a significant margin.

Anyway, I'd deleted that post... :ph34r:

* :huh:

This post has been edited by Kitty_Boy: 15 March 2010 - 12:12

User is online   Swampy 

• Problem, Unionists?

View PostKitty_Boy, on 15 March 2010 - 12:11, said:

James Grady's tactics
Donovan Simmons finishing
Seven defeats in nine
Eight goals at home
An Airdrie team with nothing to loose
Kenny Black's penguin dance*

...are all reasons why you shouldn't be winning by a significant margin.

Anyway, I'd deleted that post... :ph34r:

* :huh:

Even hamstrung by most of the above we absolutely horsed Airdrie last time we played them (after a two goal head start, even!) and no matter our failings this time around I expect the same again.
shrim

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »