Hearts v Hibs Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Neiljb 

• Lucy Ewing's bit on the side.
  • Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostGalajambo, on 22 March 2010 - 10:55, said:

Not in my case its not mate, I actually didn't rate Csaba either last season, I totally hated the way he had us playing football, we were completely murder to watch and very very lucky to sneak into 3rd place in the league with god knows how many 1 goal wins. My optician was sick and tired of fixing my bleeding eyes and it was becoming an absolute chore to go along and suffer Csaba's style of play and tactics.

Big Jim is using the rest of this season to suss out which players he's going to be keeping and which players can leave, I think he's already got a fair idea of who stays and who goes etc, but for opposition fans to say that big Jim has been pish since he came back is utter nonsense, he's had nothing to work with due to having so many injuries and has actually done much better than I thought he would.

I'm actually looking forward to next season now, whereas I was dreading it under Csaba.

I totally echo what you say. I liked Csaba's interviews for their comic value, but that was it. His style of play was gut wrenching.
Posted Image

User is offline   vlad is the man 

• Blood Doesn't Show on a Maroon Jersey

View PostGalajambo, on 22 March 2010 - 10:55, said:

Not in my case its not mate, I actually didn't rate Csaba either last season, I totally hated the way he had us playing football, we were completely murder to watch and very very lucky to sneak into 3rd place in the league with god knows how many 1 goal wins. My optician was sick and tired of fixing my bleeding eyes and it was becoming an absolute chore to go along and suffer Csaba's style of play and tactics.

Big Jim is using the rest of this season to suss out which players he's going to be keeping and which players can leave, I think he's already got a fair idea of who stays and who goes etc, but for opposition fans to say that big Jim has been pish since he came back is utter nonsense, he's had nothing to work with due to having so many injuries and has actually done much better than I thought he would.

I'm actually looking forward to next season now, whereas I was dreading it under Csaba.

I understand a few fans didn't like him too much in the first season and even more so earlier in the season. But to say the majority never rated him from day one is a lie. Evidence. The number of times the fans, home and away, sung his name and praised him in the first season. Although less so earlier in the season.

I will wait until next season before fully judging whether it was a good move to bring JJ in. But early signs are that it was a very good move. Just a pity I don't think I will see as much of us as I have over the last six years as I am hoping to go back to play football.
Posted Image

"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."

User is offline   Neiljb 

View Postvlad is the man, on 22 March 2010 - 11:01, said:

I understand a few fans didn't like him too much in the first season and even more so earlier in the season. But to say the majority never rated him from day one is a lie. Evidence. The number of times the fans, home and away, sung his name and praised him in the first season. Although less so earlier in the season.

I will wait until next season before fully judging whether it was a good move to bring JJ in. But early signs are that it was a very good move. Just a pity I don't think I will see as much of us as I have over the last six years as I am hoping to go back to play football.

I think it would be true to say that a lot of Hearts fans wanted to believe in Csaba because of all the out of depth guys who preceded him. He did bring a level of success in finishing 3rd, but the manner of achieving that goal wasn't worth it for me. I want to win, but I want to have the odd entertaining game along the way. That hardly, if ever happened under Csaba. Maybe the home game against Zagreb, that was it.

This post has been edited by Neiljb: 22 March 2010 - 11:08

Posted Image

User is offline   vlad is the man 

• Blood Doesn't Show on a Maroon Jersey

View PostNeiljb, on 22 March 2010 - 11:07, said:

I think it would be true to say that a lot of Hearts fans wanted to believe in Csaba because of all the out of depth guys who preceded him. He did bring a level of success in finishing 3rd, but the manner of achieving that goal wasn't worth it for me. I want to win, but I want to have the odd entertaining game along the way. That hardly, if ever happened under Csaba. Maybe the home game against Zagreb, that was it.

I do think a lot of the praise for him was down to the fact that the fans were just delighted we had a proper manager making his own decisions. I will admit I hated most games mainly because they were so nervy. But in the short-term he got us results. The long-term. Well my heart is kind of glad we didn't have to find out.

Anyway all I was getting at was that it was a lie that the majority of fans didn't rate him when he first came in.
Posted Image

"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."

User is offline   The Hero of the Day 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Falkirk
Love the way McBride runs away crying to the ref when Jonsson destoyed him for the second goal. Hah I knew his quality would shine through when it came to big games.
"We believe in Eddie, we believe in Eddie na na na na"

User is offline   Happy Hibee 

• SPL Signing Target
  • Team:Hibernian

View PostThe Hero of the Day, on 22 March 2010 - 12:40, said:

Love the way McBride runs away crying to the ref when Jonsson destoyed him for the second goal. Hah I knew his quality would shine through when it came to big games.

Talking about big games, you got pumped on Saturday and are odds on fav's to go down.

I would get your own ship in order before worrying about former players playing for a top 6 side in a proper derby Posted Image

User is offline   Vanquinho. 

• First Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:Xbox: Vanquinho

View PostGalajambo, on 22 March 2010 - 10:46, said:

A very good post Vanquinho and I agree with most of it, especially the part where you state you have a decent squad of players but they just aren't being used in the proper manner.

Do you think Yogi is losing the dressing room? The reason I ask is because after Riordan scored on Saturday, his reaction towards his manager was unbelievable, and I also believe that Yogi and Hogg had a bust up the week before and this is why he wasn't playing, any truth in that?

Yogi has passion for Hibs in abundance, he just doesn't have a clue how to channel it in the proper manner imo.

I don't think Hughes has completely lost the dressing room but isn't far from it, I think his biggest problem is that he has a team full of people who only care when they're playing in easy games or maybe get motivated against Rantic so they can put themselves in the shop window.

In the last few games (and especially Ross County) it's looked to me that the only players who were bothered were Riordan, Nish and Murray, who incidentally are the Hibs fans in our squad.

It's not as if the team we have is unfixable, a few players just need a boot up the arse and it's Hughes' job to prove he can do this.

I'm not sure about the Hogg/Hughes bust-up but I do know that Hogg needed a spell on the bench because he is crap and is the majority contributor to the hoofball that we play, but you still don't change a familiar back 4 for a derby game.

I can't comment on the Riordan situation because I was just standing there looking a bit bewildered when he scored.

Falkirk were right about 2 things (so far), he chops and changes his starting 11 all the time which is infuriating, and he doesn't have the ability to change a game with the power of substitutions.

This post has been edited by Vanquinho.: 22 March 2010 - 14:46

The Harp
The Castle
The Ship

Never become complacent because of your accomplishments, never forget your history, always appreciate those who provided you with the good times.

User is online   the jambo-rocker 

• WOOOAAHHHAAAHAA!!
csaba will always have a special place in my heart. His football wasnt pretty at times and used what he had to the best of his ability. His results on the big occasions(bar the zagreb first leg)were brilliant at times.

I do agree though, that i'm also looking forward to next season under jeffries as we will have a few good attacking-minded young players in the team next season, not to mention a couple of the larger earners off the wage bill at last.
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50 http://myniftyfiftyt...troduction.html 0/50

View PostAd Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

User is offline   Galajambo 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostVanquinho., on 22 March 2010 - 14:45, said:

I don't think Hughes has completely lost the dressing room but isn't far from it, I think his biggest problem is that he has a team full of people who only care when they're playing in easy games or maybe get motivated against Rantic so they can put themselves in the shop window.

In the last few games (and especially Ross County) it's looked to me that the only players who were bothered were Riordan, Nish and Murray, who incidentally are the Hibs fans in our squad.

It's not as if the team we have is unfixable, a few players just need a boot up the arse and it's Hughes' job to prove he can do this.

I'm not sure about the Hogg/Hughes bust-up but I do know that Hogg needed a spell on the bench because he is crap and is the majority contributor to the hoofball that we play, but you still don't change a familiar back 4 for a derby game.

I can't comment on the Riordan situation because I was just standing there looking a bit bewildered when he scored.

Falkirk were right about 2 things (so far), he chops and changes his starting 11 all the time which is infuriating, and he doesn't have the ability to change a game with the power of substitutions.

Fair enough mate, you know a lot more about Hibs that I do in their current situation, it was just Riordans reaction that totally surprised me, and you could see Yogi giving him a really hard time about 15 mins into the second half.

A Hibs pal of mine stated that with players like Miller, Stokes, Murray etc, that Hibs are changing their signing policies into signing players who have been good at one point but weren't good enough to hack it at a higher level, instead of concentrating more on the youngsters and producing some very good players like you have in the past that are looking to go onto bigger things one day, I don't really see it like that to be honest but it would be interesting to know what the Hibs fans think of that.
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

User is offline   The Hero of the Day 

• SPL Superstar
  • Team:Falkirk

View PostHappy Hibee, on 22 March 2010 - 12:46, said:

Talking about big games, you got pumped on Saturday and are odds on fav's to go down.

I would get your own ship in order before worrying about former players playing for a top 6 side in a proper derby Posted Image

Since when is a 2-2 draw classed as a "pumping"? Oh aye Aberdeen pumped Dundee United this weekend with a 2-2 draw as well.

Our ship may well be sinking but it's always nice to see a former passenger (literally) away greetin like the little b*itch that he is.
"We believe in Eddie, we believe in Eddie na na na na"

View PostGalajambo, on 22 March 2010 - 16:19, said:

Fair enough mate, you know a lot more about Hibs that I do in their current situation, it was just Riordans reaction that totally surprised me, and you could see Yogi giving him a really hard time about 15 mins into the second half.

A Hibs pal of mine stated that with players like Miller, Stokes, Murray etc, that Hibs are changing their signing policies into signing players who have been good at one point but weren't good enough to hack it at a higher level, instead of concentrating more on the youngsters and producing some very good players like you have in the past that are looking to go onto bigger things one day, I don't really see it like that to be honest but it would be interesting to know what the Hibs fans think of that.

Hibs are still producing good young players, but despite promoting about 8 youngsters to the first team after last season's superb under 19's, they are getting less chances. This is because the board have now allowed the manager to spend more money on good proven SPL players such as Miller, Stokes, Murray and Riordan.

It was all over the Hibs boards that we all wanted Hibs to spend more money, and they are.

A few years ago some young players would pick Hibs over other SPL teams because they knew they would get their chance in the first team, but after Petrie's impeccable financial running of the club we don't have to rely on youngsters to win our games anymore.

But we still have good lads coming through, the most obvious being David Wotherspoon.
The Harp
The Castle
The Ship

Never become complacent because of your accomplishments, never forget your history, always appreciate those who provided you with the good times.

On another note I thought that the atmosphere was terrible, neither set of fans seemed like they could be arsed with it.

Obviously the home support managed a wee song at the goals but other than that it was eerily quiet for the vast majority of the game.
The Harp
The Castle
The Ship

User is offline   Falcor Roar 

• Third Division Sub

View PostVanquinho., on 22 March 2010 - 23:46, said:

On another note I thought that the atmosphere was terrible, neither set of fans seemed like they could be arsed with it.

Obviously the home support managed a wee song at the goals but other than that it was eerily quiet for the vast majority of the game.

Still a vast improvement on the last derby at Tynecastle.

Who's hotdog is this, is it yours?

User is offline   Neiljb 

View PostVanquinho., on 22 March 2010 - 23:46, said:

Two years of watching Hearts hang on to a one goal advantages inside our own box for 60 minutes and losing millions of injury time goals has severely dented the confidence of the Tynecastle support.
Posted Image

• (9 Pages) +
  • « First