Fife Derby double heider ken? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Dundee Par 

• First Division Superstar
  • Team:Dunfermline
Thought we did just enough for the win. After we got the 1st we looked dangerous but as I said to my mate at the time, if we don't take a chance here we'll regret it, and inevitably Rovers got back into the game. Well worked 2nd goal for us though just as I felt the match was heading for a draw. Good finish from Graham who I thought was a lot better yesterday than he was on Tuesday. Good to see.

On the referee's decisions, I think Simmons 1st was a booking, didn't really see the "dive" too well so can't comment, and a yellow was sufficient for Fleming.

User is offline   Dazzle 

• Carling King
  • Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:DARYLRAITH
To me it looks like a foul on Simmons and should have been a penalty not a booking.
John Baird 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 910 Goals already.

User is offline   Nocturnal Groove 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Ayr United

View PostMichael W, on 21 March 2010 - 17:31, said:

I wouldn't worry anyway. Even if we do get a few back, there's no doubt we'll suffer a couple of injuries on Tuesday to compensate.

No doubt about that, Morton are a rather dirty team
SPL - Killing Scottish Football Since 1998

User is offline   Paco 

• There's Only One.
Video on Rovers site. Simmons first booking, hard to say, doesn't look like he's caught Burke but it must be the angle as Burke was injured from the tackle - fair booking. There was definitely contact for the second booking, whether it's enough for a penalty is up for debate but I don't think it should be a yellow card for diving.

Tade was fucking murdered, to me it's a red card. You can't boot someone so high up at full force and only get a yellow card.

Fleming should've saved Tade's header, he really is an awful goalkeeper. McGurn's save was quite incredible.

User is offline   Raith Against The Machine 

• Ali-ali-all-an Walker
Looks like a dive to me. I think that the defender does stick a leg out and it's almost like he's kicking out at Simmons, but Simmons throws himself to the floor.

Fleming has to go - I understand that he's just going to clear the ball, but he has to be aware of his surroundings, and he's absolutely hammered Tadé. It's a very, very dangerous "tackle". The parallels with the Ramsay/Shawcross incident are easy to see. Both players going for the ball, but one's going in far too hard with less chance of winning the ball.

User is offline   Michael W 

• It's my fault
Watching the highlights just now on the Raith site. Simmons' first was worse than I thought at the time, although I'm not sure with the 'dive'. The guy did leave his foot up, and it's hard to tell if there was contact or if there wasn't. Terrible goalkeeping for our goal too, Fleming should have kept that out.

As for the challenge on Tadé - it's an awful challenge, but I'm not sure whether it merits a red card or not looking at that. It wasn't as high as I thought it was at the time. Red card might have been harsh.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   Dundee Par 

• First Division Superstar

View PostMichael W, on 21 March 2010 - 17:54, said:

Watching the highlights just now on the Raith site. Simmons' first was worse than I thought at the time, although I'm not sure with the 'dive'. The guy did leave his foot up, and it's hard to tell if there was contact or if there wasn't. Terrible goalkeeping for our goal too, Fleming should have kept that out.

As for the challenge on Tadé - it's an awful challenge, but I'm not sure whether it merits a red card or not looking at that. It wasn't as high as I thought it was at the time. Red card might have been harsh.

Having watched the highlights now, I pretty much agree with this.

Nowhere near the "knee high" challenge some would have you believe.

User is offline   Parscelona 

• Sólo que Mucho Mejor

View PostDazzle, on 21 March 2010 - 17:44, said:

To me it looks like a foul on Simmons and should have been a penalty not a booking.

You can't be serious! :lol:

Higgins has raised his leg in attempt to get the ball then when he realises Simmons will probably get their first he pulls out and Simmons throws himself to the ground at the first opportunity. If there was contact it was very minimal, stupid decision on Simmons behalf considering he was in trouble with the referee two minutes prior to the incident for taking out Burke.

User is offline   Michael W 

• It's my fault

View PostDundee Par, on 21 March 2010 - 18:10, said:

Having watched the highlights now, I pretty much agree with this.

Nowhere near the "knee high" challenge some would have you believe.

As always, real time viewings of events aren't entirely certain.

Some refs would have sent Fleming off for that, others (like the one we had) wouldn't. It could have went either way.

This post has been edited by Michael W: 21 March 2010 - 18:31

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   Robbo 

• First Division Signing Target
Penalty I don`t think so and the keeper deserved no more than what he got,a yellow card

Dunfermline have better individual players than us and are a better team collectively

Tin hat on

User is offline   John Macnab 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • Team:Other
Comparing the 2 games, the sending-off on Sat affected RR more than it did Dunfermline on Tue.

If Dunfermline had retained 11 men on Tue night they'd probably have won 2 or 3 nil and no difference to the division of points.

If Raith had retained 11 on Sat then I suspect we would have got a draw and earned an additional point.

User is offline   Paco 

• There's Only One.

View PostJohn Macnab, on 21 March 2010 - 19:03, said:

Comparing the 2 games, the sending-off on Sat affected RR more than it did Dunfermline on Tue.

If Dunfermline had retained 11 men on Tue night they'd probably have won 2 or 3 nil and no difference to the division of points.

If Raith had retained 11 on Sat then I suspect we would have got a draw and earned an additional point.

They aren't really comparable situations though, Dunfermline got a man sent off with a 1-0 lead while Simmons went at 0-0, and as we were the home side there was always goin to be that onus on us to try and take the game to Dunfermline anyway.

I think we used the man advantage better than Dunfermline did, but Dunfermline just have better attacking players like Gibson, Cardle and Graham who can make the difference. If we had even one of those last Tuesday I imagine we'd have got at least a draw.

User is offline   BIGQ FAE KDY 

• First Division Regular
defo a penalty when simmons was tackled also fleming should have been sent off when he assaulted tade. i saw him last night hobbling about so hes a doubt for tueday so how anyone can say he dived is deluded.as for the pars fans behaviour after the game outside the home end they are a fucking disgrace to society.RON you are a c**t also or at best a very poor wind up merchant and do you behave allegedly like that at cowden games.

This post has been edited by BIGQ FAE KDY: 21 March 2010 - 19:15

YOULL NEVER WALK ALONE
www.rocktherovers.yolasite.com
www.findstevencook.co.uk

User is offline   DAFC 

• Golden Shoe Winner
Simmons wasn't tackled.

:ph34r:

This post has been edited by DAFC: 21 March 2010 - 19:30

User is offline   Larbert_Par 

• He walks on water
Missed yesterday, was quite gutted, but another braw result.

Watched the highlights, good work by Graham for the opener and a cool finish for the winner, bad defending at the corner for Rovers' goal. That boy McGurn once again making 2 superb saves- very very good goalkeeper.

The incidents- going on the video, it looked like a dive by Simmons and Fleming's challenge was nothing like the career ending tackle Rovers fans are claiming. I actually thought Tade made a bit more out of it than there was. Foul and a booking- correct decision.
For we're the Pars, Dunfermline Athletic,
And now we are on song,
For we're the Pars, Dunfermline Athletic,
And we'll go marching on.

User is offline   parslad 

• Third Division Apprentice
[quote name='graeme_p' date='20 March 2010 - 22:05' timestamp='1269122735' post='4331294']
You have no idea how much I hope this ned was the c*nt with the Stone Island jacket I knocked spark out on Pratt Street, with 6 of his mates shit scared to get involved. 6ft of pure shitebag.

Of course you did.

User is online   Islay 

• Third Division Regular
Any updates from Rovers on the mission to recover Tade from the moon?

User is offline   Jimmy85 

• Why would he?

View PostBIGQ FAE KDY, on 21 March 2010 - 19:12, said:

defo a penalty when simmons was tackled also fleming should have been sent off when he assaulted tade. i saw him last night hobbling about so hes a doubt for tueday so how anyone can say he dived is deluded.as for the pars fans behaviour after the game outside the home end they are a fucking disgrace to society.RON you are a c**t also or at best a very poor wind up merchant and do you behave allegedly like that at cowden games.

Fuck sake. At least attempt to make sense.

I realise it's tough losing to your biggest rivals twice in a week but please dry your eyes before you type.

SaltyTON, on 04 January 2012 - 00:25, said:

View PostSaltyTON, on 04 January 2012 - 00:25, said:

To be fair, he was Lithuanian. Even being black is preferable to that!

User is offline   NorthWestStand 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Very happy to win both games, of course and what a fantastic set of results meaning that maybe, just maybe ....

Not sure / not expecting us to actually do it, but just to be in the mix is fantastic, especially after some of our "fans" saying the season was over when we lost undeservedly at Dens in January. The only problem about it right now is that we don't have a points gap over Queens or County and they both have 3 games in hand so I can't really get too excited about it until the others have played the outstanding matches and we all see where we are properly. What I will say tho, is that it's fantastic to be right back behind Dundee and lets hope a change of manager doesn't alter their fortunes too much!!

Something I noticed yesterday was the difference between them playing 10 men on Tuesday when they pummelled us for most of the second half and us yesterday when apart from the 5 - 10 mins around the opening goal and that blinding save, it was much more even. Disappointed with that tbh but we ended up with the 3 points so no big deal. Maybe something to work on, but that's just nit-picking really.

Thought both our goals were tremendous and that save was just sublime. Best I have seen live I think, certainly this season/for a while anyway as I cannot think of one to better it right now.

As for the incidents - I called them both wrong. My first instinct was that it was a penalty and I thought Fleming was lucky to stay on. Having said that, I was level with the Fleming / Tade incident, albeit at the other end of the ground and it did look to me that he went in to clear the ball and mistimed it. Tade needs to cut out the rolling about, platoon style if he doesn't want to be labelled a cheat. He did himself no credit at all with that.

Overall tho, I think some refs would have given the penalty, some wouldn't have booked Simmons and some would have. Same with Fleming in that some would flash a red and some wouldn't - I think the intent is the key thing with that one - as I say, it really didn't look like he went out to purposely bairn the guy. It makes a (nice) change that both decisions went in our favour.

I think the ref was very inconsistant yesterday - he let go a push on Graham first half but gave Rovers a free kick for the same thing just a few minutes later, for example and also the laughable is it a corner or not thing!

It's interesting that the Rovers fans are mentioning their injuries, and with sympathy for it possibly costing them some results, we have them too!! In particular we have lost BOTH our first choice strikers, one for a huge chunk of the season and indeed all of our wide players at one time or another so it's definately not just you that has had to contend with that this season. I dont actually think we have a player who has not been out at one time or another.

I didn't realise until I spoke to a Rovers fan in the pub after that they are so close to the bottom, but I guess with Airdrie, and especially, Ayr picking up points recently that's understandable. I really hope they pull themselves out of it tho - it's been good fun to play each other again after such a long absence and I would love us to pick up the battle again next year (if we dont go up!). I also want rid of Airdrie once and for all given they have been relegated twice but have never gone down due to gretna then Livvy's misfortunes.

For us tho - onwards and upwards and if we can stay unbeaten in the next 4 games, (PT, QOS, Dundee then County) you just never know what might happen.

Mon the Pars!!
Mon the PARS!!!

User is offline   BalhamPar 

• Third Division Apprentice
GREG FLEMING - AN APOLOGY
Copyright all Raith Rovers fans

You may have heard us ranting about Greg Fleming's challenge on Gregory Tade on Saturday. Comments such as "horrendous", "a shocking assault", and "absolute animal" may have implied that the Dunfermline keeper charged out of his goal, studs showing, eyes popping out of his head, breathing fire while screaming obscenities about Tade's maw, before laughing demonically as he smashed Tade's kneecap over the Railway Stand and on to the tracks with the kind of challenge that would make Roy Keane wince.

We now realise upon viewing the video replay that Fleming is just a bit of a doughnut who couldn't decide whether to come for the ball, but in eventually doing so went to kick it as you normally would. This hesitation meant Tade was able to get to there a split second earlier and unfortunately collected Fleming's attempted clearance as a result.

We apologise for any confusion.

User is offline   Rovers_Lad 

• First Division Signing Target

View Postron_, on 22 March 2010 - 00:34, said:

you re a bitter "c**t" quinny
the big team beat the wee team,simples

Another delusional twat

Who are you supporting next week?Cowdenbeath or your real team,the ****?

User is offline   Andy C 

The tremendous save that McGurn made probably wouldn't even make the top 3 of the best saves I've seen him make!

He's simply unbelievable at times.

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711
There have been many a time this season where I sit there with my mouth open and just say: "I love Big Dave". The guy makes frankly outrageous saves which he has no right to get too. Very often these are shots he doesn't see until late and throws up a hand to palm it away despite it being a powerful shot. Turely has been a pleasure having a player like him at Starks.
Death or glory

User is offline   Yankee_Dollar 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postron_, on 21 March 2010 - 14:15, said:

that tade is a w@nker
was he not the cvnt who played the race card against a fellow profesional,how can you support a team with that cvnt in it

How can you support a club that supported bigotry for over a hundred years and fans that continue singing songs about shafting the pope?

FUDPosted Image

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711

View PostNorthWestStand, on 22 March 2010 - 02:03, said:

It's interesting that the Rovers fans are mentioning their injuries, and with sympathy for it possibly costing them some results, we have them too!! In particular we have lost BOTH our first choice strikers, one for a huge chunk of the season and indeed all of our wide players at one time or another so it's definately not just you that has had to contend with that this season. I dont actually think we have a player who has not been out at one time or another.

We lost our captain Iain Davidson in october with ligament damage I think it was. The same game we lost Laurie Ellis for two months. Davo was on the verge of getting back to full fitness then broke his foot in training and now looks doubtful to play against this season. We then lost our stand in captain in a car-crash, our right back with a broken arm (He'd missed 2 games prior to this in the last three years), Johnny Russell with a strained ligament, Dougie Hill with a lot of niggling injuries, Iain Williamson has only recently got back from 2 months on the sideline and now Thierry Gatheussi and David Armstong both have injuries too. There is getting several injuries and then there is taking the piss.

Just got to get our heads down and get on with things. We've still looked decent without the injuries and if we can continue to pull off the results like we did against County and Dundee we can hopefully find some form. Sadly our record against the bottom 3 is shocking, though form is temporary of course.
Death or glory

• (15 Pages) +
  • « First