Fife Derby double heider ken? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   cheesefiddler 

• First Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Dunfermline
I could not really have asked for a better day.

Get in to the ground and we start singing at 2:25 right up till after the game.

Terrible start to the game, not much happened in any way, but Stephen Simmons, getting sent off, for diving, right in front of the pars fans. Bliss Posted Image

When Mason fired us ahead we started to dominate, it just looked like a matter of time before we got our second. Then McGurn pulled off the greatest save i have EVER seen.

Rovers equalised and for about 10-15 minutes i thought we were actually going to go behind, but we held firm, got our feet back on the ground and started to pile on the pressure. Great ball by McDougall to Graham but looked like quite shoddy defending, then had a moment of "Yes he's going to score!!" and "What if he misses?!" Slots it in, Pars fans go mental, reminds me so much of November.

Absolutely brilliant day. We win, Dundee get smashed off of Airdrie, Queens lose, Ross County and Inverness draw, Scott gets sacked couldn't have picked better results today.

Bring on Tuesday and C'mon ye pars!!!

P.S. I had a wee chuchkle at the Rovers whineing about being cheated. If you were good enough you would have won, stop moaning and get on with yopur relegation battle and good luck in the cup.
If penguins could run, they'd run like Joe Cardle.

"Dunfermline showed the standard that we must aspire to" - Steven Pressley, F****** Manager

User is online   graeme_p 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Raith Rovers

View Postron_, on 20 March 2010 - 17:53, said:

great result last minute winner
big tam headbutted a steward on the way out and the rest of us piled into the speccy wee twat
quick change and back out to celebrate

You have no idea how much I hope this ned was the c*nt with the Stone Island jacket I knocked spark out on Pratt Street, with 6 of his mates shit scared to get involved. 6ft of pure shitebag.

I don't give a f**k what team you support but don't assualt a disabled kid and think your a hard man.

User is offline   Jimmy85 

• Why would he?

View Postgraeme_p, on 20 March 2010 - 22:05, said:

You have no idea how much I hope this ned was the c*nt with the Stone Island jacket I knocked spark out on Pratt Street, with 6 of his mates shit scared to get involved. 6ft of pure shitebag.

I don't give a f**k what team you support but don't assualt a disabled kid and think your a hard man.

I'm sure that happened.

Tenpot, on 19 April 2012 - 01:47, said:

I hope you die in your sleep you fucking p***k

User is offline   John Macnab 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Other
Over the course of the season the "big" team have won 4 fixtures against us and the current league table exposes the difference.

After the high of last Saturday at Dens I found it a real struggle to get motivated for Tuesday night (pretty much like the team in the first half) and today was a big disappointment - but the overall performance was much better, so some encouragement there.

The Simmons exit was a big factor today - I doubt the video evidence will show clearly what happened at the diving/penalty incident. If the sending off was justified I'll be annoyed as his exit has probably cost us a point. (As an aside I can never understand why fans applaud their player as he's sent off - "clap, clap, clap, well done, we've only got to compete with 10 men, clap, clap, clap")

I think most Rovers fans will accept that Dunfermline have one of the best squads in the league - but somehow the talents don't seem to have really worked. I suspect this run is too late. What took them so long?

This cup run has been a double-edged sword - great fun, but providing us with more injuries and fixture congestion for the critical run-in.

There is now the prospect of being sucked into a relegation battle, but even if we were to go down, from a strategic point of view the season has been a success with a massive, massive reduction in our debt. If someone had offered me that at the beginning of the season, I think I would have accepted it. Maybe hard to bear thinking about, but a club with little debt has a better chance of long-term sustainability.

View Postgraeme_p, on 20 March 2010 - 22:05, said:

Do you believe in Valhalla? Because from what the Raith fans say after every time we play you, pars fans are all a bunch of vikings who, every time they visit Kirkcaldy, pillage houses, attack women, children and disabled and lay seige to street after street.

"Dunfermline showed the standard that we must aspire to" - Steven Pressley, F****** Manager

User is offline   honeyboy edwards 

• Third Division Sub

View PostJimmy85, on 20 March 2010 - 22:10, said:

I'm sure that happened.

Dont know if that happened but I did see a Rovers fan wallop one of the Pars 'crew' at the bottom of the steps at the home end. Looked as if he'll have a bit of a sore face tonight, and probably a bit of an embarassed look after getting decked by a bloke with a Rovers top on.

Never seem much bother at Starks Park for years, but when the Pars come to town a percentage of their support seem to want to caused trouble.
NEVER BUY FROM ARNOLD CLARK

User is offline   honeyboy edwards 

• Third Division Sub

View PostJimmy85, on 20 March 2010 - 22:10, said:

I'm sure that happened.

Dont know if that happened but I did see a Rovers fan wallop one of the Pars 'crew' at the bottom of the steps at the home end. Looked as if he'll have a bit of a sore face tonight, and probably a bit of an embarassed look after getting decked by a bloke with a Rovers top on.

Never seem much bother at Starks Park for years, but when the Pars come to town a percentage of their support seem to want to caused trouble.
NEVER BUY FROM ARNOLD CLARK

User is offline   gingapar 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Simmons must've been feeling helluva guilty about his lazy b*****dry in Pars colours to have worked so hard to gift us six points in a week, thank you that man!

The dive was a simple case of an idiot trying to be clever and getting caught out because of it. He, flicked it through the two defenders then decided to throw himself to ground between the two in the hope that one of them would stick out a leg, they didn't and so he had to go, yes, it's not always the case of penalty or a booking, but that was blatant dive and a booking anywhere on the park, idiot.

McGlynn's greetin face about "using common sense" and "spoiling a good derby", what a lot of nonsense. Sorry if your players getting booked is not to your liking, but maybe you should stop them flying into clumsy challenges and diving if you really don't like it. Simmons first booking was as bad as "that" challenge from Fleming, late, clumsy efforts to play the ball, here's your booking boys, job done.

good goals from the pars again and credit to the Rover's for clawing it level for a spell, contrary to the Weeble's comments, the game only became a 'good derby' after the red card as both teams started to work hard for chances.

Last word goes to McGurn for what seemed like the best save i've ever seen. he clearly fancied taking the glory home for himself too, when he went through Williamson after the final whistle for taking the quick (wasted) corner before he could make it as far as the box.

User is offline   Grant228 

• Person.
  • Gamertag:PSN: Gparsfan2
Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image

Fking man up...puff
Aye, Good luck in life.

User is offline   John Macnab 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Other
You're not really understanding the comment are you Cheesfiddler?
Graeme_P identifies 7 individuals - that hardly constitutes "pars fans are all a bunch of ..."

User is online   p&b is a disgrace 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postgingapar, on 20 March 2010 - 22:55, said:

good goals from the pars again and credit to the Rover's for clawing it level for a spell, contrary to the Weeble's comments, the game only became a 'good derby' after the red card as both teams started to work hard for chances.

Agreed. You needed the man advantage to be on our level.
“They stole taxpayers’ money, violating the rules of honest competition between the clubs. And for that were not even stripped of second place in the league table.

• Why would he?
Attached File  MP_v_Dunfermline_200310_Tade_Fleming.jpg (145.19K)
Number of downloads: 8jpg]

Eyes on the ball. Tade just got a toe on it a nicked it away from Fleming.

User is offline   brokevilleaggro 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Falkirk
big crowd the day..............fifes finest
no one likes us, we don't care

User is offline   gingapar 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postp&b is a disgrace, on 20 March 2010 - 23:03, said:

Agreed. You needed the man advantage to be on our level.

at that point in the game, it was looking like going that way, was the opposite of the game on Tuesday, the Rover's were out of the traps much quicker today and we were struggling to get any sort of foot hold in the game. Difference was that extra bit of quality that first allowed us to hang on with ten men on Tuesday when the Rover's creating chances but didn't threaten the goal nearly enough, and then go on to make the extra man count today with only two top class saves preventing a 1-4 scoreline.

overall, six points well disserved without ever being at our best.

User is offline   Socks 

• Third Division Reserve
For the first time in maybe 3 years, I felt a bit of that nervous buzz before a game that I used to get pretty much every week. Beating the Rovers pleases me, and so thankfully there was a bit of that great feeling I used to get after a good win today as well. Overall I think we deserved to win, as, like Tuesday, I don't remeber Fleming having a proper save to mke. Well taken goal from Mason coming after an excellent initial ball in from the right, although I thought McGurn should have done better as it seemed to go under him and pretty much into the middle of the goal. He may hve been unsighted though, I don't know. Disappointing goal for us to lose, completely against the run of play at a time we were well on top and playing the only nice football seen in the game. Not a huge surprise to lose a goal from a corner though given our general pishness at them, and the fact we lost every non midget player we had through injury in the first half. Very well taken winner. He knew he had players closing in on him, but saw where to go so as to stay in spce to get his shot away, and he took it nicely.

As for Simmons, I thought his first booking was the correct decision. Not sure about his second, but those around me thought it was a dive and as other folk hve mentioned, the Raith players' reactions didn't suggest any great injustice. I've exchanged some pleasant (aye!) text messages with a Rovers supporting pal since full time, where it could be said that our views of Fleming's tackle on Tade differed somewhat. It was never a clear goalscoring opportunity so a sending off for that can easily be ruled out. Serious foul play? I didn't think so at the time and I still don't having seen the video on youtube. He missed the ball and caught the player but I don't think it should hve been counted as serious foul play. A booking was all I expected.

For the Rovers fans greeting so strongly about the referee - would you still be complaining if it wasn't for that decision? My pal's garbled rant by text also seemed to suggest that McCann might have gone when he was booked, which would obviously have been ridiculous. I was ranting plenty at the ref today as well with plenty of innocuous fouls given against us early in the game around our box. I honestly felt we got as much given against as as went our way.

Finally, there has to be another mention of McGurn's save. Without doubt it is one of the best 3 saves I've ever seen live, it might even be the best. I really couldn't believe he managed to react in time to tip it over - genuinely brilliant save.

• Why would he?

View Postbrokevilleaggro, on 20 March 2010 - 23:23, said:

big crowd the day..............fifes finest

SPL

Hamilton 2-2 Falkirk

Att: 2,461

User is offline   brokevilleaggro 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostJimmy85, on 20 March 2010 - 23:31, said:

SPL

Hamilton 2-2 Falkirk

Att: 2,461

round about the crowd either fife1 or fife2 would have got had'nt it been a derby, two poor teams believing the hype, did yous have a sleep-over after the game?
no one likes us, we don't care

User is offline   pantene proV 

• First Division Regular

View Postgingapar, on 20 March 2010 - 22:55, said:

Simmons must've been feeling helluva guilty about his lazy b*****dry in Pars colours to have worked so hard to gift us six points in a week, thank you that man!

The dive was a simple case of an idiot trying to be clever and getting caught out because of it. He, flicked it through the two defenders then decided to throw himself to ground between the two in the hope that one of them would stick out a leg, they didn't and so he had to go, yes, it's not always the case of penalty or a booking, but that was blatant dive and a booking anywhere on the park, idiot.

McGlynn's greetin face about "using common sense" and "spoiling a good derby", what a lot of nonsense. Sorry if your players getting booked is not to your liking, but maybe you should stop them flying into clumsy challenges and diving if you really don't like it. Simmons first booking was as bad as "that" challenge from Fleming, late, clumsy efforts to play the ball, here's your booking boys, job done.

Last word goes to McGurn for what seemed like the best save i've ever seen. he clearly fancied taking the glory home for himself too, when he went through Williamson after the final whistle for taking the quick (wasted) corner before he could make it as far as the box.

Have to agree with that. Whilst i'm not sure if he dived or not, what I AM sure about is Simmons tendency to have brainfreezes from time to time - especially when already on a booking. Also on McGurn, no wonder he was raging at the end. A quickly-taken (and rather predictably, fucking shite) corner instead of an inswinging one towards the penalty spot with the keeper up?! Criminal! Still, thank f**k he's stayed injury-free this season or we might have been closer to 10th than we are at present.

I posted a few days ago about Dunfermline not being capable of winning the title and although I stand by that, i've been impressed with their effort in winning the last 2 derbies - not by pretty football but by commitment to the cause. If they keep that up then maybe, just maybe.

Us? Well the next 2 games are our real cup finals and every effort must be given to winning these.

How many fit players we have will be the determining factor.

This post has been edited by pantene proV: 21 March 2010 - 00:07

ALLY McCOIST = SCUMBAG

User is offline   Paco 

• ARGENTINA

View PostSocks, on 20 March 2010 - 23:30, said:

For the Rovers fans greeting so strongly about the referee - would you still be complaining if it wasn't for that decision? My pal's garbled rant by text also seemed to suggest that McCann might have gone when he was booked, which would obviously have been ridiculous. I was ranting plenty at the ref today as well with plenty of innocuous fouls given against us early in the game around our box. I honestly felt we got as much given against as as went our way.

I most certainly would, he was clueless. Summed up by giving Dunfermline a corner in the first half to general bewilderment of everyone, before sensing the reaction of the players and crowd and changing his mind. Buffoon. The McCann incident was a booking and no more, but I can see why you could make a case for a red, it wasn't your average haul the shirt of the winger incident, more a case of gauge his eyes out. Tade took an elbow early on in the second half just outside the Dunfermline box, which the referee certainly saw, but took no action. Walker was booked for an identical foul to the one commited by a Pars player mere seconds earlier. I could go on.

Probably the worst we've had this season, even ignoring any Simmons/Fleming incidents. Huge contrast to the ref from Tuesday night who was probably the best I've seen.

But then of course I'm biased.

This post has been edited by Paco: 21 March 2010 - 00:10

User is offline   Michael W 

• Superkeeper
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Postpantene proV, on 21 March 2010 - 00:06, said:

How many fit players we have will be the determining factor.

I make it that we've got 10 players out. That's assuming Tadé and Armstrong join the injury list, with no-one recovering in time. Simmons is obviously suspended, probably for 2 or 3 games.

We're fucked.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

View Postbrokevilleaggro, on 20 March 2010 - 23:45, said:

round about the crowd either fife1 or fife2 would have got had'nt it been a derby, two poor teams believing the hype, did yous have a sleep-over after the game?

Are you just trying to warn everyone on this board that your a tool, so that they can ignore you for next season?

User is online   Dazzle 

• Carling King
  • Gamertag:dk mrbrightside
10 players out? I was thinking of going through to Greenock but i'm actually scared of the result. Christ if I brought my boots I might get a game.
John Baird 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Goals already.

User is offline   Michael W 

• Superkeeper
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostDazzle, on 21 March 2010 - 00:35, said:

10 players out? I was thinking of going through to Greenock but i'm actually scared of the result. Christ if I brought my boots I might get a game.

That's my pessimistic estimate.

Unfortunately, the most optimistic I can come up with is 7 players out. That'll also no doubt involve Dougie Hill pulling up again, though.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   Socks 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostPaco, on 21 March 2010 - 00:08, said:

I most certainly would, he was clueless. Summed up by giving Dunfermline a corner in the first half to general bewilderment of everyone, before sensing the reaction of the players and crowd and changing his mind. Buffoon. The McCann incident was a booking and no more, but I can see why you could make a case for a red, it wasn't your average haul the shirt of the winger incident, more a case of gauge his eyes out. Tade took an elbow early on in the second half just outside the Dunfermline box, which the referee certainly saw, but took no action. Walker was booked for an identical foul to the one commited by a Pars player mere seconds earlier. I could go on.

Probably the worst we've had this season, even ignoring any Simmons/Fleming incidents. Huge contrast to the ref from Tuesday night who was probably the best I've seen.

But then of course I'm biased.

As we all are. I suppose it's probably just hte way that when the majority of the wee things go in your favour you don't notice the referee being bad, but when he gives most of it against you, it gets really annoying. I didn't think Somers was terrible on Tuesday but I certainly didn't think he was excellent, with Tade in particular getting away with a huge number of niggly fouls. Although he got the sending off right which very few disputed, I do think you got the majority of the wee things in your favour in midweek. Similarly last Saturday I thought the ref had a decent gme for most of it, while the QOS fans disagreed - we did get the majority of the wee things that day though.

I thought the referee got a few things wrong today, both ways, but got the main stuff right. Somers on Tuesday probably was slightly better, but I don't think there was that much in it.

User is online   Dazzle 

• Carling King
  • Gamertag:dk mrbrightside

View PostMichael W, on 21 March 2010 - 00:37, said:

That's my pessimistic estimate.

Unfortunately, the most optimistic I can come up with is 7 players out. That'll also no doubt involve Dougie Hill pulling up again, though.

Who do you see being fit out of the ten though, Hill, Tade and?
John Baird 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Goals already.

• (15 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »