Who'll get 6th place?
Rate Topic:

Posted 22 March 2010 - 12:12
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Dundee Utd
JAM TARTS
"Dundee United's fans arguably the best in Scottish football: good-humoured, fun, love their team."
My Twitter
My Twitter
Posted 22 March 2010 - 13:18
- My Team:Falkirk
Is it still possible for the Jambos & Saintees to push the Hibs into 7th?
3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.
& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!
Posted 22 March 2010 - 14:07
- My Team:Heart of Midlothian
kiddy, on 22 March 2010 - 13:18, said:
Is it still possible for the Jambos & Saintees to push the Hibs into 7th?

1000 to 1 chance.
St Johnstone have to win all their 5 games and Hibs only manage one draw from their 4 games. 2 draws would leave a difficult goal difference to overcome.
Posted 22 March 2010 - 15:37
Another positive about finishing in the top 6 is that we only have to go out of Edinburgh once after the split.
We should have Celtic, Dundee United and Motherwell at home. While we go away to Hibs and Rangers.
"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."
Posted 22 March 2010 - 15:40
- Euro 2012:England
Posted 22 March 2010 - 17:06
vlad is the man, on 22 March 2010 - 15:37, said:
Another positive about finishing in the top 6 is that we only have to go out of Edinburgh once after the split.
I don't think that would happen, the 6th placed team always gets screwed with uneven fixtures in order to make sure there is a balance further up the league. It could happen but would depend on circumstances.
Posted 22 March 2010 - 20:10
Neiljb, on 22 March 2010 - 17:06, said:
I don't think that would happen, the 6th placed team always gets screwed with uneven fixtures in order to make sure there is a balance further up the league. It could happen but would depend on circumstances.
Well we should have 3 home games and two away. However as you have mentioned if we have little to play for it'll be us that gets moved around so those further up get their designated games.
If we had a 24 team league and summer football that wouldn't happen.
"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."
Posted 24 March 2010 - 07:07
I think the Top 6 is now settled TBH. The 1-1 at Perth last night means that Utd and 'Well are now "officially" in the Top 6. Hapless Hibs are all but there and it would take a bizarre set of results for them to be caught. Hearts are still catchable, but St Johnstone's fixtures to the split are tough enough that they won't outperform hearts by 5 points and a couple of goals IMO.
Not to patronise Saintees - but if they do finish 7th, then that is a great achievement in their first season back and as I said in our recent match thread - they have been a great addition to the SPL.
"How much did you spend in the Club Shop last Christmas?" - Craig Brown.
Posted 24 March 2010 - 13:11
- My Team:St.Johnstone
Swello, on 24 March 2010 - 07:07, said:
Job done as far as i'm concerned. I genuinely didn't know how we would cope at the start of the season so i'm very happy with where we are and we always ran the risk of ending up in no-mans land come the split so i'm not too disappointed with it.
Priorities now turn to next season I suppose and looking at what our problems have been this year. It's fairly evident where they are.
Good chance for some of our squad players to throw in a performance between now and the season end, a number will be out on their arse though.
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator
Posted 24 March 2010 - 18:52
- Euro 2012:Germany
Yep, too much for us to do now. we would need a couple more surprising results.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 08:13
Posted 31 March 2010 - 08:32
the jambo-rocker, on 31 March 2010 - 08:13, said:
Ah baws 
Why am i only right when i dont want to be?
Probably because we have a habit of making things extremely difficult for ourselves, its written throughout our history!
We only need to win our next two games to bag a top 6 finish though, simple right?
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!
For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.
It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.
For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.
It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 08:48
Galajambo, on 31 March 2010 - 08:32, said:
Probably because we have a habit of making things extremely difficult for ourselves, its written throughout our history! 
We only need to win our next two games to bag a top 6 finish though, simple right?
Aye, piece of piss
In all fairness, if saints do pip us, they would deserve it alot more than we would this season imo.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 09:54
Saints will have to win both games and even then it may not be enough. I reckon we'll get at least 4 points from the next two games.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 11:09
vlad is the man, on 31 March 2010 - 09:54, said:
Saints will have to win both games and even then it may not be enough. I reckon we'll get at least 4 points from the next two games.
If we won both games and missed out I wouldn't be gutted, it would give us a good platform for the finish of the season.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 15:28
I'm not too fussed wether we actually get 6th place, it would be a great bonus but whatever happens its been a great season.
"A clubs history is not validated by whether you have won trophies or not!!ask any true fan of a club who hasn't won things!! Gloryhunters..." Jody Morris
Posted 31 March 2010 - 16:38
Three reasons why we need to finish in the top 6:
1. I don't want to have to watch games against 5 pish(er) teams.
2. Playing against 5 stronger teams will give JJ a better gauge on who to keep and who to get rid off.
3. JJ has said that finishing in the bottom six could affect his budget. Realistically I don't think it would affect it too much.
1. I don't want to have to watch games against 5 pish(er) teams.
2. Playing against 5 stronger teams will give JJ a better gauge on who to keep and who to get rid off.
3. JJ has said that finishing in the bottom six could affect his budget. Realistically I don't think it would affect it too much.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 18:33
- Euro 2012:Germany
I doubt we'll get it although I do wonder what advantage both our games being after Hearts will be.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 18:38
Get them fired up for the games, Utd if they beat Hibs, might have a slight relaxed atmosphere about them and complacency may set in.
Aberdeen, will have nothing to play for by then, but may want to prove doubters.
I can wish, but realistically I think not.
Aberdeen, will have nothing to play for by then, but may want to prove doubters.
I can wish, but realistically I think not.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 19:49
I think we would be more likely to beat the Dons than United but I doubt either of them present a sense of dread to the team.
Hearts are up against it despite being favourites.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 23:43
Fife Saint, on 31 March 2010 - 19:49, said:
I would say you were up against it rather than us.
Posted 31 March 2010 - 23:58
vlad is the man, on 31 March 2010 - 23:43, said:
I would say you were up against it rather than us.
We're less shite than you. That means you're up against it.
Posted 01 April 2010 - 00:32
Fife Saint, on 31 March 2010 - 23:58, said:
We're less shite than you. That means you're up against it.
Against St Mirren and Kilmarnock compared to Dundee United and Aberdeen? We'll get at least 4 points. Can't see Saints getting six.
Posted 01 April 2010 - 10:42
- My Team:Motherwell
- Euro 2012:France
Personally I hope Hearts make the top 6.
St Johnstone are a good team who've caused us problems whereas Hearts are dire cloggers, but could still take points off Hibs in the derby.
I know St Johnstone pumped Hibs like Hearts could only dream about but I can't see that happeneing again this season anyway.
So from a Well point of view, an easier game for us against Hearts and probably more chance of Hearts taking something off Hibs in their "cup final" to deny Hibs a Europa spot.
If St Johnstone do make it though, I think they'll bring more to the top six than either Edinburgh club.
St Johnstone are a good team who've caused us problems whereas Hearts are dire cloggers, but could still take points off Hibs in the derby.
I know St Johnstone pumped Hibs like Hearts could only dream about but I can't see that happeneing again this season anyway.
So from a Well point of view, an easier game for us against Hearts and probably more chance of Hearts taking something off Hibs in their "cup final" to deny Hibs a Europa spot.
If St Johnstone do make it though, I think they'll bring more to the top six than either Edinburgh club.
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL
#ChampionsLeagueWhenRangersDie
Posted 01 April 2010 - 18:14
deky, on 01 April 2010 - 10:42, said:
Personally I hope Hearts make the top 6.
We are due to play you at home so I don't think a win is a certainty for you. In fact it's not very likely.
Delete Post
Delete From Topic
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 24 2012 19:39
Skin by IPBForumSkins
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd