Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: St.Johnstone 1-0 Aberdeen 16/3/10 - The Pie Shop

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »

St.Johnstone 1-0 Aberdeen 16/3/10 Can Saints open up a gap?? Oh yes we can Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   The ghost of Jim Morton 

• Pipe smoker of the year 1987
  • Team:St.Johnstone
Games continue thick and fast and next up is Aberdeen at McD. Having gone ahead of them after todays result, this game presents an excellent opportunity to extend that gap to four points and also close the gap on 6th place Hearts.. So a big big game for both sides. I thought we were unlucky to lose the first game in Aberdeen earlier and believe the 3 points are there for the taking if we apply ourselves and Aberdeens shite form continues.. Of course, form often goes out the window for no reason so I aint taking anything for granted..

Team wise, I would drop Millar to the bench and start with Morais, Muzz, Morris and Craig in midfield and if Sammy is fit, start him in place of Savo.. Keep the back four the same.. As for Smithy, I would continue with him but someone has to get it through his thick skull that he is the keeper not the sweeper and tell him in no uncertain terms to cease and desist from going fucking walkabout..

I can't imagine the Dons will bring anything like a decent support, ( by their usual standard..Which is a shamePosted Image ) and should they start poorly, the fans who do attend may well turn on them quickly.. If this does happen, we need to take advantage of this as the players heads will go down quickly..

Can't see us keeping a clean sheet either so I am going with 2-1 Saints..

This post has been edited by The ghost of Jim Morton: 16 March 2010 - 22:28

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant
I think this game has a draw written all over it.

Aberdeen are too quick for on the wings and up top, and I think our full backs and wingers will really struggle with them. I think we've got enough going forward though to at least grab a goal.

I'd like to see us bring in Sheridan for Milne, and possibly Mooner for Morris, but would leave the rest of the team the same (even Smith after that terrible mistake and Millar who has been poor for a while now :rolleyes:)

1-1 draw.

This post has been edited by Kyle: 13 March 2010 - 19:57

User is offline   Drunken Hobo 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Dundee Utd

View PostThe ghost of Jim Morton, on 13 March 2010 - 19:50, said:

Having gone ahead of them after todays result...

I had not realised that. Much lolage.

View PostKyle, on 13 March 2010 - 19:56, said:

possibly Mooner for Morris

Moon will tear their midfield a new arsehole.
Edson Braafheid... in the World Cup final!?

I give up. What's the table tennis equivalent of Pie & Bovril?

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

View PostDrunken Hobo, on 13 March 2010 - 19:59, said:

I had not realised that. Much lolage.

Moon will tear their midfield a new arsehole.

You're not the first person I've heard saying something very similar.

He's done really well for us, but I thought it was Davidson who was highly rated outwith the Saints support?

User is offline   Old Pack 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Another 3 points on Tuesday and keep the pressure on a pish poor Hearts outfit, how they are where they are in the league beats me, one of the worst teams ive seen all season.

User is offline   FrugalNory 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Scotland
  • Gamertag:frugalnory
Aberdeen are due a result at some point. Lets hope it's no against us.

Can see us picking up all 3 points here but going to go for an Aberdeen victory as whatever I suggest the complete opposite usually happens. COYS.
Posted ImagePosted Image

We find the cheapest games for you @ http://www.frugalgaming.co.uk

User is offline   StandFree03 

• I'm good like that
  • Team:Aberdeen
  • Gamertag:StandFree03
Couldn't care less what the score is, if I'm honest. Can't wait for next season!

User is offline   The ghost of Jim Morton 

• Pipe smoker of the year 1987

View PostStandFree03, on 13 March 2010 - 21:07, said:

Couldn't care less what the score is, if I'm honest. Can't wait for next season!

With Mutley still in charge will it be any better than this one?? I think not..

User is offline   SaintSam 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostStandFree03, on 13 March 2010 - 21:07, said:

Do you still believe it's all going to happen for Aberdeen next season?

I'm more confident because this match is at home. I would hope Anderson or Gartland can get fit for the game though so that MacKay can move out to right back. Gary Irvine at right back against Aberdeen spells disaster for me. It's a tough game to call but definitely more confident being at McDiarmid Park. Aberdeen looked one of the most accomplished sides I'd seen for years in their draw against Celtic but their recent form has been worryingly poor. If we get the team that went up against Celtic, we'll have a fight on our hands. If we get the shite one, a four point gap could be a reality on Tuesday evening.

• I'm good like that

View PostThe ghost of Jim Morton, on 13 March 2010 - 21:24, said:

With Mutley still in charge will it be any better than this one?? I think not..

View PostSaintSam, on 13 March 2010 - 21:58, said:

Yup. Maybe not so much "all going to happen" but I expect a big improvement. We always knew this year would be tough but I don't think any of us expected (some of) the players to be as utterly inept as they have been. McDonald and Kerr can just stay at home for the rest of the season. Or go out fighting or whatever it is they prefer doing to playing football.

User is offline   Davis Love III 

• First Division Superstar
Looking forward to this one, the first of three consecutive Tuesday night offerings at McDiarmid. Our recent performanc levels haven't bee great and obvously Aberdeen's haven't been either, scrappy pitch too, although who knows maybe our recent spring weather revival may improve it!

I'd love for us to push on and gain the three points, a return from Samuel would be welcome, some pace and flair, Savo for whatever reason is loooking a little flat.

Another area of debate for the team lineup is between the sticks. Yes granted Smith has struggled in recent times with his decision making, which has been fortunate not to have cost us more points. I'm torn on this issue, if we had a reliable backup i'd drop Smith for a few weeks, but i'm agaist bringing Alan Main back in because he would be very, very rusty, altough I think he would be able to create a partnership with Duberry quite easily.

I've praised Graeme Smith very highly this season, but interestingly over the last few weeks i'm wondering whether he is actually any better than Main, my own belief is that Smith has that ability but is simply on a blip (Therefore should be given a break) but I just feel that Main doesn't have it at all anymore, and it would be very much for sentimental reasons that people would want him in, although i'd hate it if Main's last game was that fateful afternoon at Kilmarnock, that'd be a shame.
2012 United States Ryder Cup Captain, 20 PGA Tour Wins, 1997 PGA Championship, 1992/2003 Players Championship, 6 Ryder Cups, 20 Top Tens Finishes in Majors, 30 Times Second on PGA Tour, 460 Weeks in Worlds Top Ten. Presidents Cup - Record Points Winner. 3 Time World Cup of Golf Champion (With Fred Couples). DLIII

User is offline   saintjfc 

• Third Division Sub

View PostSaintSam, on 13 March 2010 - 21:58, said:

I'm more confident because this match is at home. I would hope Anderson or Gartland can get fit for the game though so that MacKay can move out to right back. Gary Irvine at right back against Aberdeen spells disaster for me. It's a tough game to call but definitely more confident being at McDiarmid Park. Aberdeen looked one of the most accomplished sides I'd seen for years in their draw against Celtic but their recent form has been worryingly poor. If we get the team that went up against Celtic, we'll have a fight on our hands. If we get the shite one, a four point gap could be a reality on Tuesday evening.

mcghees aberdeen will not be as good as calderwoods. he will take them backwards.

i'd rather irvine than gartland but if anderson is fit then i would put him in the middle with mackay in at right back, we will then have someone hitting the byeline on the right wing.

i'd drop savo for sheridan and have sammy on the bench if he is fit.

main for smith and no he will not be very very rusty.
mcinn es ploughs all before him in the saints juggernaut

User is offline   jmothecat 

• Third Division Regular
Going to this game and really hope Aberdeen get a win. Season is effectively over but I'm hoping to see some improvements in Aberdeen and see a strong end of the season for a decent campaign next season. Luckily St J.'s style of play actually suits us so I'm taking confidence from that.

User is offline   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
This will be the moan-fest to end all moan-fests. A truncated assembly of gurning Aberdonians will struggle to compete with a vitriolic, overly-critical East Stand. I'm taking my boxing gloves.
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

View PostFife Saint, on 14 March 2010 - 15:15, said:

This will be the moan-fest to end all moan-fests. A truncated assembly of gurning Aberdonians will struggle to compete with a vitriolic, overly-critical East Stand. I'm taking my boxing gloves.

I'm taking my mace and my jousting stick.

If that fails, then I'm sure the 2-2 rifle won't.

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostKyle, on 14 March 2010 - 15:20, said:

I'm taking my mace and my jousting stick.

If that fails, then I'm sure the 2-2 rifle won't.

Nice touch, stylish. I can see RockSteady having issues with that though. They don't like the wee flag sticks never mind gentlemanly medieval weaponry.

I used to take the old jouster but my latest motor doesn't have a sun-roof so it's harder to travel with it.

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

View PostFife Saint, on 14 March 2010 - 15:24, said:

Nice touch, stylish. I can see RockSteady having issues with that though. They don't like the wee flag sticks never mind gentlemanly medieval weaponry.

I used to take the old jouster but my latest motor doesn't have a sun-roof so it's harder to travel with it.

can you not tie it to the roof of the car? It would also be a far more
effective weapon than it would be on a car.

I have to carry mine all the way from Scone to McDiarmid. They are also very difficult to dry.

User is offline   7-2 

• Golden Shoe Winner
It all depends on how long Bombscare's going to be out for. Doubtless he will be straight back in if fit and Mackay over to right back.

Don't care how badly Aberdeen are playing, they will be able to exploit our lack of pace at the back. Will again mention my disappointment that we bring in someone during the break to supposedly strengthen our defence then never play him despite ongoing defensive problems.

2-2.

User is offline   Widge 

• 4 8 15 16 23 42
There is no place for Doobs and Rusty in teh same team, both are too similar to play in teh eam, we need a ball player, neither are and Doobs is better at what he does then Rusty.

User is offline   Kyle 

• Deviant

View PostWidge, on 14 March 2010 - 17:07, said:

There is no place for Doobs and Rusty in teh same team, both are too similar to play in teh eam, we need a ball player, neither are and Doobs is better at what he does then Rusty.

Our defence much of the time since Doobs signed has been him and Gartland. Which of those is the ball player? I think Rusty an Doobs would do well together from a defensive point of view.

User is offline   Widge 

• 4 8 15 16 23 42
Gartland is more of a ball player than Rusty or Doobs, I was mainly refering to Mackay, since on a number of occasions this seson he has carried teh ball 30 or 40 yards before playing the simple ball wide and then getting in teh box for teh cross.

User is offline   saintjfc 

• Third Division Sub
mackay and duberry is our best pairing but i think we are better with mackay at right back, anderson is the next best at centre back. rusty and gartland shouldnt be near 1st team choices. gartland is an absolute liability, more so than smith at the minute.
mcinn es ploughs all before him in the saints juggernaut

• I'm good like that
I had the misfortune of attending a Saints match against QotS a few years ago and it was the most soul-destroying experience ever. The Stewards took my bottle of diet coke off me mid-way through the first half despite the Police having no problem with it :rolleyes:

It was quite funny watching the nobs in the East Stand though.

User is offline   robosaintee 

• Third Division Superstar

View PostStandFree03, on 14 March 2010 - 21:21, said:

I had the misfortune of attending a Saints match against QotS a few years ago and it was the most soul-destroying experience ever. The Stewards took my bottle of diet coke off me mid-way through the first half despite the Police having no problem with it :rolleyes:

Posted Image
Hah mishy gishy gushy gushy mishy meshy mushy, motherfucker

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostStandFree03, on 14 March 2010 - 21:21, said:

Most people find having their Diet Coke taken from them a soul-destroying experience of course. You sad c**t.

• (6 Pages) +
  • Last »