shadowboxer
Posted 11 March 2010 - 19:34
for example some one goes down on the edge of the area. is it a penalty?a sending off? ref decide he's not sure
"i didn't quite see that can you look at it and let me know?" he asks the fourth official.
"no foul. the big man went down like the poll tax." comes the reply.
of course it would still give something for people to moan about but players and managers complaining to the ref who has heard of such a thing???
Maybe the overlords of football think that we need the controversy. maybe it is an important part of football and if it went, the game would be damaged somehow. I mean think of the conversations down the pub:
"you see that decision by hawk-eye yisterday?"
"aye. it wis spot on."
"member when it wid be the ref choppin' aff a goal and you wid be like; ya w****r!!"
"aye. then we be talkin' aboot it and it'd get crazy and i wid go fur the pool cue"
"and i wid try tae batter o'er the melt way my beer bottle"
long pause..................
"i heard it's gonna rain"
"smashin" (sigh)
perhaps they're right. no technology in football.................
ScottyC
- Group: Gold Members
- Team:Dunfermline
Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:17
Anything that could effect the flow of a game should be shunned. Football isnt a stop start sport like Rugby or Tennis, that what makes it entertaining.
Im sick of hearing the line that refs dont have the benifit of replays, proper fans who actually go to games dont have this either. Watch the tennis when they show the hawk replay and the fans make "ooooohhhhh" noise. It sounds ridculous, they should all be shot.
houston_bud
- Team:St.Mirren
Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:30
surely it would be easy enough for the fourth official to check on a screen and let the ref know whether or not it was a goal. or some kind of sensor that notified the referee when the ball crosses the line, a noise in his earpiece or something.
i don't buy the cos arguement that it would be too expensive to implement in all leagues. only implement it in the leagues that can afford it then. i might be wrong on this but i dont think there is hawkeye available for the england v bangladesh test series, that doesnt prevent them from having it in the ashes or other test series.
ScottyC
Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:37
houston_bud, on 12 March 2010 - 12:30, said:
surely it would be easy enough for the fourth official to check on a screen and let the ref know whether or not it was a goal. or some kind of sensor that notified the referee when the ball crosses the line, a noise in his earpiece or something.
i don't buy the cos arguement that it would be too expensive to implement in all leagues. only implement it in the leagues that can afford it then. i might be wrong on this but i dont think there is hawkeye available for the england v bangladesh test series, that doesnt prevent them from having it in the ashes or other test series.
Their really needs to be consistancy from the top to the bottom. If you think about it, most games wont even have neutral linesman let alone any chance of bringing in some overpriced hardware just to the see if the ball crossed the line or not. If the refs not sure, that what the lineman for, if they dont know look at the players reaction and body language.
The money spend implementing these changes would be better spent at youth or grass roots level, where it could actually make a difference to the quality of the football rather than waste money trying to improve a system that isnt really that bad and has worked fine for decades.
houston_bud
Posted 12 March 2010 - 12:43
ScottyC, on 12 March 2010 - 12:37, said:
The money spend implementing these changes would be better spent at youth or grass roots level, where it could actually make a difference to the quality of the football rather than waste money trying to improve a system that isnt really that bad and has worked fine for decades.
if they initially used it in the world cup and champions league then slowly introduced it down i think it would be fine.
junior and amatuer games often don't have any linesman. doesnt prevent them from playing. if the technology is there and it will help the game i see no reason not to use it. like i say, i'm not advocating every decision being reviewed, or managers 'challenging' decisions like in american football. just goal line technology so the referee can be sure the ball definately has, or hasnt crossed the line.
finnersaintee
- Team:St.Johnstone
Posted 12 March 2010 - 13:06
Even then i think it would be a good thing if it was added providing it is only used for highly important decision e.g. did the ball cross the line? and not for a midfield challenge. I think it might be viable to implement on leagues that are fully professional
houston_bud
Posted 12 March 2010 - 13:32
finnersaintee, on 12 March 2010 - 13:06, said:
not a daft question at all. that's possibly one of the major stumbling blocks. fifa/uefa wont want to shell out for it all, likewise i can't see teams wanting to part with their money when most clubs are in serious debt.
ScottyC
Posted 12 March 2010 - 13:45
finnersaintee, on 12 March 2010 - 13:06, said:
Even then i think it would be a good thing if it was added providing it is only used for highly important decision e.g. did the ball cross the line? and not for a midfield challenge. I think it might be viable to implement on leagues that are fully professional
I can tell you this right now. Both FIFA and UEFA will only pay for it in their competions, and even then they will try and get some money out of richer nations and clubs to implement it.
finnersaintee
- Team:St.Johnstone
Posted 12 March 2010 - 13:53
houston_bud, on 12 March 2010 - 13:32, said:
thats a bit rubbish, i dont like fifa's posturing. I bet thats why it was rejected 'outright' instead of just put on ice as it were, simply because they don't want to spend the money. Even if they were to say to the richer league e.g. england and spain to put it in they are also the league with some of the highest debts
HibeeJibee
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:17
As for the video referee, I'm glad it was rejected. Football is not a set-piece game (like tennis or cricket), or even semi-set-piece (like rugby)... The game is the most popular sport because it's easy to play, flows, and is effectively the same "from public park to Parkhead" as I always say. I'd be very disappointed if we ever got to a situation where managers can play 'challenges', or where the game stops so they can ponder an incident as with a try in rugby. Plus with rugby, the ball has been grounded = play stops = is either a score, or a scrum. In football play might be continuing... the opposition might break away and score!!... and the incidents are subjective i.e. was it a bad tackle or not. Video replays will never work, IMO.
I am pleased the 4th+5th official scheme is to be rolled out, in leagues where there are enough officials. It discourages shirt-tugging and helps ref.
This post has been edited by HibeeJibee: 12 March 2010 - 14:18
ScottyC
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:25
Colin M
- Group: Platinum Members
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:25
HibeeJibee, on 12 March 2010 - 14:17, said:
As for the video referee, I'm glad it was rejected. Football is not a set-piece game (like tennis or cricket), or even semi-set-piece (like rugby)... The game is the most popular sport because it's easy to play, flows, and is effectively the same "from public park to Parkhead" as I always say. I'd be very disappointed if we ever got to a situation where managers can play 'challenges', or where the game stops so they can ponder an incident as with a try in rugby. Plus with rugby, the ball has been grounded = play stops = is either a score, or a scrum. In football play might be continuing... the opposition might break away and score!!... and the incidents are subjective i.e. was it a bad tackle or not. Video replays will never work, IMO.
As you probably know I disagree, but it's something we would never know without some sort of trial.
If we are to proceed relying on purely human decision making, it must now come with an acceptance that on a weekly basis there will continue to be numerous potentially result changing incidents that are called wrong by referees, and as such there will continue to be injustice within the game that is almost instantly exposed on television. I cannot fathom why, in the interest of fair play, this is being dismissed without some kind of practical trial.
bingbongbilly
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:28
HibeeJibee
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:30
ScottyC, on 12 March 2010 - 14:25, said:
I've had a ST at Easter Road for 6 years and I can't even think of 6 incidents where it would have been used. And we're a reasonably well-off club. The idea that you'd expect clubs up and down the league systems, and in countries across Europe and the world, to buy it would be irresponsible.
Colin M... I appreciate your point, and perhaps a trial would have helped. However, it's all academic now, as the issue will be closed for many years.
Reynard
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:35
ScottyC, on 12 March 2010 - 12:17, said:
Anything that could effect the flow of a game should be shunned. Football isnt a stop start sport like Rugby or Tennis, that what makes it entertaining.
Im sick of hearing the line that refs dont have the benifit of replays, proper fans who actually go to games dont have this either. Watch the tennis when they show the hawk replay and the fans make "ooooohhhhh" noise. It sounds ridculous, they should all be shot.
That's fair enough in the vast majority of situations. But a line call isn't an opinion. It's a fact. The referees opinion should amount to hee haw when it comes to whether the ball has actually crossed the goalline or not. It either has or it hasn't and it can be completely proved using the technology.
This is a professional sport with a lot of money riding on it and a situation like that shouldn't come down to whether a referee or linesmans opinion is right or wrong. This would be a clear cut black or white issue and should be treated as such. The technology is there and should be used.
They will no doubt trot out the line that not all matches could have that. So what? All top games will certainly be able to have it. I played amateur level for a while and most games only had a referee and no linesman. So not all levels of the game are treated equally anyway even now.
houston_bud
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:35
HibeeJibee, on 12 March 2010 - 14:30, said:
Colin M... I appreciate your point, and perhaps a trial would have helped. However, it's all academic now, as the issue will be closed for many years.
you raise a good point. the figures you posted are astronomical, i wasn't actually aware of the extent of the cost.
i dont understand why fifa don't put forward that exact arguement. i reckon most people asking for the use of technology would understand that financially it isn't really viable, even for the top sides, if they were given this information.
fifa just seem to be pretty pig headed about the whole affair.
Colin M
Posted 12 March 2010 - 14:37
HibeeJibee, on 12 March 2010 - 14:30, said:
Yeah - that's what I find so disappointing. I totally accept the argument against video assistance, but still feel it could be used sparingly with little if any disruption to the game. I think what FIFA have said last week on it is the equivalent of fingers in the ears and "LALALALA WE CAN'T HEAR YOU"!
Totally agree on the goal line technology though. I don't really see that issue as being that critical.
Mr X
- Group: Global Moderators
- Team:Queen of the South
Posted 12 March 2010 - 17:23
WOW. I had no idea the setup was that expensive. What about the balls themselves, were they more expensive too?
I am pleased the 4th+5th official scheme is to be rolled out, in leagues where there are enough officials. It discourages shirt-tugging and helps ref.
Totally agree
Colin M, on 12 March 2010 - 14:37, said:
Totally agree on the goal line technology though. I don't really see that issue as being that critical.
How? Genuine question.
Im against video technology, but only because I cant see how it could be implemented. Someone on here started a petition a while ago encouraging people to support video technology, yet they had no ideas as to how to implement it. If someone can come up with a way of doing that without disrupting the game, Id be all for it.
This post has been edited by Mr X: 12 March 2010 - 17:23
Ned Nederlander
Posted 12 March 2010 - 18:24
I don't pretend to be an expert in sensors but I've worked with them for years and I find that price almost obscene,
if I were tasked with the goal mouth technology problem at work I reckon I could have a decent system installed for about £2,000 a frame - I'm almost feert to post how I'd do it 'cause there seems to be a decent market there
ah f'k it, here goes - I'd imbed a series of cameras in the frame and link them to a decent vision system. Most vision systems could cope easily with a ball (without the need for any internal sensors) and I'd have them send a signal for the ref and also have them show a freeze frame on a remote monitor for someone to double check the 'evidence' to issue a second signal for the ref - the whole process could take less than a couple of seconds.
Resonable industrial cameras are around £80 each - stick 10 in a frame and run the software on a bulk standard PC
I'm sure the Premier League could invest in around £5k a stadium to install the stuff themselves
Patrick Bateman
- Team:Hamilton Academical
Posted 12 March 2010 - 18:30
Geefoxer
Posted 12 March 2010 - 18:42
Anything that can help cut out the wrong decisions must be considered.
This post has been edited by Geefoxer: 12 March 2010 - 18:45
Cowden Cowboy
Posted 12 March 2010 - 19:39
Ned Nederlander
Posted 12 March 2010 - 20:00
Cowden Cowboy, on 12 March 2010 - 19:39, said:
1883 - Crossbars become compulsary
1891 - Penalty Kicks introduced
1902 - Penalty area and half way line introduced
1923 - Laws state 11 aside.
1958 - Substitutes introduced
1970 - Red and yellow Cards introduced.
1990 - Shinguards made compulsary.
1992 - Passback rule introduced.
ScottyC
Posted 12 March 2010 - 20:13
Ned Nederlander, on 12 March 2010 - 20:00, said:
1891 - Penalty Kicks introduced
1902 - Penalty area and half way line introduced
1923 - Laws state 11 aside.
1958 - Substitutes introduced
1970 - Red and yellow Cards introduced.
1990 - Shinguards made compulsary.
1992 - Passback rule introduced.
I would hardly put "shinguards made compulsary" on the same level as the introduction of "crossbars" or "penalty kicks".
Reynard
Posted 12 March 2010 - 21:03
Cowden Cowboy, on 12 March 2010 - 19:39, said:
Well let's make the game completely amateur again. Unfortunately the game at any sort of half decent level is entirely about money. You are watching the game at the wrong level of the sport if you want it any other way.
Sign In
Register
Help

MultiQuote