Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: Will alloa turn full-time if they manage to get promotion? - The Pie Shop

• (4 Pages) +

Will alloa turn full-time if they manage to get promotion? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   The Phoenix 

• Vote for Cold Showers
  • Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:XBL World Champion

View Postpencils, on 11 March 2010 - 19:46, said:

Oh the banter.

Rab C is alive and well and living in the Bottom End. ;)

The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009

View PostShawfield Stallion, on 11 March 2010 - 19:35, said:

Aye, you've already said that it was a RUMOUR. You still found it plausable enough to regurgitate on here though. And you still do, don't you :lol:

Nope its not plausible the only plausible thing on here is the fact you are a grade A cock.
Posted Image

User is online   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Clyde

View Postnumber one wasp, on 11 March 2010 - 19:47, said:

Nope its not plausible the only plausible thing on here is the fact you are a grade A cock.

So why else would you tell everyone that the balls cost £250 and the word on the street was that the guy who punted it was getting done for theft, if you didn't think there was an element of truth in it?

number 250 wasp's dad: Those balls are £250 each and the guy's getting done for theft :P
number 250 wasp: :o

n250w: "clyde fannies cost us £500 by punting 2 balls over the fence, and the guy who done it is apparently getting done for theft"
everyone else: :blink: :lol: :blink: :lol:
n250w :unsure:
everyone else: That's impossible you fud

n250w: :ph34r:
n250w: Obviously its impossible, I was just reporting the R.U.M.O.U.R
n250w: :bag

This post has been edited by Shawfield Stallion: 11 March 2010 - 20:05

"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostShawfield Stallion, on 11 March 2010 - 19:56, said:

So why else would you tell everyone that the balls cost £250 and the word on the street was that the guy who punted it was getting done for theft, if you didn't think there was an element of truth in it?

number 250 wasp's dad: Those balls are £250 each and the guy's getting done for theft :P
number 250 wasp: :o

n250w: "clyde fannies cost us £500 by punting 2 balls over the fence, and the guy who done it is apparently getting done for theft"
everyone else: :blink: :lol: :blink: :lol:
n250w :unsure:
everyone else: That's impossible you fud

n250w: :ph34r:
n250w: Obviously its impossible, I was just reporting the R.U.M.O.U.R
n250w: :bag

Fucking hell everyone give SS a round of appluase he can add smileys to his posts wow clever.
Posted Image

User is offline   black and gold army 

• First Division Sub
Well done Shawfield Stallion mate ! :D
Get Armand to f**k!

User is offline   Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) 

• Third Division Reserve

View PostThe Phoenix, on 11 March 2010 - 19:47, said:

Rab C is alive and well and living in the Bottom End. ;)

We can't all own a 3 floor mansion in Kings Park Phoenix- cut us some slack. :P
THE BEARD TO BE FEARED..........

User is offline   westwood_clyde 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostShawfield Stallion, on 11 March 2010 - 19:56, said:

Equally as amusing as his stupdity was the moral high ground with which that stupidity was pontificated.

User is offline   allowafletic 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
will Alloa go up - never mind full time / i dont think no one has to bother with any of the two !

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular

View PostThe Phoenix, on 11 March 2010 - 19:35, said:

Don't think anyone in Alloa works full time - unless they're on benefit as well.

Too right! How else do you think I can afford the Italian sports car?

User is offline   LiviCurryCider 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Livingston
Are Raith Rovers full-time?
lcc

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007

View PostLiviCurryCider, on 11 March 2010 - 22:22, said:

Some players are and some aren't. I know for definate the keeper isn't full time.
Posted Image

User is online   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps

View Postbsd, on 11 March 2010 - 21:18, said:

Too right! How else do you think I can afford the Italian sports car?

Ahem....Alfa Romeo :rolleyes:
"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

User is offline   Michael W 

• It's my fault
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Raith Rovers

View PostLichtielegend, on 11 March 2010 - 17:02, said:

A team assembled of the best part-timers in the country will perform better than a full-time side assembled on a micro-budget.

Probably, but the best part-timers are likely to end up either with ourselves or Ayr United. I can't speak for Ayr, but there is no prospect of Raith going completely full-time within the foreseeable future. At any rate, two of our best players are part-time.

View PostLiviCurryCider, on 11 March 2010 - 22:22, said:

No. We have a mix of full-time and part-time players.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular

View PostShawfield Stallion, on 11 March 2010 - 22:38, said:

Ahem....Alfa Romeo :rolleyes:

Ahem...I was being less than serious.

Anyway, 150mph (granted its not 250) not sporty enough for you. :rolleyes:

http://www.autoexpre...a_romeo_gt.html

User is offline   Bairn 4 Life 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Falkirk

View PostVersaceWallet, on 11 March 2010 - 14:18, said:

Anybody know what will happen, surely they will have to turn full time

they couldnt afford too and probably never will. if they do go up then it would be a case finish 9th and stay via the play offs as there best bet of staying up

• Third Division Reserve

they couldnt afford too and probably never will. if they do go up then it would be a case finish 9th and stay via the play offs as there best bet of staying up

• Third Division Reserve

User is offline   southview 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Queen of the South
No they won't and nor should they anyway.

Any professional part-time player worth their salt will supplement the two nights a week squad training with a couple of nights working out in the gym so fitness really shouldn't be an issue.

As for working on aspects of play, well, if training is structured correctly, then all bases should be covered ahead of a match.

I really don't see the point of turning full-time and basically accepting a six-figure loss on the balance sheet over the course of a season if the sole aim is to avoid relegation.

I can also see one or two full-time sides resorting to part-time status in the next few years if their income doesn't improve.
@www.twitter.com/CP_acadvertiser www.facebook.com/acadvertiser
Track I'm lovin' right now: Chris Lake - Sundown

User is offline   Bully-wee-clyde 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
NUMBER ONE WASP YOU ARE ACTUALLY A RETARD!!!!!! why the hell would you post a rumor that could almost certainly not be true? :S that confuses me. Why post a rumor like that anyway?
THE ANSWER- you actually thought that rumor could be true, therefor you posted it! how do the windows taste? Posted Image take it your dads your brother and your sisters your mother? living happily in the alloa bottom end? In the skip, and your mum/sister selling herself outside chalmers :L

Back to the point i was going to make but was distracted by the stench of shit from the comments you've been making :D
alloa will never go full time they don't have the fan base and they'll need to improve the shithole of the wrex to accomidate the almost non existant fan base they have :L and the wages would be terrible you'd go bust or straight back down if you went full time Posted Image hopefully bust :L

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular

View PostBully-wee- clyde, on 12 March 2010 - 10:33, said:

NUMBER ONE WASP YOU ARE ACTUALLY A RETARD!!!!!! why the hell would you post a rumor that could almost certainly not be true? :S that confuses me. Why post a rumor like that anyway?
THE ANSWER- you actually thought that rumor could be true, therefor you posted it! how do the windows taste? Posted Image take it your dads your brother and your sisters your mother? living happily in the alloa bottom end? In the skip, and your mum/sister selling herself outside chalmers :L

Back to the point i was going to make but was distracted by the stench of shit from the comments you've been making :D
alloa will never go full time they don't have the fan base and they'll need to improve the shithole of the wrex to accomidate the almost non existant fan base they have :L and the wages would be terrible you'd go bust or straight back down if you went full time Posted Image hopefully bust :L

:lol: :lol:

Please tell me this is an alias on the windup.

User is offline   tryall 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Given that our average home gate is around 600 which means an annual gate income of around £130 to £150k, and full time salaries would need to be at least 20k per team member and well over that for coaching staff and management, that would be a wage bill of around £500k before looking at office costs, travelling, ground maintenance etc. Don't thing that Alloa would be a sufficiently attractive proposition for local businesses to come up with half a million a year in sponsership.
Can't see us ever going full time unless the the mindless stop following the old firm.

User is offline   Father Barrys Sign (Top Half) 

• Third Division Reserve

View Posttryall, on 12 March 2010 - 12:59, said:

Given that our average home gate is around 600 which means an annual gate income of around £130 to £150k, and full time salaries would need to be at least 20k per team member and well over that for coaching staff and management, that would be a wage bill of around £500k before looking at office costs, travelling, ground maintenance etc. Don't thing that Alloa would be a sufficiently attractive proposition for local businesses to come up with half a million a year in sponsership.
Can't see us ever going full time unless the the mindless stop following the old firm.

Although the club are doing their very best to increase the profile of the club locally, we simply dont get anywhere near enough punters through the turnstiles to even consider it. Even on the decent run the team has been on in recent months, some of the crowds have been pretty disappointing. Old Firmers aside, too many people in Alloa are happy to sit in the pubs in the afternoon watching the scores on Gillette Soccer Saturday, rather than walk up to the ground and actually watch a game.

If we cant get decent crowds when the team is winning, if (and again I stress, a huge "for arguments sake" IF) we were to go up, who is really going to get off their rear ends and come along when we are getting pretty much horsed most weeks. The club will of course get decent away supports through the gates most weeks but that is still no basis to even consider a change to full time.

Like some have said, I dont think we'll ever go full time, and after seeing the legacy of damage it has done (in part) up the road at Stirling, I'm happy that it will never be considered,
THE BEARD TO BE FEARED..........

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostBully-wee- clyde, on 12 March 2010 - 10:33, said:

:lol: Ladies and gentleman i give you the typical ned clyde fan :lol: run along son.
Posted Image

User is offline   pickledtink1881 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:Cowdenbeath
  • Gamertag:colincky

Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image Posted Image no comment
ye canny fox a fox

User is offline   RAITHROVERS84 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • Team:Raith Rovers
We (Raith) as mentioned previously have a blend of part-time and full-time with average gates of 2500k. These gates are helped with attendances of Aberdeen at home 7k, Dundee 5.5k, Dunf 6k.
How any team with attendances of 600!! (no disrespect as I like alloa) could justify even considering full-time is asking for financial ruin.

• (4 Pages) +