Stirling v. Alloa Wasps @ Meerkats Rate Topic: -----

User is online   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Prunty makes it 2-0 to Alloa. Huge result for Alloa if they hang on for the win - sets up Tuesday very nicely!
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

User is online   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
Well done Alloa, that's a terrific result and I think it's going to take some effort to dislodge them from the top now.
Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   miketheheadlesschicken 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
That's the 3rd time I've seen that game against Alloa this season. Alloa gifted the lead by a goalkeeping howler, sit in and defend really well and, despite completely dominating possession for large parts, we look incapable of getting close to scoring. Alloa have scored 5 goals against us this season and 3 have been due to goalkeeping errors. We've needed a new keeper for 2 or 3 seasons yet Moore hasn't done anything about it, other than reward 2 goalkeepers, who continually make mistakes, with new contracts.

Maitland's made a fool of Moore in all 3 games. Playing Andy Gibson up front is bizarre. Allowing him to play there for 90 minutes when it clearly wasn't working is disgraceful. I've had enough of watching him make an arse of games.

User is offline   BinoBalls 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Great result for Alloa esepcially as they'd used all 3 subs by the start of the 2nd half to injuries.

We huffed and puffed and didn't look like scoring. Although we were denied 2 pens in the 2nd half, one of which wasn't so much stonewall as titanium-wall, yet somehow no foul and no booking for diving. But no matter, for all our possession, we deserved nothing.

Alloa took their goals well and look a class above everything else in the league. £280 coming to me from Mr William Hill if Alloa win the league.

And to answer their fans question -- can they play us every week? -- the answer is yes, as then we'd lose every week, and finally Allan Moore might do the decent thing and resign.

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
Surprised and delighted by that. Considering the makeshift defence we had I thought we defended brilliantly. The trialist no.4 looks like he could do a job. Then to lose Gilhaney, Noble and McClune to injury and end up with 3 young laddies on the park. Couldnt fault any of them.

Was pleased to see Myles getting a start. He is fucking useless.

Stirling will never have a better chance to beat us than today considering the team we had. They were really brutal.

Oh and maybe Aitken would have got that penalty decision if he hadnt been such a cheating wee shite earlier.

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007
What a perfromance. Everyone of them to a man put a shift in today, and I couldn't fault any of them.

DC in goals was steady as ever. He came and collected a few corners and his handling was exceptional. Not a better keeper in this division IMO.

Two centre backs, Brown and the trialist from Bo'ness were really good. Dealt with every single thing Stirling had to offer. Not bad for a lad who wouldn't know anyone and Brown who has played CM most of the season.

McClune was having a great game untill he had to go off at half time, then Bomber filled in and done a great job. As did McCafferty at LB.

Midfield to a man were differant class. Especially Carrol. He had his best game in a Alloa shirt today I'd say. Jamie Hay done well too.

Gormley and Prunty ran themselves into the ground today. Gormley isn't the quickest, but what he lacks in pace he makes up in grit and determanation.

First goal was a great strike by Gormley from about 25 yards. Hogarth may have done better, but it was hard to tell from the angle I saw it. He managed to get a touch on it, hit the post and fortunately spun in.

Second was again a bit lucky and a bit of indecision from the keeper and CB. Hay had two men on him at the corner flag, and I think he tried to get a corner but fortunately missed the guy he intended to hit it off and Prunty nipped infront of the defender and stuck it in. His celebration was class, just a stare at the number 5. They must not have been best of pals during his loan spell.

Third was a well taken goal by Prunty. One on one with hogarth and just slid it under him.

At 1-0 Stirling had a pretty strong claim for a pen. From were I was it was a stone waller, but am not complaining! It was probably the game changing moment tbh. At that point Stirling were on top, and had they scored there would have been a strong chance of them going on to win.

Great performance today and an excellant 3 points. Our back four at the end of the game makes it all the more sweeter. Two midfielders, a trialist and a 19 year old out of position. Also considering the injuries. A bit worried going into tuesday now. Gills, Noble and McClune would be huge misses.
Posted Image

User is offline   headthebaw 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Euro 2012:Croatia
What a gutless performance. We couldn't score in a barrel of fannies

Moore does not show any signs of being able to gel a collection of players into a team that can win games.

User is online   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
Allan Moore costs us the game again then.

Pairing Gibson and Mullen up front was bizarre enough, keeping them there for the whole 90 minutes when it was patently fucking obvious that it wasn't working was just ripping the pish out of the fans who made the effort to turn up.

Yeah, we should have had two penalties, but that's just scenery. An utter disgrace, but fair play to Alloa, who had nearly all their best players missing by the time the 2nd half started, yet still defended better, and still fought harder for every ball. Getting shot of Prunty has been another own goal from our club.

Nearly 8 years Moore has been the manager, yet at times, he still looks like a total rookie. If Maitland was our manager, we'd have walked this league.

That's us out the title race now, and I'm not even that confident of getting a playoff place.

Well done Wasps.

User is offline   allowafletic 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View PostStewartyMac, on 13 March 2010 - 17:47, said:

Pairing Gibson and Mullen up front was bizarre enough, keeping them there for the whole 90 minutes when it was patently fucking obvious that it wasn't working was just ripping the pish out of the fans who made the effort to turn up.

Yeah, we should have had two penalties, but that's just scenery. An utter disgrace, but fair play to Alloa, who had nearly all their best players missing by the time the 2nd half started, yet still defended better, and still fought harder for every ball. Getting shot of Prunty has been another own goal from our club.

Nearly 8 years Moore has been the manager, yet at times, he still looks like a total rookie. If Maitland was our manager, we'd have walked this league.

That's us out the title race now, and I'm not even that confident of getting a playoff place.

Well done Wasps.

Thank you Mr Kack :D :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User is offline   Gaviano 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Gaviano360
So proud of the Wasps today. Played like a unit, defended well, attacked quickly and took all the changes in their stride, all the more impressive when Gilhaney looked in the mood and McClune was just his usual standard. Noble had been fairly quiet but was still a big loss when he went off if for no other reason that his strength in holding the ball. Chuffed that Prunty got a brace ... the man's a class act and it was just a shame he was denied his hat-trick by Hogarth's best (only?) save of the game.

As for the Stirling penalty, I thought the ball had gone over the bye-line by the time the tackle had gone in, but I didn't have the best of angles and I admit I may have been seeing what I wanted to see.

A famous result, much needed after Tuesday's disappointment and I just hope for more of the same against Cowden in midweek.
This is not an exit.

User is offline   bsd 

• First Division Regular
Prunty and Gormley were excellant today. Full of fight and running and harassing the Stirling defence when they had posession. One strange thing from the game today was the situation regarding Welsh. Heard he had been released.

I've mentioned it before but today it stuck out like a sore thumb - what is the point of Stuart Elliot being ar Stirling? Doesnt get a start and even if he did he cant play a whole 90 mins apparently due to health issues. Came on today and did nothing. How much money is being wasted on him?

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009
That was delightful we have been waiting for that performance all season 2nd half was mostly us i dont think the penalty shouts were as stonewall as people think stirlings number 11 and 7 were falling about all over the place and lying on the ground to get time stopped etc. I must say the 3rd goal was my favourite prunty kept onside and just slipped it under hogarth if we play like that on tuesday i think we can sneak it again the title looks like its ours to throw away but as long as we dont lose like tuesday we should do ok. The number 4 at centreback looked a big solid lad speaking to andy scott towner and scott buist at the game buist is hoping to be back for next saturday and hopefully we have scott walker back for tuesday andy has damaged ligaments in his ankle so im not sure how long he is going to be out.
Posted Image

User is offline   Gaviano 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Gaviano360

View Postpencils, on 13 March 2010 - 17:42, said:

Prunty nipped infront of the defender and stuck it in. His celebration was class, just a stare at the number 5. They must not have been best of pals during his loan spell.

lol -- aye, I noticed that, too. Seemed to be a bit of a niggle between the two of them leading up to the goal.
This is not an exit.

User is offline   westwood_clyde 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde

View Postnumber one wasp, on 13 March 2010 - 18:11, said:

That was delightful we have been waiting for that performance all season

Perhaps it pays to have such expensive balls at the Recs after all.

User is offline   number one wasp 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:ps3 - jordan19892009

View Postwestwood_clyde, on 13 March 2010 - 18:15, said:

You no got the clyde game to talk about ;) oh sorry i forgot you lost today.
Posted Image

• Third Division Regular

View Postpencils, on 13 March 2010 - 17:42, said:

His celebration was class, just a stare at the number 5. They must not have been best of pals during his loan spell.

They've never played in the same team. Page signed on loan after Prunty left. The reason they'd been having a go at each other was that Prunty had dived a few minutes earlier.

• Stay Alive

View Postbsd, on 13 March 2010 - 18:10, said:

what is the point of Stuart Elliot being ar Stirling? Doesnt get a start and even if he did he cant play a whole 90 mins apparently due to health issues. Came on today and did nothing.

Hardly surprising when he was stuck out on the right wing (not even his favoured side) because our rat faced cúnt of a manager is too arrogant to admit he made an arse of the front two pairing.

Just as well there's drink.

Incidentally, on that note, for the game a week on Tuesday, a few of us will be in the Old Brewery from around half 12 onwards. Any Wasps on here are welcome to join us for a beer and a wee bit banter.

• International Regular

View Postmiketheheadlesschicken, on 13 March 2010 - 18:19, said:

They've never played in the same team. Page signed on loan after Prunty left. The reason they'd been having a go at each other was that Prunty had dived a few minutes earlier.

Ahh I see. Can't remember Prunty diving though.
Posted Image

User is offline   Sevennil 

• Third Division Signing Target

View Postbsd, on 13 March 2010 - 17:42, said:

Surprised and delighted by that. Considering the makeshift defence we had I thought we defended brilliantly. The trialist no.4 looks like he could do a job. Then to lose Gilhaney, Noble and McClune to injury and end up with 3 young laddies on the park. Couldnt fault any of them.

Stirling will never have a better chance to beat us than today considering the team we had. They were really brutal.

Oh and maybe Aitken would have got that penalty decision if he hadnt been such a cheating wee shite earlier.

Agree with all of that. Regarding the penalty claims,i'd say both 2nd half shouts were justified. Couldn't believe they didn't get at least one of them. Like bsd said,had the number 8 not dived for one right on half-time then the referee may have been more giving.
The second claim in the second half wasn't seen by the ref. He asked his linesman who just pointed his flag for a goal-kick. If the ref had seen the incident i reckon it would've been given and we would be talking about a much different scoreline right now.

If Maitland was our manager, we'd have walked this league.

Agreed!
Let It Rain!!!

User is offline   mickles 1981 

• Third Division Apprentice

If Maitland was our manager, we'd have walked this league.

Well done Wasps.

Nuff said.

User is offline   Sevennil 

• Third Division Signing Target

View Postmiketheheadlesschicken, on 13 March 2010 - 18:19, said:

Yeah the two of them were having a wee niggle with each other for most of the game. Twice the ref stopped play in the second half to talk to them both.
Let It Rain!!!

• International Regular

View Postwestwood_clyde, on 13 March 2010 - 18:15, said:

It got boring and shit after the 250th time. If you still find it funny you lead a sad life.
Posted Image

User is offline   westwood_clyde 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Clyde

View Postnumber one wasp, on 13 March 2010 - 18:17, said:

You no got the clyde game to talk about Posted Image oh sorry i forgot you lost today.

Of course we did. We lost, and you are still a plonker. These are the 2nd division certainties - we will lose; and you will make a bottom of yourself on this forum.

Anyway - OT - I think that any of the four at the top could still win this league. It is true to say that we have made most look like Chelsea in this league this season, but from the displays against some shocking Clyde performances, I have seen enough to convince me that Alloa, Brechin or Stirling could sting together some good wins and come out on top. Cowdenbeath likewise.

Apart from relegation where the die is well and truly cast, there is everything to play for.

• Stay Alive

View Postwestwood_clyde, on 13 March 2010 - 18:34, said:

I have seen enough to convince me that Alloa, Brechin or Stirling could sting together some good wins and come out on top. Cowdenbeath likewise.

Mate, we've no chance.

• Third Division Regular
We haven't won at home for 6 months. We won't be anywhere near winning the league.

• (8 Pages) +
  • « First
  • Last »