Stenhousemuir v Peterhead Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
Absolutely delighted with the attitude and application of our players last night. I don't think I've left Ochilview happier this season, that was an excellent result. Cannot fault any of our players, the effort they put in was outstanding from back to front.

The defence held firm in the face of three of the best opposition players I've seen this season in Bavidge, Clark and Sharp - McLuskey commanded his area well and pulled off a stunning save to deny Barry Smith. Thom, McLeod and Gibb (who's looking like a superb signing) were resolute and solid while Michael Hunter, making his first start for the club, was very good at fullback. The boy looks composed on the ball and looks remarkably built for a 17 year old.

My man of the match was Iain Diack, however - held the ball up superbly, brought other players into the game well and won most of his headers (Peterhead look slightly shakey at the back bereft of Mann's leadership). Disappointed with the twat that shouted at him after he put the ball out, no need for that. Diack was excellent last night.

As Pol says, credit must go to John Coughlin for his substitutions - Stirling played very well when he came on (his tackle by the stand to prevent the breakaway was superb) and Quinn and Dalziel combined for the second goal. Inspired stuff.

Unbeaten since the Dunfermline debacle, I'll stick my neck out and say that if we can beat Dumbarton at the weekend (no mean feat, they look quite a dangerous team and will have designs of finishing in the playoffs), then we'll be playing in this division again next season.

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 08:45, said:

Not exactly a compliment to say that it was one of his better games - it was but it was hardly a vintage performance.

What else, exactly, were you expecting from him? A hatrick of goals from the 1 half chance he got?

User is offline   Ancient Warrior 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postdubs, on 10 March 2010 - 09:25, said:

What else, exactly, were you expecting from him? A hatrick of goals from the 1 half chance he got?

What is a Diack goal - has anyone ever seen one in recent seasons. Much prefer he was playing against us than for us which I am sure would be the opinion of the fans of all the clubs he has played for apart from some Berwick fans.

User is offline   beaver1 

• Third Division Apprentice

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 10:11, said:

What is a Diack goal - has anyone ever seen one in recent seasons. Much prefer he was playing against us than for us which I am sure would be the opinion of the fans of all the clubs he has played for apart from some Berwick fans.

Love him or hate him, Diack was a helluva lot more effective lastnight than bullet proof Bobby Love has been of late.

User is offline   dubs 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:dubyasfc

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 10:11, said:

He didn't have any chances.

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 08:45, said:

Not exactly a compliment to say that it was one of his better games - it was but it was hardly a vintage performance. Funnily enough the auld cronies think guys like you also don't know their arse from their elbow but we do at least support the team and not stay away when the going gets tough.
Main suspect for the Diack shout has to be Steely.

The auld gits don't have a clue about football. They want a team full of people who 'give 110%' and skill seems to be an irrelevance. Anyone who doesn't run about like a headless chicken is immediately deemed not good enough. They're the John McVeigh's of the supporters world and anything they say is null and void.

I won't make another game from now til the end of the season, so you'll be free to talk drivel with like minded friends without fear of anyone with a clue putting you right. Enjoy.

User is offline   Allan 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Team:Other
Fudge, don't start generalising about people's age being the guidelines for their knowledge about football. A fan's age has nothing to do with his knowledge and there are plenty of young supporters at Ochilview who seem to think they are experts on the way the team should be selected, line-up, play, etc. and we get tired listening to them passing judgement on a player's ability. Every fan has the right to his opinion but remember what "supporter" means.

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAllan, on 10 March 2010 - 16:16, said:

Fudge, don't start generalising about people's age being the guidelines for their knowledge about football. A fan's age has nothing to do with his knowledge and there are plenty of young supporters at Ochilview who seem to think they are experts on the way the team should be selected, line-up, play, etc. and we get tired listening to them passing judgement on a player's ability. Every fan has the right to his opinion but remember what "supporter" means.

Does shouting negative comments at a player having a reasonable game constitute 'support'?

There are plenty of clueless younger fans, but you'd expect a bit more sense from the older ones. The baffling shouts more often than not seem to come from older boys who seem to have soaked up no knowledge of what football is actually about in their 100+ years on this earth. Nothing they ever shout seems to be positive.

I'm sure if you quizzed them on what tactical changes they'd make they'd slur generic comments about lack of effort and taking off whichever player isn't running about the most.

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostCowden til i die, on 10 March 2010 - 17:02, said:

To be fair neither does walking out before half time.

Sometimes I can't be bothered watching us because we're so bad. I never do or say anything at a match that will have a negative effect on the players.

We've conceded the first goal and gone on to win the game once in over 100 that Coughlin has been incharge. At 2-0 down I'd rather be in the house that standing out in the cold when a turnaround is not going to happen.

User is offline   Cowden til i die 

• Undefined
  • Team:Cowdenbeath

View PostFudge, on 10 March 2010 - 17:27, said:

We've conceded the first goal and gone on to win the game once in over 100 that Coughlin has been incharge.

Albion Rovers away?
'Terracing celebrations were suitably extreme. Indeed, the Cowdenbath faithful - all 60-odd of them - kept the rest of us entertained during the not infrequent dull moments. They regaled us with everything from "Cooper's a poof" (difficult to substantiate) to "black and white shite", a suitably assonant summary of the quality of their opponents'

Posted Image

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostCowden til i die, on 10 March 2010 - 17:32, said:

Albion Rovers away?

Yep.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostFudge, on 10 March 2010 - 17:27, said:

Sometimes I can't be bothered watching us because we're so bad. I never do or say anything at a match that will have a negative effect on the players.

We've conceded the first goal and gone on to win the game once in over 100 that Coughlin has been incharge. At 2-0 down I'd rather be in the house that standing out in the cold when a turnaround is not going to happen.

Walking out before half time is the perfect way to support your team. Now that your mummy has stopped you from going to anymore games this season you can spend the time thinking of ways to support your team next season.

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 21:33, said:

Walking out before half time is the perfect way to support your team. Now that your mummy has stopped you from going to anymore games this season you can spend the time thinking of ways to support your team next season.

I can't go to games for the remainder of the season because of the hours I have to work, but don't let the facts get in the way of your wee whine.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostFudge, on 10 March 2010 - 21:39, said:

I can't go to games for the remainder of the season because of the hours I have to work, but don't let the facts get in the way of your wee whine.

You are up late with school tomorrow - teacher won't be pleased if your sleeping at you desk.

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 21:44, said:

You are up late with school tomorrow - teacher won't be pleased if your sleeping at you desk.

You are supposed to be a grown man, yet are making silly wee comments which aren't really doing anything to help your argument. Next time you try to make someone out to be stupid, you might want to learn when to use your and you're.

User is offline   Bairn 4 Life 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Falkirk

View PostFrancesc Fabregas, on 10 March 2010 - 09:06, said:

Absolutely delighted with the attitude and application of our players last night. I don't think I've left Ochilview happier this season, that was an excellent result. Cannot fault any of our players, the effort they put in was outstanding from back to front.

The defence held firm in the face of three of the best opposition players I've seen this season in Bavidge, Clark and Sharp - McLuskey commanded his area well and pulled off a stunning save to deny Barry Smith. Thom, McLeod and Gibb (who's looking like a superb signing) were resolute and solid while Michael Hunter, making his first start for the club, was very good at fullback. The boy looks composed on the ball and looks remarkably built for a 17 year old.

My man of the match was Iain Diack, however - held the ball up superbly, brought other players into the game well and won most of his headers (Peterhead look slightly shakey at the back bereft of Mann's leadership). Disappointed with the twat that shouted at him after he put the ball out, no need for that. Diack was excellent last night.

As Pol says, credit must go to John Coughlin for his substitutions - Stirling played very well when he came on (his tackle by the stand to prevent the breakaway was superb) and Quinn and Dalziel combined for the second goal. Inspired stuff.

Unbeaten since the Dunfermline debacle, I'll stick my neck out and say that if we can beat Dumbarton at the weekend (no mean feat, they look quite a dangerous team and will have designs of finishing in the playoffs), then we'll be playing in this division again next season.

with being originally from stenhousemuir i do keep an eye out on how warriors are doing. good result against peterhead who are a decent side but surprised by the low attendance of 207. cant recall the warriors ever having such a low attendance for a league game

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostBairn 4 Life, on 11 March 2010 - 00:12, said:

with being originally from stenhousemuir i do keep an eye out on how warriors are doing. good result against peterhead who are a decent side but surprised by the low attendance of 207. cant recall the warriors ever having such a low attendance for a league game

It was a terrible attendance and I can't ever remember it being as low as that in the past. The main factors would be that it was a Champion's League night, it was freezing cold, we haven't won many games recently, and semi regular fans who aren't diehards may not have known about the rescheduled games if they hadn't specifically checked. It didn't help that there were only 5 or so Peterhead fans there (understanably).

We should be back up to our usual 400 or so home fans on Saturday.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostFudge, on 10 March 2010 - 21:51, said:

You are supposed to be a grown man, yet are making silly wee comments which aren't really doing anything to help your argument. Next time you try to make someone out to be stupid, you might want to learn when to use your and you're.

I am not trying to make you out to be stupid - you are doing that very well yourself. Your original remarks about older supporters going for effort over skill have been well and truly blown out of the water elsewhere on P & B after last night's Man Utd v Milan game - a total triumph for all out effort plus skill against all skill and no effort.

This post has been edited by Ancient Warrior: 11 March 2010 - 15:50

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.

View PostAncient Warrior, on 11 March 2010 - 15:39, said:

Don't see a your or a you're anywhere - if you are going to be an opinionated buffoon get your/you're facts right.

View PostAncient Warrior, on 10 March 2010 - 21:44, said:

The part in bold should have been written as "you're".

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAncient Warrior, on 11 March 2010 - 15:39, said:

Don't see a your or a you're anywhere - if you are going to be an opinionated buffoon get your/you're facts right.

There is no you're or your because you made 2 mistakes.

It should have read.......

You are up late with school tomorrow - teacher won't be pleased if you're sleeping at your desk.

As you said yourself, if you are going to be an opinionated buffoon get your/you're facts right.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostFudge, on 11 March 2010 - 15:44, said:

There is no you're or your because you made 2 mistakes.

It should have read.......

You are up late with school tomorrow - teacher won't be pleased if you're sleeping at your desk.

As you said yourself, if you are going to be an opinionated buffoon get your/you're facts right.

See edited version - aren't you working or do you only stack shelves on a Saturday

User is offline   Fudge 

• MOGEN DAVID

View PostAncient Warrior, on 11 March 2010 - 15:53, said:

See edited version - aren't you working or do you only stack shelves on a Saturday

The whole time I've been talking about a handful (and by that I mean 3 or 4) old men whose shouts are most audible ever Saturday. I have never been talking about ALL older fans. I presumed this was clear.

Skill and effort are not mutually exclusive. Take Iain Thomson for example. He gets stuck in, works as hard as a Paul Tyrell or the like as well as having good passing and a decent delivery. Scullion, Diack and even Motion sometimes look a little casual, which is perceived as some by a total lack of effort and so they are always first to be shouted at even when they are having no better or worse a game than anyone else. I'm sure they are trying at all times, but just because they're not running around like headless chickens doesn't mean they are not applying themselves.

What was shouted at Diack was just needless and extremely pettty, especially given he was leading the line well up til that point. I don't partiuclarly rate Stephen Thomson, but shouting at him that I think he's rubbish is not going to encourage him to up his game. He has improved in recent weeks, and I hope that continues.

I'm trying to put reasoned points across here, but all you seem to want to do is turn it into petty schoolyard name calling. For what it's worth, i'll be working in a call centre every weekend to help fund my return to university in August. I'm sure you'll find something suitably laughable about that to make a joke about :rolleyes:

• (2 Pages) +