Motherwell v Heart of Midlothian Proverbial six-pointer. Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Hibernia22 

• First Division Sub
  • Team:Peterhead

View PostTamdunk, on 14 March 2010 - 01:49, said:

Pretty gutted I missed this one, sounds like a cracker. Brown's given the team a week off which I think is great news. Having played more games than anyone else now its good that the team can have a rest. They have earned it with this run. Next game is at tannadice so I'll be there. Managed to hold onto a goal lead earlier in the season thanks to some ruddy heroics. A victory in this one would really send a message to all the teams in top 6, Celtic would be in big trouble. Shame there's only 1 champions league place XD

Seriously though I'm keeping my eye on the cup results because if 5th place does mean Europe then I think we can make it. Of course I'm still waiting to see the reaction to a loss, because that's when it all went wrong for us earlier in the season. Judging by the way the game sounded today though coupled with our current ability to get a result when not playing the greatest I dont think it'd be much of a problem.

What is this rule?

Is it that if a team who already has European football wins it then 5th gets Europe too?
BULEEEEEEEV!!!

User is offline   vlad is the man 

• Blood Doesn't Show on a Maroon Jersey
  • Team:Heart of Midlothian

View PostHibernia22, on 14 March 2010 - 14:15, said:

What is this rule?

Is it that if a team who already has European football wins it then 5th gets Europe too?

If the two finalists finish in the top four then 5th place gets a spot in Europe.
Posted Image

"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."

User is offline   xaviermaw 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:Motherwell

View Postwoolf, on 11 March 2010 - 16:09, said:

We dont have a name for you guys,you are not really important enough to attach a label to.

Although, clearly much much better!!

You lot took one hell of a punding yesterday. Completely shat all over by Motherwell. Some fans left after 14 minutes at 2-0!!! Posted Image

Where is Mhak? He done a dissapearing act again?

Hearts Posted Image
Motherwell Football Club: Bigger and better than the diddies. Fact.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostDosser91, on 12 March 2010 - 19:22, said:

No way. Just because I don't like an offensive acronym doesn't mean I'm an Accies fan.

Boisterous rivalry is ok but abuse is not.

It was the fact you put FTW instead of FHW that had me wondering about your Accies tendancies ;)

I'd say FHW was more boisterous rivalry than abuse anyway, so I'll assume it's ok.

Anyway, glad we humped those stinking good for mothing Jambo wanks.
BORN WELL, LIVE WELL, DIE WELL

http://deky-gloryhun...n.blogspot.com/

User is offline   Cabbage 

• First Division Superstar
  • Team:Hibernian

View Postcapybara, on 13 March 2010 - 20:22, said:

What ever happened to the decent Hibs supporters on this forum? Yes there were some..Another for the ignore

I dont know :(

User is offline   Mr Hahn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:jazzbandido
You can't see very well on the highlights but it looked to me that Goncalves was playing Jutkiewicz onside for his goal that was ruled out.
Posted Image

User is offline   Swello 

• First Division Regular

View PostMr Hahn, on 15 March 2010 - 10:56, said:

You can't see very well on the highlights but it looked to me that Goncalves was playing Jutkiewicz onside for his goal that was ruled out.

It was pretty close - but at least with this one, you can see why the Linesman chalked it off, unlike the one against Rangers the other week <_<
Inked Ravens of Despair claw holes in the arse of the World's mind.

User is offline   Galajambo 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
First real chance to post on this thread since the gubbing as I was on a free day out at the Scotland v England rugby game, which was probably just about as bad as the football these days although the free beer numbed the pain Posted Image

I spoke to a few of the lads who went through and they said that we were murder, totally murder! Although to be fair once we get a full squad of players back then we should improve somewhat, but all of them said the same thing in the Motherwell were the best footballing side they had seen all season outside of Rangers.

I must hold my hands up here and admit that I laughed when Paw Broon was installed as manager, but fair play to the guy as he's totally turned Motherwell's season right round and I now think you have a fantastic chance of finishing 3rd in the league.
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostGalajambo, on 15 March 2010 - 14:07, said:

First real chance to post on this thread since the gubbing as I was on a free day out at the Scotland v England rugby game, which was probably just about as bad as the football these days although the free beer numbed the pain Posted Image

I spoke to a few of the lads who went through and they said that we were murder, totally murder! Although to be fair once we get a full squad of players back then we should improve somewhat, but all of them said the same thing in the Motherwell were the best footballing side they had seen all season outside of Rangers.

I must hold my hands up here and admit that I laughed when Paw Broon was installed as manager, but fair play to the guy as he's totally turned Motherwell's season right round and I now think you have a fantastic chance of finishing 3rd in the league.

Next time I post fhw, exclude yourself from it as you seem like a reasonable sort of Jambo, beat Hibs for us on Saturday and I'll not post such abuse again, this season anyway ;)

User is offline   woolf 

• Third Division Regular

View Postxaviermaw, on 14 March 2010 - 14:27, said:

Although, clearly much much better!!

You lot took one hell of a punding yesterday. Completely shat all over by Motherwell. Some fans left after 14 minutes at 2-0!!! Posted Image

Where is Mhak? He done a dissapearing act again?

Hearts Posted Image

I wouldnt disagree with you,i think that Well have been fantastic for the last three months whereas we have been an absolute disgrace,a shambles from top to bottom.
Very very poor crowd though,as good as your team are,your support is pish.
Those are my principles,and if you dont like them..........well, i have others.

User is offline   ankles 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View Postwoolf, on 15 March 2010 - 16:58, said:

I wouldnt disagree with you,i think that Well have been fantastic for the last three months whereas we have been an absolute disgrace,a shambles from top to bottom.

Have to say that was the worst performance i can remember from a Hearts team in 40 years. Regardless of how well we played i remember looking at the clock after ten minutes and thinking that team is playing like a relegation outfit. They were all over the bloody place.Terrible
Posted Image I'M OFF TO SEE THE WELL

WE WELCOME THE CHASE!

User is offline   Dosser91 

• Third Division Sub

View Postankles, on 15 March 2010 - 19:05, said:

Have to say that was the worst performance i can remember from a Hearts team in 40 years.

To be fair though they had an horrendous injury list, that would take its toll on any side.

This post has been edited by Dosser91: 16 March 2010 - 00:31

User is offline   Neiljb 

• Lucy Ewing's bit on the side.

View Postdeky, on 15 March 2010 - 14:36, said:

Next time I post fhw, exclude yourself from it as you seem like a reasonable sort of Jambo, beat Hibs for us on Saturday and I'll not post such abuse again, this season anyway ;)

It only constitutes abuse to those people that give a f**k. Just thought I'd point that out for you. ;)
Posted Image

User is offline   Galajambo 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Postdeky, on 15 March 2010 - 14:36, said:

Cheers Deky, I feel honoured Posted Image
Originally written by John Robertson, Hearts legend and hammer of the wee team with 27 fantastic goals!

For the next decade I was driven by desire to crush Hibs at EVERY opportunity.

It didn’t matter if I scored for the reserves or first team — every goal against them gave me immense satisfaction.

User is offline   MP_MFC 

• Third Division Sub

View Postwoolf, on 15 March 2010 - 16:58, said:

Wasn't helped to my mind by a very poor away support, don't think I've ever seen a Hearts crowd that empty and quiet in the last 15 years.

We have around 4000 "die hards" who go to every game, other than that, with all the will and form in the world, there's just not enough intrest in the local area to part with 20 notes every other week.

User is offline   TheLip 

• Third Division Reserve

View Postboab the builder, on 11 March 2010 - 08:28, said:

why do motherwell hate hearts so much? Posted Image

If I remember correctly it stems from 1970/71 we were very close together ion the league that season, we finished a point above you but you beat us at Fir Park and there was a bit of bother, I'm sure this was before the cage went up in the East Terracing. Anyway we got drawn together in the Texaco Cup semi-finals and there was mayhem at Fir Park and Tynecastle. Any of the older fans will tell you it dates back to then but weirdly enough it never really carried on and in the late 70's early 80's we had more battles with the Hibees and Aberdeen than we did with Hearts, although I reember a League Cup tie in the '90's at Fir Park when we hammered you for 90 minutes only for John Robertson to sacore the only goal in the 93rd minute or something. So the younger guys believe it stems from then.
They say it's a minority, but I've been there, I know different.

User is offline   the jambo-rocker 

• WOOOAAHHHAAAHAA!!

View PostDosser91, on 15 March 2010 - 19:11, said:

To be fair though they had an horrendous injury list, that would take its toll on any side.

As much as i appreicate that point, we had a few more player out against dundee united and still managed to come within 15 minutes of a point, not to mention a fairly decent performance.

I think what annoyed most fans about the performance was the simplicity of how all of motherwell's three goals were scored. They came from simple balls across goal to the back post within nobody picking up.

That's not to say that your players did not capitilise brilliantly or anything. On the contrary as all of your goals were well-taken finishes, O'Briens in particular.
Gambling Season 2011: -£19.84 Gambling Year 2012:+£0.50 http://myniftyfiftyt...troduction.html 0/50

View PostAd Lib, on 23 January 2012 - 11:35, said:

The very notion of nationalism is backwards and I make no apology for that.

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostNeiljb, on 15 March 2010 - 19:25, said:

It only constitutes abuse to those people that give a f**k. Just thought I'd point that out for you. ;)

That was for Dosser91's benefit, I don't see it as abuse, just boisterous rivalry, maybe one sided I know but so what. It makes me feel big and clever using such witty acronyms.
Don't let it bother you so much ;)

User is offline   Neiljb 

• Lucy Ewing's bit on the side.

View Postthe jambo-rocker, on 16 March 2010 - 08:31, said:

As much as i appreicate that point, we had a few more player out against dundee united and still managed to come within 15 minutes of a point, not to mention a fairly decent performance.

I think what annoyed most fans about the performance was the simplicity of how all of motherwell's three goals were scored. They came from simple balls across goal to the back post within nobody picking up.

That's not to say that your players did not capitilise brilliantly or anything. On the contrary as all of your goals were well-taken finishes, O'Briens in particular.

We need a consistent back 4 line-up before we get a decent level of performance. This season's degree of squad fluctuation is unprecedented. That said if we are to point fingers mine are directly at J Thomson and Kucharski. They had a nightmare judging by the BBC highlights.
Posted Image

View PostNeiljb, on 16 March 2010 - 09:37, said:

We need a consistent back 4 line-up before we get a decent level of performance. This season's degree of squad fluctuation is unprecedented. That said if we are to point fingers mine are directly at J Thomson and Kucharski. They had a nightmare judging by the BBC highlights.

You'd be correct.

I doubt we'd see it but a back four of C. Thomson Zaliukas Goncalves Wallace would be ideal.
Posted Image

"I remember all of them, and every single one was a deliberate stab through the heart of Hibernian Football Club. Nothing against the fans but you lot have to understand that when Hibs didn't sign me, I wanted revenge. Some folk laugh at that and say: ‘What, all 27?' I suppose maybe 25 were punishment; the other two I banged in just for the hell of it."

User is offline   Mr Hahn 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:jazzbandido
Link

Not really related to the thread but doesn't merit a thread of it's own. Remember when out pitch looked like that Posted Image .

Posted Image

I can't believe that was this season.
Posted Image

User is online   Al B 

• Third Division Superstar
The pitch looked like that right up to the turn of the year, then by the end of January it was absolutely fucked. Weird thing is...there were no games on it during January!!

Combination of USH and covers just baked the infant roots. Contrary to popular opinion it's not actually muddy at Fir Park at all, it's just the game is being played right on top of the materials the grass was seeded in, which is loose without any kind of live root system to bind it together. Re-seeding couldn't be done because of temparatures, and the fact that the pitch needed to be used.

We don't have a game on it for 3 weeks now, and it's consistantly above 5 degrees (when grass is able to grow), so it's apparently been re-seeded and should be of a much better standard for the remainder of the season.

Edit to say: Of course that doesn't make nearly as entertaining a story as "WAHHHH THE MOTHERWELL PITCH!! Disgraceful *gnashing of teeth* HOW CAN THEY GET AWAY WITH THIS....PUNISH THEM!!!!! *flailing of arms* WAHHHHHHHH", so i'd imagine most people will just stick with that. :)

This post has been edited by Al B: 16 March 2010 - 16:19

Posted Image

User is offline   deky 

• FREEDOM!!!

View PostAl B, on 16 March 2010 - 16:14, said:

The pitch looked like that right up to the turn of the year, then by the end of January it was absolutely fucked. Weird thing is...there were no games on it during January!!

Combination of USH and covers just baked the infant roots. Contrary to popular opinion it's not actually muddy at Fir Park at all, it's just the game is being played right on top of the materials the grass was seeded in, which is loose without any kind of live root system to bind it together. Re-seeding couldn't be done because of temparatures, and the fact that the pitch needed to be used.

We don't have a game on it for 3 weeks now, and it's consistantly above 5 degrees (when grass is able to grow), so it's apparently been re-seeded and should be of a much better standard for the remainder of the season.

Edit to say: Of course that doesn't make nearly as entertaining a story as "WAHHHH THE MOTHERWELL PITCH!! Disgraceful *gnashing of teeth* HOW CAN THEY GET AWAY WITH THIS....PUNISH THEM!!!!! *flailing of arms* WAHHHHHHHH", so i'd imagine most people will just stick with that. :)

I'm afraid that's one of the pitfalls of being a big SPL team, you have to endure the wailing and teeth gnashing jealousy of the wee diddy teams, our pitch is the only thing they've got to be critical of, so they go for it with gusto.
We'll just have to rise above it. :D

• (5 Pages) +
  • « First