Dumbarton 0-1 Brechin City Rate Topic: -----

User is online   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
What's the prospects of this one going ahead? Looking at the weather it looks like it's going to work out to our advantage with light rain on the Friday with a high of about 6 degrees, and it isn't due to go below freezing that night. Think I'll go mad if there is another postponement.

This post has been edited by 'Steve: 07 March 2010 - 13:37

Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   city paparazzi 

• Third Division Regular
I wont be there. I'm in london town this weekend :(
Official Programme Home Kit Sponsor of Craig Molloy
Part time internet stalker of Charlie King!
http://brechincity.c...?g2_itemId=4864 - Match day photos Season 2011 - 2012

User is offline   JackDFC 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Dumbarton
  • Gamertag:JackCrawfordDFC (xbox)
I just had football training.Pretty cold but no frost.

about 50/50 chance of it going ahead.
TOO MANY MAN, TOO MANY MAN.

User is offline   The Moonster 

• International Call Up
  • Euro 2012:Germany

View Post'Steve, on 03 March 2010 - 18:41, said:

What's the prospects of this one going ahead? Looking at the weather it looks like it's going to work out to our advantage with light rain on the Friday with a high of about 6 degrees, and it isn't due to go below freezing that night. Think I'll go mad if there is another postponement.

It's been cold and frosty in the mornings this week but we've had sunshine all day for the last couple of days which takes care of that. Game should go ahead in my view.

Onto the game. Hopefully the squad forget about the last two games and get themselves back on track. Do Brechin have a good left winger? If so I hope Chapman has got Chisholm covered or hopefully Geggan is back this week and can go straight in at right back.

Mon the Sons!
Little brown boy, the other side of the world....
He was born on a line many thousand year long, many more thousand to be
They survived on tradition, not wealth and position
Sounds pretty simple to me....

User is offline   supersons 

• Third Division Signing Target

View PostThe Moonster, on 04 March 2010 - 08:34, said:

It's been cold and frosty in the mornings this week but we've had sunshine all day for the last couple of days which takes care of that. Game should go ahead in my view.

Onto the game. Hopefully the squad forget about the last two games and get themselves back on track. Do Brechin have a good left winger? If so I hope Chapman has got Chisholm covered or hopefully Geggan is back this week and can go straight in at right back.

Mon the Sons!

At present I would reckon the game would be off, lets hope there is no further frost between now and Saturday
RIP GUIDO 1983-2009

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View Postsupersons, on 04 March 2010 - 09:36, said:

At present I would reckon the game would be off, lets hope there is no further frost between now and Saturday

Minus 4 degrees overnight Friday, plus 2 with sleet showers Saturday.

I'm guessing the prospects aren't great.
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

User is offline   theoriginalhedge 

• SPL Signing Target
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostThe Moonster, on 04 March 2010 - 08:34, said:

Mon the Sons!

Brechin have a good left winger and if you want we can have a good right winger.

But more importantly we have the Scottish leagues' 2nd highest goalscorer .........So beware ! :D

User is offline   Ginger ninja 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Clydebank
Anyone direct me to the junior forum. Im sure you nice Dumbarton chaps will show me the wayPosted Image .......Anyway since im here C'mon the Brechin. Get into this gash.Posted Image .
OWNED BY THE FANS. FOR THE FANS.

View PostThirdrockfromtheSon, on 04 March 2010 - 09:45, said:

Minus 4 degrees overnight Friday, plus 2 with sleet showers Saturday.

I'm guessing the prospects aren't great.

No wonder the BBC are cutting back on their programmes. If yesterday's weather forecast vs todays forecast for Saturday is so varied, they want to sack the lot of them for inconsistency.

Todays forecast for Saturday is: zero degrees overnight, plus 8 degrees during Saturday. with sunny intervals.

Maybe the prospects of the game going ahead have got better :)
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Sub

View PostGinger ninja, on 04 March 2010 - 20:35, said:

Anyone direct me to the junior forum. Im sure you nice Dumbarton chaps will show me the wayPosted Image .......Anyway since im here C'mon the Brechin. Get into this gash.Posted Image .

I would help you, but I'm too busy trying to get through to NHS24, to arrange to get my sides sewn up, seeing as I split them laughing at your hilarious joke.

View PostGinger ninja, on 04 March 2010 - 20:35, said:

No, but I can direct you to the Glasgow Airport runway if you want. Mind the traffic.

C'mon the Sons!!

User is offline   Alloa_Shire 

• My Team:East Stirlingshire
Working nightshift in Helensburgh tonight and tomorrow night, 2200-1000 so i will get little sleep if I go to The Shire game, so if it goes ahead I am going to take this game in tomorrow. Haven't seen Dumbarton since we beat them 5-2 at Ochilview at the tail end of last season so it will be interesting to see how they are improving as I have been keeping an eye on them through the local papers.

Looking forward to it
Things can only get better!

User is online   'Steve 

• International Regular
  • Gamertag:stevebcfc
Well both the Dumbarton and Brechin websites have put up previews of the game with no mention of any possible postponement. Must be confident the game will go ahead. :D

If the weather forecast is correct then it should go ahead without any problems. Ground might be a bit hard first thing in the morning but should soften up sufficently by about 12 I'd imagine.

This post has been edited by 'Steve: 05 March 2010 - 17:37

Oooooh Garry Brady....

User is offline   Brechin City Fan 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip
  • My Team:Scotland
GAME ON!!!My link

User is online   Jordo1872 

• Third Division Regular
  • Euro 2012:Germany
Saturday football eh - I'll be going along for the novelty value alone, if I can remember where the ground is.

Should be a good match with Brechin needing a win to stay ion touch at the top, and us needing a win to stop the current run of poor form. I was impressed with Brechin at the Glebe earlier in the season and it'll not doubt be a tough match. Hopefully Chappie will have sorted out the right-back position or it could be another long afternoon. If Geggen is fit he is the man to replace Chizzy.

Fingers crossed for a Sons win but the smart money would be on Brechin, sadly.

User is offline   Scotland rule! 

• Third Division Apprentice
anybody know why J. Vojacek was out against Peterhead?
Hope he will be in goal today!!

• SPL Signing Target
Jim Duffy , tactical genious !

User is offline   Brechin City Fan 

• Sunday League Sub
  • Pip

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 06 March 2010 - 17:22, said:

Jim Duffy , tactical genious !

I concur!:D

User is offline   Edward_DFC 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:Edward182
That was a hard one to take, we dominated in the first half, Brechin were all over the place. Carcary had a great chance, he was 1-on-1 with the keeper but lobbed it over. The Brechin free kick was well saved by Michael White but Byers was there to tap in the rebound. I'm getting worried as Arbroath and Clyde are picking up points (call me paranoid if you want) this league is anything but over.

Don't really know who my motm was but i'd say Ben Gordon. I thought McNiff played decent for the first half.

So I look forward to Tuesday which is hopefully a return to winning ways, (I'll leave the Brechin subs complaint to JackDFC)

This post has been edited by Edward_DFC: 06 March 2010 - 19:17

HE STEERS WITH HIS LEFT,
HE WANKS WITH HIS RIGHT,
ALAN LITHGOW,
MAKES YOUR TEAM LOOK SHITE!

User is offline   JackDFC 

• Gamertag:JackCrawfordDFC (xbox)

View PostEdward_DFC, on 06 March 2010 - 17:52, said:

So I look forward to Tuesday which is hopefully a return to winning ways, (I'll leave the Brechin subs complaint to JackDFC)

Im sure they put on 4 subs Posted Image ?

We totally dominated in first half, Carcary wasting what was probably our best chance. Michael White was good today, bit dodgy at times but the free kick save was fantastic. I agree with you Edward because even though we are a few clear of Arbroath and Clyde, were still not safe. I dont think were going to make the play offs because thats Brechin 12?! points ahead of us which is too much to make up at any time of the season, never the mind the run in and they have a game in hand. So thats play offs out the window, priority is now staying up but i think we will.

my mom was probably Michael White, some great saves by him.

Mon eh Sons Posted Image

TOO MANY MAN, TOO MANY MAN.

• SPL Signing Target

View PostBrechin City Fan, on 06 March 2010 - 17:30, said:

I concur!:D

see post 19

• SPL Signing Target

View PostEdward_DFC, on 06 March 2010 - 17:52, said:

That was a hard one to take, we dominated in the first half, Brechin were all over the place. Carcary had a great chance, he was 1-on-1 with the keeper but lobbed it over. The Brechin free kick was well saved by Michael White but Byers was there to tap in the rebound. I'm getting worried as Arbroath and Clyde are picking up points (call me paranoid if you want) this league is everything but over.

Don't really know who my motm was but i'd say Ben Gordon. I thought McNiff played decent for the first half.

Do you mean anything but over ? :rolleyes:

What was the deal with the subs ? I'm surprised we had 4 subs total !

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Posttheoriginalhedge, on 06 March 2010 - 19:16, said:

Do you mean anything but over ? :rolleyes:

What was the deal with the subs ? I'm surprised we had 4 subs total !

aye that one :P

me, JackDFC and our mates all thought Brechin had brought on 4 subs, we're probably just shite at maths though :lol:

EDIT: We thought that the first Brechin sub was a double sub, just realised it wasn't, Charlie King was getting instructions from his manager so it looked like 2 people were coming on.

This post has been edited by Edward_DFC: 06 March 2010 - 20:55

HE STEERS WITH HIS LEFT,
HE WANKS WITH HIS RIGHT,
ALAN LITHGOW,

User is offline   bcfc1906 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

What a lot of pish. Yes Dumbarton had a lot of te ball first half, but its a bit rich to say that they were so far on top when McAllister had the best chance of the game in the first period on the stroke of half time, which just rolled the wrong side of the post.

Dumbarton had plenty of the ball, but to say Brechin were all over the place is a bit harsh too. Certainly the Sons did well on the left flank in the first half, but ity defended well thoughout and personally I thought Fusco was Man of the Match for the umpteenth game in a row, Barry Smith not far behind.

BTW Dennis Wyness had some good touches, but to be honest I thought he was well policed by our central defenders. White had more saves to make than Nelson as well, which sort of suggests your "we dominated" pish is exactly that. As is the four subs crap Cowan, Canning and Masson came on for Brechin.

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

View Postbcfc1906, on 06 March 2010 - 20:34, said:

What a lot of pish. Yes Dumbarton had a lot of te ball first half, but its a bit rich to say that they were so far on top when McAllister had the best chance of the game in the first period on the stroke of half time, which just rolled the wrong side of the post.

tbh i'd say Carcary had the best chance of the half, one on one with the keeper, just put it too high.

If we had carried on our performance from the first half we would have probably won the game, but yet again we were inconsistent.
HE STEERS WITH HIS LEFT,
HE WANKS WITH HIS RIGHT,
ALAN LITHGOW,

• (4 Pages) +
  • Last »