Qos V Morton Score Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:Queen of the South

View PostM0rtonfc, on 10 February 2010 - 11:24, said:

Queens fans, do you think there is a chance this game will be called off due to a frozen pitch? I know it's early days but it's to be -4 tonight but to get slightly warmer over the next few days, how reliable are your pitch covers with the bold frost?

I'd be surprised if it was off. The covers are down and are good to -4 or -5 without any real problem. We've had them for five years now and had only one game off for frost in that time, the pre-Xmas match with Raith Rovers, and that one was -8C overnight on the Friday night.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
Really hope it's on as it's the rearranged hospitality for us after the Raith game was cancelled.

Don't think there is any chance Quinn and McLaren won't start, especially afteer McLarens performance vs Dundee.

This post has been edited by FC_1919: 10 February 2010 - 12:18

Queen of the South Football Club <3

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
  • Team:Greenock Morton

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 10 February 2010 - 11:30, said:

I'd be surprised if it was off. The covers are down and are good to -4 or -5 without any real problem. We've had them for five years now and had only one game off for frost in that time, the pre-Xmas match with Raith Rovers, and that one was -8C overnight on the Friday night.

Great, If I remember correctly Palmerston's pitch doesn't really have a shaded area by the stand either? That's why the games are being called off at Cappielow, as the sun doesn't get over the main stand to thaw the touchline area. If no area is in the shade then the sun is strong enough by now to get rid of a freeze anyway.

View Postweirdcal, on 01 August 2011 - 11:10, said:

when you think box office you think big and exciting

User is offline   Weekender 

• Greenock Is, So Wonderful
Well, that's Shimmin 'injured' once again and a huge doubt for Saturday.

I wonder what tragic story he conjured up this time?
Posted Image

View PostTonsilitis, on 09 February 2010 - 09:40, said:

The defence will pick itself

Or not. :(

Greacen and Shimmin doubtful with virus and groin strain respectively. We have enough cover for two central defenders, but with the full-backs likely to be fairly weak, it wouldn't bode well if they missed out. Paartalu's also got an ankle injury so we have to field footballers instead of our 9 foot hammer-throwing trump card.

Looking at the pub situation as we speak, seeing as there's 5 hours to kill between the ideal outward and homeward trains. Looks even more messy than the Kirkcaldy day out.

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 10 February 2010 - 21:05

• Hug It Out...

View PostvikingTON, on 10 February 2010 - 21:04, said:

Or not. :(

Greacen and Shimmin doubtful with virus and groin strain respectively. We have enough cover for two central defenders, but with the full-backs likely to be fairly weak, it wouldn't bode well if they missed out. Paartalu's also got an ankle injury so we have to field footballers instead of our 9 foot hammer-throwing trump card.

Looking at the pub situation as we speak, seeing as there's 5 hours to kill between the ideal outward and homeward trains. Looks even more messy than the Kirkcaldy day out.

There are some utterly horrific pubs between the ground and the station, probably about 20 depending on what route you would take.

Edit - 20 in total, but some are utterly horrific, some are pretty decent though.

This post has been edited by FC_1919: 10 February 2010 - 21:52

View PostFC_1919, on 10 February 2010 - 21:51, said:

There are some utterly horrific pubs between the ground and the station, probably about 20 depending on what route you would take.

Edit - 20 in total, but some are utterly horrific, some are pretty decent though.

I don't imagine any are more ramshackle than Starks' Bar, or the Norseman for that matter. :lol:

User is offline   A-Mac 

• Third Division Superstar
Anyone else having trouble with the official site?
Australia's best supporters - Melbourne Victory F.C.
North/South Unite for Derby

User is offline   M0rtonfc 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:PS3: harpoon83

View PostvikingTON, on 10 February 2010 - 21:04, said:

so we have to field footballers instead of our 9 foot hammer-throwing trump card.

Posted Image so true.

• Third Division Sub

View PostFC_1919, on 10 February 2010 - 21:51, said:

Last season when I was down for this game we got off the train and headed towards the stadium going through the city centre, we just stopped into pubs on the way there. I think the last one we went in was one that was right at the start of the little bridge? I could be wrong with this as it was a while back but what I do remember is the route we went was full of cracking boozers.

There was one we went in that was right in the city centre, really small, dark and packed full of Queens fans. It was good in there and we got some good banter with the Queens fans.

BRING ON THE DUMFRIES MADNESS!

• Third Division Sub
Oh and yeah, bring on the game! Posted Image

• The Numbers Man

View PostM0rtonfc, on 11 February 2010 - 08:50, said:

Last season when I was down for this game we got off the train and headed towards the stadium going through the city centre, we just stopped into pubs on the way there. I think the last one we went in was one that was right at the start of the little bridge? I could be wrong with this as it was a while back but what I do remember is the route we went was full of cracking boozers.

There was one we went in that was right in the city centre, really small, dark and packed full of Queens fans. It was good in there and we got some good banter with the Queens fans.

BRING ON THE DUMFRIES MADNESS!

:lol: "city centre"

Might have been the Hole i the Wa if you didn't go through to the back bar where there's loads of room. Either that or The Globe maybe?

Coming from the station to the ground there are no pubs "right at the start" of any of the bridges (I presume you would use Buccleuch Street Bridge). On the opposite side nearer the ground though there are three in a very short space right at the bridge (The Globe, Salutation and Spread Eagle). The latter has a reputation as a Celtic pub.

• Hug It Out...
Been informed it was as low as minus 7 last night, anyone up early enough to see?

• The Numbers Man

View PostFC_1919, on 11 February 2010 - 09:07, said:

Been informed it was as low as minus 7 last night, anyone up early enough to see?

T'was certainly "bloody cauld".

-4 on the way to work this morning at 8:30. If it was as low as -7 then frost will have got in under the covers, but hopefully not to a major extent. Forecast for the rest of the week isn't as cold.

• Hug It Out...
Pretty cold at half 8 that, it was a guy who gets in about half 6 who told me. No reason not believe him other than he is a bit dim and I doubt he knows how to work a termometer.

User is offline   ConanTheLibrarian 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostFC_1919, on 11 February 2010 - 09:41, said:

Pretty cold at half 8 that, it was a guy who gets in about half 6 who told me. No reason not believe him other than he is a bit dim and I doubt he knows how to work a termometer.

You show him how to work it Fin and he'll maybe show you how to spell it ;)

• Hug It Out...
Cheeky, I am going to blame the phone! ;)

Really hope the games on, gets a bit boring without the football being on.

• Third Division Sub

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 11 February 2010 - 08:56, said:

Posted Image "city centre"

Might have been the Hole i the Wa if you didn't go through to the back bar where there's loads of room. Either that or The Globe maybe?

Coming from the station to the ground there are no pubs "right at the start" of any of the bridges (I presume you would use Buccleuch Street Bridge). On the opposite side nearer the ground though there are three in a very short space right at the bridge (The Globe, Salutation and Spread Eagle). The latter has a reputation as a Celtic pub.

Posted Image city centre, whoops!

As soon as you get off the train it just seemed to be hotels but as we got in the centre we went into a few boozer that were not bad. I can't even remember what one it was but we came out the pub and it was at the start of the bridge which was on the way to the ground, maybe a few buildings down the boozer was.

Christ this weather is not what I want to hear, just checked BBC weather and it's to be -3 tonight and then 1 on Friday night, Saturday is grey clouds so we need to hope the pitch is in no way frozen as there certainly won't be any sun on Saturday by the looks of things Posted Image .

This post has been edited by M0rtonfc: 11 February 2010 - 11:17

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostM0rtonfc, on 11 February 2010 - 11:16, said:

Posted Image city centre, whoops!

As soon as you get off the train it just seemed to be hotels but as we got in the centre we went into a few boozer that were not bad. I can't even remember what one it was but we came out the pub and it was at the start of the bridge which was on the way to the ground, maybe a few buildings down the boozer was.

Christ this weather is not what I want to hear, just checked BBC weather and it's to be -3 tonight and then 1 on Friday night, Saturday is grey clouds so we need to hope the pitch is in no way frozen as there certainly won't be any sun on Saturday by the looks of things Posted Image .

Sounds like the Cavens.If not it might have been the World's End,both pubs just before the start of either bridge.

User is online   MONKMAN 

• First Division Sub

View PostFC_1919, on 11 February 2010 - 09:07, said:

Aye your right enough finlay, my brother came off the nightshift and had the cheek to phone me while i was giving it big ZZZZ's to say it was -7. that would be about 6.30-7am. Unless it was my brother you spoke to?

Edited, just realised you said it was someone at your work

This post has been edited by MONKMAN: 11 February 2010 - 20:26

WHY
ALWAYS
ME ?

User is offline   Stevie Aitken's Love Child 

• First Division Regular
So is this one going to go ahead tomorrow then? I noticed on the Queens official site that they will leave the covers on again overnight tonight as they expect some more frost. I have a sneaking feeling that this is going to be called off actually, which is a shame as we have much more of a chance of continuing our good Palmerston form on a Saturday than we do midweek IMO.

Anyway, if it is on we should have Shimmin and Greacen fit after both were declared doubtful on Wednesday. Shimmin managed to train both yesterday and today after a hamstring strain, and Greacen is hopeful of shaking off a virus to play, so we should be at virtual full-strength, Erik Paartalu aside.

I'm tipping Peter Weatherson to continue his good scoring form at Palmerston, but I can see this one being draw if it beats the weather.

1-1.

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostStevie Aitken, on 12 February 2010 - 17:24, said:

So is this one going to go ahead tomorrow then? I noticed on the Queens official site that they will leave the covers on again overnight tonight as they expect some more frost. I have a sneaking feeling that this is going to be called off actually, which is a shame as we have much more of a chance of continuing our good Palmerston form on a Saturday than we do midweek IMO.

Anyway, if it is on we should have Shimmin and Greacen fit after both were declared doubtful on Wednesday. Shimmin managed to train both yesterday and today after a hamstring strain, and Greacen is hopeful of shaking off a virus to play, so we should be at virtual full-strength, Erik Paartalu aside.

I'm tipping Peter Weatherson to continue his good scoring form at Palmerston, but I can see this one being draw if it beats the weather.

1-1.

I don't want to temp fate like when I assured numerous Dunfermline fans in the pub that the game at Palmerston that day would definitely be on,but I can't see there being a problem tomorrow.Forecast that's just been on is for -2°C here overnight with day temp of 5°C and it's not really been that cold here today,there was even a wee rain shower earlier ( inserts kiss of death smiley)

• The Numbers Man
Been quite pleasant down here today in fact. Unless the weather forecast for overnight is very wrong I'd be astonished if the game was off.

User is offline   Monkey Tennis 

• First Division Superstar
Yes, here in equatorial Nithsdale, it's been fine.
I'm much more confident that the game will go ahead, than I am that we'll win it.

User is offline   TONTROOPER 

• Third Division Apprentice
Posted ImageHi All...and a special hello to all my new 'Ton friends!..just registered here half-hour or so ago so I guess I'm a virgin poster at the ripe old age of 58!!!...lol..just recently made redundant so I guess I'll have a lot more time to get my ass down to Cappielow in the future as its been quite some time since last I was there...sad to say.I notice some of you are in some doubt as to whether or not the game will happen tomorrow...its been kinda frosty this week but dont think it will be postponed (kiss of death!)...noticed a post from a fellow fan (ALIBI) that there's a pub in Dumfries called the Caven Arms.Well if that isn't an omen or what...I and my brother are in regular contact with our buddy (whooops...sorry guys ..didn't mean to swear!!!)...John (Joe) Caven...and if I have to tell you who he was ..........John's up in Nairn now so doesn't get down very often and every time we arrange to hook-up to catch a game at Cappielow..something always crops up and it doesnae happen!...but one of these days.Anyway...blethered on long enough...hope to hear from you guys soon and here's looking forward to an away win! ...see ya.

• (7 Pages) +
  • Last »