Qos V Morton Score Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   ConanTheLibrarian 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:Queen of the South

View PostTonsilitis, on 13 February 2010 - 18:39, said:

As others have said, Queens fans don't have to apologise for something that affects every town in Scotland. Palmerston is one of the best days out in Scottish football and, by and large, Queens fans are as friendly a bunch as you will meet.

Of course if you are a Morton fan you always enjoy your day out to Dumfries!

No consolation,but it was in the local paper yesterday that some bunch of wee cu*ts dropped a lump of wood from one of the bridges along the bypass onto a van passing below.Could have been a tragedy but luckily nothing serious happened.I doubt the bricking of the buses was done by young Queens fans,just a bunch of wee neds hiding out knowing the way the buses would be coming.

User is offline   MonEhTon 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • Team:Greenock Morton
  • Gamertag:Spacka Whacka

View PostThe Master, on 13 February 2010 - 17:45, said:

As I posted on the live scores thread, this also happened to a Dundee bus at our game there a few weeks back.

It's a shame, because Palmerston is usually a pretty good day out, regardless of the result.

This post has just made me realise that I should have posted my updates in the live scores thread. Sorry about that, newish to the boards and didn't know it existed.
Stand up if you hate St Mirren!

User is offline   queenslad 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Hutton sent off in tunnel after the match and Jenkins got booked.

Did anyone see anything?

User is offline   harrington 

re the bricking of the buses - unfortunately this kinda thing happens in greenock with all the wee twats from the QB (old firmers out for trouble) but i always thought dumfries was like trumpton. sad to see there are scum down there too. i have a soft spot for Q.O.T.S and worked with one of their fans in ibm for a bit. clive he was called and he was a good lad.

queens are a good provincial team who i would love to see in the spl (not at our expense of course) and it just seems some dafties have been ruining their good rep the last few games.

absolutely delighted with the result. masterplan must have been training hard to get back into recognition unless our new signings are utter pap. i always thought masterplan could fit in as long as everyone else were busting their baws in the midfield. in the celtic cup tie we could have done with his set-piece skills because we had feck all chance hitting them in open play.

well done stevie - a bit more effort when the ball is running and you could be a star turn for the ton Posted Image

User is offline   happysouth 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
The buses getting hit is terrible, if true.
Is there any evidence that this happened? All i can see is the poster on here who said that 1 maybe 2 buses had been bricked. As the said poster isn't sure how many buses were bricked it suggests to me he wasn't there and doesn't know anything. Perhaps someone who was on one of the buses could confirm if it actually happened.
As i say, if it is true it is completley unacceptable.

User is offline   Tonsilitis 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View Posthappysouth, on 13 February 2010 - 20:48, said:

Is there any evidence that this happened? All i can see is the poster on here who said that 1 maybe 2 buses had been bricked. As the said poster isn't sure how many buses were bricked it suggests to me he wasn't there and doesn't know anything. Perhaps someone who was on one of the buses could confirm if it actually happened.

You are right, I wasn't there but simply passed on reports from other fans

See this thread on the Morton site

http://www.greenockm...showtopic=31325
I plan on living forever! So far, so good!

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!
  • Group: Platinum Members
Absolutely terrible if there was any buses hit. No excuses - it is shameful. I know our buses used to be hit on a regular basis on our visits to Scapa in the 80's, but we really should be better than that, especially in these more enlightend times.

Queens as a team have thrown in the towel, run up the white flag or whatever metaphor you would like to use to describe us, on deciding we cannot be arsed putting in a league challenge. Still, I suppose it is a cheaper option than getting our ground up to scratch for the SPL.

I can now see us finishing sixth again. Whoopee! :angry:

This post has been edited by qos_75: 13 February 2010 - 21:55

Look at you. You're a slippery genius!

User is offline   Mr.Blue 

• Third Division Sub

eye witness accounts on greenockmorton.org
A' we hear is, Radio Jocky (clap-clap),
Radio Teckle (clap-clap),
Radio Jocky (clap-clap).
Radio what's new? Radioooooo! Some-c**t-still-loves-youuuuuuu! That's what eh'm talkin' aboot!

User is offline   Distant Doonhamer 

• First Division Signing Target

View Postqos_75, on 13 February 2010 - 21:48, said:

Absolutely terrible if there was any buses hit. No excuses - it is shameful. I know our buses used to be hit on a regular basis on our visits to Scapa in the 80's, but we really should be better than that, especially in these more enlightend times.

Queens as a team have thrown in the towel, run up the white flag or whatever metaphor you would like to use to describe us, on deciding we cannot be arsed putting in a league challenge. Still, I suppose it is a cheaper option than getting our ground up to scratch for the SPL.

That`s a bit harsh surely. Certainly we were poor today but given our previous 2 displays were a very decent display against the league leaders and a good point at Firhill it`s a bit of an over reaction to claim we`ve thrown in the towel.

This post has been edited by Distant Doonhamer: 13 February 2010 - 22:12

User is online   Ludo *1 

• The Thinking Man's Trevor McDonald
  • Team:Dundee

View PostDistant Doonhamer, on 13 February 2010 - 22:03, said:

That`s a bit harsh surely. Certainly we were poor today but given our previous 2 displays were a very decent display against the league leaders and a good point at Firhill it`s a bit of an over reaction to claim we`ve thrown in the towel.

Queens blew their title aspirations today. I now believe it is between ICT, County and Dundee.
As I Was Comin' Doon The Overgate...

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View PostDistant Doonhamer, on 13 February 2010 - 22:03, said:

You might be right. However, I have never felt as bad after any other defeat this season. It really has ripped my knitting.

User is offline   Distant Doonhamer 

• First Division Signing Target

View PostLudo *1, on 13 February 2010 - 22:14, said:

Queens blew their title aspirations today. I now believe it is between ICT, County and Dundee.

I`ve never thought we would win the league this season. I just felt it harsh to say we`d somehow given up as a team based on 1 poor display.

User is offline   QosLoyal 

• Third Division Regular
  • Gamertag:PSN:Clarky01

View PostLudo *1, on 13 February 2010 - 22:14, said:

Might be right... 3 games in hand on your lot 2 at home to raith and ayr, and away to ross county still a few twists and turns yet. Might just be that ayr get a result against the mighty dee, then there will be the usual spouting of jockey must go etc!
GUS MACPHERSON'S BLUE N WHITE ARMY!

User is online   Ludo *1 

• The Thinking Man's Trevor McDonald
  • Team:Dundee

View PostDistant Doonhamer, on 13 February 2010 - 22:20, said:

I`ve never thought we would win the league this season. I just felt it harsh to say we`d somehow given up as a team based on 1 poor display.

Fair enough. For a while, I believed that Queens were going to do another Hamilton, fortunately for us you lot just haven't been consistant enough.

The fact that Queens are now fifth albeit with game in hand shows just how tight this league is but I do think that, that is it over for your lot now which I suppose would be a shame if I was a neutral supporter.
As I Was Comin' Doon The Overgate...

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View PostLudo *1, on 13 February 2010 - 22:33, said:

Fair enough. For a while, I believed that Queens were going to do another Hamilton, fortunately for us you lot just haven't been consistant enough.

The fact that Queens are now fifth albeit with game in hand shows just how tight this league is but I do think that, that is it over for your lot now which I suppose would be a shame if I was a neutral supporter.

I hope it's because I am starting to feel drunk that it really grates (although it felt that way after the match), I have a feeling it will still feel the same tomorrow when I avoid reading the match report in the papers.

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man

View PostDistant Doonhamer, on 13 February 2010 - 22:20, said:

We were poor today but given how awful we were first half I actually thought the showing second half saw plenty of evidence that the team haven't thrown the towel in. However, fact is we came up short. It's a very big ask for us to get involved in the title race now though it is still doable. We need to pull off wins in unlikely places as we did in the first half of the season though, starting off next week in Inverness.

If we don't win the league then we don't win the league. I doubt many of our fans truly thought we ever would. However, I'd be disappointed to see a traditional Queens fallaway to mid-table. I want a top four spot (with cup exemptions) at the very least.

View PostLudo *1, on 13 February 2010 - 22:33, said:

I'd blame a bit of ill luck with the weather more than lack of consistency at this point. Without making excuses we've hardly kicked a competitive ball in two months and it shows. That's had three consequences for us as regard yourselves in particular.
1 - You've been able to build up a comfortable lead by getting your games played, one in fact that would be even more comfortable without the surprising defeat to Airdrie.
2 - We are quite clearly ring rusty. Though we raised ourselves to play very well against Dundee a few weeks back the two games since have seen us looking far from sharp.
3 - We are also going to be hamstrung by a succession of midweek games which is going to be hard to cope with on a reasonably small squad.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   princessTON 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip

i was sitting at the window when the window got smashed on my bus (morton supporters club bus) and i nearly had a heart attack. thankfully the windows are double glazed so it was only the outside which shattered. who knows what would have happened if it smashed through to me

the wee neds who done it are lucky the bus was moving, or else i would of got off that bus and hit the wee shites

User is offline   princessTON 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
photo

Attached File(s)

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
There were more than a few wee neds outside the ground at full-time, but I didn't think they were Queens' fans at all, I'm not even aware of this incident but I presume it was them looking for trouble.

View Postweirdcal, on 01 August 2011 - 11:10, said:

when you think box office you think big and exciting

User is offline   qos_75 

• Free Cake!

View PostSkyline Drifter, on 13 February 2010 - 22:55, said:

If we don't win the league then we don't win the league. I doubt many of our fans truly thought we ever would. However, I'd be disappointed to see a traditional Queens fallaway to mid-table. I want a top four spot (with cup exemptions) at the very least.

It would be terrible if we finished below second, yet that is looking very likely. I believe Inverness will finish above us, Ross County as well. Partick? probably. Dunfermline and obviously Dundee.

Dundee apart, that would be a very poor turn of events.

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man

View Postqos_75, on 14 February 2010 - 00:00, said:

It would be terrible if we finished below second, yet that is looking very likely. I believe Inverness will finish above us, Ross County as well. Partick? probably. Dunfermline and obviously Dundee.

Dundee apart, that would be a very poor turn of events.

I don't think it would be "terrible" if we finished below 2nd. We've been neck and neck with County all season and everyone always expected Dundee to win it. 3rd would be no disgrace. I'd be a little disappointed with 4th and very disappointed with anything worse.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   PALMYLAD 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Still a lot football to be played yet in this league guys . A win against Ayr on Tuesday night would do for starters .....

User is offline   ConanTheLibrarian 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip

View PostprincessTON, on 13 February 2010 - 23:28, said:

photo

That photo is taken at Lochthorn Library between Locharbriggs and Heathhall.I'm assuming that you took it well after it happened because that's more than 2 mile from Palmerston so wouldn't have been anyone from the game if it happened here.I've seen some wee cu*nts at previous midweek games hanging about the wee alley between the car park and the Palmerston Cafe,just where the buses turn onto the dual carriage way.They must be getting brave if they're doing it in daylight.

This post has been edited by ConanTheLibrarian: 14 February 2010 - 10:13

User is offline   Flash 

• First Division Sub

View Postqos_75, on 13 February 2010 - 21:48, said:

We threw in the towel the minute Marvin Andrews signed. If ever there was a signing guaranteed to ensure we finish nowhere near the top, he is it.
He cost two goals in two games whilst on loan and this was enough for Chisholm to want to sign him. He has now cost 4 goals in 3 games, so he seems to be doing all that was asked of him and more.
As for the buses being bricked, there were the usual 8 plods at the game who go to the match, watch it, then go home. The only difference between the plods and the rest of the fans is that they get paid and they have to stand.

User is offline   TONTROOPER 

View PostMr.Blue, on 13 February 2010 - 13:53, said:

Blue because its the colour and football is the game.
Yawny because there are some ton fans on here who like to make mountains out of molehills.
Both a muso and a fan. Bass player. not heard of the Vicky Carriage as in the early eighties I wouldve been a toddler Posted Image

Ta for the reply Blue....The Victorian Carriage venue was 'up the hill' ...possibly near the swimming baths...cant remember ...maybe other Ton fans of a similar vintage as myself (..ahem..if there are any that old) can help out here. Nice to know my first posted reply on here follows 3 points in the bagPosted Image ...and with so many of our remaining games at Cappielow hopefully we can end up slightly north of mid-table .

• (7 Pages) +
  • « First