Rovers V Ict Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike
  • Team:Raith Rovers
I've nae interest in this at all. I just want to go up to Aberdeen.
Posted Image

User is offline   renton 

• Beetles know this, beetles are good doctors

View PostKutskiii, on 11 February 2010 - 10:17, said:

I've nae interest in this at all. I just want to go up to Aberdeen.

As long as the players don't feel the same way, I'll be happy enough.

For all our cup heroics to date, 3 points on saturday would go a long way to seeing us safe.

With Simmons and Tade (two of the better performers on saturday, not that any were slouches) I'd asusme that Ferry would come in for the former, having done a half decent job alongside Walker against Airdrie, in the latter's case I'd move Williamson alongside K.Smith up front.

I'd like to keep Russell on the right so that he can continue to cut inside and get D.Smith on the other wing, should give a bit of variety but I'm ocncerned that the lack of Tade does limit our outball options as he has become integral to the team.

This post has been edited by renton: 11 February 2010 - 11:39

What does a scanner see? he asked himself. I mean, really see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does a passive infrared scanner like they used to use or a cube-type holo-scanner like they use these days, the latest thing, see into me—into us—clearly or darkly? I hope it does, he thought, see clearly, because I can’t any longer these days see into myself. I see only murk. Murk outside; murk inside. I hope, for everyone’s sake, the scanners do better. Because, he thought, if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I myself do, then we are cursed, cursed again and like we have been continually, and we’ll wind up dead this way, knowing very little and getting that little fragment wrong too.

User is offline   keyser_soze 

• 100 Scottish Caps
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members
Hoping to make it to this one, as said before 3 points would go a long way to securing 8th place. A bit of fight and commitment as was shown against Aberdeen and I see no reason why we can't do it.

2 - 0 Rovers, score midway through the 1st half and hit them on the counter late in the game as ICT push for an equaliser :D
Keaton always said, "I don't believe in God, but I'm afraid of him." Well I believe in God, and the only thing that scares me is Keyser Soze.

User is offline   St. Starko 

• International Regular
As seen as I can't make it up to Aberdeen :angry: I'm looking forward to this one. Hopefully the Rovers can get a big league win, pick up some more confidence and momentum. Still think Caley will edge it though. 1 or 2 nil to the away side.
THE ESSENTIALS
Here

User is offline   Paco 

• There's Only One.
I think we'll lose. No Simmons and Tade is a blow, Ellis will be out too I think, so there's three players that play every week no matter what. Each of them big blows for very different reasons. Would think we'll go something along the lines of:

McGurn
Wilson Campbell Murray Hill
Williamson Ferry Walker D.Smith
Russell K.Smith

Maybe we'll do as Renton suggests though, with Williamson up front and Russell on the wing, I'd probably be tempted to go with that myself simply because the difference in work ethic between Williamson and Russell is night and day, and it's something you always need a winger to have.

We never seem to beat ICT though, and they were on a good run before their cup loss last week to a resurgent Killie. We might just have one eye on the replay as well. I'll say 2-0 ICT.

User is offline   renton 

• Beetles know this, beetles are good doctors

View PostPaco, on 11 February 2010 - 12:45, said:

I think we'll lose. No Simmons and Tade is a blow, Ellis will be out too I think, so there's three players that play every week no matter what. Each of them big blows for very different reasons. Would think we'll go something along the lines of:

McGurn
Wilson Campbell Murray Hill
Williamson Ferry Walker D.Smith
Russell K.Smith

Maybe we'll do as Renton suggests though, with Williamson up front and Russell on the wing, I'd probably be tempted to go with that myself simply because the difference in work ethic between Williamson and Russell is night and day, and it's something you always need a winger to have.

We never seem to beat ICT though, and they were on a good run before their cup loss last week to a resurgent Killie. We might just have one eye on the replay as well. I'll say 2-0 ICT.

It's not even a case of work ethic as I see it, as cliched as it sounds I think it comes down to Russell having a better engine than Williamson, is more able to cover the gorund better than Williamson. I don't think of Williamson as particularly lazy, he doesn't let the game pass him bye and he never hides, but there is no doubt that Russell can bomb it up and down the wing with more pace than Williamson and also provides a better defensive shield for his full back.
What does a scanner see? he asked himself. I mean, really see? Into the head? Down into the heart? Does a passive infrared scanner like they used to use or a cube-type holo-scanner like they use these days, the latest thing, see into me—into us—clearly or darkly? I hope it does, he thought, see clearly, because I can’t any longer these days see into myself. I see only murk. Murk outside; murk inside. I hope, for everyone’s sake, the scanners do better. Because, he thought, if the scanner sees only darkly, the way I myself do, then we are cursed, cursed again and like we have been continually, and we’ll wind up dead this way, knowing very little and getting that little fragment wrong too.

User is offline   DornochCaley 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
We have been playing a lot better recently. Might even finish ahead of County if we keep it up. Maybe 2-1 Inverness for this'un
OH INVERNESS!
IS WONDERFULL!

User is offline   St. Starko 

• International Regular

View PostPaco, on 11 February 2010 - 12:45, said:

I think we'll lose. No Simmons and Tade is a blow, Ellis will be out too I think, so there's three players that play every week no matter what. Each of them big blows for very different reasons.

Fair point, but I think we had more out, when we beat Partick at Firhill.
THE ESSENTIALS
Here

User is offline   Michael W 

• Keeping it direct

View Postrenton, on 11 February 2010 - 12:55, said:

It's not even a case of work ethic as I see it, as cliched as it sounds I think it comes down to Russell having a better engine than Williamson, is more able to cover the gorund better than Williamson. I don't think of Williamson as particularly lazy, he doesn't let the game pass him bye and he never hides, but there is no doubt that Russell can bomb it up and down the wing with more pace than Williamson and also provides a better defensive shield for his full back.

I don't think he's lazy as such either, but I'd have to disagree slightly with you on another point: I think he does sometimes tend to drift out of the game a bit, though I'd probably put that down to his habit of drifting into the centre, therefore neglecting his role out wide. He could sometimes do with offering Wilson with a bit more cover too. There's ability there, but his overall game does sometimes concern me.

The loss of Simmons will be a big blow. I know he can be inconsistent, but he's the best passer of a ball in the team and I'd say he's our most capable CM. I'd assume Ferry will replace him, with Walker being dropped back a bit into Simmons' role.

Dougie Hill played well when coming on against Aberdeen, so I've no qualms about him replacing Ellis, should Ellis be out. It'll be a real shame for Laurie to miss out, though. He's been excellent lately.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   jay_7 

• Sailing the seven proxies
  • Gamertag:EnRJay
After the spectator sport weekend I had last week, I will back Rovers to win. Perhaps now, the sporting gods will look favourably upon us.
Posted Image

User is offline   SandyCromarty 

• International Regular
7 league wins so far under our belt and if we manage to tighten the defense after last weeks cup performance we should win this one, touch and go at the moment whether I can make this one, here's hoping.

And no bets this week for me after dropping a feckin packet last week!

This post has been edited by SandyCromarty: 12 February 2010 - 08:35

User is offline   Wardy 

• Third Division Sub
  • Gamertag:ChrisRovers87
On Saturday when Ellis went off, did Dougie come on and play in the centre with Murray going out to left back? Hopefully McGlynn does this for Saturday. I'd go with:

McGurn
Wilson
Murray
Hill
Campbell
Russell
D Smith
The Surfer
Ferry
Williamson
K Smith.

I'd take a point, but then I always say that. I'm even making it to this game. Come on Rovers. :D
I LOVE ROVERS. THEY ARE MY TEAM

User is offline   Michael W 

• Keeping it direct
Nah, Dougie played left back. He played well there, but I'd put him in at CB if Inverness have two particularly tall strikers in order to minimise our chances of conceding headed goals from crosses. Murray is a fine centre-half, but his lack of height can sometimes be an issue.

Murray and Hill are both very much interchangeable though, so we should be fine.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

User is offline   AllanJM 

• Third Division Sub
I really hope the team are more up for this than our fans are as I (like most others) am totally preoccupied by the cup replay on Tuesday.

I'm hoping that we take a lift from our performance last week and the big game this week to grind out a result today. It wont be pretty but I think a narrow 2-1 Rovers win.

FYI covers have been down on the pitch for a few days (my missus went past on the train on Tursday then asked me why there were black bags all over the pitch Posted Image ) and it hasn't been too cold overnight so I don't imagine the game is in any doubt.

This post has been edited by AllanJM: 13 February 2010 - 09:36

"If the last few days have taught me anything it's that it's better to have a gun and not need one than to need a gun and not have one" - Clarence Whorley (He'd obviously met some Old Firm fans down a dark alley)

User is offline   thorogood's destroyers 

• Third Division Reserve
As info is hard to find on first div games, you can see our preview on CTO
Raith official site have also an interview with McGlynn.

Tade,Simmons,Davidson and probably Ellis out for this one

Raith Preview

Looks like Butch is making one or two changes. Possibility of Lionel dropped to the bench....or further and Eric in place of Sanchez. I like Sanchez, he creates and can spot a pass, but he is a bit shot shy and has been unlucky on a number of occasions. Think he also got a bump at Killie. Think Cox might also be missing/dropped which would see Russell Duncan surely back in midfield holding area.

enjoy.
Me, I'm bad to the bone

User is offline   Andy C 

View Postthorogood, on 13 February 2010 - 10:16, said:

As info is hard to find on first div games, you can see our preview on CTO
Raith official site have also an interview with McGlynn.

Tade,Simmons,Davidson and probably Ellis out for this one

Raith Preview

Looks like Butch is making one or two changes. Possibility of Lionel dropped to the bench....or further and Eric in place of Sanchez. I like Sanchez, he creates and can spot a pass, but he is a bit shot shy and has been unlucky on a number of occasions. Think he also got a bump at Killie. Think Cox might also be missing/dropped which would see Russell Duncan surely back in midfield holding area.

enjoy.

That is a fantastic, well written preview. Did you write it?

I'm taking the wee boy to today's game. He's into double figures for attendance now and has never witnessed us lose or draw. :D
Hopefully that trend maintains the status quo today.

User is offline   text.surfer2008 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Hope that Rover can match the way they played last week. Great effort. Looking forward to this game.
Raith Rovers - The BEST in Fife!

• Strike
Inverness are lumping the high balls here. They've not done anything but.
Posted Image

User is offline   jay_7 

• Sailing the seven proxies
  • Gamertag:EnRJay
Seems to be Butchers weapon of choice.
Posted Image

• Strike
What a fucking gift. They've never been in the game.
Posted Image

• Strike
I've never been so bored at a game since the last home game against this lot.
Posted Image

User is offline   ICTChris 

• Don't worry boss, I've got you covered. Quick and clean
Pleased with that result.
ALWAYS PUT ONE IN THE BRAIN

User is offline   Enigma 

• I am not in the condition to f**k!
Ouch. I am kind of glad a decided to give this a miss. :(
Posted Image

User is offline   ScottRRFC 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Gamertag:SCOTTRRFC1
How the f**k was that a 4-0 gamePosted Image . I left at 3-0 and it was pritty even but the first goal was a disaster 2nd and 3rd goals pish defending and 4th dont know.The score line flattered caley FACT

This post has been edited by ScottRRFC: 13 February 2010 - 16:57

Raith Rovers Football Club

f**k The Old Firm!!!

User is offline   TheScarf 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • Gamertag:PSN : whoorsir

View PostKutskiii, on 13 February 2010 - 16:38, said:

I've never been so bored at a game since the last home game against this lot.

Dry up son. That's twice now we've raped Raith. You're offically our bitches.
And what?

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »