Rovers V Ict Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Scary Bear 

• Golden Baws
  • Team:Raith Rovers
  • Gamertag:Life begins at 40
Back to league duty on Saturday with the visit of ICT. Will it be another win for ICT, following on from their smash and grab in October, or will the Rovers continue the form they showed against Aberdeen and get the 3 points?

???

User is offline   L. Brilliant 

• Third Division Apprentice
Having been at Stark's on Saturday and subsequently watched the BBC highlights, we'll know not to make any sweeping judgements about ICT based on the TV coverage. If there was anything to be drawn from it though, I'd say they seemed to give Kille a good game but crucially gave away minging goals. I wouldn't object to Rovers setting up the same as Saturday, suffocating them in the middle and getting Tade, Russell and Williamson forward quickly to support Smith when we break. We could get a result, but the cup replay will inevitably prove a distraction. I predict a meek defeat Posted Image

User is offline   thorogood's destroyers 

• Third Division Reserve
  • Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
Aye, 3-0 flattered Killie no end. We need to take our chances. Even the last time we played you guys in the fog at Inverness we should have scored about twelve goals. The lack of pace in our central defence is criminal and that is where we are getting found out. Lionel had a complete off day as well and will have lost any confidence he was starting to gain since he was laughed off the park against County in Inverness. Proctor is not tough enough for the midfield engine room and Duncan needs to get back in there. Jonny Hayes must have been saving himself for league business as he was subdued, but Tangoman probably did his homework and had a couple of defenders waiting for him, with a third man sweeping up the loose ball. Still I would like to think we can keep our recent league form going and a win would be nice, but we may have to settle for a draw the way we have been defending and scorning goal scoring opportunities.

Tough game coming up.
Me, I'm bad to the bone

User is offline   raithgates 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
will miss this game ,ict are a good team think it will be a draw.

User is offline   AllanJM 

• Third Division Sub
It's a shame Tadé is suspended for this as his pace could have caused some real problems. However, if Smith and Russell continue from where they left off on Saturday we should create plenty of chances.

The key to this will be the battle in midfield. We really need Simmons and Walker to step up to the plate and take the game by the scruff of the neck.

I'm confident that we have the back line to limit the number of chances ICT have and believe we have enough up front to create chances of our own.

Tough game but I think a narrow home win.
"If the last few days have taught me anything it's that it's better to have a gun and not need one than to need a gun and not have one" - Clarence Whorley (He'd obviously met some Old Firm fans down a dark alley)

User is online   SandyCromarty 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
It's touch and go whether I make this game as I might be back overseas on a job, hopefully I will make it.

I'm expecting a major reshuffle and hopefully a change of tactics for this game as compared to saturdays, I am convinced Golabeck will be back in defense, as for Lionel well saturday will be a day he will want to forget, but does anybody think like me that he could be playing out of position???

You're 'subdued' comment on Hayes Thorogood is in line with mine and I have mentioned that in previous games he has been closely marked, but on saturday he just didn't seem to get going and the head wasdown quite a bit, maybe something has been put to him in training that doesn't suit his game, I know that some managers coming from a defending background try to contain playmakers to a one touch passing game in tthe belief that they showboat at times, anyway he will hopefully be up for The Rovers game.

User is offline   rw89 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Gamertag:Steam: RW2711
We need everyone to maintain their performances that they had against Aberdeen though that may be difficult with a crowd of 2000 rather than 7000. A win would be, as with any other week, a massive result. But I think Caley are a strong team and will cause us no end of problems.
Death or glory

User is offline   PUNT IT ! 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
This is going to be a hard game but hopefully we can get a win.

As said previously tade will be a big miss for this game as he causes any team massive problems ( especially teams with slow back lines ). However, williamson is back and had a good game on saturady and is one of the only rovers players who I think has that we bit about him to score the goals ( not including king kev and wee johnny russell ).

So aye there are goals in our team and hopefully we can put in another excellent defensive dispaly like we have done many times this season. If we do we have a good chance of winning but like any game in this division the oppostion will be saying the exact same thing bacuase there isn't to much between any of the teams.

Mon The Rovers!
BOOM BOOM BOOM, LET ME HEAR YOU SAY TADE!

User is offline   St. Starko 

• International Regular
Can we not just play Aberdeen on Saturday and play Inverness mid week? :(
THE ESSENTIALS
Here

View PostAllanJM, on 08 February 2010 - 13:22, said:

It's a shame Tadé is suspended for this as his pace could have caused some real problems.

Baws, I forgot. Who comes in then? Darren Smith I expect, but does anyone see Weir going in?

User is offline   Raith Against The Machine 

• Ali-ali-all-an Walker
I don't suppose anyone knows the extent of Javier Amaya's injury, that's seen him miss the last few weeks? Has it passed and he's just not been included in the match squads, or is he still struggling with it?

User is offline   Soccer Dark Blue 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Team:Dundee
Think ICT will just about sneak this one, based on their unbeaten run in the league, but Raith will give them a fight as it's hard for any away team to go to Starks and come away with points.
Chis and Dodds Dark Blue Army!

User is offline   Michael W 

• Keeping it direct
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostAllanJM, on 08 February 2010 - 13:22, said:

We really need Simmons and Walker to step up to the plate and take the game by the scruff of the neck.

Simmons apparently has a 3 game ban to serve. I've no idea how that's been composed, but can only assume his cup red card has sent his points total soaring. I seem to remember something similar happening to Allan Walker last season. I'd imagine Ferry will replace Simmons, seeing as how Sloan didn't make the squad on Saturday.

Darren Smith will presumably replace the suspended Tadé, with Johnny Russell being pushed up front to partner Kevin Smith.

Dunfermline boss Jim McIntyre must be at a loss to explain the succession of goalkeeping howlers he's witnessed from the frazzled Pars this season. I'm picturing a scene akin to Basil Fawlty whacking his car repeatedly with a branch after deciding "enough is enough!"

• International Regular
In todays Inverness Courier an article on the back page highlights the fact that Butcher last week had our defense carry out extra practice and worked on possibble aerial threats by Kyle and Sammon the same two who feckin ripped the pish out of us during the game.

Feck me Butcher, do us a favour and stay away from the 'extra practice' and try something else.

User is offline   thorogood's destroyers 

• Third Division Reserve
To be fair though SC, Sammon poached his goal well (see what I did there). It was his pace which roasted us a few times and Kyles ability to hold the ball up well and his strength on the deck.

Back to the Motherwell format for me with Rossco at LB and Proc at RB with Duncan in the midfield alongside Cox. Lionel simply has to suffer after that performance, simple schoolboy errors.
Me, I'm bad to the bone

View PostSandyCromarty, on 09 February 2010 - 08:35, said:

In todays Inverness Courier an article on the back page highlights the fact that Butcher last week had our defense carry out extra practice and worked on possibble aerial threats by Kyle and Sammon the same two who feckin ripped the pish out of us during the game.

Feck me Butcher, do us a favour and stay away from the 'extra practice' and try something else.

About the worst our defence has ever been was when Butcher was our 'defence coach'

• International Regular
Aye but we've also got Malpas who was capped over 50 times for Scotland at full back.

User is online   Dazzle 

• Carling King
  • Gamertag:DARYLRAITH
I'm looking forward to this game, were due a win against Inverness after the home game robbery, hopefully the lads will continue where they left off on Saturday.
John Baird 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 910 Goals already.

User is offline   raith_94 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
I don't want to see a single pass along the deck from a Rovers player..

User is offline   Lang Toun Lad 

And if I see so much as a groundsmans rake within 10 miles of the ground my season ticket is flying first class to the pitch.
Posted Image

• International Regular
I just don't feckin get that Lang Toun, then again I can be a thick twat at times.

If I do make the game where are the best watering holes.

This post has been edited by SandyCromarty: 10 February 2010 - 05:02

View Postraith_94, on 09 February 2010 - 20:54, said:

I don't want to see a single pass along the deck from a Rovers player..

View PostLang Toun Lad, on 09 February 2010 - 22:50, said:

And if I see so much as a groundsmans rake within 10 miles of the ground my season ticket is flying first class to the pitch.

Also, there'd better not be any pies left or I'm kicking off.

User is offline   Andy C 

• Group: Platinum Members

View PostSandyCromarty, on 10 February 2010 - 05:01, said:

I just don't feckin get that Lang Toun, then again I can be a thick twat at times.

If I do make the game where are the best watering holes.

Novar Bar. 10 minutes from the ground and also serves great food.

User is offline   Rovers_Lad 

• First Division Signing Target
4 players missing this Saturday so virtually down to the bare bones. I would take a draw

User is offline   Lang Toun Lad 

View PostSandyCromarty, on 10 February 2010 - 05:01, said:

Just the Aberdeen fans moaning about our pitch.

Will be down for the game as usual hoping for a win. Don't know if we'll get it, though, as Inverness are a good side and we'll probably have an eye on the cup game. 1-0 Raith.
Posted Image

• (5 Pages) +
  • Last »