Do You Remember When? Pnb best of

User is offline   fraser_smfc 

• SPL Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Sweden

View Postxbl, on 08 February 2010 - 00:26, said:

One for the real old timers, but does anyone recall the first (that I know of) stalking case, back before we had Kiltgate, Kiltgate, Kiltgate, Kiltgate, Eviegate, and Kiltgate? St. Sam and CTWD. Now that was a tale of passion, fear, birthday cards, and stalkery! I'm sure I recall a post where she eventually snapped one day, and listed all the stuff he'd said, done, sent her, and then emphasised that she didn't want to know him. Anyone else remember this, or is my memory playing tricks on me in my old age?

Hang on I don't quite follow, who was stalking who, how and why?
YAASSS! That's what e'hm talkn' aboot!

User is offline   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
The photoshop thread of the picture of Ruggy at the 5's event a couple of years back always has me laughing. Actually I think thats in the Gold section - will be heading there after this!
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk

View PostFudge, on 07 February 2010 - 23:39, said:

A boy once came on here saying that he an his mates were going to do the West Highland Way while pushing their disabled friend in a wheelchair to raise money for charity as it had never been done before.

I and several others claimed this was absolutely impossible. He never did come back on but he knew p&b poster Gaz's sister and 'appartently' they complete it, yet I or no one ever read/heard about this great achievement.

I've always wanted answers.

There's a wheelchair guy down here who climbs mountains.

Marko loves the BarcAyr

User is offline   Bibby 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Other

View Postayrmad, on 08 February 2010 - 04:26, said:

There's a wheelchair guy down here who climbs mountains.

...metaphorically.

If you can't laugh at yourself, what's the point in laughing at anyone else?

User is offline   Thundermonkey 

• Pre-Badger
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Falkirk

View Postxbl, on 08 February 2010 - 00:05, said:

I don't think that was Db62 was it?

But I remember Ric taking a flakie (what else!) a few years back when there was talk of a Tron sequel...Ric was against it because people were far more computer aware these days, and were no longer willing to believe they could be sucked into a computer and forced to ride a motorbike, and so it wouldn't work.

He'll be foaming at the mouth come December when it's released this year. That was brilliant. It reminds me of the time my pal stated the Narnia movie wasn't as believable as the LOTR movies. When pressed as to why his reply was "it's got talking beavers in it".

View PostReina, on 08 February 2010 - 00:17, said:

Duffman's TV offer that he just couldn't turn down.

Poor old Duffman, what a sucker.

User is offline   Pink Freud 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostThundermonkey, on 08 February 2010 - 08:30, said:

He'll be foaming at the mouth come December when it's released this year. That was brilliant. It reminds me of the time my pal stated the Narnia movie wasn't as believable as the LOTR movies. When pressed as to why his reply was "it's got talking beavers in it".

I know exactly what Ric is getting at with that stuff. Plotting a film like that has to have some sort of credibility, however far the stretch may be. I too remember watching Tron and being a bit pissed off at how daft it was, right up until the point that they got into the computer, at which point it all got to shiny, distracting and interesting. I don't think special effects on their own will work with this.
ECR leader Jan Zahradil has attacked the decision to go ahead with the House of History project. Speaking in Strasbourg, the Czech member said, "We do not need this. As Europe is losing competitiveness and geopolitical weight, it is becoming a museum anyway."

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir

View PostPink Freud, on 08 February 2010 - 09:25, said:

I know exactly what Ric is getting at with that stuff. Plotting a film like that has to have some sort of credibility, however far the stretch may be. I too remember watching Tron and being a bit pissed off at how daft it was, right up until the point that they got into the computer, at which point it all got to shiny, distracting and interesting. I don't think special effects on their own will work with this.

I know what you mean, this was the same reason that I couldn't enjoy Honey, I Shrunk The Kids.

As for my favourite Pie and Bovril-related moment, it was the Ron Burgundy -vs- Kilt debacle on the Glasgow Airport terrorist attack thread. Some of the beatdowns on that were sublime.

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL

View Postfraser_smfc, on 08 February 2010 - 02:13, said:

Hang on I don't quite follow, who was stalking who, how and why?

CTWD was stalking Saint Sam. I seem to remember somehting about getting her car burnt out but I don't know if that was a threat he made to her or something. It got quite public and made for some amusing reading.

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   Pink Freud 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostFrancesc Fabregas, on 08 February 2010 - 09:27, said:

the Ron Burgundy -vs- Kilt debacle on the Glasgow Airport terrorist attack thread. Some of the beatdowns on that were sublime.

I miss Ron's posting more than any other ex or banned poster. He has a classic sense of humour and is just on the right side of true insanity to make it all the better.

Favourite laugh out loud stuff though was definitely the state of flooring in Kosovo.
ECR leader Jan Zahradil has attacked the decision to go ahead with the House of History project. Speaking in Strasbourg, the Czech member said, "We do not need this. As Europe is losing competitiveness and geopolitical weight, it is becoming a museum anyway."

User is offline   Francesc Fabregas 

• Yes he does.
  • My Team:Stenhousemuir

View PostRiG, on 08 February 2010 - 09:30, said:

CTWD was stalking Saint Sam. I seem to remember somehting about getting her car burnt out but I don't know if that was a threat he made to her or something. It got quite public and made for some amusing reading.

Some of the lengths he went to to try and woo her were amusing/horrific (delete as appropriate).

User is online   qpsnapper 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Queen's Park

View PostMichael W, on 08 February 2010 - 00:05, said:

I can vaguely recall Fast Action claiming that the Northern Rock was a good investment and that he'd bought a lot of shares in them. Something along those lines. Northern Rock disappeared not long after these claims, as did Fast Action.

£70,000 worth! Free money apparently, the thread's in the gold forum.

User is offline   Andy C 

• My Team:Raith Rovers

View PostLaw Stud, on 08 February 2010 - 00:12, said:

I remember St Miranda claiming he was a top lecturer at the London Business School and that he wasn't Supras. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Didn't he post a picture of a cricketer and say that it was himself too?

Doesn't LOTR have walking, talking, fighting trees?

User is offline   David W 

• The Chosen One
  • My Team:Clyde
The Russia MP3 website thingy.
23 years but not forgotten.

User is offline   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps

Poor old Duffman, what a sucker.

I always loved reading your back and forths with SPLwankwankwank. I can't remember which of you was the boo boy and which was the happy clapper, but it was all very funny :lol:

View PostFrancesc Fabregas, on 08 February 2010 - 09:45, said:

Some of the lengths he went to to try and woo her were amusing/horrific (delete as appropriate).

Now now samantha, im only teasing :P :P :P ;) ;) ;)

This post has been edited by Shawfield Stallion: 08 February 2010 - 10:08

"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane

View PostDavid W, on 08 February 2010 - 09:58, said:

The Russia MP3 website thingy.

Ruggy's entire digital music collection was compiled during that time. :lol:

User is offline   The Old Northerner 

• Now bets on his own team. Fool!
  • My Team:Haddington Athletic
The most obvious thing I can remember about P&B's earlier days was that you could keep up with the entire board with ease. An helpful resource to those who had just started out in the wild and wacky world of lower division Scottish football.

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Spain

View PostStewartyMac, on 08 February 2010 - 00:42, said:

Remember the Stranraer (I think) version of centralparker? Sure he was called 'tomas_glasgow' or something similar. In fact, given how little centralparker actually posts about Cowdenbeath, I wouldn't be surprised if it was the same person.

That was Pompey.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL
In the very early days of P & B I seem to recall Ruggy and Dennybairn engaging in some flirtatious banter with young Sam. Nothing as extreme as CTWD though.

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostRiG, on 08 February 2010 - 11:43, said:

In the very early days of P & B I seem to recall Ruggy and Dennybairn engaging in some flirtatious banter with young Sam. Nothing as extreme as CTWD though.

Half the site did. Except Radford.
Ol' Hick'ry said we could take them by surprise if we didn't fire our muskets 'til we looked them in the eyes

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins
Is the Clyde relegation thread the same thing as when the Clyde fans staged a walk-out, then all re-appeared on the one thread at the same time a week later, in some kind of weird protest?

I remember the upshot of that was that nobody noticed they were gone until they came back saying they had left.

User is offline   Adam_Wee 

• World Cup Winner

View PostSwampy, on 08 February 2010 - 11:55, said:

Is the Clyde relegation thread the same thing as when the Clyde fans staged a walk-out, then all re-appeared on the one thread at the same time a week later, in some kind of weird protest?

I remember the upshot of that was that nobody noticed they were gone until they came back saying they had left.

No, the Clyde Relegation thread is the one when Calderwood Hun started a thread saying how we were getting relegated, as Alloa were beating us in the play-offs two years ago, only for us to turn round and win the tie.

User is online   Swampy 

• ^^^kenny loggins

View PostAdam_Wee, on 08 February 2010 - 12:00, said:

No, the Clyde Relegation thread is the one when Calderwood Hun started a thread saying how we were getting relegated, as Alloa were beating us in the play-offs two years ago, only for us to turn round and win the tie.

Oh f**k, aye :lol:

Wonder what happened to that guy? He was an angry young man.

User is offline   Kaz 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
Pompey and St Sid used to go on some tremendous rants which made absolutely no sense at all.

There was the 'How can he be black with a name like McPhee' debate on a Chris Iwelumo thread where the poster continued to dig himself a deeper and more racist hole if I remember correctly.

The fallout from the slug incident involving Philpy at the 5s one year was particularly amusing even though I wasn't there.

User is offline   Shawfield Stallion 

• 100 Scottish Caps

View PostSwampy, on 08 February 2010 - 11:55, said:

Whit?
"This is a team with a great history and I want to play a lot for them"
- Filip Mentel

User is offline   ayrmad 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Gamertag:Isthisallthereis.co.uk

View PostThe Blair-Skint Student, on 08 February 2010 - 07:06, said:

...metaphorically.

No, he has lead a team up a mountain or 2, so who's the daftie on here? The boy that mentioned the walk or the numbnuts that are not open-minded enough to realise humans can achieve the unthinkable? As usual on P***ks & Bawbags there'll be none of them showing humility for being close-minded fuckwits.

This post has been edited by ayrmad: 08 February 2010 - 13:00

Marko loves the BarcAyr

• (27 Pages) +
  • Last »
  • This topic is locked