Greatest Achievement In Fm

User is offline   Super Ally 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
What is your greatest achievement in football manager?

Mines are not great but i won the league with Monaco a few years back and went on a good ufea cup run.

Also i won the World Cup with England.

This post has been edited by Super Ally: 09 December 2009 - 12:52

User is offline   Dave 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:CoG LHD

View PostSuper Ally, on Dec 9 2009, 12:51, said:

Also i won the World Cup with England.

That isn't exactly a great achievement with the players they have, plus the fact they are always quite over-rated ie. David Beckham.

I once took QP to the SPL in FM05 I think it was, it was many years ago anyway. Team full of regens that were all brilliant :)

User is offline   Big River 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Motherwell
Mine aren't great either but I did take Arbroath from the bottom of the 3rd to mid table 1st division, on basically no money. I also took Barnsley from League 1 to the EPL in 2 seasons, winning League 1 in my first season and then finishing 6th in the Championship and winning the playoffs.

I also took Scotland to the final of the Euros and lost to Germany 9-8 on penalties :( , after drawing 2-2 AET. And in the previous campaign I got them to the knockout stages of the WC for the first time, losing to France 1-0 in the last 16.

User is offline   mungo 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Dundee
Best achievement was in fm 07 when I won the European cup with Accrington Stanley with a strikeforce of John Sutton and Steven FLETCHER!!

• Third Division Sub

View PostDave, on Dec 9 2009, 12:58, said:

That isn't exactly a great achievement with the players they have, plus the fact they are always quite over-rated ie. David Beckham.

I once took QP to the SPL in FM05 I think it was, it was many years ago anyway. Team full of regens that were all brilliant :)

i know its not great but its the world cup and i had never won that before.

User is offline   Liam. 

• My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:Corporal Looj
I've only ever played one FM (FM2010) so the only achievement I have is winning the quadruple with Celtic in my first season.
Any opinions are not necessarily my own but those of the BBC.

User is offline   Cynical Saintee 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Gamertag:Magnus Magneto
Oh, where oh where to begin. (All in FM07)

Took Dagenham and Redbridge to the Championship from the BSP, beating Watford and Man United at home in the Carling Cup while in the League 2 before losing at Stamford Bridge.

My exploits as Stenny manager were downright outrageous.

Went from the third division to the SPL in 5 seasons. Won two Scottish Cups, two league cups, and three successive SPL titles. Won the UEFA Cup, including a sensational 3-1 agg win over Real Madrid and 1-1 penalty win over Liverpool. Currently in the final of the Champions League against Man United, which for some reason is being played at Old Trafford. :(

Also had some amazing pieces of business. Signed Ricardo Vaz Te on a free and sold him on for £2.5m, and more recently sold a youth product to Liverpool for £5.5 million after he scored about 100 goals in three seasons in all competitions. Also just sold a player to Liverpool for £7.5 million making a tidy profit of £4m. Upon further investigation, it turned out he started out as a Cowdenbeath Youngster. :lol:
On a tangent, somehow on my file, Craig Levein managed to win Scotland the World Cup and get us to the Euro Semis (losing to England, who went on to lose to Germany :lol: ).

This post has been edited by Cynical Saintee: 09 December 2009 - 14:59

• Third Division Sub

View PostCynical Saintee, on Dec 9 2009, 14:56, said:

Took Dagenham and Redbridge to the Championship from the BSP, beating Watford and Man United at home in the Carling Cup while in the League 2 before losing at Stamford Bridge.

Went from the third division to the SPL in 5 seasons. Won two Scottish Cups, two league cups, and three successive SPL titles. Won the UEFA Cup, including a sensational 3-1 agg win over Real Madrid and 1-1 penalty win over Liverpool. Currently in the final of the Champions League against Man United, which for some reason is being played at Old Trafford. :(

Also had some amazing pieces of business. Signed Ricardo Vaz Te on a free and sold him on for £2.5m, and more recently sold a youth product to Liverpool for £5.5 million after he scored about 100 goals in three seasons in all competitions. Also just sold a player to Liverpool for £7.5 million making a tidy profit of £4m. Upon further investigation, it turned out he started out as a Cowdenbeath Youngster. :lol:
On a tangent, somehow on my file, Craig Levein managed to win Scotland the World Cup and get us to the Euro Semis (losing to England, who went on to lose to Germany :lol: ).

Sounds good, i have never really went a shite team starting in a pish league.

But im going to to the fm challenge on another thread, go Elgin and see what i can do with them.

User is offline   bopolopoluss1 

• Third Division Reserve
I won the world cup with Scotland in 2010 on FM2007. Rory McAlister scoring the winner in the 2nd minute against England :lol:

Mad celebration.

User is offline   Mr. Brightside 

• S.I.G.
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
Winning Bassano the Serie 'A' title, Coppa Italia, UEFA Cup, Champions League & Super Cup.

Or winning the Euro's with Scotland and taking them to 4th in World Rankings.
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

User is offline   SaltyTON 

• Who you calling a jackass?!?
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Gamertag:SaltyTON (360)
Wasn't so much of a trophy based achivement, as I can't remember what I won that season... but I got Robbie Keane to sign on a free transfer after the first season from Inter to Rangers and he scored 70+ goals in his first season! :D
Goal scorers 2011/12
Peter MacDonald 15; Andy Jackson 12; Paul di Giacomo, Archie Campbell & David O'Brien 8; Peter Weatherson 5; Michael Tidser 3; Darren McGeouch 2; Derek Young, Marc Smyth, Lewis Hawke & Fouad Bachirou 1

User is offline   SaltyTON 

• Who you calling a jackass?!?
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Gamertag:SaltyTON (360)

View Postmungo, on Dec 9 2009, 13:03, said:

Best achievement was in fm 07 when I won the European cup with Accrington Stanley with a strikeforce of John Sutton and Steven FLETCHER!!

The capitalisation would have been more appropriate if you were B-ARROW A.F.C.
Goal scorers 2011/12
Peter MacDonald 15; Andy Jackson 12; Paul di Giacomo, Archie Campbell & David O'Brien 8; Peter Weatherson 5; Michael Tidser 3; Darren McGeouch 2; Derek Young, Marc Smyth, Lewis Hawke & Fouad Bachirou 1

User is offline   The Minertaur 

• Bring on the 1st Division
  • My Team:Cowdenbeath
Taking over as Kaiserslautern as they were battling relegation with a few games to go and steering them to safety. That summer I bought players like Stephen Hunt, Jason Koumas and Kelvin Etuhu and some regens. Got promoted the next season and then had 4 seasons of mid-table finishes. Then the year came when I challenged Bayern for the title and won it with a few games to go. Since then? 5 Bundesligas (including one unbeaten season), 4 Champions Leagues, 4 World Club Cup, 3 German Cups and now the 5th richest club in the world.

I havent played this game in ages sadly :( Got bored of winning every week :lol:
Blue Brazil Scorers 2011/12 - Marc McKenzie - 18 Lewis Coult - 15 Mark Ramsay - 8 Jon Robertson - 7 Greg Stewart - 7 Jordan Morton - 6 Scott Linton - 5 Joe Mbu - 2 Kal Naismith - 2 Kenny Adamson - 1 John Armstrong - 1 Colin Cameron - 1 Derek Lyle - 1 Thomas O'Brien - 1 Own Goal - 1
Cowdenbeath FC Twitter Cowdenbeath FC Facebook

User is online   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
East Stirling to the final of the UEFA Cup (beating Bayern Munich in the semi) in either CM4 or CM 03/04 (can't remember which one it was).

Got beat by Lazio in the final IIRC.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   mattydfc 

• Pelecan
Winning world cup with Scotland, beating Brazil 3-2, Kevin Kyle scored in 90th min.

This was fm05.

View PostZeus, on 20 February 2012 - 19:03, said:

Leave me alone you creepy little pervert

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal

View Postmattydfc, on Dec 10 2009, 17:37, said:

Winning world cup with Scotland, beating Brazil 3-2, Kevin Kyle scored in 90th min.

This was fm05.

Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is online   Thistle_do_nicely 

• SPL Signing Target
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

View PostCynical Saintee, on Dec 9 2009, 14:56, said:

:D
FM07 was class. So easy compared to the current ones.

Won the SPL in 2019 with Partick Thistle on 07, with absolutely no cheating whatsoever. Searching for staff members who aren't british, then signing them up as coaches/scouts to increase my scouting knowledge and doing player searches for players based in countries I had a complete knowledge of led to me signing all sorts of regen gems. Proud of that. Had some memorable runs in Europe, beating Chelsea, Man United and a few other big names quite often. Sold a Brazilian striker, Ademir, to Man United for about £4million after a few seasons, only to see him become worth about £27million and a prolific goalscorer. Sold on loads of players like that, but always managed to have a solid, successful team and picked up a few domestic cups on the way to league success in 2019.

A 3-2 win over Real Betis, away from home, in the group stages of the Uefa Cup after going 2-0 down and then down to 10 men in the 2nd half, with all 3 of my goals coming after halftime and the "Player praises manager team talk" message at full time, remains my most memorable moment on FM ever. I've still got the match saved on my laptop.

This post has been edited by Thistle_do_nicely: 10 December 2009 - 23:10

Democracy: Where any two idiots outvote a genius.

Feminism is the belief that both sexes may become equal by focusing solely on one of them.

User is offline   Cynical Saintee 

• SPL Sub
  • Gamertag:Magnus Magneto

View PostThistle_do_nicely, on Dec 10 2009, 23:06, said:

:D
FM07 was class. So easy compared to the current ones.

Won the SPL in 2019 with Partick Thistle on 07, with absolutely no cheating whatsoever. Searching for staff members who aren't british, then signing them up as coaches/scouts to increase my scouting knowledge and doing player searches for players based in countries I had a complete knowledge of led to me signing all sorts of regen gems. Proud of that. Had some memorable runs in Europe, beating Chelsea, Man United and a few other big names quite often. Sold a Brazilian striker, Ademir, to Man United for about £4million after a few seasons, only to see him become worth about £27million and a prolific goalscorer. Sold on loads of players like that, but always managed to have a solid, successful team and picked up a few domestic cups on the way to league success in 2019.

A 3-2 win over Real Betis, away from home, in the group stages of the Uefa Cup after going 2-0 down and then down to 10 men in the 2nd half, with all 3 of my goals coming after halftime and the "Player praises manager team talk" message at full time, remains my most memorable moment on FM ever. I've still got the match saved on my laptop.

My favourite game was the 3-2 (I checked again and I was wrong, sorry) against Real Madrid in the UEFA cup. I genuinely thought "oh, here we go, dumped out again"...then wee regen "Martin Murray" crops up and scores a bloody hat-trick! :lol: The away leg was bloody torture, though. They scored in the first minute and we hung on for grim life. 8)

User is offline   Milevskiy 

• Please don't leave me
  • My Team:Clyde
  • Euro 2012:Ukraine
Won the Champions League with Dynamo Kiev, beating Fiorentina at Ibrox in the final.

Scott Robertson scored in the quater finals second leg when I was staring defeat in the eyes. Scott Roberton scored an injury time goal and we went through on away goals :lol:

I also drew 0-0 at home to Arsenal with Dagenham in FM07, pumped at the Emirates though.

Found this as well; Attached File  inter_milan_0_2_shrewsbury.jpg (156.49K)
Number of downloads: 33 g]

Attached File  dagenham.jpg (150.54K)
Number of downloads: 17

This post has been edited by Milevskiy: 11 December 2009 - 19:13

View PostPaul Cicero, on 16 April 2012 - 21:26, said:

Caldwell is actually a great centre half however consistency can be an issue for him, technically his distribution of the ball for a defender is as good as Pique or Puyol.
Feel free to bookmark

User is offline   Widge 

• Gylfi's #1 fan
Took Aberdeen to the quarter finals of teh Uefa cup, only played 4 season sof this before it got deleted when my computer packed p.

But had a quality team full of youth, had just signed a 19 brazilian for 3.5 million, and he got 4 goals on his debut at celtic park, that was the seaso i was winning the league by a mile, before ir packed in.

I have never got soooooooo angry ever again.

User is offline   ayrunitedfw 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Ayr United
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:Wasay95
in fm2009 took ayr utd to the Spl and finished second then finished first next season :)
Ayr united competitive goalscorers 2011/2012- Roberts (11), Moffat (8), Geggan (6),Malone (5), McGowan (5), Trouten (4),Parker (4), Wardlaw (3), Robertson (3), Smith (2),John Robertson (2) ,Dodd (2) Campbell (1), Patterson (1),McKernon (1), Tiffioney (1), Tomsett (1) Twitter-@MrBrightsider

User is offline   Spiders For Life 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:QPcg
I won a game once.
3rd Division. Fantastic

User is online   rw89 

• Hasta luego Damian!
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Steam: RWeir2711
Championship manager 01/02 got Stevenage from the Conference to the UEFA cup. Humped out in the 2nd round though.
Sky Euro 2012 Fantasy Football League name: pieandbovril superleague entry pin code: 8007039My twitter

User is offline   Ludo *1 

• The Thinking Man's Trevor McDonald
  • Euro 2012:Italy
In the old Championship Manager games I took a poor Reading team from the bottom division to three time Premiership winners, two time Euro Cup winners and two seasons undefeated.

Also, spent the grand total of 28 seasons with QPR although that is when it was possible to complete a season in a weekend. Don't think I done a lot of note but I loved that game.
As I Was Comin' Doon The Overgate...

User is offline   hoopythehound 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Celtic
In FM 09, I took charge of Tenerife and took them to the Uefa Cup final 3 years later where we were swiftly pumped by a depleted Liverpool (who had sold Torres, Gerrard and Alonso, see a connection?  :P ) 5-3. But I did sign Ever Banega of Valencia for £3m and sold him on (to Liverpool, funnily enough) for £13m and bought Rodrigo Palacio (if you still play FM 09, buy him, best striker in it for less than £10m) who got 35 goals in a LaLiga season. I then went to Brescia hoping to do the same thing and was relegated in 1 season. I was really pissed off. :angry:
Sasa Papac, Elephant Man...

Page 1 of 1