• This topic is locked

Could The Two Dundee Teams Ground Share? Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Farrah Swango 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:St.Johnstone
On reporting Scotland Craig Levein and Jocky Scott say they think it could happen for the teams. I personally think both teams would benefit from a purpose built stadium. Would the fans be against it?

I'm sure this topic has been done to death, but so has everything else on this forum ;)

User is offline   Ludo *1 

• The Thinking Man's Trevor McDonald
  • Team:Dundee
No it will simply never happen. Dundee fans wouldn't go to Tannadice and United fans would not go to Dens. The only way forward would be a brand new stadium but even then I think that the fans ultimately (And Scotland's hosting hopes) would decide whether that would go ahead. United are only interested in this due to the fact they are in so much debt.
As I Was Comin' Doon The Overgate...

User is offline   rossyboy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
Boring Boring Boring, this has been said for years, No it will never ever happen.
Move on,
Next caller!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!! !!!!!

User is offline   vikingTON 

• Not arrogant, just better
  • Team:Greenock Morton
Only one of the club's own their ground so they could do it tomorrow if it suited them. And they would if it was to their mutual benefit, whether the fans liked it or not.

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 26 November 2009 - 19:18

View Postweirdcal, on 01 August 2011 - 11:10, said:

when you think box office you think big and exciting

User is online   Jobby 

• Teale.
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • Team:St.Mirren
I think it would be absolutely fine. Its hardly an ultra fierce rivalry
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   chico 

• Dry.
too sensible an idea. it'll never happen.
St Mirren FC
2005/2006 Scottish Football League Champions & League Challenge Cup Winners.
2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 & 2011 Renfrewshire FA Cup Winners

User is offline   Farrah Swango 

• Third Division Regular
  • Team:St.Johnstone
I'm sure they could build one that could generate each of them more money off the field. If it was shown that they would both benefit more than they do currently, they'd be foolish to turn such a proposal down.

View PostvikingTON, on Nov 26 2009, 19:18, said:

Only one of the club's own their ground so they could do it tomorrow if it suited them. And they would if it was to their mutual benefit, whether the fans liked it or not.

No they wouldn't. Mass protests and United need all the money they can get and I'm not sure Melville would be too well liked.

We are 'The People's' club. :P

User is offline   Lambies_Apprentice 

• First Division Superstar
  • Team:Partick Thistle
They should go one better and merge.
FUK UP ... DONT PANIC WAT R U TALKIN ABOUT ... WE JUST LOST TO A SHITE 3RD DIVISON TEAM

View PostLambies_Apprentice, on Nov 26 2009, 19:25, said:

They should go one better and merge.

:rolleyes: The reel in begins.

User is offline   Drunken Hobo 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:Dundee Utd
Not in our climate, the pitch would end up like a ploughed field and the SPL/SFA would probably still arrange fixtures on the same date. Wouldn't mind a share of a newly built stadium but am happy enough with Tannadice and the Dees are happy enough with their loan of Dens. :P
Edson Braafheid... in the World Cup final!?

I give up. What's the table tennis equivalent of Pie & Bovril?

User is offline   mortonbouncy 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
would be a logical step but what team would win the deal to supply the "pehs"?

View PostLudo *1, on Nov 26 2009, 19:23, said:

No they wouldn't. Mass protests and United need all the money they can get and I'm not sure Melville would be too well liked.

We are 'The People's' club. :P

Both Dundee and United would sell their grannies for a net income of £1million more over the course of a few seasons. They'd certainly shaft the Derry Loyal without a moment's hesitation.

This post has been edited by vikingTON: 26 November 2009 - 20:08

User is offline   silvery tay 

• First Division Regular

View PostvikingTON, on Nov 26 2009, 19:18, said:

:D Not a chance Utd are fcukin' skint ...........................these cnuts tried to finish us off when we were in admin.................why the fcuk would we bail these fcukers out now ?........aint gonna happen :lol:

User is offline   Desert Nomad 

• International Regular

View Postmortonbouncy, on Nov 26 2009, 20:01, said:

would be a logical step but what team would win the deal to supply the "pehs"?

Pray to f**k it`s no ours anyway! Greasy, minging, pish. :yucky

"Dundee United's fans arguably the best in Scottish football: good-humoured, fun, love their team."

View Postsilvery tay, on Nov 26 2009, 20:13, said:

:D Not a chance Utd are fcukin' skint

... so they would shaft their fans for any financial benefit. :rolleyes:

User is offline   The Master 

• My name...is The Master
  • Group: Platinum Members

View PostDrunken Hobo, on Nov 26 2009, 19:46, said:

...SPL/SFA...

Fucking hell, people on this site are right thick c***s :rolleyes:

View PostHibeeJibee, on 03 December 2010 - 14:20, said:

We need summer football and a sectional League Cup, no doubt, but we also need an 18-team SPL...

TheMaster@ThePub:~$ sudo apt-get install beer

• First Division Regular

View PostvikingTON, on Nov 26 2009, 20:08, said:

Both Dundee and United would sell their grannies for a net income of £1million more over the course of a few seasons. They'd certainly shaft the Derry Loyal without a moment's hesitation.

United till July :rolleyes:

User is offline   Desert Nomad 

• International Regular

View PostThe Master, on Nov 26 2009, 20:16, said:

And I suppose you have a fucking clue who runs the game in this country? Pedantic little fucker that you are.

"Dundee United's fans arguably the best in Scottish football: good-humoured, fun, love their team."

User is offline   Drunken Hobo 

• International Captain

View PostThe Master, on Nov 26 2009, 20:16, said:

Sorry, I meant SFL of course, momentary lapse in my usually unfallable infallible brilliance.
Edson Braafheid... in the World Cup final!?

I give up. What's the table tennis equivalent of Pie & Bovril?

• First Division Regular

View PostvikingTON, on Nov 26 2009, 20:16, said:

... so they would shaft their fans for any financial benefit. :rolleyes:

They would...................................

Imaterial though because the main team in Dundee COULDNA' GIE A FCUK ABOOT THE ARAB CNUTS

User is offline   Monkey Tennis 

• First Division Superstar
  • Team:Queen of the South
Nah, bad idea which I hope is never realised.

Two large(ish) grounds on the same street is one of the great quirks of Scottish football.
These things matter and are worth preserving.

It would be sad to see this change so that a few quid could be saved and both sides could play on a crappy surface in a soulless place that was probably too big for them.

This post has been edited by Monkey Tennis: 26 November 2009 - 21:03

View PostvikingTON, on Nov 26 2009, 20:08, said:

Doubt we'd make that much money in the first 5-10 year due to the fact fans would be so against it. Remember, Dundee fans boycotted when the Marrs were APPOINTED and some haven't came back since. We are a fickle bunch.

User is offline   Captain_Sensible 

• Golden Shoe Winner
What would be the point?

The land both grounds are built on are virtually worthless...... just like Dundee's promotion hopes.
Lennon must go!

View PostCaptain_Sensible, on Nov 26 2009, 20:38, said:

What would be the point?

The land both grounds are built on are virtually worthless...... just like Dundee's promotion hopes.

:rolleyes: You ain't very good at this 'winding up business' maybe you should stick to attacking the OF, they seem easy prey.

• (4 Pages) +
  • Last »
  • This topic is locked