Irvine Meadow V Arbroath

stevenston saint

• Replies 143
Well done Medda.

Nae luck PA Sport, goal time was 33 minutes, Richie Barr the scorer.

Meadow well worth the win and there were excellent efforts from Hamilton soon after they scored and another in the 2nd half that Hill did well to put over.

Smokies fans looked pretty gutted at end, shouts of 'embarrassment' and 'laughing stock'. Nah, perhaps just ignorance. The Meadow squad is full of players who should be at better teams - Barr, McGinty, Crilly, Hamilton, Swift, Robertson to name five, while I'd happily have Turner, Boyle etc in our side. Strain and Dexy they can keep though! :lol:

Well done the Dow, definitely the better team and it was not a case of a lucky break at all.

Classic fishing, big man. Chill out a bit, will ye?

Nah, that Neilly chap is a specialist on talking absolute crap when on the subject of the Juniors, something he knows zip about so probably should stop embarrassing himself. No doubt he'll come on with some tosh about Meadow being lucky but while I'll not go into hyperbole mode, they were the better team and I don't expect to see too many rational Arbroath players, officials or fans saying otherwise.

In some ways I hate Meadow as they've destroyed our level with their inflated wages but credit to them for this. Just wish it was Lok as we should have dumped Montrose out at Links Park and but for a couple of defensive blunders we might have done. But hey, not to be, and Montrose did enough in the replay.

Jim Weir really has no excuses though, did he not play against Meadow with Bankfoot in early October? It's not as if their standard would have been a surprise.

Any change of opinion on this yet? Just as any number of senior club supporters think the juniors are arrogant wee bawsacks with a higher opinion of the standard than they are entitled to have, this sort of stuff is straight off the same page!

Well he caught you.

Aye right enough. It was all just Arbroath fishin' and if they'd galloped through it would all have been "told you" gloating. Pish. Neilly has slated the juniors for long enough even though the juniors have never been hammered when up against the lower end of the SFL.

No, it clearly wasn't all Arbroath fishing, some of them were arrogant and now look like fuds, but I think it's fair to say the boy who wouldn't have been happy with anything less than a 15-0 win was taking the piss just a wee bit.

Congrats tae Irvine Meadow for being the better team the day and also on today's win. That was one of the most pishest performance ive ever seen fae Arbroath. We didnt seem intrested at all and one shot on target sums up how shit we were. If it wernt for Darren Hill it could of been 3 or 4 tae Irvine. Was really impressed we your number 5 and number 8 the day like and also thought Wingate also had a decent game. While our lot were pure pish especially Steven Rennie who couldnt pass or cross the ball for shit. Good luck tae Irvine Meadow in the next round use deserve it :)

No 8 was Gareth Turner who is one of the few in the Meadow squad to have never been at a Senior side. 5 is Chris Robertson who simply should not be Junior IMO. Far and away the best central defender in West Region. Though having already played for Ayr, not sure where else he'd go.

Robertson was superb at Springburn last week, won every high ball. Turner has been consistently good fir the Meadow all the way up from the district leagues. Last week was the best that the Meadow have played against us in the Super Premier, and my biggest regret today was not getting to the bookies in time.