Login:

The Pie Shop: Modern Warfare Versus Modern Warfare 2 - The Pie Shop

• (2 Pages) +

Modern Warfare Versus Modern Warfare 2 Discuss and Decide

Poll: Modern Warfare versus Modern Warfare 2

Which is the better overall game?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

User is offline   bairn175 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Gamertag:Bairn Assassin
Ok, we've all played it for a week now, but which is the better game? I think the original is still the best. Here's my reasons:

I'm not too keen on many of the new maps. I thought there were a lot of campers in the original but these new maps are 10 times worse. Several times now i've played team deathmatch and the winning score after 10 minutes has been 40 kills or less due to everyone camping. I never saw a winning score below 55 kills once in the original MW. There are just too many hiding places down dark alleys and dark corners.

The reduction of the explosive devices, ie one claymore instead of two, no three frags perk. I used to be a bit of a dab hand with the old frags, missing them badly now. Same with the claymores.

The removal of the night vision goggles. They always came in handy on wetwork and might have helped overcome the camping problem in MW2.

Taking away my favourite game from MW is not good. Used to play a lot of hardcore headquarters and i'm well dissapointed that they took it out.

All the points awards and stuff are getting annoying. Its seems at times that you get more points just for turning a corner and a single kill with a gun can bring up about 6 awards. By the time your screen has cleared you have been shot.

Callsigns and Emblems? Correct me if i'm wrong but this game has an 18 certificate. I stopped collecting things like that when i was 9, i don't need them now.

And last but definately not least, the absolutely most annoying thing in the game has to be the fact that only in ground war are you allowed to remain in party chat. This means if i am playing with friends and we want to talk, we either play ground war or have to endure all the little kiddies butting in and annoying the hell out of us. If we want to play anything else we have to mute everyone else in the room one by one. What was wrong with the chat system in MW? If it isn't broke don't fix it!

All this said, there are a few good points in the new game. I'm well chuffed at the return of Capture The Flag (even if i have got crap at it) and the Killstreaks options are amazing. I just think that overall, MW2 is a step back. Over to you guys. :)

This post has been edited by bairn175: 17 November 2009 - 18:47

Posted Image

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007
I'd say the first one. I don't think there is any really good maps in MW2, where as on COD4 I thought there was 2-3 really top notch maps. I'm also sick of being killed by campers - Which seems to happen all the time on MW2. I don't know if this is because of the introduction of attatchments like that stupid heartbeat thing, or because people aren't used to the maps. Hopefully its people aren't used to the maps.
Posted Image

User is online   Fife Saint 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
I think the new one takes a bit of getting used to but I think it is fine when you are into it. Am I the only one that struggles to last 2 mins in the Favela Team Deatmatch? It's fucking mental.
Tell me who's that writin', John the Revelator

User is online   twisteH 

• CLEM™
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:TwisteH
I think the maps in MW2 are far better than those in MW1 tbh.

View PostPaco, on 02 November 2009 - 00:00, said:

If it isn't a crap pun, boasts about PES, some fabricated nonsense about wanting Celtic to do well or some kind of sexual comment about women, it isn't a twisteH post.

User is offline   badger_whacker 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Hamilton Academical
  • Gamertag:badgerwhacker

View PosttwisteH, on Nov 17 2009, 20:54, said:

I think the maps in MW2 are far better than those in MW1 tbh.

Apart from Quarry which is shiiit.
Posted Image

User is offline   Dark Blue 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Dundee
I'm still getting used to the maps and it doesn't help that most of the guys you play are already far on in the game and have far superior guns to you. I camp though and I enjoy the reactions of people when the round is over or when I die.

User is offline   Dave 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:CoG LHD
The heartbeat monitor pisses me off, every time I'm killed with someone using it they are camping in a corner waiting for me to appear. Apart from that I prefer MW2.

User is offline   paul-r-cfc 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Republic of Ireland
  • Gamertag:Mr Cillit Bang

View PostFife Saint, on Nov 17 2009, 20:04, said:

I think the new one takes a bit of getting used to but I think it is fine when you are into it. Am I the only one that struggles to last 2 mins in the Favela Team Deatmatch? It's fucking mental.

free for all on rust is the worst for that i think

But favela is bad cause of the really tight paths and guys popping up above you on roofs you didnt even know were accessible :lol:

User is offline   Hank Scorpio 

• Strike
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
The maps on CoD MW 2 are pish. It's been an enormous let down.
Posted Image

User is offline   Dark Blue 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • My Team:Dundee

View PostDave, on Nov 17 2009, 23:50, said:

The heartbeat monitor pisses me off, every time I'm killed with someone using it they are camping in a corner waiting for me to appear. Apart from that I prefer MW2.

:rolleyes:

User is offline   Dave 

• First Division Sub
  • Gamertag:CoG LHD

View PostDark Blue, on Nov 17 2009, 23:31, said:

:rolleyes:

?

User is offline   pencils 

• International Regular
  • My Team:Alloa Athletic
  • Gamertag:Rossc2007

View Postbadger_whacker, on Nov 17 2009, 22:03, said:

Apart from Quarry which is shiiit.

Thats the only one I think is alright. The rest are shit.

Also, why do people use that thing that mucks up your radar? It warns you that their near you. Totally pointless.
Posted Image

User is offline   Lang Toun Lad 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Raith Rovers
I got a holed of a heartbeat monitor on Favela for the first time today and got a 17-0 killstreak with it. Ridiculous stuff and, although fun if you have it, kind of ruins the game. Same with the bloody snipers with thermal scopes.
Posted Image

User is online   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03
Aye, it's shit. We should all go back to playing Call of Duty 2 or something.

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
  • Euro 2012:Spain
  • Gamertag:Gazcobain
I didn't play much MW1 online, but MW2 is the mutt's nuts.

View Posthoneyboy edwards, on 05 October 2011 - 17:05, said:

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is online   #Gary 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
  • Euro 2012:Netherlands
  • Gamertag:garymcc
Heartbeat sensors?

Use the perk called 'Ninja'. Not really that hard is it?

MW was amazing, and MW2 has exceeded that. Best game ever.

User is offline   stevenc1991 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Gamertag:PSN: toad321
Love all the new additions but it just doesn't feel as good, and yea the maps are shit.

Can't wait to see how Treyarch manage to f**k up this one next year though. ;)
Win or Lose, we're still the blues.

User is online   StandFree03 

• Rosetta Stoned
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:StandFree03

View Poststevenc1991, on Nov 18 2009, 18:29, said:

Love all the new additions but it just doesn't feel as good, and yea the maps are shit.

Can't wait to see how Treyarch manage to f**k up this one next year though. ;)

Neither can I. World at War was absolutely awful, hated it.

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
I quite liked WaW :(

How many people have you actually witnessed punching a staffie in the street to prove their hardness??

User is offline   Moe Lester 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip

View Postpencils, on Nov 17 2009, 23:47, said:

Also, why do people use that thing that mucks up your radar? It warns you that their near you. Totally pointless.

The enemy use it so you cant see them and kill them, but they stil see you! Not pointless!

I'm still not sure if i prefer it though, i could play MW1 for hours but this i get bored quite easily.

Love the heartbeat sensor too, didnt like it at first as that was all i was looking at and got destracted but im use to it now.

Only thing i wish they done would be to offer more kill streaks, meybe 4 or 5 instead of 3, i never know what ones to do.

My favs are Termina and the Quarry, hate the scrapyard and the Derail, its just a big empty space!

User is offline   Zanetti 

• 100 Scottish Caps

View PostGaz, on Nov 19 2009, 12:36, said:

I quite liked WaW :(

Same, thought the story was good and the multiplayer wasn't far off COD4, if any worse at all.

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
Both are pish :rolleyes:
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   Gaz 

• Everybody Lies
I hate the level "wasteland" and "derail". I like "terminal" and "highrise" best.

User is online   Jobby 

• Thommohawk
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Portugal

View PostGaz, on Nov 19 2009, 17:21, said:

I hate the level "wasteland" and "derail". I like "terminal" and "highrise" best.

Same
Ooh it's good to be a Buddie!

User is offline   Cynical Saintee 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Gamertag:Magnus Magneto
I utterly despite the map that's the clone of "Downpour".

Surely I'm not the only one who's noticed all of MW2's maps are almost identical to MW1's, with a few minor changes? Although a few details are different, the general idea and layout of the maps are incredibly similar. Shipment/Rust, Downpour/The hilly level with rain (<_<), Estate/Overgrown (IIRC, might be Outskirts)...

WAW wasn't as bad as it was made out to be, but the campaign was truly awful. Clockwork, cannon fodder AI, repetetive and tedious and generally no fun. I quite enjoyed the multiplayer.

This post has been edited by Cynical Saintee: 20 November 2009 - 14:14

• (2 Pages) +