Why Is My Computer Running So Slow? Doing my head in now! Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
OK, for the past few days my computer has been running very slow. I don't have many things on it and I have checked for any virus's etc but haven't found anything to indicate why it's running so slow.

Any ideas on what I should do?

Or has anyone got a link to where I could download a Clean up for your computer....I already have one, but it ain't very good.

Cheers folks. ;)

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL
Run a defrag of your hard disk to tid it up a wee bit for starters. That normally helps!

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   Buckles 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
It will be all that porn you look at Declan it'll be clogging up your sytem with all sorts of sh!t!!! :D :lol:
Have you got anything like Ad-aware/Spybot as these will get rid of a lot of slow down problems.
i have a good system cleaner that will wipe all your net history/cookies etc but i'm at work just now, i'll post a link when i get home!
Men have two emotions:
Hungry and Horny.
If you see him without an erection, make him a sandwich.

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

Buckles, on Nov 15 2004, 03:59 PM, said:

i have a good system cleaner that will wipe all your net history/cookies etc but i'm at work just now, i'll post a link when i get home!

Cheers mate, appreciated.

And I have SpyBot, i'm running a test now.

;) ;)

User is offline   SimonLichtie 

• Bring back Derrick Brown!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Arbroath
Davie,

The best things to run are the things that actually come with windows. Running a defrag is essential. It takes a LONG time though( mine took 6 hours!) so best to do that overnight.

Also, you should do the basic stuff. Clean out your temp internet folder etc. There are a shitload of background programs running on Windows XP(im presuming thats what you using) and I have a list somewhere, of the ones you can disable with no effect to your system, but makes the comp faster.

There's quite a few other things that I could recommend and give links etc to download, if you go on msn sometime tonight I could give you the links and talk you through how and what to do etc.

View PostBLADES MAN, on May 13 2008, 21:54, said:

You really are a waste of skin and chemicals.

View PostCowden til i die, on 10 December 2011 - 12:03, said:

It's a 2nd division game ffs. Segregation is not needed.

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

SimonLichtie, on Nov 15 2004, 05:32 PM, said:

Davie,

The best things to run are the things that actually come with windows. Running a defrag is essential. It takes a LONG time though( mine took 6 hours!) so best to do that overnight.

Also, you should do the basic stuff. Clean out your temp internet folder etc. There are a shitload of background programs running on Windows XP(im presuming thats what you using) and I have a list somewhere, of the ones you can disable with no effect to your system, but makes the comp faster.

There's quite a few other things that I could recommend and give links etc to download, if you go on msn sometime tonight I could give you the links and talk you through how and what to do etc.

Cheers mate, i'll pop on just now for 10 minutes, i'm off out later. ;)

I think i'm going to run a defrag, most people have recommended it.

Cheers lads. ;)

User is offline   Buckles 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:Airdrie Utd
Sorry declan, forgot about you!
here is the link for that history/cookie/cache/crap cleaner. it will make a difference to the speed, but as everyone else has said a defrag is also recommended to hopefully sort thing out a bit.
handy for getting rid of the porn!

This post has been edited by Buckles: 15 November 2004 - 22:06

Men have two emotions:
Hungry and Horny.
If you see him without an erection, make him a sandwich.

User is offline   RiG 

• (",)
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
  • Gamertag:ENOLA REVOL
Also Declan - check back through E-Chat for similar threads on this. Others may have recommended something better than what we have done.

View PostMr. Chisholm, on 28 March 2010 - 08:26, said:

Do you think Inverness can handle the pressure of being top? I think not. Inverness will not be able to handle it.

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

Buckles, on Nov 15 2004, 10:05 PM, said:

That's the one I already have, lol :D

Cheers anyway mate ;)

Fixed Davie?

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

SimonLichtie, on Nov 16 2004, 04:39 PM, said:

Fixed Davie?

Aye, well i've deleted some things that I don't use etc, and it's working a bit faster now. Cheers :) ;)

User is offline   Rugster 

• #10 - Legend
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain

dmton, on Nov 17 2004, 04:09 PM, said:

Aye, well i've deleted some things that I don't use etc, and it's working a bit faster now. Cheers :) ;)

12-0 12-0 12-0 12-0 12-0 12-0 12-0 !

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
RIP Craig Gowans - 1988-2005 #37

I bet it's warm in California

Ruggy Bairn, on Nov 17 2004, 04:10 PM, said:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

Ruggy Bairn, on Nov 17 2004, 04:10 PM, said:

Mate, if you're going to slag me, at least get the score correct. :blink:

dmton, on Nov 17 2004, 04:29 PM, said:

I apologize for Ruggy, shocking behaviour....

7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! 7-0! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User is offline   Rugster 

• #10 - Legend
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain

dmton, on Nov 17 2004, 04:29 PM, said:

According to a posting on another thread, that was the correct score. :D :lol:
RIP Craig Gowans - 1988-2005 #37

I bet it's warm in California

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

Ruggy Bairn, on Nov 17 2004, 04:35 PM, said:

According to a posting on another thread, that was the correct score. :D :lol:

Link, please. :rolleyes: <_<

And Simon, shut the feck up ;) :)

At least I play for a team ya Harry Potter look-a-like. :P

dmton, on Nov 17 2004, 04:44 PM, said:

At least I play for a team ya Harry Potter look-a-like. :P

Excuse me? <_<

I play for Arbroath fans team, thank you wee man! :lol: :lol:

Im playing at Gayfield on Sunday..... :ph34r:

User is offline   Deco 

• Still Ill

SimonLichtie, on Nov 17 2004, 04:45 PM, said:

Excuse me? <_<

I play for Arbroath fans team, thank you wee man! :lol: :lol:

Im playing at Gayfield on Sunday..... :ph34r:

1. Did you fart? :huh:

2. Diddy team. :rolleyes:

3. Who gies a f'k? :P

dmton, on Nov 17 2004, 04:48 PM, said:

1. Did you fart? :huh:

2. Diddy team. :rolleyes:

3. Who gies a f'k? :P

w**kstain! <_< :P

Page 1 of 1