N F L Prediction League 2009

User is offline   Reluctant Hero 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Ross County
I have set up a spread league on ESPN Pick 'Em if anyone wants to join. It is called Pie & Bovril

Basically you predict which team is going to win every week taking into account the spread.

I have left the league as public so we might get a few more players that are willing to play as well. The league is locked so once the season starts, you can't join and you can't leave the league. But the start of the season is about a month away, so there is plenty of time

So if you want to play, get over to ESPN and join up.

Good luck

And eh, Broncos for the Superbowl :lol:

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South
I'm in. I see bluetooner is too.

Three so far. Stewarty?

What does "Drop Worst week" mean in the set up? Does that mean in 17 regular weeks we only count the best 16 for each of us? Could mean some radical changes in leaderboard in the final week I guess and means missing a week isn't the end of the world. Not a bad idea if that's what it means.

EDIT - What was it Montana and his 49ers called it? Going for a Three-peat, I think! ;)

This post has been edited by Skyline Drifter: 15 August 2009 - 10:19

Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:MacZidane
Aye, I'll be up for this. I'll sign up for it nearer the time.

Only 3 of us signed up so far :lol:

Is there no-one else interested? The season is just around the corner.

Drop the worst week does mean that the worst week doesn't count. I can change it to include all weeks if that's what people want, but we will probably have to do it before the season starts.

• The Numbers Man

View PostReluctant Hero, on Aug 26 2009, 18:05, said:

Only 3 of us signed up so far :lol:

Is there no-one else interested? The season is just around the corner.

Drop the worst week does mean that the worst week doesn't count. I can change it to include all weeks if that's what people want, but we will probably have to do it before the season starts.

I think you should leave it. It saves someone's season from being ruined by missing a week as Stewarty's was last year.

Pretty pointless if we don't get 4 or 5 more signed up though!

• Stay Alive
That's me signed up now. :D

User is offline   BishyTON 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Greenock Morton
The Patriots have arrived.
Mon the Ton

Posted Image

User is offline   Cowshed Chris 

I'm up for this
Blackthorn Rovers F.C.
GDWL Champions 2010/11
Scottish Welfare Football Association
http://www.blackthornrovers.tk

Up to 6 now and can probably get a couple of more guys from work.

Can't wait for the new season.

Everybody has to join up to the league by Thursday if they want to be in it, because Thursday is the big kick off.

We have got 6 so far with another 2 due to come on board.

I've just made my selections for this week and it is effing hard! Went for 11 favourites and 5 non-favourites.

Good luck!

User is offline   Jambo Stu 

• BIG TEAM 5 wee team 1
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Italy
  • Gamertag:captainspuddles
Joined and 1st week picks done :)
Guapa!
BLUE MOON

User is offline   Dee4Life1893 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Dundee
  • Euro 2012:Portugal
  • Gamertag:PSN: Dee4Life1893
I'm in. First week picks done.

8 favourites, 8 underdogs.
2011/12 P&B NFL Fantasy & Prediction Champion

• Stay Alive
Seven favourites, nine underdogs for me.

The thing is, I only ever really pay attention to the NFL when the season starts and sometimes during the draft, so I have no idea how any of the teams are shaping up this season, so the first week's predictions are pretty much based on how the teams fared last season.

I notice one of the options in setting the league up was 'locked' and 'unlocked'. I'd have thought it would have been better choosing the latter so that people can still join in after the season starts. I missed this two years ago because of that setting.

• The Numbers Man

View PostStewartyMac, on Sep 8 2009, 01:54, said:

The thing is, I only ever really pay attention to the NFL when the season starts and sometimes during the draft, so I have no idea how any of the teams are shaping up this season, so the first week's predictions are pretty much based on how the teams fared last season.

Ditto.

I'll go make my guesses now!

EDIT - They are done. Hadn't a clue about most of them.

This post has been edited by Skyline Drifter: 08 September 2009 - 08:23

User is offline   Cowshed Chris 

Surprised the Eagles were underdogs for this one (albeit not by much).

Thats my picks in - good luck to everybody.
Blackthorn Rovers F.C.
GDWL Champions 2010/11
Scottish Welfare Football Association
http://www.blackthornrovers.tk

User is offline   Shengus Khan 

• Golden Shoe Candidate
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Dundee Utd
I've just signed up. I'm more of a casual NFL viewer so i'm not expecting any great scores from myself but I guess we'll see.

User is offline   bajansaint 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Signed up as member number 12. Bit worried that the spread will make it even more difficult than it is already! Good picking gents. :)
We got Babe Ruth's ghost a hooker and now everything is cool.

User is offline   kaos1874 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip
cant wait for Wembley in October!!!

User is offline   Lambie's Pigeon Feed 

• International Captain
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
I am uberteeb on it, not my username on here.

I know there is a difference between spreadbetting and just picking winners. As briefly as possible what is it and how does it effect the scoring in this game.

Whenever I do an NFL coupon I just pick winners, I avoid all the spread/points pish.

Just imagine the Broncos are playing the Raiders and the Raiders are 5.5 point underdogs.

You pick the Broncos are your pick.

The Broncos would have to beat the Raiders by 5.5 points or more for you to get a point for that pick.

If the Broncos win by less that 5.5 points, or the Raiders win (unimaginable I know :lol: ), then you do not get a point for that game.

User is offline   Dave 

• First Division Sub
  • My Team:Queen's Park
  • Gamertag:CoG LHD
Welcome David Blair,
Only users older than twenty one years of age are eligible to play this game.
Sign Out

Oh well, didn't even think of that... <_<

User is online   lichtie23 

• Scottish sensation
  • My Team:Arbroath
Ok im now signed up.
Good luck everybody!!!!!!!
P&B NFL Prediction League Winner - 2010/11

P&B NFL Prediction League Runner Up - 2011/12

• Stay Alive
That's us up to sixteen for the season. Excellent effort. Hopefully all sixteen will play all season.

User is offline   Jute 

• Third Division Signing Target
  • My Team:Aberdeen

View Postlichtie23, on Sep 10 2009, 16:49, said:

Ok im now signed up.
Good luck everybody!!!!!!!

Joined. Hopefully backing 49ers every week will pay off.

User is online   lichtie23 

• Scottish sensation
  • My Team:Arbroath

View PostJute, on Sep 10 2009, 22:51, said:

Joined. Hopefully backing 49ers every week will pay off.

"Daydream believer"
P&B NFL Prediction League Winner - 2010/11

P&B NFL Prediction League Runner Up - 2011/12

• (15 Pages) +
  • Last »