Activision Can f**k Right Off. MW2 RRP = £55

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.
  • My Team:Arbroath

View PostMarreZ, on Jul 19 2009, 21:32, said:

on a big screen, they look almost out of focus now they are so poor.

I don't find that at all to be honest. I play on a projector sometimes, on a screen practically the size of my living room wall, and I really don't find that graphics to be that poor!

User is offline   Mr X 

• I'm Mr. "X"! Gimme, gimme!
  • Group: Global Moderators
  • My Team:Queen of the South

View Postxbl, on Jul 19 2009, 21:35, said:

I don't find that at all to be honest. I play on a projector sometimes, on a screen practically the size of my living room wall, and I really don't find that graphics to be that poor!

I dont find that either. But then Marrez and I have had this argument before :lol:
All my posts are bullplop. Bullplop!

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Mirren
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:Metalface Mark

View Postxbl, on Jul 19 2009, 21:35, said:

Depends what you are used to though dosent it, i play most of my games at 1920x1200 resolution on the pc, moving to the 360 or ps3 it varies between 1280x720 up to 1920x1080, best the wii does is 854x480, it looks horrendous in comparison.

I just cant get on with images that arent sharp, and i dont think theres much argument that the wii's graphics arent sharp, no anti aliasing on them, theres jaggies everywhere.
"ST MIRREN have adopted a new image. The Paisley side resemble the kid at school who returned from the summer holidays with a new school bag and a sun tan that refused to subside."

User is offline   Dr. Name 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
http://twitter.com/fourzerotwo

MW2 controllers, theres more crap you can waste your money on.
Posted Image

User is offline   Cynical Saintee 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
  • Gamertag:Magnus Magneto

View PostMr X, on Jul 19 2009, 09:20, said:

"Games for gamers" - what utter tosh :lol:

Im a gamer. I found the xbox and PS2 pretty boring after a while. The thought of going through the same game play but with fancier graphics on the PS3 and 360 was far from appealing.

Theres no denying there are some shocking games on the Wii, or that the majority are mini-game style cash ins, but then the PS, PS2 and DS suffered the same problem - too many developers trying to cash in on a popular console. The only reason there arent these sorts of games around for the 360 and PS3 is that no-one thinks they'll make any money on them because not enough "gamers" have bought them. It doesnt make them better consoles (although technically they are, of course) it just makes them less popular.

I have around 30 games for the Wii, that I would say are "proper" games - and thats not including the 2 version of PES or Maddens - and a list of 10 that are out in the next 12 months or so that I want. For a console thats been out for 2 and a half years I dont thinks that bad at all.

If you dont like it, thats fair enough, you're entitled to your opinion, but they way some people dismiss it as if its somehow beneath them and their fancy "next gen" consoles is, frankly, laughable. Sony and Microsoft certainly havent dismissed it ;)

I'm just old fashioned and mildly elitist.

That was the very criticism I myself lobbied at the 360 - that it's just the same old with fancier graphics, but the fact is it isn't just shinier graphics. The games themselves are much deeper and more complex, and much better games as a whole.

The Wii feels so artificial and shallow. There are some awful games on the 360, yes, but there are also games like Portal, Crackdown and Team Fortress 2 which would just be impossible for the Wii. And that's before we even get onto the matter of online play, which has made (obnoxious yanks and adolescants aside) the gaming experience so much more satisfying.

I admire what Nintendo have done in turning gaming from a habit exclusively "nerdy and isolationist" past time, to a more mass market, commercially profitable endeavour. I just don't like how they've treated traditional gamers with apparent contempt.

User is offline   StewartyMac 

• Stay Alive
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Stirling Albion
  • Gamertag:MacZidane

View PostCynical Saintee, on Jul 20 2009, 23:58, said:

but there are also games like Portal, Crackdown and Team Fortress 2 which would just be impossible for the Wii.

Portal would actually work very well on the Wii, I reckon. Crackdown too, probably.

You could have picked much better games to illustrate that point with.

• SPL Sub

View PostStewartyMac, on Jul 21 2009, 00:34, said:

Portal would actually work very well on the Wii, I reckon. Crackdown too, probably.

Probably. But those were the games on the shelf in front of me. :lol:

User is offline   Dr. Name 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Partick Thistle

Would they sell though?
Posted Image

• SPL Sub

View PostDr. Name, on Jul 21 2009, 00:49, said:

Would they sell though?

Good point. The 360's demographic is vastly different from the Wii's.

User is offline   Liam. 

• My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:Corporal Looj

Why? :huh:

FPS's on the Wii are, 9 times out of 10, cack. The only real good FPS on Wii (outwith the Conduit which I haven't played and as such can't judge) is Metroid, which has a lock on system. Portal wouldn't work with a lock on system.

Crackdown, also, wouldn't work on Wii. The thing that makes Crackdown great is the sheer destruction you can wreak. There's hunners of stuff on the screen at any one point - people, cars, weapons,etc...

Neither would work on the Wii in there current form. They would have to be changed drastically and would bearly resemble the original to work.

Cynical Saintee chose two great examples of games that wouldn't work on Wii.

edit: I know Portal isn't an FPS but the control scheme is FPS-like.

This post has been edited by Liam.: 20 July 2009 - 23:56

Any opinions are not necessarily my own but those of the BBC.

• Stay Alive

View PostLiam., on Jul 21 2009, 00:55, said:

Cynical Saintee chose two great examples of games that wouldn't work on Wii.

Portal is a puzzle based game, so is ideally suited for the Wii, and its audience. I'm surprised it's never made the transition to be honest.

Crackdown would work fine as well, in fact with some tweaking of the controls, it could be more fun than the 360 version, even if graphically inferior.

The only one of his examples which he has a point with is Team Fortress, primarily because of the flawed online setup the Wii has, which is the one genuine disappointment with the machine.

This post has been edited by StewartyMac: 21 July 2009 - 00:01

• SPL Sub
That's a good point. Plus, there's games like Fallout 3 which, though they don't have the best graphics in the world, are much deeper than any Wii game could ever dream of being.

And then there's Mass Effect and Gears 2 which are just awesome gaming technological achievements for various reasons. Mass Effect for its massive depth in voice acting and excellent visuals, and Gears 2 for just being eyemeltingly awesome to look at.

And IIRC, Valve said they wouldn't develop for the PS3 or Wii, I could be mistaken, however.

And Crackdown would have to be dumbed down until it looked like GTA3 to ever work on the Wii.

This post has been edited by Cynical Saintee: 21 July 2009 - 00:05

• Stay Alive

View PostCynical Saintee, on Jul 21 2009, 01:04, said:

That's a good point. Plus, there's games like Fallout 3 which, though they don't have the best graphics in the world, are much deeper than any Wii game could ever dream of being.

And then there's Mass Effect and Gears 2 which are just awesome gaming technological achievements for various reasons. Mass Effect for its massive depth in voice acting and excellent visuals, and gears 2 for just being eyemeltingly awesome to look at.

See, these are much better examples. ;)

User is offline   Liam. 

• My Team:Celtic
  • Euro 2012:Sweden
  • Gamertag:Corporal Looj

View PostStewartyMac, on Jul 21 2009, 01:00, said:

Portal is a puzzle based game, so is ideally suited for the Wii, and its audience. I'm surprised it's never made the transition to be honest.

Crackdown would work fine as well, in fact with some tweaking of the controls, it could be more fun than the 360 version, even if graphically inferior.

You didn't address either of my main concerns about each game.
Any opinions are not necessarily my own but those of the BBC.

User is offline   Mr X 

That was the very criticism I myself lobbied at the 360 - that it's just the same old with fancier graphics, but the fact is it isn't just shinier graphics. The games themselves are much deeper and more complex, and much better games as a whole.

The Wii feels so artificial and shallow. There are some awful games on the 360, yes, but there are also games like Portal, Crackdown and Team Fortress 2 which would just be impossible for the Wii. And that's before we even get onto the matter of online play, which has made (obnoxious yanks and adolescants aside) the gaming experience so much more satisfying.

I admire what Nintendo have done in turning gaming from a habit exclusively "nerdy and isolationist" past time, to a more mass market, commercially profitable endeavour. I just don't like how they've treated traditional gamers with apparent contempt.

I think your last statement is a bit OTT, to be honest. As I said, Im a "traditional gamer" and I've found plenty of games on the Wii to play. Not sure what your point is about online play though??

Theres no doubt that there are games which, graphically, wouldnt work on the wii. However, your examples are all FPS, you couldnt pay me money to play them on a 360 or PS3. The control pad is totally unsuited for that kind of game, no matter how deep the game is or shiny the graphics are. If Im going to play a FPS, I'd rather play a RE game on the Wii, or I'll play something like Fallout on the PC.

I think your reasoning for Mass Effect not working just proves my point.

I'll see all your FPS and raise you Tiger Woods 10 ;)

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner

Why would portal and team fortress not work on the wii? You could argue these kind of games dont work on the 360, after all they are both PC games, if they work on the 360, they would work on the wii, portal would probably benefit from the control system if anything.
"ST MIRREN have adopted a new image. The Paisley side resemble the kid at school who returned from the summer holidays with a new school bag and a sun tan that refused to subside."

User is offline   xbl 

• Forward, together.
  • My Team:Arbroath

View PostMr X, on Jul 21 2009, 09:40, said:

Theres no doubt that there are games which, graphically, wouldnt work on the wii. However, your examples are all FPS, you couldnt pay me money to play them on a 360 or PS3. The control pad is totally unsuited for that kind of game, no matter how deep the game is or shiny the graphics are. If Im going to play a FPS, I'd rather play a RE game on the Wii, or I'll play something like Fallout on the PC.

I agree with you, FPS belong on a pc, mouse and keyboard all the way. It just isn't right playing a FPS on a stupid wee pad.

View PostCynical Saintee, on Jul 21 2009, 01:04, said:

.... and Gears 2 for just being eyemeltingly awesome to look at.

And you call yourself a "gamer"? If I wanted to watch eyemeltingly awesome stuff, I would have an HD cinema. I play games, to well, play! I am also what you would call a traditional gamer, having been raised on Frontier Elite, Civ, Unreal Tournament, Doom, and all that jazz, and the Wii is the console of choice for me.

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View Postxbl, on Jul 21 2009, 09:49, said:

I agree with you, FPS belong on a pc, mouse and keyboard all the way. It just isn't right playing a FPS on a stupid wee pad.

And you call yourself a "gamer"? If I wanted to watch eyemeltingly awesome stuff, I would have an HD cinema. I play games, to well, play! I am also what you would call a traditional gamer, having been raised on Frontier Elite, Civ, Unreal Tournament, Doom, and all that jazz, and the Wii is the console of choice for me.

While its not my cup of tea, gears 2 is a good game as well.

The problem with you all is that you are all fanboys of particular consoles, you need to own every one if you want to remain impartial, none of you coons are.

User is offline   MattBairn 

• Come crawling faster...Obey your Master
  • My Team:Falkirk

View PostMr X, on Jul 21 2009, 09:40, said:

However, your examples are all FPS, you couldnt pay me money to play them on a 360 or PS3. The control pad is totally unsuited for that kind of game, no matter how deep the game is or shiny the graphics are. If Im going to play a FPS, I'd rather play a RE game on the Wii, or I'll play something like Fallout on the PC.

Bingo.

I have to laugh at people putting the Wii down and using FPS on consoles the other as a reason theyre better.
The 360 and PS3 pads are fucking awful for FPS games.

I have no gripe with any of the consoles as I either own or have access to all the next gen consoles so I have no gripe with any of them. Each is good in its own way.
Posted Image

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMattBairn, on Jul 21 2009, 10:46, said:

Bingo.

I have to laugh at people putting the Wii down and using FPS on consoles the other as a reason theyre better.
The 360 and PS3 pads are fucking awful for FPS games.

I have no gripe with any of the consoles as I either own or have access to all the next gen consoles so I have no gripe with any of them. Each is good in its own way.

FPS games are alright on consoles, but they dumb down the controls, Liam mentioned metroid on the wii, but every FPS has aim help, otherwise they would be unplayable.

User is offline   Mr X 

View PostMarreZ, on Jul 21 2009, 10:34, said:

While its not my cup of tea, gears 2 is a good game as well.

The problem with you all is that you are all fanboys of particular consoles, you need to own every one if you want to remain impartial, none of you coons are.

Not true. I dont own a 360 or PS3 but Ive played them. The experiences were as underwhelming as I'd imagined it would be.

I've owned all manor of consoles from all the manufacturers over the years, Ive never had any particular "fan boy" leanings.

Im not slagging off the 360, or PS3. Im simply sticking up for the Wii in the face of unwarranted criticism based on personal opinion.

I dare say if I was in my teens or early twenties, with no real past of gaming, I too would be impressed by the "next gen" consoles and creaming my pants at the thought of FIFA10 or COD 25.

This post has been edited by Mr X: 21 July 2009 - 10:26

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMr X, on Jul 21 2009, 11:26, said:

Not true. I dont own a 360 or PS3 but Ive played them. The experiences were as underwhelming as I'd imagined it would be.

I've owned all manor of consoles from all the manufacturers over the years, Ive never had any particular "fan boy" leanings.

Im not slagging off the 360, or PS3. Im simply sticking up for the Wii in the face of unwarranted criticism based on personal opinion.

I dare say if I was in my teens or early twenties, with no real past of gaming, I too would be impressed by the "next gen" consoles and creaming my pants at the thought of FIFA10 or COD 25.

You are a wii fanboy now though ;)

When people invest in something, they defend their purchase. The next gen consoles dont impress me graphically any more, its been a few years since anything on console or on pc has made me go 'wow', we are in that horrible period in the middle of consoles lifespan and a pc's update to the new DX that brings the fancy graphical upgrades.

Nintendo are right to be criticised, but also right to be praised, as a business they want to make the most profit and they caught on to an idea that worked okay, but is being developed by all the companies to work a whole lot better, you cant blame nintendo for changing tact, their last console was effectively a flop, they needed to do something unique to win back the mass market that he had with the nes.

Initially the wii looked like a hardcore gamers dream, but because its easy to develop for and cheap as well, hundreds of games are churned out for it that are sub par. Its undoubtedly the worst of the 3 major consoles, it has the lowest amount of games rated 9 or above by quite a margin (about a quarter of full price games against the 360), the control system made developers lazy, choosing to go for cheap gimmicks rather than innovate. I have higher hopes for the wii HD though, the sooner nintendo get that out, the better.

User is offline   Mr X 

View PostMarreZ, on Jul 21 2009, 11:43, said:

You are a wii fanboy now though ;)

When people invest in something, they defend their purchase. The next gen consoles dont impress me graphically any more, its been a few years since anything on console or on pc has made me go 'wow', we are in that horrible period in the middle of consoles lifespan and a pc's update to the new DX that brings the fancy graphical upgrades.

Nintendo are right to be criticised, but also right to be praised, as a business they want to make the most profit and they caught on to an idea that worked okay, but is being developed by all the companies to work a whole lot better, you cant blame nintendo for changing tact, their last console was effectively a flop, they needed to do something unique to win back the mass market that he had with the nes.

Initially the wii looked like a hardcore gamers dream, but because its easy to develop for and cheap as well, hundreds of games are churned out for it that are sub par. Its undoubtedly the worst of the 3 major consoles, it has the lowest amount of games rated 9 or above by quite a margin (about a quarter of full price games against the 360), the control system made developers lazy, choosing to go for cheap gimmicks rather than innovate. I have higher hopes for the wii HD though, the sooner nintendo get that out, the better.

I own a Wii - Im not a fanboy :P

If I were a fanboy I would be claiming its perfect and brilliant. Its not, but its nowhere near as bad as some posters on here make out - Id also argue over "Its undoubtedly the worst of the 3 major consoles".

You're points about the control system are fair. I think its probably a lit more limited than many first imagined and the developers have been restricted in what they can do, to an extent. I have high hopes for the MotionPlus ;)

User is offline   MarreZ 

• Golden Shoe Winner

View PostMr X, on Jul 21 2009, 12:06, said:

I own a Wii - Im not a fanboy :P

If I were a fanboy I would be claiming its perfect and brilliant. Its not, but its nowhere near as bad as some posters on here make out - Id also argue over "Its undoubtedly the worst of the 3 major consoles".

You're points about the control system are fair. I think its probably a lit more limited than many first imagined and the developers have been restricted in what they can do, to an extent. I have high hopes for the MotionPlus ;)

You defend it, you're a fanboy B)

I have high hopes for the motion plus as well, ive not bought one yet, but may do if wii sports 2 turns out to be decent.

User is offline   Mr X 

View PostMarreZ, on Jul 21 2009, 12:29, said:

You defend it, you're a fanboy B)

I have high hopes for the motion plus as well, ive not bought one yet, but may do if wii sports 2 turns out to be decent.

Very good reviews certainly. I couldnt get the Japanese version to work <_< :lol:

The motionplus is worth buying for Tiger Woods alone ;)

• (5 Pages) +