Gordon Lennon Car crash tragedy Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

User is offline   ajcton 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Team:Greenock Morton
always sad to hear of any death but this is truely tragic, never saw the boy play but from what has been said before he will be a big loss to Dumbarton FC.

deeply saddened by this and my thoughts are with his family, friends and DFC.
From within the seeping, swelling, rancid mass it arose with a stench that made all around it vomit, its appearance made the people run in fear for it was a disease ridden manifestation that tried to appear human. It was dressed in black and white rags it was the............................. saint midden monster.

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions
  • Team:Dumbarton
My heart is breaking for his family.

He was an infectiously happy guy and a credit to his family.
We will never forget you, Guido.

User is offline   Traynor's a Bankie 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
Gordon Lennon,
Such a tradgedy, my thoughts are with his family.

User is offline   Thechicogibsonexperience 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
Going to the Stadium tonight. For anyone that has been down, is there an area where you can leave flowers, momentos etc? What time is the stadium open til?

R.I.P Gordon

A true footballer, a true Captain and a true gentleman. You will sadly be missed. :(

User is offline   The Moonster 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

View PostThechicogibsonexperience, on Jun 10 2009, 13:18, said:

Going to the Stadium tonight. For anyone that has been down, is there an area where you can leave flowers, momentos etc? What time is the stadium open til?

R.I.P Gordon

A true footballer, a true Captain and a true gentleman. You will sadly be missed. :(

Go through the main doors and on the stairway leading up to the stand, there is flowers and the like. Think it was open till around half 8 on Monday, not sure about tonight.
In that dream I could hardly contain it
All my life I will wait to attain it

User is offline   Cruyff14 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
Just been down the stadium with a shirt, such a sad spectacle. Cant imagine how the family must feel. Hope i put across in my book entry what the guy meant to me. Farewell Gordon, always a Son of the Rock.
FourFourTwo - Keepers who changed the game - J.'The prince of Goalkeepers' McAulay, Dumbarton F.C.

User is offline   Neilly 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • Team:Stenhousemuir
Is it open till 8:30pm for the rest of the week?

Meant to be heading through with the auld yin tomorrow.
This is my territory be on your way...

User is offline   Drooper 

• International Call Up
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Team:St.Mirren
http://www.saintmirren.premiumtv. co.uk/pag...1690352,00.html

I suggest Dumbarton consider increasing their prices a bit for this one. I'm sure you'd still attract a large crowd.
Posted Image

User is offline   Naught A Chance 

• First Division Regular
Great gesture by St Mirren, everyone will appreciate that alot!

Neilly : It only says on the website about tonight it doesnt mention tomorrow

User is offline   clyde til we die 

• Global moderator
  • Team:Clyde

View PostDrooper, on Jun 10 2009, 18:05, said:

http://www.saintmirren.premiumtv. co.uk/pag...1690352,00.html

I suggest Dumbarton consider increasing their prices a bit for this one. I'm sure you'd still attract a large crowd.

That's a fantastic gesture, i hope plenty of fans from both teams turn out for it.
Posted Image

User is offline   Boghead ranter 

• Third Division Reserve
Funeral arrangements

announced.

User is offline   holme 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Team:East Stirlingshire
I was greatly saddened to hear about the death of Gordon Lennon

Our game has lost a great man I feel so sorry for his family sometimes life can be unbearably cruel

User is offline   Drooper 

• International Call Up
I took the short trip down to SHS tonight to pay my respects, leave my Saints scarf, and sign the book of condolences. When I arrived, Gordon's family were at the ground - his Mum and Dad, two brothers, and maybe his partner too. I have to say that I was genuinely humbled by the dignified manner in which the family managed to conduct thenselves during what must be a truly hellish time for them. They took time out to thank those who were down at the club including a number of players.

To be honest, I felt as though I was intruding a little bit (I hadn't realised the family would be there), but Gordon's Dad (who I don't know at all) actually put his hand on my shoulder in recognition that I'd went down and then gave me a 'thanks' thumbs up in the car park. I had my Saints top on in order to let folk know that the fans of other clubs are supporting them through this desperately sad time. I think that meant something to them. A club official also went out his way to thank me for calling in. It was a genuinely touching experience, and I can only reiterate just how extraordinarily dignified his folks were in the worst of circumstances. I'm not surprised that Gordon was held in such high regard now that I have briefly met his family and have a sense of what special people they clearly are.

This post has been edited by Drooper: 10 June 2009 - 20:33

Posted Image

User is offline   Jordo1872 

• Third Division Regular

View PostDrooper, on Jun 10 2009, 21:27, said:

I took the short trip down to SHS tonight to pay my respects, leave my Saints scarf, and sign the book of condolences. When I arrived, Gordon's family were at the ground - his Mum and Dad, two brothers, and maybe his partner too. I have to say that I was genuinely humbled by the dignified manner in which the family managed to conduct thenselves during what must be a truly hellish time for them. They took time out to thank those who were down at the club including a number of players.

To be honest, I felt as though I was intruding a little bit (I hadn't realised the family would be there), but Gordon's Dad (who I don't know at all) actually put his hand on my shoulder in recognition that I'd went down and then gave me a 'thanks' thumbs up in the car park. I had my Saints top on in order to let folk know that the fans of other clubs are supporting them through this desperately sad time. I think that meant something to them. A club official also went out his way to thank me for calling in. It was a genuinely touching experience, and I can only reiterate just how extraordinarily dignified his folks were in the worst of circumstances. I'm not surprised that Gordon was held in such high regard now that I have briefly met his family and have a sense of what special people they clearly are.

Well that post just made my night.

Thank you for taking the time to pay your respects. I'm sure it was greatly appreciated by the family in what must be an incredibly difficult time for them right now. Your gesture will ensure his family recognise just how popular he was as a man and a player, not just at Dumbarton, but throughout football.

Guest_Bucky_*

• Group: Surfer
A sad loss to everyone who knew.

I remember Guido's debut for Rovers against QoS and he was a standout. He signed from Rovers from Harmony Row, the story goes he was playing a game with Harmony at New Broomfield where a batch of scouts were watching him. It wasn't one of his better games however Rovers Scout had been watching him for sometime and he duly signed for the club - and what a signing.

He loved playing football and left us with some great memories, two great cup performances against Partick Thistle, his first goal for Rovers against Elgin (his whole family celebrating in the stand).

It was a pleasure to watch him play and a greater pleasure to have met him. My dad and 10 year old son and myself presenyed him with the player of the year award in 2006-7.

My thoughts and prayers are with his family.

User is offline   pozbaird 

• First Division Signing Target
Just read the article on our website about St Mirren donating their gate receipts to the family of Gordon Lennon. I wasn't planning to go to the game originally, but I will be going now, and so will my best mate. The talk on the St Mirren website forum is of more and more fans planning to go to pay their respects. Over recent seasons there have been several pre-season friendlies between our clubs, and a couple of cup ties. There is obviously a good relationship between Dumbarton and St Mirren at boardroom level, so I hope as many Buddies as possible can make the trip to Dumbarton to pay their respects to the captain of Dumbarton who lost his life so tragically, and to do something for his young family.

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...
  • Team:Queen of the South

View PostBucky, on Jun 10 2009, 23:27, said:

I remember Guido's debut for Rovers against QoS and he was a standout.

I shudder at the thought of that game, Yardley was in horrific shape and ripped us to bits.

Think I only seen the guy play twice the game outlined above and once for Stenny vs Threave, the stories that are being outlined highlight how much of a nice guy and good player he must have been.

RIP
Queen of the South Football Club <3

User is offline   Casey 

• Third Division Apprentice
Memorial Match

Clicky
It's like deja vu, all over again.

User is offline   Demented Zebra 

• SPL Superstar
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Platinum Members
Will make an effort to come along to the pre-season friendly as many Saints fans will to help with a contribution to Gordon Lennon family.
My thoughts are with his family and all at D.F.C.

User is offline   KangaTon 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • Team:Greenock Morton
I stay up in Ullapool and in the North Star it mentioned that the accident was caused by a car hitting a post which detached a power line which electrocuted the victim. If this is true it sounds like a really tragic and freak accident.

I only saw Gordon play once but seeing the pictures and tributes to him make me really wish I had seen him more of him. Its always great to see players playing with a smile on their face.

RIP Gordon.

User is offline   BullyWeeBoy 

• First Division Sub
  • Team:Clyde
RIP
Just back from Turkey and heard it there such a shame
That was smashing eh?
Aye, some good solid graft!

User is offline   ThirdrockfromtheSon 

• Third Division Superstar
  • Gamertag:'Ye talkin' aboot?

View PostDrooper, on Jun 10 2009, 21:27, said:

I took the short trip down to SHS tonight to pay my respects, leave my Saints scarf, and sign the book of condolences. ......... I'm not surprised that Gordon was held in such high regard now that I have briefly met his family and have a sense of what special people they clearly are.

Drooper

First of all, thanks for turning up. Your post, plus those of many other non-Sons fans, simply reiterates the feeling about Gordon. All-round good guy.

I have been utterly amazed at the sympathetic comments from non-Sons fans - I had no idea he was so popular with other fans. Thanks to all of you.

I was touched by the way he conducted himself at Annan. I think I was the only fan that didn't get a hold of the trophy! He spent ages with all of the real Sons fanatics.

My thoughts, like those of many others, are with his wee boy and his partner. I hope they have the strength to see this through, and I hope that in 16 years time a young defender by the name of Kai Lennon makes his debut with the Sons.

God rest your soul Guido.
Ridin' down the highway, goin' to a show, stop in all the by-ways, playin' rock 'n' roll,
Gettin' robbed, gettin' stoned, gettin' beat up, broken boned,
Gettin' had, gettin' took, I tell you folks it's harder than it looks,
It's a long way to the top if you wanna rock''roll..
It's a long way.......such a long way....................

User is offline   Aloysius Snuffleupagus 

• International Call Up
  • Team:Albion Rovers

View PostThe Moonster, on Jun 9 2009, 08:45, said:

Pretty sure Gordon was with us when Gemmell player for the Vers, i may be wrong.

No you're correct. Gemmell joined us whilst Gordon was on the books at Partick Thistle.

User is offline   PIK 

• Third Division Sub
  • Team:Ayr United
Only just found out from my wife who is a Sons fan. Our condolences to his family, so sorry for them.

Is there a giving web site at all? We would like to help Gordons dependents.

User is offline   Sweet Pete 

• Always with the best intentions

View Post-alF, on Jun 15 2009, 16:45, said:

Only just found out from my wife who is a Sons fan. Our condolences to his family, so sorry for them.

Is there a giving web site at all? We would like to help Gordons dependents.

I'm sure the sonstrust would take a donation on the family's behalf

http://www.sonstrust.net/
We will never forget you, Guido.

• (9 Pages) +
  • « First