Hm Customs And Excise AND EBAY Rate Topic: -----

User is offline   Rugster 

• #10 - Legend
  • My Team:Falkirk
  • Euro 2012:Spain
I ordered an MP3 player off Ebay last week, and today I got a letter from the customs.

They need me to send them back the receipt and details of what I paid, what it is, is it for personal use etc.

It's come from China.

What (if anything) am I likely to be charged, embdy ken????

:unsure: :blink: :huh:
RIP Craig Gowans - 1988-2005 #37

I bet it's warm in California

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
  • My Team:Ross County
  • Gamertag:GCarlos9
Once they have worked out how much it is worth and it will be worth more than your personal allowance of 18 pounds, they will charge you import tax on it. Which is the equivalent of VAT. However all this can be avoided if anything getting imported from another country which is outside the EU, is declared as a gift.

Pretend you have a long lost Falkirk supporting uncle in Beijing.
You will retire me, but Iniesta will retire us both.

User is offline   scot_17s 

• Junior League Starter
  • PipPipPipPipPip

Ruggy Bairn, on Oct 6 2004, 06:41 PM, said:

I ordered an MP3 player off Ebay last week, and today I got a letter from the customs.

They need me to send them back the receipt and details of what I paid, what it is, is it for personal use etc.

It's come from China.

Sounds possibly like a VAT thing, if you bought it off a person rather than a business then i dont see how they can add this though. Possibly means another 17.5% on top of your purchase though.

User is offline   ALL HÚNS 'n' TIMS ARE SCUM 

• Return to the Dark Side
Say its a prize or your researching MP3s players for a magazine and will be returning it.
pɐǝɥ ɹnoʎ uo puɐʇS

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South

It's come from China.

You need to pay VAT on goods imported from abroad.

It'll be 17.5% of what you paid for it.

Unless of course you take up some of the evasion tactics recommended above. :ph34r:
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

Guest_Waxoyl Fan Club_*

• Group: Surfer
of course you could try to do what Rooneys bird did with her £40k worth of bling.

Deny everything and walk through the nothing to declare channel. £2k vat and penalty bill for her troubles :lol:

• #10 - Legend
Thanks guys, but the receipt shows I paid VAT on it, Does this mean I don't pay anything? :blink:

User is offline   SaintSam 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Why didn't you just buy it in a shop?

• #10 - Legend

SaintSam, on Oct 6 2004, 08:31 PM, said:

Why didn't you just buy it in a shop?

Because I got it from Ebay for £25, whereas the cheapest equivelant in the shops was minimum £100.

User is offline   SaintSam 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:St.Johnstone
Point made :rolleyes:

User is offline   Ceske 

• First Division Signing Target
Im sure you`ll be fine Ruggy...........although you may not be and you could find yourself in a stoney wee jail cell with nothing more than your cell mates "hot boaby" to keep you warm!!

:lol: :lol:

cheers to "Still game" for the use of the joke ;)
The South Stand - Finally it feels like home

Guest_Waxoyl Fan Club_*

Ceske Bairn, on Oct 6 2004, 10:36 PM, said:

Im sure you`ll be fine Ruggy...........although you may not be and you could find yourself in a stoney wee jail cell with nothing more than your cell mates "hot boaby" to keep you warm!!

:lol: :lol:

cheers to "Still game" for the use of the joke ;)

As long as he pays the VAT on that he'll be fine

User is offline   Tormod Macleod 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:Inverness Caley Thistle
My mate stays in Thailand where he can get fitba tops cheap as. If we were to import them, would 17.5%VAT be all we had to pay customs?

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
Get you rmate to send them over, with a letter and card saying Happy Birthday. As its a gift you wouldnt have to pay any kind of import tax or VAT.

I really dont know how your receipt includes VAT as that only applies to things bought in this country. Is the seller based in the UK, then importing them from outside the EU?

User is offline   An Sionnach 

• Keeping Counsel
  • My Team:Berwick Rangers
Ruggy,

Advice can be found here......

Let's keep Ruggy oot 'a Bar-L!

;) :lol: :lol: :lol:
Here is a box, a musical box, wound up and ready to play. But this box can hide a secret inside. Can you guess what is in it today?"

Remember, your P&B Rep can go down as well as up!

• #10 - Legend

hailtothethief, on Oct 7 2004, 12:44 PM, said:

Get you rmate to send them over, with a letter and card saying Happy Birthday. As its a gift you wouldnt have to pay any kind of import tax or VAT.

I really dont know how your receipt includes VAT as that only applies to things bought in this country. Is the seller based in the UK, then importing them from outside the EU?

It was nothing like the Vat I should have paid, only £1.19. I think it might be the tax at his end, and paypal just calls it VAT.

It'll be a fiver at the most anyway. I hope :ph34r:

Cheers Kilt, having a look now! ;)

User is offline   Skyline Drifter 

• The Numbers Man
  • My Team:Queen of the South

Ruggy Bairn, on Oct 6 2004, 08:16 PM, said:

Thanks guys, but the receipt shows I paid VAT on it, Does this mean I don't pay anything? :blink:

No, presumably that's a local Sales Tax at point of sale. Most countries have a sales tax of some sort. Doesn't preclude you from paying VAT also but I don't know enough about this specific area to advise properly.
Thomas Lithgow, Born 19/02/09
Steven Lithgow, Born 15/02/10
Welcome to the World My Two Wonderful Sons

Wherever it takes us, Whatever it takes.

• #10 - Legend

Skyline Drifter, on Oct 7 2004, 01:51 PM, said:

No, presumably that's a local Sales Tax at point of sale. Most countries have a sales tax of some sort. Doesn't preclude you from paying VAT also but I don't know enough about this specific area to advise properly.

I've twigged that now, I think paypal just calls it VAT.

I've read the link the Kilt put up, and it says for MP3 players, you are due VAT plus an import duty of 2%. So that's just under 20%, which equates to £4.60. Hardly going to break the bank, but worth knowing about if you're purchasing something more pricey :)

Guest_Psycho_FFC_*

We regularly post out expensive designer clothing to Korea and America. It as only been stopped once and when it does you say it is a gift. Simple as that!! ;)

User is offline   Bongovonbudvar 

• Sunday League Starter
  • PipPip
  • My Team:St.Mirren

It's come from China.

You will also be charged for the privilege of the item being opened and repackaged and another service fee upon collection from Royal Mail ( who act as an agent)................

We get items all the time where the surcharges are way over the value of the goods and the usual response is 'ram it'..............

It's just your Donald what gets opened, unless the sniffer dogs are about and Sid ends up paying over the odds for used knickers................
Posted Image

hailtothethief, on Oct 7 2004, 12:44 PM, said:

Thanks for that.

However, I might be having a birthday roughly every fortnight :unsure:

User is offline   Loki 

• Mathemagician
I have had games, DVDs etc sent from Singapore and my mate always marks them as a gift, and there is never a problem. But gift has to be marked on the item when posting, normally you have to declare what an item is.

User is offline   thejailender 

• SPL Sub
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
My brotehr in law had a letter from the HM Customs and Excise a few months back. He had bought a pair of night vision goggles over Ebay.

He too had to provide a reciept, they said to him if he could prove how much he paid then he would be charged the VAT on what they estimated the product to be worth..

He too got around it by saying it was a friend who had sent them on, but he was still charges a bit for them to re-package and send it on.. This it was about £10 or something
C'mon McMenamin Mun !

Thanks for that guys.

• #10 - Legend
The damage is £11.64.

I presume roughly a sky diver of that is for VAT. The rest will be some admin charge the f'kers reckon they are are due for simply opening a f'kin package. :angry:

Still, if I don't pay it, some nomark postie will have a free MP3 player, so f'k you I'll be collecting it in the morning. :D

• (2 Pages) +