George Burley Should Be Sacked
Rate Topic:

Posted 04 April 2009 - 19:42
- Group: Gold Members
- My Team:Hamilton Academical
if ye take a horse to water he is going to drink! burley must go.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 19:53
- Group: Platinum Members
- My Team:Falkirk
badgers apprentice, on Apr 4 2009, 19:42, said:
The Scottish players are fucking grown men!
He allowed them to have a wee drink after getting back in, treating them like adults, and they've acted like 16 year old wee neds.
I can't see how Burley is in any way to blame in this situation, although it does lead one to question how much he's respected by the current pool of Scottish players. I think removing Ferguson from the squad can only be positive given that he's long been rumoured to be a trouble maker and a negative influence.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 20:17
- My Team:Greenock Morton
Ric - Forgotten but not gone.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 20:23
- My Team:Celtic
I agree the players are grown men and there can be no excusing any of thier actions. Even though the manager shouldn't have given them permission, he did and they should have been proffessional enough to know when to call it a day and knock it on the head. If they had just went for an hour and headed to bed this whole sorry episode wouldn't have happened.
That said Burley is being very unprofessional himself here by allowing players to go drinking given they had finished a game and had another important game coming up. You have to assume the players were also having a few drinks on the plane back from Amsterdam too. So was there any need to allow them to continue on from this?
I also think he was wrong to have them stripped and on the bench. By all means keep them in the squad if the players were putting the pressure on you. But have them sitting in the stand...not the bench. Also if the players are putting pressure on you by all means it's a tricky situation but if he'd stood his ground which player was going to carry out any threat not to play. They'd have been targetted in the same way the two clowns are for turning their back on Scotland.
I also think he got his substitutions wrong. Kenny Miller only really offers you work rate, but on Wed I don't even think he offered that. I'd have taken him off and kept Fletcher on but noooo he kept on the striker that was doing nothing. Against Holland he opted for Teale over Morrison...what's that all about. More frustrating was the fact that he took so long to giv him the hook. I'm not warming to George Burley. In fact the fact that some of the players appear to be against him makes me want to see him do well...but he is frustrating as a manager
Posted 04 April 2009 - 20:42
I think its actually.....you can't make it drink,,, unless its a retarded childish alky.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 21:14
Posted 04 April 2009 - 22:03
- My Team:Ross County
Posted 04 April 2009 - 22:15
- Gamertag:seamuspb
Mark McGhee will be in charge in four months time Gordon Smith has already sounded him out
Posted 04 April 2009 - 22:15
FilthyMack, on Apr 4 2009, 22:03, said:
What Rangers did was nothing to do with PR. The two Rangers players acted badly and have been sanctioned, thankfully. Every Gers fan I've spoken to is glad to be rid of them.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 22:30
Kincardine, on Apr 4 2009, 22:15, said:
Rangers held a meeting with the players, sent them home, had a statement out immediately. Good PR.
The SFA tells everyone the players will not play for Scotland again, the players find out via radio reports. The SFA appears to react slower again. Bad PR.
Posted 04 April 2009 - 22:35
Posted 05 April 2009 - 00:29
- My Team:Hamilton Academical
only then do the sfa make a reaction by telling them they will not play for scotland again and joining the media circus when the main culprit is george burley for letting professional football players go on a drinking session with ten hours till their next training session!
the guy is an absolute joke of a manager and his charade of appearing with his wife at tannadice today proves that.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 02:04
- My Team:Rangers
- Gamertag:Xbox - mcneilrfc
youroldda, on Apr 4 2009, 20:42, said:
Like Scott Brown?
"If you want to get better, why would you go there?"
The Hammer has spoken!
Posted 05 April 2009 - 09:46
Posted 05 April 2009 - 10:11
uberman, on Apr 5 2009, 09:46, said:
I don't think they are being called neds just for this. Ferguson has been noted as a ned for his ways throughout his career. Kicking things into the home dugout at Celtic Park when getting sent off, Going home to put on his Rangers trackie after losing to Celtic and getting into a fight at the 'Battle of Bothwell Bridge', his spat with PLG and now this latest sorry episode.
McGregor hasn't covered himself in glory either off the park with his womanising ways, parking in disabled spaces with no disabled person with him in his flash car despite having the disabled permit shown and again...this latest episode.
Guest_Big_Andy_*
Posted 05 April 2009 - 10:44
- Group: Surfer
if ye take a donkey/ned to water he is going to drink! burley must go.
Fixed it for you.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 11:59
- My Team:Raith Rovers
uberman, on Apr 5 2009, 09:46, said:
I love the way that people still think they've been dropped for drinking.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 12:12
- My Team:Falkirk
Posted 05 April 2009 - 13:19
Paco, on Apr 5 2009, 11:59, said:
I know exactly why they were dropped, I was merely making the point that a lot of people are calling them neds for having the cheek to get drunk whilst on Scotland duty meanwhile the so called tartan army pride themselves on doing exactly the same thing
Posted 05 April 2009 - 14:57
- My Team:Raith Rovers
uberman, on Apr 5 2009, 13:19, said:
Ah, I get you now.
In fairness, I think 99% of the TA would happily give up drinking to captain their country. I know I would. It saddens me that some people think they haven't done anything wrong,
Posted 05 April 2009 - 16:48
- My Team:St.Johnstone
- Gamertag:Craggy101
Do you usually start old pointless threads like this?
Posted 05 April 2009 - 18:53
- My Team:Dunfermline
Feguson and MacGregor should never have been allowed in the bar in the first place. I then failed to address this situation correctly which led to them sitting on the bench and flicking the vickies.
As much as i dislike Walter Smith (who at the end of the day is as big a traitor to Scotland as any of these players) managed to show his quality when he took quick and strong action against Ferguson and MacGregor.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 19:08
I am sure there is more to this and I have heard a story of what really happened which would explain why the life ban happened but wether it is true remains to be seen....
While I am on my rant when the F##k did Smith become such a disciplinarian???
I seem to recall him being Gazza's boss when he gave his wife a right pasting but didny feel the need to punt him out the club,likewise when McCoist failed to return from a booze fuelled trip to Cheltneham,indeed he is now his number 2!!
Something stinks about it all and Rankers F.C. have seen it an easy way to punt 2 guys from the club whom command among the highest wages at Ipox and both of who would not budge in January when bids where accepted for them...money Rankers badly badly need.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 19:14
- My Team:Dunfermline
shaft2, on Apr 5 2009, 19:08, said:
I seem to recall him being Gazza's boss when he gave his wife a right pasting but didny feel the need to punt him out the club,likewise when McCoist failed to return from a booze fuelled trip to Cheltneham,indeed he is now his number 2!!
Exsactly. Rangers want rid of them too.
Posted 05 April 2009 - 19:28
shaft2, on Apr 5 2009, 19:08, said:
I am sure there is more to this and I have heard a story of what really happened which would explain why the life ban happened but wether it is true remains to be seen....
While I'm not Burley's biggest fan he seemed in his initial comments to just try and move on from the drinking incident, they'd been punished as far as he was concerned. Then the morning after at a press conference he tried to defend his players (as they still were at the time) making the gestures, suggesting cameras were probably waiting for them to make the slightest move (as I initially thought when I saw the pictures). Then we've got Gordon Smith and the odious George Peat though... Burley is now saying the decision to ban the players was taken by the 3 of them. I think certain people in the SFA are on a power trip, but Burley appears unable to asset himself in front of the media so you wonder if they've got no chice but to take decisions for him.
This post has been edited by FilthyMack: 05 April 2009 - 19:30
Delete Post
The post will be removed from this topic completely
Skin and Language
Execution Stats
- Time Now: May 17 2012 13:41
Community Forum Software by IP.Board
Licensed to: P&B Sports Ltd

Sign In »