Return to forums
Register new account
Login:

The Pie Shop: The Aussie Rules Football Thread - The Pie Shop

Page 1 of 1

The Aussie Rules Football Thread Any other fans/players out there?

User is offline   splodge 

• Sunday League Superstar
  • PipPipPip
  • My Team:Brechin City
Now the pre-season comps up and running time to get some debate started for the forthcoming season.

Loved the sport since I saw it televised on C4 in the mid 80's. Fast furious and sometimes brutal yet at the same time can be amazingly skilful and spectacular.

Essendon are the greatest team in the comp.

Played for a few years in the early 90's for the Sussex Swans in the British League.
That's Numberwang

User is online   Swarley 

• Gone Walkabout
  • Group: Platinum Members
  • My Team:Queen of the South
  • Gamertag:tartanroo (XBL)

View Postsplodge, on Feb 14 2009, 03:03, said:

Now the pre-season comps up and running time to get some debate started for the forthcoming season.

Loved the sport since I saw it televised on C4 in the mid 80's. Fast furious and sometimes brutal yet at the same time can be amazingly skilful and spectacular.

Played for a few years in the early 90's for the Sussex Swans in the British League.

Arrived in Oz last year just in time for the Grand Final, quite enjoyed watching it. Suppose I should support the Sydney Swans but they are pish and there is no way I'm supporting any of the Mexican teams.
Dodos aren't extinct, they've just gone away and forgot to leave a forwarding address

tartankoala.net

User is offline   FC_1919 

• Hug It Out...

View PostSwarley, on Feb 14 2009, 08:42, said:

Arrived in Oz last year just in time for the Grand Final, quite enjoyed watching it. Suppose I should support the Sydney Swans but they are pish and there is no way I'm supporting any of the Mexican teams.

:huh: ?
Queen of the South Football Club <3

User is offline   Sideshow 

• Third Division Apprentice
  • My Team:St.Mirren
Watched it years ago on Channel 4 and throughly enjoyed it and as Splodge says even though it looks brutal it's very skilful (have you ever tried to bounce an oval ball?).

Got a bit of a soft spot for St. Kilda as they play in the famous black, white and red.
It's badge, it's a number, it's scoring a goal. It's beating France not once but twice.
It's having a pie, it's joy, it's sadness. It's McFadden's goal from 30 yards.
It's my goal at the 5-a-side. It's your first game, it's your last.
It's winning, it's losing. It's Italy at home.
It's the Third Division, it's the Scottish Cup Final.
It's having a dream.

IT'S WHO WE ARE.

User is offline   Fuctifano 

• Dead Pool Champion 2010
  • My Team:Partick Thistle
  • Gamertag:PS3: Eckzihma

View PostFC_1919, on Feb 14 2009, 12:54, said:

:huh: ?

I know Queenslanders refer to folk from NSW as Mexicans due to them being south of the state border, can only assume the same applies between NSW and Victoria.

It's an OK game, very stop start but if you get a good flowing passage of play it can be exciting. Too many goals in it though, I don't like games where someone scores every 2 minutes.
Even men with steel hearts love to see a dog on the pitch.

User is online   Swarley 

• Gone Walkabout

View PostFuctifano, on Feb 14 2009, 13:32, said:

I know Queenslanders refer to folk from NSW as Mexicans due to them being south of the state border, can only assume the same applies between NSW and Victoria.

Correct, Victorians are "South of the Border" hence "Mexicans". Haven't heard Queenslanders call NSW Mexicans, have heard much worse though!
Dodos aren't extinct, they've just gone away and forgot to leave a forwarding address

tartankoala.net

User is offline   Bluenose5 

• Third Division Sub
  • My Team:Rangers
  • Euro 2012:France

View PostSwarley, on Feb 15 2009, 11:59, said:

Correct, Victorians are "South of the Border" hence "Mexicans". Haven't heard Queenslanders call NSW Mexicans, have heard much worse though!

Its because the cockroaches are jealous of us Victorians dominating ;) :P

Im a Carlton supporter and watch some blues games and also the footy show (Vic version) but im not a big fan of the sport. Lot of it is just kicking the ball anywhere just hoping for the best and one of the only sports in the world where they give you 1pt for missing the goal.
Mon the Gers!
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

User is offline   Jambo Stu 

• Jobby Jabber
  • My Team:Heart of Midlothian
  • Euro 2012:Italy
  • Gamertag:captainspuddles
Bombers for me. Although the last few seasons have been shit.
Guapa!
BLUE MOON

User is offline   Mr. Brightside 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Motherwell
  • Euro 2012:Germany
  • Gamertag:PSN - BabyFratelli
Moan the WCE! :D B)
It's getting kind of hard to believe things are going to get better. I've been drowning too long to believe that the tide is going to turn. And I've been living too hard to believe things are going to get easier now. I'm still trying to shake off the pain from the lessons I've learned. And if I see Van Helsing, I swear to the lord I will slay him. AHA HA HA. He take you from me but I swear I won't let it be so. AHA HA HA. Blood, will run done his face, when he is decapitated AH! His head on my mantle is how I will let this world know...how much I love you.
Die, die, die....I can't

Posted Image

Guest_jhall249_*

• Group: Surfer

View PostBluenose5, on Feb 16 2009, 00:55, said:

Its because the cockroaches are jealous of us Victorians dominating ;) :P

Im a Carlton supporter and watch some blues games and also the footy show (Vic version) but im not a big fan of the sport. Lot of it is just kicking the ball anywhere just hoping for the best and one of the only sports in the world where they give you 1pt for missing the goal.

Well Said..

Guest_helenbar2_*

View PostFuctifano, on Feb 14 2009, 14:32, said:

It's an OK game, very stop start but if you get a good flowing passage of play it can be exciting. Too many goals in it though, I don't like games where someone scores every 2 minutes.

great!

Guest_georgey121_*

View Postsplodge, on Feb 14 2009, 03:03, said:

I love that sport also

User is offline   kiddy 

• Golden Shoe Winner
  • My Team:Falkirk
You couldn't beat the '80's Hawks. Some great hair do's wi John Platten & Robert DiPierdomenico.

Posted Image

3x Leagues of 14. ALL with 7/7 Split, 2 up 2 down & 12v3 playoff.

Merge & regionalise Senior/Junior divisions below, with access to SFL.

& NAE RESERVE SIDES, PHOENIX TEAMS, INCUBATOR's or NEWCO's!

User is offline   jmothecat 

• Third Division Superstar
  • My Team:Aberdeen
  • Euro 2012:Denmark
Great to see the season starting up again, frustrating that I have to watch it on the internet though. I'm a St Kilda fan based on nothing more than the fact I was given a St Kilda scarf whilst staying over in Australia, went to some of their games and slowly got really into the sport.

User is online   endieinreekie 

• First Division Superstar
  • My Team:Montrose
Was watching some of it on Setanta the other night, it was pretty good stuff. Also remember watching some of it in the 80s. West Coast Eagles are my team.

I've punched before.

User is online   Swarley 

• Gone Walkabout
Jeez, the Swans hammered the Hawks! Wish I'd gone now.

tartankoala.net

• PipPipPip

View PostSwarley, on Apr 5 2009, 04:20, said:

Jeez, the Swans hammered the Hawks! Wish I'd gone now.

Listened to it on the net and it was like 2 entirely different sides to that which capitulated against St Kilda last week.

OK it was only the shockers, but good to hear the Bombers get back to form this morning. :thumsup2

Zaharakis is going to be a true star
That's Numberwang

• PipPipPip

View Postsplodge, on Apr 5 2009, 08:03, said:

Listened to it on the net and it was like 2 entirely different sides to that which capitulated against St Kilda last week.

OK it was only the shockers, but good to hear the Bombers get back to form this morning. :thumsup2

Zaharakis is going to be a true star

Carlton stuffed this morning, get in. More satisfying than sex :huh:
That's Numberwang

Great to see St Kilda getting off to a flying start. Exciting start to the season for me.

• PipPipPip

View Postjmothecat, on Apr 25 2009, 01:44, said:

Great to see St Kilda getting off to a flying start. Exciting start to the season for me.

Lets all laugh at Collingwood, talk about throw it away. 3 goals in last 4 minutes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
That's Numberwang

User is offline   guacamole 

• Third Division Regular
  • My Team:Dundee Utd

View Postsplodge, on Apr 25 2009, 08:04, said:

Lets all laugh at Collingwood, talk about throw it away. 3 goals in last 4 minutes :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Collywobbles strike again. Although as a Port fan maybe I should keep my mouth shut after our result.
C'est superb a tete! Il y a equalisation fantastique! Monsieur! Johnny! Russell!

View Postsplodge, on Apr 25 2009, 08:04, said:

That was exciting to watch as a neutral (well as neutral as you can be in a game involving Collingwood).

Can't pretend I know much about AFL, but the more I watch it the more exciting it's becoming. Wish I could head down and watch a few games live.

User is online   Swarley 

• Gone Walkabout

View Postsplodge, on Feb 14 2009, 01:03, said:

I think you'll find that Geelong are no1!

View Postjmothecat, on Apr 25 2009, 00:44, said:

And nearly a perfect end, threw it away in the 4th. Unlucky.

tartankoala.net

User is offline   Papad 

• Junior League Sub
  • PipPipPipPip
  • My Team:Stranraer
My Aussie girlfrien and her family are Gellong fans so MON THE CATS!

Great game for the final too, Gary Ablett is a legend!

User is offline   A-Mac 

• First Division Signing Target
Didn't know this thread was here.

I am a Western Bulldogs member, have been for the past 25 years of my life.
Australia's best supporters - Melbourne Victory F.C.
North/South Unite for Derby

Page 1 of 1